leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Mac Support Delayed

Jun
27
2006

We have previously discussed Garmin’s Announcement of Mac Support. We know tons of people (including us here at GPS Review) are very much looking forward to having Mac support from Garmin. We hoped with v8 of their mapping data out soon we would see Mac support along with it.

However it does not appear that will happen. Garmin announced today that the Garmin “Training Center” software will be available by the end of the year. Garmin had announced they would have all of their then current products Mac compatible by the end of the year, however it looks like almost none of that software will be ready.

[By the end of 2006] we will announce the expected completion date for Garmin’s other hardware and software applications. We thank the Mac community for their support, understanding and patience as we work through these unanticipated delays

16 Responses


  1. For those of us with Macs and are interested in buying a gps navigator now, what would you recommend doing in the meantime?

    dawn - September 17th, 2006
  2. Dawn, you might want to look into RouteBuddy. It has some work before it will be a great piece of software, however at this time it is what most Mac users are going towards.

    GPS Review - September 17th, 2006
  3. i spent $450 on a garmin edge 305 based on garmin’s announcement (their “forward looking statement”) of mac version of training center by mid 2006. i hung on when they announced they would release by end of 2006. it’s thanksgiving. time to go shopping. i WAS going to get a friend a garmin edge 305. now i’m not. she is a mac user.

    i would like to make a “forward looking statement”. i will buy one lotto ticket a week. i forsee winning lotto by mid 2007. would anyone like to send me 50% of my future lotto winnings? i will, in return, issue a 25% interest bonus (after receipt of my lotto winnings, of course).

    don

    don montalvo - November 21st, 2006
  4. Looks like Garmin was just blowing smoke. The Training Center software is a not ready yet although you try the subscription based Motion based site in a Mac beta version only. The rest well it is now Dec 6th with no end in sight to the MAC issue. It would nice if Garmin would be a little more forthcoming and not lead us on! Well I guess i ahve to continue to run 2 systems my wonky PC and my stable MAC.

    Peter Leiss - December 6th, 2006
  5. Garmin has the worst software division I’ve ever dealt with.

    I have nothing more to say, other than- Garmin, you are losing a lot of customers and a lot of sales because of your decisions or lack thereof.

    waitingwaitingwait - December 18th, 2006
  6. inadequate skillset results in dropped projects under the guise of ‘inadequate market share’ (mac vs pc). look for garmin mac trainingcenter to become vaporware just as eudora and retrospect…

    don

    don montalvo - December 18th, 2006
  7. While I’m equally unimpressed with the slow pace of Garmin’s promised Mac support, there is a glimmer of hope… Garmin is still planning on attending MacWorld next month which will force them to at least provide a revised timetable if not actually releasing some of their products. I haven’t heard any rumors of them turning back on Mac development.

    Tim - December 18th, 2006
  8. Yeah.. saying and doing are not the same. Mac OS is not the easiest system to code for.. which is partly why we have no viruses or spyware. Garmin will meet this challenge or have serious egg on face..

    Claude Baines - December 20th, 2006
  9. it comes down to money. garmin can hire qualified staff to port the pc version over to mac osx – the overhead may already be covered by the false sales to mac users who believed public statements. or, garmin can release to opensource. in either case, garmin’s “forward looking statements” could easily be perceived as a bait-and-switch scheme…even though i believe it’s just bad budget/project management.

    don

    don montalvo - December 20th, 2006
  10. All these delays are not surprising… when you look at the “un-userfriendly” way to unlock, update, upgrade their mapsource and other products…

    Christian - December 24th, 2006
  11. Should garmin eventually deliver Mac support, do you think legacy users with [expensive] pc mapsource software will be given an unlock code/free upgrade? Would be a nice touch if they did and an own goal if they forced us to buy brand new Mac friendly upgrades?

    mike campbell - January 8th, 2007
  12. The most frustrating thing about Garmin’s training center for Mac is that there are much better GPS software kits for mac already out there. Take Ascent for instance. It already does more than Training Center does. Training Center for Mac tries to lock you into a clunky piece of software, by not supporting exports, imports, and pushing you to subscribe to Motion Based for route playbacks etc. The idea of trail network is great, but you can do the same through google earth, so why should I pay for this when I can get better free?

    Justin - August 24th, 2007
  13. Mac support remains poor. The good news: I installed the Map Update 2008 to my Garmin 2820 using my iMac. The bad news: The Mapsource program is not installed or operational on a Mac. You still have to use a PC to use the Mapsource (Windoze only) program. Called Garmin support to confirm and complain. It is misleading and doesn’t make sense for Garmin to allude to OSX compatibility when all you can do is update the Garmin device which you might as well do on a PC since Mapsource only works in Windoze.

    Jim Sonderberg - October 8th, 2007
  14. Garmin…great GPS…..
    Now if they make it work on the Bset computers…Mac..
    We’d have something….
    Ohhhhh…Garmin……get your head out of your asses…..

    ET - February 8th, 2008
  15. I just bought the Garmin 60 Csx. Can anyone tell me if I can use this on my Mac yet? I have been reading everthing I can but have not found an answer. Someone please help.

    Ken S. - April 9th, 2008
  16. It’s still not compatible – now it’s 2009!!! Wonder if it’s ever going to happen.. Really frustrating as I am looking forward to logging my training on the mac, but I guess I just have to wait.. or buy a watch from another brand who supports mac – if there is one!!

    Cecilie - January 24th, 2009



content bottomleft content bottomright