leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 255w

Jan
1
2008

This is a placeholder only, however one of our forum members has written his 255W first impressions you can checkout in the interim. nuvi 255w

499 Responses


  1. I recevied the unit today and am really happy about it. I had the volume set at 70% and I have no problem hearing it at all in my old & noisy Nissan Pathfinder. I took the unit on a local drive, it is very accurate, I deliberately did not following the road it sugguested and the unit recalulated the next route right away. I am very impressed with the unit. This is my first GPS unit. I don’t need any fency feature like the bluetooth and the price was very good. 5 stars from me.

    Tom - August 14th, 2009
  2. Just got the portable Garmin 255w and so far it’s good ezcept who designs these things? Portable for a motorcycle listed in the promo but DOES NOT have a jack for earphones?

    I’ll give this one to my wife and would like one with a jack but I can’t seem to find any of the $200 and under priced portable Garmins with this feature.

    Jesse

    Jesse - August 21st, 2009
  3. I have been reading all about the 255W as I would like to purchase our first GPS unit. I was looking for help from anyone. My wife is deaf, though she has a coclear inplant which allows her to hear…but not super clear. I would like to go with a Garmin, but was wondering which models are visually better as my wife will look to it before she hears it. I would appreciate any help. Thanks

    Dave - September 5th, 2009
  4. Tim, I just bought a 255w but I am considering returning it (not yet registered) because the screen is very hard to see during the daytime when it’s bright and sunny outside. I tried adjusting the display settings to daytime(from auto)and 100% intensity and changing the location in the car from the windshield to lower on the dash but nothing helped. I haven’t tried using the night setting during the day. The display is great at night. Any suggestions?

    ken - September 6th, 2009
  5. will this version 255W tell me outloud when to make turns and does it have any real time traffic functions so I would know if there is an accident etc or realtime travel times?

    Micky - September 17th, 2009
    • Yes– it does have voice prompts. It does not come with any live traffic reporting.

      Tim - September 17th, 2009
  6. Just bought 255 nuvi. Is it OK for the unit and for the car battery to leave it plugged into the car DC socket at all times? Also in the box was a black plastic disk about size of silver dollar with white cardboard circle on one side, but no expanation of its function. Unit works fine (without it). Just curious what it is. Thanks.

    Bob - October 23rd, 2009
    • Bob, that depends. Some cars provide power to the power port even when the car is turned off– in which case you risk running down the car battery. The plastic disk is used if you don’t want to suction the mount to the windshield– you can put that disc on the dashboard and then suction the mount to it.

      Tim - October 23rd, 2009
  7. Does the 255W give the name of the current street?

    John - November 2nd, 2009
    • Yes, this Garmin does show you the name of minor streets as you get closer. I like this feature in that when you are on a major highway/interstate, it zooms out a little. As you approach a turn or enter a town or city, it will zoom in on specifics.

      Dan - June 20th, 2010
  8. I have the nuvi 855 for about 3 weeks. I thought I would like the voice recognition but I find it is only a toy. I don’t like the slow calculating and wonder if I would like the 255W better. I do like the Lane assist. What model would you recommend?? Thanks,
    Larry

    Larry - November 3rd, 2009
  9. Hi!

    I just got a 255wt for my birthday. The first time I turned it on and used it, it spoke the street names to me. (Ex: Take a right on Vera Cruz) but now, it is only speaking the directions to me. (Ex: Take a right)

    Can someone please tell me how to enable the spoken street names? This is a feature I would really like to use.

    Thank you!

    Lindsay - November 16th, 2009
    • I believe only certain voices do Text To Speak. If you change your voice (i.e. Samantha-English to John-British), make sure it has (TTS) after it.

      James - July 22nd, 2010
  10. I need some decision making help asap. There are two GPSs going on sale in my neighborhood and I want to purchase one. The main reason for making the purchase is so that my son will have one in the car when he drives from here (montreal, quebec) to Philadelphia for a football game. The two I am considering are the TT GO 630 (not reviewed on this site) or the Garmin NUVI 255W (the one review I read about this model losing its signal for hours has me kind of wary). The price difference between the two would be about $50 (with the garmin being the cheaper). This is our first GPS and we are on a tight budget so I cant afford to make a mistake (are these things returnable?). Thanks for any help!

    thomas - November 20th, 2009
  11. I’m looking for a comparison between the Garmin 255w and the Garmin 1300 and/or 1300 tft

    Jay - November 22nd, 2009
  12. Map update 2010.30 is out for those who have the map subscription.

    Tim - November 25th, 2009
  13. Tim-
    Question about the 255W- can this unit make a waypoint out of a location you happen to be at? Im not talking about a favorite from a location you entered in the destination information for.

    Mark - November 26th, 2009
    • Mark, I’m not sure what you mean. A favorite is a type of waypoint. You can save a favorite from your current location. So you can make a waypoint from your current location by saving your current location as a favorite.

      Tim - November 27th, 2009
  14. what is the different between 255w and 265w deside the price?

    is it better to go with 255w since i can afford that vs 265w

    kavon - November 26th, 2009
  15. I just purchased a Nuvi255w and am having problems with the voice cutting out on me. I took the first one I purchased back to the store and they exchanged it for me. Now the 2nd one is doing the same thing. Can anyone give me any suggestions as to what may be wrong.

    Peggy - December 1st, 2009
    • Peggy, I have no answer to your question but the same curious thing happened to me. I ordered the 255W from a well know “warehouse club” vendors online service. It arrived a few days later with the voice cutting out like a phone call with bad reception. It happens during the street name portion of the voice command. Usually the “Turn Right at …” works OK, but then the actual street name comes out broken up. “Anderson Valley Road” comes out as A..der..v..ley..ad.
      I too took mine back to the actual store, not sending it back to the online site. They gave me a new unit and It didn’t make it home without the same stuttering. I’ve called Garmin. They said they never heard of such a thing as stuttering voice ( gimmie a break, I hate liars) I downloaded all the latest software and tried several voices…all the same. It’s so bothersom, that I went to reply 177 and 178 and turned off the TTS so it just says “turn right” with no street name. But of course I PAID for street names. Soooo…I also ask…how can this be fixed, and how is it possible that 100% of the 255W units I’ve had have the stuttering voice problem, and 100% of the 255w units Peggy has had also have this problem…and Garmin has never heard of it!? Any help would be appreciated.

      Patrick - December 2nd, 2009
      • I have the same exact thing with 2 255wt units I purchased from BestBuy. Voice stutters when it says street names. All the software in the unit is up-to-date.

        mike - January 7th, 2010
      • I have the same issue with 225w. “In 2.5 miles tu—r—-n—- lef—-t on—–to twe—n—ty— ni—-ne” etc, etc. I was using the map that was a view looking down. I switched back to the 3D and it has worked fine so far. I think the larget looking down map uses more CPU power and the voice just gets all FUBAR when it gets overloaded.

        I even press the direction in the top left and when it goes to another screen to show that particular turn it voiced perfectly fine. So basically, try to take load off the processor and the voice seems to work fine. Sounds like they skimped on the processor when they put the extra features in…

        Michael - January 15th, 2010
        • For what it is worth, my 255W does NOT stutter, although it does botch some words such as “recalcu-u-l-l-ating”. Street names are usually pretty clear. “Victoria Street” (common in Canada) comes out as “Victor–REE-Ah” and some similar things.

          I tend to use British-English (there is no Canuck-english) and currently non-TTS, but the symptoms are the same with TTS.

          I am always in top-down, not 3D, and always Track-Up, not North-Up, but I will try some variations sometime.

          If you do a Garmin Update, be sure to update the voices, as well as the firmware (It’s optional), as I recall that cleaned up some speech issues when I 1st got the unit.

          Glen - January 15th, 2010
      • Have the same stuttering problem with my GPS unit. Bought the same one for my daughter, and she loves it — it’s fine. Mine takes forever to say some things, and other times it’s just fine.

        Pam - May 2nd, 2010
    • So irritating! Voice cuts out at the most inopportune times, like in a major city during rush hour! How can Garmin not know about this?

      Mike - August 1st, 2011
  16. I purchase the Nuvi 255W to replace my little Voxson unit and I am very impressed with the Garmin product in just 24 hours.

    I intend to give it a good work out this weekend but it acquires satellites incredibly fast and hasn’t missed a street or turn off herein Cairns, Australia.

    It also recalculates routes with no issues and I particularly like the trip meter and fuel economy functions.

    I certainly recommend the unit to anyone that is considering a GPS.

    Andrew - December 4th, 2009
  17. Hey guys and gals, up there in response #315 myself and another person (Peggy) have had trouble with the TTS portion of the voice commands stuttering on street names to the point it’s unusable. I found a way to turn off the TTS but now my 255W is just a 205W! Being my first time here, I put my problem (and plea for help) as a reply to the other persons thread. So this is a “bump” to see if out of all the 255W units sold, that Peggy and me are the only people who have bought two units each with the exact same problem, and if there is a fix…any help? Anyone? Tim?

    Patrick - December 5th, 2009
    • Patrick, I have contacted Garmin to no avail. They keep asking me to update the already up-to-date unit. Then they recommended me to hard-reset the unit, which did not solve any issues.

      I am suspecting that turning on Traffic is too much for the processor of 225W and started to try it out without the Traffic. So far it has been ok.

      Try going into tools, settings, navigation. click on avoidances and remove the tick next to traffic. Please let me know how this works for you

      mike - January 12th, 2010
      • Hey! Would ya look at that!? Garmin has issued an update and fix for the “nonexistent” stuttering problem on the 255W. Downloaded…fixed! Yahoo!

        Patrick - March 28th, 2010
        • thanks for the info! i’ve just updated mine. haven’t tested it yet but hopefully it fixed the problem.

          mike - April 3rd, 2010
        • Mother’s Day is coming up and I’d like to purchase my mom her first GSP unit. She isn’t tech savy at all so I figured this unit would be great for her, until I read the stammering issues. One of the features she wants is a GPS unit that “talks to her”, so it would be a deal breaker if it isn’t working. Has the new update fixed the issue for everyone that was having problems before?

          I’m also considering getting her the 265 because it includes the traffic updates for lifetime of the unit, but it does have Bluetooth which she already has in her car so it’d be pointless. Any other untis I should be looking at which includes traffic updates w/o monthly fees?

          Mike - May 7th, 2010
  18. I bought garmin nuvi 255w and it automatically restarts while I am driving the car.
    It happens almost every 15 mins but with no consistencies

    Is it a know issues?

    Thanks

    deepak - December 8th, 2009
    • I have had this happen just a couple of times, no rhyme, no reason. In fact I was thinking it was my imagination when it happened. I was on secondary roads in rural Ontario at the time. Clear sky, so not a loss of satellite. Maybe a map-refresh glitch?

      It was not like a restart from power off/on as I recall, and it picked-up from where it left off, although I might not have had a destination set at the time. I tend to drive in a “where the heck am I?” mode rather than “how the heck do I get there?” mode.

      Glen - December 9th, 2009
  19. Compared to the Garmin North American GPS map, how detailsd is the GPS map for traveling in Mexico? Any known problems?

    Having never traveled in Mexico, I don’t need any unexpected problems!

    Driving from the Northeast to Merida, Mexico.

    Esteban

    Esteban - December 12th, 2009
    • Esteban, if you have the Mexico map, it will have this coverage, not as good as the North America map.

      Tim - December 12th, 2009
      • So if I understand the legend provided, NO COVERAGE along the eastern coast of Mexico and NONE on the Yucatan Peninsula which is where I planned on driving.

        Not much of an advantage to purchase a unit that can not provide the information I need.

        Thanks, I think I’ll be looking into something else!

        Esteban

        Esteban - December 13th, 2009
  20. Hi,

    I am looking to purchase my first GPS. Right now I am debating between the Garmin Nuvi 255w or the tomtom XL330s. Any suggestions as to which one is better?
    Thanks.

    Vinessa - December 13th, 2009
  21. I got this GPS about two week ago, and I haven’t found one thing to complain about yet. The features are great, and all entirely user friendly. No need to read the manual, just plug it in and go! The Garmin Nuvi 255W connects to satellites extremely fast–So when I get in my car and turn it on, we’re pretty much ready to go immediately.

    henry7ronaldo - December 17th, 2009
  22. I just purchased a 255w and was wondering if Garmin makes a chip to be installed in it to make it a GPS for land use?

    Jon - December 26th, 2009
  23. I’ve been trying to download the 201030 map for our neighbor, NMG, but the download manager always stops at 99% with a fatal error. It said it would do a verification without indication when running on Vista but we let it run all day and still same indication. Should I try and download it without the download manager?

    Patrick - December 31st, 2009
  24. Have just purchased a 255W to replace my 2 year old 250W. I have a number of \Favorites\ saved on my old 250W that I want to add to the 255W. In different blogs I have seen different answers. Is my answer as simple as to replace the ‘current.gpx’ file on the 255W GPS with the ‘current.gpx’ file on my 250W or do I have to rename a copy of the 250W .gpx file and add it to the Garmingpx folder on my 255W which will then be imported next time I start the 255W?

    Jim - December 31st, 2009
  25. Hi, i recently bought the garmin nuvi 255w, it says Text to Speech on the box, but it does not speak the street names. Is there a way to fix this?

    Thanks

    Katie - January 9th, 2010
    • Katie, see comments #177 and 178.

      Tim - January 10th, 2010
  26. In my business, I sometimes travel some rather complicated and detailed routes over long distances.

    Is there a way to plot a route on my home PC using another program (MapQuest, MapSource, Google, etc) and upload it to my 255W so it can read the route back to me while I travel?

    Larry - January 18th, 2010
    • Larry, the Nuvi 200 series does not support saved routes.

      Tim - January 18th, 2010
  27. Tim
    Thanks for your response to my question about the 255W and using routes developed in another application.

    Are you able to advise if such a device exists? I love the 255W and all its features. If I could find a similar device with the same features PLUS the ability to save routes developed in MapSource, it would be great.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Cheers/Larry

    Larry - January 18th, 2010
    • Yes, the 700 series, 800 series, 1400 series and 1600 series devices can. Of those the Garmin Nuvi 755T is probably most similar to what you have.

      Tim - January 18th, 2010
      • Hi Tim

        Once again you’ve hit a home run with your advice. I bought the Garmin 755T about 6 weeks ago and have fallen in love with it.

        I can now plan many routes on my home computer and upload them to my GPS for turn by turn voice directions while driving. While the GPS only permits 6 custom routes to be active and available, I’ve loaded over 20 routes to the units SD card and can bring them into the GPS at any time as required.

        The one thing that scared me a bit at first was the time the unit takes to process new data. I found that after updating my favourites, custom routes and POI files, it took some 30-45 seconds after being turned on before I could use the unit. A phone call to Garmin set me straight. A little patiernce for a world of benefit.

        Again, many thanks for your guidance. It is truly appreciated./Larry

        Larry J - February 26th, 2010
  28. I purchased a Nuvi 255W as a replacement for my previous nuvi which had a plug-in traffic receiver thinking i could use my existing receiver with my new nuvi. However have noticed that there is only one mini-usb port on back and i need 2 (1 power, 1 traffic). Can i get an adaptor or a 2-in-1 traffic/power?

    alex - February 8th, 2010
  29. I do not like to ride on interstates or beltways when taking 30-50 mile doctor visit trips. When leaving home, is there anyway on my 255w that I can avoid the highways and take the smaller routes?

    Bernadette - February 25th, 2010
    • Yes, you can use avoidances (p34 of the manual) or change the route type to shortest distance (same page in the manual).

      Tim - February 26th, 2010
  30. On my 1350, I accidently cleared out all of the recently found entries. Can I assume that they are lost and not recoverable?

    Gerry - March 10th, 2010
  31. I just bought a nuvi 255wt at best buy. Is this thing a good one ? Is it modern enough and up to date ? I currently am using an older c530 and wanted a flatter screen with newer maps. Thoughts ??

    Thanks..

    Steve - March 26th, 2010
    • Yes, this is a good one. If it does not have the latest maps, when you register it at the Garmin site, you can download the latest.

      another Steve

      Steve - March 26th, 2010
      • How do you download it your Garmin ?

        Steve - March 27th, 2010
        • After you buy your Garmin, you attach it to a USB port and register it on the Garmin site. The site will tell you if you can update the map. Then you download a large file to your computer. When you start the file, it will update your Garmin. This is in addition to any firmware updates which you can also do. The map file is very big, so it helps to have a fast connection.

          Steve - March 27th, 2010
          • I d/l the large file, now how do I know if it uploaded to the my Nuvi ? Is there any way to check ? I had it connected the entire time it was d/l.

            Thanks again

            Steve - March 27th, 2010
  32. I live in NC and thinking about purchasing a updated map (Garmin nüMaps – Lifetime North America – Maps update subscription) for my garmin nuvi 255w. My question is how old is this update, will new business and neighborhoods be on the update or will the same info that’s on my map now be the same that’s on the new update? I purchased my garmin on July 17 2009.

    John - March 27th, 2010
  33. I downloaded the updated maps to my computer and had the Nuvi plugged in the computer the entire time. How do I tell if the maps were uploaded to my Nuvi ? I never got a confirmation that it was uploaded.

    Steve - March 28th, 2010
    • Steve,

      If you downloaded the map update, did you then run the .exe file that it downloaded? If so, that should have actually done the map update. Check by going to settings/maps and checking the map version to see if it’s the same as what you downloaded.

      Tony - May 28th, 2010
  34. can I download software purchased from Garmin site to my 255 (for a Holiday trip to canada ) and after holiday reload the Local area software (Aust.& NZ)which is already on Computer

    Gary - April 6th, 2010
  35. Bought 255w Garmin factory refirb. Issue one needed to get authorization to register on line s/n was still in use. Issue two was not able to update map on line although I should have gotten one free. Issue three battery would not recharge after six months and not covered by warrenty also manual says battery can not be replaced. I did get battery replacement instructions on YouTube.

    Charles - April 9th, 2010
  36. The voice prompts breakup a lot – it has got progressively worse. Has anyone had this issue?

    tamil - April 9th, 2010
  37. Just a note that I purchased a Garmin 255W in early March 2005 and it has the voice stuttering problem. I hope that updated software fixes this distracting problem

    Charlie - April 14th, 2010
    • oops, on my previous post, I meant the date to be early March 2010. sorry

      Charlie - April 14th, 2010
  38. Complete piece of junk do not buy. I used it 6 or 7 times in the 4 and 1/2 months I have owned this and it died. screen is frozen and I get no help from the company

    judy - May 18th, 2010
    • I’ve never heard of Garmin not replacing/repairing a GPS device that failed during the warranty period.

      Tim - May 19th, 2010
  39. I purchased a 255W last week and went to the site to make sure it was updated. I registered and everything, all looks good. The updates showed 2 needed. One was the OS. I clicj=ked on it and in about 30 seconds all was good. The map update doesn’t go so well. Everytime I attempt to update this, it states there is 528 MB on device and it needs 5.2 GB. It has an older version on it and it appears to work but where I live, there has been many street changes and improvements. How can I get this to work? I even have an 8GB sd card but that shouldn’t be used for this I don’t think. Aren’t NUBEEs like me so much fun?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated as the tech support hasn’t even answered back.

    Matt - May 27th, 2010
  40. I have had a 255W for a couple of years and I don’t know why but the information from it seems to be getting poorer. It is not because of outdated maps as these landmarks, roads, etc. have been in place for several years.
    Retuning from a trip I was on a interstate route and asked for a rest area. The next one was listed at 48 miles. Three miles later there one came along. It seems to be great at locating food, fuel, etc at locations behind me but not so good in the direction I am traveling. The same problem with a restaurant we have stopped at many times over the years. Next one 145mi. 21 miles up the road we saw it was still there.
    We left Branson,Mo headed to Amarillo, Tx. This is no exaggeration! It took us down all kinds of back roads and actually thru a farm on a dirt road and a few other interesting back routes to get to the interstate. We should have just backtracked to Springfield.
    It also has seemed to pick up this habit of telling me to make a turn onto a road several hundred feet after I’ve made the turn. I turned because of the map display.
    These are a few of the weird things that have appeared in the last few months but did not exist before.

    jim - June 4th, 2010
  41. Yes it does. It doesn’t just say turn right. It will say for example turn right onto Welsh St. In 0.2 Miles.

    Michael - June 13th, 2010
  42. I purchased the 255wt version about a month ago for a trip this summer. It worked well and guided me around traffic congestion. Unfortunately when I pulled the unit out of the glove box for the return trip it would not turn on. It left me stranded so I had no choice but to buy maps at a gas station in order to navigate home.
    I followed the instructions and did not leave it in the window. I can’t imagine why it would not work. The only thing I can think of is heat in the vehicle but it was protected from direct sunlight in the glove box. If it is designed to be used in a car it should be designed to take the heat.
    Fortunately I made my purchase at best buy and it was replaced without question.

    Michael - July 3rd, 2010
  43. I have left mine in the console of my truck during many hot Texas summer days without a problem. It’s still going strong after over a year. Your unit probably had an “infant mortality” problem (early life failure). I’m glad BB replaced it with no problems – I have also had good results with BB.

    Duane - July 3rd, 2010
  44. I LOVE my Garmin 255W. Even with my hearing aids, the voice is EXCELLENT. On a recent trip off the main highways, it did make a couple of mistakes that could have sent me miles off course. Is there a way to report these errors so they can be fixed?

    Ken - July 19th, 2010
  45. Questions on my nuvi 255W. For the most part I love it, but there are two things I’d love for it to do. First, is there a way for me to know up front which way it is going to take me? Often I would like to choose the routes to take. Which leads me to question #2 — Can I load google directions into my nuvi? I’m guessing not but it is worth a shot. Any answers would be appreciated.

    James - July 22nd, 2010
    • Hi James

      I asked the same question several months ago and was advised that no, you can’t save pre-defined routes to the 255W.

      I upgraded to the 775T and it works great! In my work (escorting oversize loads by truck) I have to take some rather detailed and unusual routes to make sure the big loads will fit. I simply work out my entire route, sometimes 2000 miles or more, in MapSource then upload it to my 775T. Then, instead of choosing a destination in the “Where To”, I choose the “Custom Routes” I want and follow the prompts.

      It works great! As I said, I use MapSource to develop my routing but I suspect Google might work as well if you can save it to the proper Garmin format.

      Hope this helps.

      Larry

      Larry - July 22nd, 2010
      • Routes from Google, MapQuest, and MapSource cannot be imported to the Nuvi 200 series.

        Tim - July 22nd, 2010
  46. What is the Largest memory card I can use in the Garmin 255W?

    Jim - July 23rd, 2010
  47. Please tell me how to view or obtain regional and rural Ontario roads on my Nuvi 255W (purchased yesterday).
    After leaving the store, the unit showed all the main and side streets in town.
    However, once outside the city, only the major roads showed on screen. Regional road name was displayed on the top bar, however the map only showed the major surrounding highways.
    When I look for map updates, there is no reference to what I need.
    Thanks for your help.

    Karen - August 9th, 2010
  48. I just had a 10 hour trip to make and used my garmin but after driving for 3 hours the gps shut itself off and wouldnt come back on for another 3 hours. Why did this happen

    fran - August 21st, 2010
  49. I have had the same problem with my 255W cutting out when a street name is being said, going to try taking traffic off in avoidances. Also one question asked was about taking shorter routes and the answer was to go to avoidances to change route (pg. 34 of manual) which manual are you talking about because the manual that came with unit only has about 8 pages. Thanks,
    Larry

    Larry - September 7th, 2010
  50. Purchased 255W in Feb 2009 and used it a couple of dozen times. Usually it is safe in my glovebox. Today (Oct 2010) it died on the way home from NJ. Lived only 21 months. Will not boot or connect with computer; just a black brick. Garmin website indicates it will cost $79 + tax to fix/replace. I can get a new on for $119 + tax at BB. Looking for something that will last.

    John - October 17th, 2010
    • Turns out I had purchased in March 2010, so unit was covered. Garmin folks thought it was a dead battery. Told me to leave it to charge for several hours. It worked and now is back to life. We think the cord for use in the automobile is either defective or damaged. In the meantime, I purchased a 255WT and love the traffic info.

      John - November 18th, 2010
    • Also try the reset. Use a paper clip on the back. I had to do this a couple of months ago. It was an extremely hot day and I think it overheated.

      Steve - November 18th, 2010
  51. How long do you have to charge your Garmin nuvi2552? It does not state any length of time in the manual.

    Bernadine - November 2nd, 2010
    • Customer Service told me to charge it 4-6 hours. I used a wall charger and wire that I had at home, not the charger in the car.

      John - November 18th, 2010
  52. Whats the difference between the nuvi 255w and the nuvi 1300 really need answer ASAP thanks!
    D

    Dawn - November 18th, 2010
  53. Hi,

    I have bought a nuvi 255W and have some problem with voice update…I use webupdater for the update of software without problem but when i continue whith update with voice update everything seem good…disconnect the usb cable…but if i retry to use webupdater the voice update are still there as nothing has been updating inside the GPS ??

    Eric - November 25th, 2010
  54. I bought GARMIN nuvi 255 wt but I want to use for my garbage truck. But keeps taking me to the parkway in NJ where I can not go. I have to avoid bridges or parkway . Does anybody know how to do it? Do I have to download any map from the internet? Please,help me! Thanks.

    Tony - May 4th, 2011
  55. I bought this GPS and it has been very disappoint. The gps broke and could not turn it on right after the warranty expire.

    Lo - July 18th, 2011
  56. Hello, I’m using Garmin 255W unit for almost a year. It’s been working well, I got hit into this problem past few days. It seems stuck at “Acquiring satellite” for hours.
    I have tried putting it outdoor (where normally it will pick up the signal within seconds) and even in the car, tried rebooting it couple of time and pretty much nothing happens
    I even tried checking my location it’s pointing to a diff address (could be the last area I was around) Any other suggestion I can try? Is there a hard reboot could be done on the GPS?

    Vijay - August 21st, 2011
  57. hey I can not change language on my garmin 255wt voice “Danish” keyboard “american english” text “american english”.
    these 3 I can not touch

    mogens - August 29th, 2011
  58. Hi hope this question is not an intrusion but am thinking of getting the 255w….when it says US maps does that include Hawaii?? also if I were to go to Mexico or Paris can I download maps for there?? Will they erase my US Canada maps already in the gps..thanks…I am going to Hawaii in a week and would maybe get one before I went…thanks again barry

    barry - December 28th, 2008
  59. Yes, the 255w includes Hawaii. If you go to other countries you can purchase extra maps, either on DVD or SD card. You might not have enough internal memory for both, so the SD card method can be more convenient. Both methods are fairly expensive.

    Tim - December 29th, 2008



content bottomleft content bottomright