leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 255

Jan
1
2008

This is a placeholder only. nuvi 255

29 Responses


  1. I just brought back my Tom Tom XL 330 S to Circuit City, not because it didn’t map well, but because Tom Tom has (in my humble opinion) a lousy way to search for Restaurant POI’s, as they still do not allow you to search by food type. Once (if ever) Tom Tom adds this capability, my next GPS will be a Tom Tom

    Because of the Restaurant search, I now have a Garmin nuvi 255, and so far I can only give my first impressions. There was no AC adapter or USB cable included with the new product (Tom Tom provides this as a standard include.) I did fire it up and am very happy with the Restaurant POI search capabilities. I am going to give it a test drive this weekend and update you on my impressions.

    My question is, have you heard if Tom Tom is ever going to upgrade their POI Restaurant search capabilities to be able to search on food types? Currently, they simply list all restaurants in the area which is not very helpful to the end user.

    John - August 27th, 2008
  2. I just picked this up. Check websites of brick stores; they usually have it cheaper there, even if you opt to pick it up in store.

    Tested it this morning. I was quite happy with how quickly it uploaded maps and updated when I went off-course. The volume was at 80%, and it did sound a little tinny, but nothing I couldn’t handle. Also, you can download other voices through other sites to tell you your directions, which I plan on testing and using myself. The user interface is super easy to use, although it’s a little more difficult to save destinations for future use than I would like it to be. The directions to set it up are quite simple. You really don’t even have to read them, because pretty much all they say is go somewhere open with no trees or tall buildings and turn it on, then follow the instructions on screen. How easy is that?

    As you type up your destination, it will automatically pop up with answers that it thinks you are looking for after only a few letters, so you don’t have to type the entire street name or the entire town in. It kind of surprised me the first time, but it’s really a nice feature.

    Overall, quite pleased and plan on keeping this one for quite some time.

    Shannon - October 2nd, 2008
  3. Received my Garmin Nuvi as a gift. Love it!!! Very easy to operate. Took to New York and Vegas trip which paid off! Found our way around sooo easily. Now, all I need is an address and I’m there! Mahalo!

    Correan - November 5th, 2008
    • Has this unit phone capabilities built in.

      PAUL LOCK - June 3rd, 2010
  4. After 3 years with Magellan, bought Nuvi255 on Consumer rpt recommendation. I like unit very much. Only complaint, nearby roads over 4 years old are not in data base. And no updates available for this unit on the market 6 months.

    Robert - November 9th, 2008
  5. I bought a Garmin 255 and really like it. However, it does one strange thins with the text to voice. I live in Connecticut and for a state route, such as route 8, the display shows “CT-8″ but the voice announces “Court 8″. Doesn’t it know that the route is prefaced by the state name or is that not universal for all states? BTW, I have now problem with the voice, it is more than clear enough.

    Tom - November 13th, 2008
  6. Bought this unit last Friday. We enjoy it’s pin-point accuracy, quick recalculations/routing and search options. I was not impressed with it’s lack of information for POI’s in small towns and not showing a state road until I was actually on the road. Living in South Texas with lots of rural routes, this could be a big inconvenience. I have downloaded firm ware, but no fix yet. It’s getting its next big test tomorrow. I was really tossed between this and the TT330. Too many pros and cons for each.
    Are there any suggestions to help make sure all roads appear and to get more POIs loaded?

    Michael - November 25th, 2008
  7. Are there any differences between the Garmin Nuvi 255 and the 255W other than the screen size (and thus overall size), the SD/micro SD storage, and the price? What are the advantages of the 4.3″ versus the 3.5″ screen?

    bill - December 10th, 2008
  8. Widescreen GPS — Is it Worth it?

    Tim - December 10th, 2008
  9. Thank you Tim.

    bill - December 10th, 2008
  10. I tried to connect my nuvi 255 to pc.
    gps unit seems to be connected, but pc doesn’t recognize it. it says that no unit is connected to usb port.
    how can I do? is there anybody can help me?

    vincenzo - February 12th, 2009
  11. How does one delete destinations that have been entered.

    Peter Zollinger - April 20th, 2009
  12. I am considering acquiring a nuvi 255 and have a couple of questions that hopefully you will answer, or clarify:
    1). Is there a way to save, or retain, previous trips? In reading some of the posted comments it appears that they can be saved as favorites. True?
    2). Can information from Google Mmaps or MapQuest be downloaded to the 255.

    paul - May 1st, 2009
    • Hi Paul-

      1) No. You can save locations but not trips.
      2) You can send locations, but not routes.

      Both of those are not possible because the 200 series doesn’t support multi destination routing.

      Tim - May 5th, 2009
  13. I have a garmin nuvi that cant find busch gardens tampa, also a lot of other places. I live by a 7-11 that has been there for apx. 12 years and it cant find it. I got it in 8-2008. I can only trust it some of the time.

    tom criswell - December 16th, 2009
    • Most GPS devices only have between 2 and 6 million POIs, but there are about 25 million businesses in the USA. So you can expect many of them will not be found.

      Tim - December 16th, 2009
  14. I have a Garmin Nuvi 255 which I am quite pleased with.
    Just one glitch I am unable to find the feature for deleting
    individual addresses which I have programmed in. It indicates how to clear all the addresses but not individually. I looked under ‘my data’ but there is no ‘delete’ or ‘edit’ feature.
    Of course I am not to savvy when it comes to computerised
    products. The instruction booklet does not cover how to individually delete.
    Hoping for some feedback. Thanks.

    Marion - January 31st, 2010
  15. Does the Nuvi 255 announce the distance to the next turn as well as the street name? Thanks.

    Glen - February 11th, 2010
  16. I found the answer on the Garmin site. It does announce both. Thanks

    Glen - February 12th, 2010
  17. I had a Garmin 250 which was similar but not wide-screen and no street name announcements. We had used the British English voice on that GPS. We found that on the 255, the voice sounds a bit tinny or muffled and it cannot pronounce some street names (“North Street” comes out as “Nobhh Street” or something like that). Overall the announcements are good, although I wish the volume was louder (the 250 was much louder) and more clear (as it was the 250). Another quirk is that at an intersection which crossed a road where the continuation of the road was not exactly lined up with the road we were on, the GPS told us to “make a right turn”; this was even though the two pieces of road, intersected by the cross road, were only out of alighnment BY A FEW FEET! Tis was obviously (to teh human eye) a straight road, not a turn, yet the GPS interpreted the offset of the two stretches of road as a right turn and a quick left. This means that taking a right turn would have taken us away from our destination. The street announcements however make the 255 a much more useful GPS since you no longer have to take your eyes off the road to read the GPS display.

    Bob - May 5th, 2010
    • The maps don’t come from Google Earth– google doesn’t have a satellite imaging company. ;) In many cases Garmin is purchasing imagery from the same source as where Google purchases their imagery from– but not in all cases. Thus you can’t assume the imagery you see in GE will be the same as you get from Garmin.

      Tim - May 8th, 2010
  18. Does anyone know if you can purchase software to be able to use the Garmin nuvi 255 say in Italy?

    Korie - May 25th, 2010
    • You can purchase the European SD card directly from Garmin. We used it in Italy last year and it was a life saver.

      Don M. - August 6th, 2010
  19. I just purchased the Garmin 255W. It’s my first and I’m still in the learning stage. My only complaint is that some places of interest, including a major hospital, show up at an outdated address. Also, I downloaded the free map update with no problem but I could not figure out how to get it to the gps unit without help. The screen is great, the voice is clear. Overall, I am very pleased.

    Sandy - July 13th, 2010
  20. What do I need (connector, cable, software) to download Costa Rica? Jim

    James - August 11th, 2010
  21. I have a Garmin nuvi 255WT GPS and can not delete addresses that I no longer need. Can someone help me? Thanks

    Barbara - January 26th, 2011
    • Do you mean your favorites? Or recent destinations? Or something else?

      Tim - February 7th, 2011
  22. I just updated my garmin 255 and to test it I looked up a location that has been there a year and it didn’t recocgnize it so I’m wondering if I uploaded it correctly I plugged it back into the computer and garmin said the update was already complete I’m going on a trip but I’m a little concerned it may not recognize all the current locations. It cost almost a 100.00 to update.

    Bill - June 11th, 2011
  23. My Garmin 255 screen is frozen. Once the main screen boots up I cannot get it to go any further. Does anyone have a suggestions about ahy that is happening. The ecessn is not locked.
    Thanks
    MJ

    MJ - October 15th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright