leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Cobra Nav ONE 2100

Jan
5
2007

The Cobra Nav ONE 2100 has been announced and should be an interesting contender in the GPS market. Cobra is pushing the “My Favorite Brands” functionality in this device whereby you can specify your favorite retailers and the device will attach special icons to those locations on the map as you drive. Over 600 brands are available to choose from.

There is an optional traffic receiver for the Cobra NAV ONE 2100, but not included with the device. The receiver costs $99 and the traffic subscription costs $60/year. When driving in traffic the device can calculate two alternate routes around traffic and let you choose which one you prefer.

Cobra is also touting the wide range of temperatures the NAVONE 2100 is allowed to operate in. You can use the 2100 in temperatures from -4 to 158 Fahrenheit.

Expect to be able to get your hands on one of these in May, for about $350.

47 Responses


  1. Just returned a Magellan 3100 and purchased the Cobra 2100. So for this is a much better product. For me it was easy to set up. Directions are have been right on target so far. One of the nice features is the “My Favorite Brands” item. I bought this for my wife and programed in all of the major retail stores for her. It not only will navigate to these but also displays address and phone number. Kind of like using “Favorite” on a PC. Then only thing I found lacking is the documentation. Users manual is very basic. Will get you up and running quickly but does not tell much about updates. Like what is the SD card slot for? You can download software upgrades on-line, although it is such a new product there are no upgrades. Comes with both AC and car adapters so that you can enter personal address from the comfort of your home. Looks like a pretty good product for the money.

    Joe Black - May 5th, 2007
  2. Does the 2100 have text to voice directions?

    Pidge - May 6th, 2007
  3. I haven’t confirmed yet, but I do not believe so.

    Tim - May 6th, 2007
  4. It does not have text to voice direction as such. It will not tell you local street names but is has been giving us State and Interstate names. Other that than you get the standard turn directions. I have not found this to be a real problem becasue the turn info has been accurate and plenty of notice is given.

    Joe Black - May 6th, 2007
  5. I am consider this instead of Magellan2200T but not sure currently. any opinion?

    mansu - May 11th, 2007
  6. Mansu – You might want to ask that over on the RoadMate 2200T page.

    Tim - May 11th, 2007
  7. I just ordered this last week [snip]. When it arrived they had upgraded me to the Cobra 2500. Well let’s just say I hate the 2500.

    If I go around a curve in a the mountains it does not not I took the curve and shows me going straight. This would be bad in a big city with tall buildings because you could make a right or left and it still would think you are going straight. Another issue is the POI database in some cases has gas stations in my area which are off about 2 miles.

    Kevin - May 14th, 2007
  8. Well, after using the Cobra for a week I have some more opinions on it. I put it through the paces last week. First I used it in town to try to located two banks of which I already new the location. In both cases it gave me incorrect locations, one being in the middle of a freeway ramp. The other I was looking across the road and it was telling me to make a u-turn. Then this past weekend took it on a road trip. Good thing I knew where I was going. At one point it just went dead; locked up. Had to unplug and reset. Then I came to a T and it did not give a indication to turn. And finally I was driving along in open country and it switched on it’s own to another screen. I have come to the conclusion that there is not a low-end priced unit worth having. Taking this one back to store and getting out of the GPS business. My wife’s VZW naviagtion system on her phone is a lot more accurate, just hard to see on the smaller screen.

    Joe - May 14th, 2007
  9. I am thinking about purchasing this unit for my Dad… however, I am wondering if it has points of interest such as campgrounds? My parent’s would use a unit such as this primarily for campsites rather than a restaurant location or mall… Anyone know? Thanks!

    JB - May 17th, 2007
  10. Not sure about that. It does show parks. I would be very hesitant to recommend this unit to anyone though just because in wooded areas this unit looses it’s signal easily.

    Kevin - May 20th, 2007
  11. Just performed my due-diligence… “if you will?’.. on my purchase of a GPS device; none have come close to my COBRA 2100 – The ‘Red Light’ Camera feature is priceless (considering that each summons is over $100 bucks – & I just paid one not to long ago)This unit will pay for itself just simply by the warning feature imbedded inside… highly & most definitely recommend owning this wonderful device, it does it all. “Only one caveat”.. as mentioned prior instructions are limited but you will find your way- ENJOY!!!

    Anthony - June 22nd, 2007
  12. Does it have a battery so you can take it out for a walk or doet it only operate on the plug?

    king - July 10th, 2007
  13. How does this unit do with addresses that are numbered? Example: address is 26773 40B ave. I’ve found that some are almost impossible to input. In BC (Canada) we have a large portion of our street names numbered as such.

    Jamie - July 10th, 2007
  14. High accuracy obtained using unit addresses, however the 2100 did prompt me to turn left when a right turn was required for a particular address. Be wary of navigating using business icons alone! Error rate varies by as little as a few feet to a much as 1/4 mile or more. Haven’t had the 2100 long enough to say how often Cobra updates map info from map provider Tele Atlas.

    RipW - July 12th, 2007
  15. I’m in Mexico, can I add maps of cities in here, or can I add my own maps?

    Rudolph - July 22nd, 2007
  16. Rudolph, you can’t add your own maps, you would need to get them from Cobra. I don’t believe they offer Mexico maps, but you would need to check with them to be sure.

    Tim - July 23rd, 2007
  17. I received a Cobra gpsm2200 as a gift, the unit looks great but unfortunately I accuracy of the unit is terrible, I live in arizona and wanted to test out the unit with a address known to me the unit directed me to a neighborhood 3 miles north of the intended destination. I thought ok maybe it was me I then downloaded the updates to the unit and tried it again, the unit then gave me wrong turn directions and showed busnisses in the middle if vacant lots and directed me to exit the freeway and go west one mile , south one mile, east on mile and to get back on the freeway, it told me to do this at every freeway exit on the whole 60 mile trip, Customer support has been rotten to say the least, they told me basically that electronic devices sometimes do this. my advice dont buy the cobra units, customer service needs to pull thier heads outts thier butts and correct these problems.

    Tim Davis - October 25th, 2007
  18. I have the 2100 and it sucks. It locks up every couple of mins. and I have to unplug it and start over. Half the time it doesn’t fully come on and it locks up.

    Matt - November 19th, 2007
  19. Does it have multi-destination routing?

    Colin - December 17th, 2007
  20. I bought the Nav One 2500, nothing but problems, GPS is too slow, you actually pass the off ramp or exit, then it shows up on screen. It will take off a major interstate, drive through city streets and stop lights, then put you back onto the exact interstate it took you off of. Once you start storing addresses, it will start to freeze up, you cannot do anything with it except unplug it and let it reboot. I have updated it, returned it and got the NAV ONE 2100, same problems. You will be driving across country, on a major interstate, no turns or exits for miles, and fo no reason the icon that is suppose to be your vehicle will go off the road, the software will stop calculating your time and distance, it will do this for miles, sometimes up to 15 to 20 minutes, you can turn it off and back on, same thing. Worst GPS I have ever used.

    Chuck - December 29th, 2007
  21. With a gift certifacte I received from a friend, I bought Nav One 2100 Cobra GPS. I checked it one day while driving to my office. I thought it was good and put it back in the box. A month and half later, just after the return date expired, I tried to use it but found out that I can not enter the street name because it was so slow and take me back to the main menu. I checked and rechecked but it doesn’t work.

    Endale Worku - January 7th, 2008
  22. This is a horrible GPS, I can’t believe I paid as much as I did for it. It is very laggy and slow in both rerouting and typing in a destination. I tested it on a trip this morning. Luckily, I knew the way because it kept telling me to go on a highway I was already on and took about 45 minutes to actually understand where I was. I traded it in for a Garmin, a much better product.

    Danielle - January 9th, 2008
  23. Well after further tries to contact cobra customer support and to have the laoy put me on hold then forwarded to tech support and left on hold then call back and tell them whats going on with my unit she said she has never heard of any problems and the units are very good. I wish I could return this lemon to COBRA. They should be embarassed to have marketed a inferior product and steal hundreds of dollars for junk. If you are reading this review dont buy a cobra GPS youd be better off with a monkey that randomly points in different directions. These GPS units are the suckiest suck that ever sucked.

    Tim Davis - January 9th, 2008
  24. I have seen that the Cobra warns you of red light cameras. I also think that it notifies you of stoplights. How can you tell the difference?

    Sunshine - January 15th, 2008
  25. DONT get the Nav one 2100. i have had this one for 6 months now and it is always letting me down. about 30% of the addresses i put in are not found, i even put in my own address and it said not fount(i get mail there so it must be real) take the time and find one better.

    jordan - January 15th, 2008
  26. Don’t waste your money. I would sell you mine but I can’t rip someone off like Cobra did me and every one else that shelled out hard earned money for this POS. Cobra needs to recall this crap or there gonna lose alot of customers.

    Matt - January 16th, 2008
  27. Beware. I have trade Cobra Nav One 2100 for Air Miles. It is the worst GPS i have seen. My friend have the LG, another one the Garmin and they can update by USB cable to our computer.

    The Cobra Nav One is slow, freese, cannot be update by USB cable and no answer about Cobra Web site.

    Poor company

    Sorry

    Guylain Roy - February 5th, 2008
  28. You can update it thru USB. I just done a master reset on mine and updated to the new software. Seems to be working fine now. If you don’t know how. Turn the unit on and hold down the cobra button on the front till the settings comes up. The bottom right hand corner is the master reset.

    Matt - February 5th, 2008
  29. Does not have a battery u have to keep it plug in for it to work it sucks,does not show any atm machines or restaurants on the map when your driving the only thing thats good about this gps it shows u the city’s when drive in the freeway.

    Ric - February 12th, 2008
  30. Ric,
    You have to zoom in pretty close for the restaurants to show up. It does slow it down when your zoomed in that close though. Good luck

    Matt - February 12th, 2008
  31. I purchased a Nav One 2100. The features are easy to use, the screen is efficiently large and it seems to lack nothing except problems. The "go home" function takes me to my neighbors house about half a mile from my home, but at least on the right street. The "smart power feature" when on does not operate. The silent function is inoperative. This would allow youto scroll down the "most used function" list to quickly access the feature you want to use and the most frustrating defect is that the speedometer, trip odometer, average speed display etc. does not reset even though the voice command states that all you need to do is hit the bottom of the screen where the two zeros are located. All of this in a product that I have used for only three days

    peter clahr - March 5th, 2008
  32. Just bought a nav one 2100 for my mom, it had very nice colorso and thats about it, after one day, it started to freeze up on me. I kept turning it off and on, that worked after about 10 tries. Also it kept telling me to turn onto the street i was already on, weird..This was frustrating because i was an hour away from where i purchased it, I went to take it back using it and it was still acting up on me all the way there..

    Joeb - March 17th, 2008
  33. i was given the 2100 as a gift have had it about two weeks once or twice it has been off on residential addresses not by much though it is really slow on typing but other than that it has got me home great going on a trip tonight we willl see how it does….. ps have had it on alll day every day since i got it……

    dan - April 8th, 2008
  34. we purchased our nav one 2100 march 2008. it works so so. we have not been able to update the software since the initial install. i wish i had read this comment board before purchasing this unit. i would like Cobra to support their product. Sept 10, 2008

    Donna - September 10th, 2008
  35. Cobra 2100 sucks. We have sat at adresses that it has tried to send us wrong and it still wants to send us away from those addeesses. Sends us down one way streets.Does not have a chargeable battery. Does not correct wrong turns. Complicated.

    walt - September 14th, 2008
  36. Well, where do I start… I bought mine last november and started using it alot lately. It wasnt always accurate, and wasnt easy to find most places I needed to go to. Very slow and froze up as others have mentioned with rerouting, and typing in addreses. Last week it froze while on route, causing me to stop and disconnect it, since then, its dead!!! It wont turn on. Emailed customer service. Hope they don’t let me down, bloody thing wasnt exactley cheap, and has caused me nothing but problems….. I purchased a Magellan roadmate 1412 the day after my cobra died and what a world of difference.

    Eric - September 28th, 2008
  37. We had a Garmin Nuvi 350 that was great. When we won the Cobra at an RV show we made the mistake of giving the Garmin to our son. Now he has a good GPS and we have a terrible one. We’ll be buying a new Garmin and throwing the Cobra in the trash–I couldn’t, in good conscience, sell it on eBay…it belongs in the trash.

    Pat - October 9th, 2008
  38. Listen to everyone here, I just received this product as a Christmas gift from my wife and I have to say it definitley SUCKS!!! I tested it last night to go to the Local Mcdonalds, which thankfully I know where it is because this sure wasn’t going to tell me.

    Very slow, innacurate, you can get far better for the money. Well in this case I’m not so sure as it was sold at a refurbished store called XS Cargo that sold it for 99.99. This really does just belong in the trash.

    I also wish I had seen this board far before I told my wife I wanted one. I had read one good review and it sold me on the unit, not sure if that reviewer worked for Cobra or what lol.

    Merry Christmas!

    JD Leeder - December 25th, 2008
  39. my work requires me to drive all day about 20 stops i bought the nav 2500 last year one of the worst peices of crap i have ever owned says take exits that arent there said one house was in the middle of the lake now freezes up constant have updated software several times.crap and junk.

    david - December 31st, 2008
  40. I bought my daugther the Cobra nav one for Christmas 2008 from [deleted]. expensive lesson. Wish these companies would return these units back into the trash where they came from. They pick them out of cobra`s trash and then resold them to unsuspecting customers. Boy was I sucker in last time I shop at xs cargo or buy any Cobra product . I will Stick with Garmin anyone think different you can have mine.

    Roy - March 2nd, 2009
  41. Can you pin-point co-ordinates on the Cobra 2100? Longitude and latitude?

    Vanessa - June 15th, 2009
  42. Trying to get an Australian map for my Nav one 2100

    Eric - August 3rd, 2009
  43. wow im such an idiot!! i just purchased a cobra 2100 on ebay not 10 minutes ago and just figured i would check into it a little more. What a stupid mistake, i guess i hope mine works better than everyone elses….hopefully

    Kolby - October 6th, 2009
  44. I purchased this unit when I purchased a used car 3 years ago from the Car Rental Agency that I have worked with for well over 15 years. I have used this unit twice and found it to be reliable. No I do not work for Cobra. I have have more problems with the highway systems in the two cites I have visited with getting on and off highway ramps than I have with the unit. It works well for me so far. I will see next week how it works in my city for I have not used this at home. I have read about units this year that have lead people into areas that caused them to be lost for several days until rescued. Thank God I have not encounted this.

    Mario - January 7th, 2010
  45. I own a buainess and have several vehicles. For the sake of comparison I bought different GPS units for each vehicle. The Garmin is fairly simple to use and very accurate. The Cobra is slow and the menus are too complicated, the Magellan product has been through the wars and is always relaible and accurate but the power cord deteriorated in the sunlight and the rubber all cracked and fell off, and finally the best one in the bnch is called “GPS for Dummies” that I bought for 65.00 at a drugstore. It is simple, accurate and reliable. Sometimes the cheap solution is the best solution!

    Tom - February 15th, 2010
  46. My wife purchased the NAVone 2100 for me as a gift, which I thought i was really going to enjoy as I have had Cobra Radios for YEARS and have had GREAT luck with them….however this was NOT the case with the Navigation unit I received.
    The NAVone2100 is VERY SLOW to acquire satellite lock and then, loses it for no apparent reason.
    My opinion/advice…don’t waste your money on this unit, search around and read some other reviews to find a different one to spend your money on, just not the Cobra NAVone 2100!

    Jerry - August 9th, 2010
  47. I have owned a NAV ONE 2100 for over 2 years, and I feel very fortunate to have lucked out with this unit. This unit has taken me to the exact location, with the exception of one address that was actually in an area that was under development. This has been a very good investment for us, and if it starts to act up in the future, it has paid for itself.

    REA

    Raymond - October 26th, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright