leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 265WT

Aug
27
2008

Want (almost) all of the functions of a top of the line GPS at a middle of the road price? The Garmin Nuvi 265WT might be your dream GPS. Perhaps the biggest reason to consider the 265WT is the included lifetime traffic reporting system. While supported by occasional advertisements, the ads are fairly infrequent and unobtrusive.

You will also find a widescreen display, Text-to-Speech, and Bluetooth technology for hands-free calling. About the only advanced feature not included is multi-destination routing– but if you can live without that, this is a great GPS and a fantastic value when considering the lifetime traffic subscription.

173 Responses


  1. Does anyone know if this model has an Attention tone befor turns, and does it show you the current street you are on, as well as the next turn?

    Dave - November 4th, 2008
  2. It doesn’t have an attention tone, but it will give you a couple of verbal warnings of turns. It only shows the current street if you are not following a route.

    Tim - November 4th, 2008
  3. thanks for the prompt reply. really? you’re kidding me. Guess i’ll keep my streetpilot then. that’s ridiculous. garmin never learns. i tried a nuvi 200 once and returned it since it didn’t have the tone and only showed the upcoming turn, but not the street you are on. those features come in VERY handy, and imo are more important than tts and a widescreen that everyone raves about

    Dave - November 4th, 2008
  4. Does the 265wt have the “bicycle” mode option as do the other 200 series nuvi’s? Also, I was reading the comments regarding the voice quality with weveral models. Are there any known issues? The unit is son new, I haven’t seen many reviews, yet. I am looking for a GPS unit for my husband for Christmas. He rides his bicycle as well as drives a s there a reliable bicycle mount available for this unit?

    Thanks.

    Barb - November 12th, 2008
    • Yes, it has an automobile, bicycle and pedestrian usage modes.

      I just purchased the 265WT and so far have found the voices only slightly unclear but not a deal breaker by any means.

      I was able to quickly find a third party handlebar mount for the 265WT, albeit it was for a motorcycle but it includes rubber strips for smaller handlebars.

      Steve - January 16th, 2009
  5. Sounds like the 265WT has verbal warnings of upcoming turns, rather than tones, which is acceptable to me. Also, I called the support phone number for Garmin and the rep said that all street names are shown, depending on how far you zoom in. Also, the 265WT has the Where Am I? feature, which shows the closest intersection to where you are. Go to Garmin.com to see features. The bike feature “multimode” is not available on the 265WT, but the two nuvis that offer the multimode are much more expensive. I too am getting a Christmas gift for my husband, and I am happy with my choice of this one.

    Trina - November 14th, 2008
  6. Your missing the point with the unit telling you the current street. The Streetpilots will display. “Elm Street to Main Street” the Nuvi’s display, “Main Street” Knowing what street you are currently traveling is important, and helpful when you are in an unfamiliar area. Clicking the “where am I” button, from within the menu, every time you change streets is NOT a substitute. The Attention tone, believe it or not, is also VERY helpful. I had the Nuvi 200 for a week before returning it. I found that it is very easy to ignore just the spoken directions while driving and miss a turn. This happens because the unit will repeat the same message, or will tell you the next turn several times, and you tend to tune it out. That tone right before the turn comes in handy. Trust me, I drive 18k plus miles a year all over Suburban Boston for work, and have had GPS for over 3 years now. I just bought a new one and decided on the Streetpilot C580, as it has the important features for nav., plus Bluetooth and a year’s MSN. Traffic right now, on any unit, is virtually useless, but at leastI get the extra MSN info, and it’s free for a year.

    David - November 14th, 2008
    • You call driving 18K miles a year in suburban Boston driving? Try about 40K a year in and around Chicago,plus all the outlying areas. The MSN is just as bad if not worse than the trafic on the 265, plus you can get the MSN on the 265. I prefer the verbal warnings over the tone, tells you which way to turn so you don’t have to take your eyes off the road.

      Tom - April 6th, 2009
      • I’ll be sure to kiss your butt later, but I agree, the MSN traffic is no better than TMC. You’re missing the point re: the tone. You get the verbal warnings regardless. But it is the tone that gets your attention. Without it, you tend to ignore the verbal warnings.

        David - April 7th, 2009
        • A tone would make me crazy. Something beeping at me. I know a turn is coming up and I watch for it and do listen. It tells me .7 miles then closer and yes sometimes it is annoying, but if you do know where you are, then you turn off the volumn, otherwise you listen to it. Why would you tune something out if you are aware you need to turn in less than 1/2 a mile?

          Daliah - August 16th, 2009
          • Well, unlike most people on the road, I actually pay attention to the ROAD when I’m driving. I drive all around and throughout the day on different roads each day, not a repeated commute where I drive the same roads. The attention tone is a welcome feature, and one of the reason I will not be purchasing a newer Nuvi. The other reasons are that they Nuvi’s only tell you the next turn at the top, while the older Streetpilots tell you the current street as well as the next turn. This is also a VERY useful feature as I am frequently in places I have not been before, without street signs (Massachusetts) and like to know what street I am on. Lastly, I have NOT been thrilled with the routing of the Garmins. Some of the directions border on the ridiculous. They seem to be more interested in taking you in a straight line, than the advertised “quickest route” And the traffic??? Please. Not even close in this area. I’m better off listening to the radio. Too often I’m sitting in traffic and it says clear, or It is telling my of traffic that doesn’t exist. Makes you want to through it out the window. I’l be looking at Tom Tom with IQ routing next time

            David - August 16th, 2009
          • The purpose of the tone is to interrupt the conversation and make passengers stop talking so that the street announcement is not drowned out by passengers that are not paying attention to the upcoming turn. I’ll be staying with my streetpilot 340.

            Tim - September 28th, 2009
  7. Thanks for a great informative website. I am deciding between the 750, 255W and 265WT. They are all within a $50 range, the 750 being the least expensive. I don’t care about the mp3 player, multi routing and FM transmitter and am leaning towards the 2X5 series due to the newer interface. The 255 would be fine but for a few dollars more bluetooth might be nice. 2 questions- can you turn off the traffic feature on the 265 to avoid the popups? Can you trick the units without multi destination routing to guide you to 2 destinations by adding your first desired destination as a waypoint? Thanks

    Jon - November 17th, 2008
    • As far as I know you cannot turn off the traffic feature, but there are no popups. You can select to have the screen turn gray (traffic mode) so it is clearer that there is a traffic issue, or to stay on regular screen mode. I honestly have never tried to turn it off, but there are no annoying popups. And even with the gray screen, all directions are still clear. I like the gray screen, gives me a warning something is going on.

      Daliah - August 16th, 2009
  8. Do you know if 265WT model has had the poor(er) TTS voice complaints of the 255W fixed?

    Laurence - November 27th, 2008
    • I have the 265 and a couple of times I swear I had the adults of Charlie Brown in my car, but it has stopped and for the most part, it works and sounds fine. It is quick to turn on and quick to give warnings and directions. My one complaint is sometimes it is unlcear. I was in downtown and luckily knew where I wanted to go, it just told me to stay left, then right, but no clear highway. I would have missed it had I not looked ahead at the directions, which I normally do not do, and saw what highway I was going to. I know enough of the area to be ok. That can be a big problem if you do not know where you are or going. I’m not sure what the problem was, maybe too many highways with unclear names as it is so the unit didn’t know what the name was.

      Daliah - August 16th, 2009
  9. Jon – You can turn off the traffic feature. You an add one via point to a route, but not more than one.

    Laurence – As far as I know they use the same voice files.

    Tim - November 29th, 2008
    • On my 265WT I routinely add many via points. I haven’t reached a limit yet. I don’t know why this “there is only one via point’ keeps getting repeated over and over.

      Jack - June 26th, 2009
      • Jack, the 265WT didn’t always ship that way. Things change. You will notice that the user manual for the 265WT also refers to “a” via point while devices that supported it from the get go talk about how to add multiple. Many people still have older 265WT devices with the old software that doesn’t support multiple.

        Tim - June 26th, 2009
        • Is there an update for them??? S/B.

          Jack - July 2nd, 2009
          • Re: Multiple via points sw update: I don’t know either. I updated my 265wt @ a month sgo but never tried to add multiple via points after that. When I first tried it – @ 18 mo or so ago – it didn’t work so I presumed it was a “feature” and went from there. In regard to the discussion regarding tone or voice – I tend to mute the box. It annoys my wife less and a quick glance usually gives me enough information to drive on. It’s right under the rear view so the same glance usually gets both.

            Skip - June 25th, 2010
  10. Hi,
    How is the 265WT’s signal receiption? Does it gets frequent satellite or signal lost?

    Thank you very much.

    James - November 29th, 2008
    • no. satellite is fine except in overcast it might take longer to locate, but I have never lost a signal once i got it.

      Daliah - August 16th, 2009
      • Clouds have no impact on the GPS signal. The frequencies picked for the GPS system were picked specifically due to their ability to not be impacted by clouds and virtually all weather conditions.

        Tim - August 16th, 2009
  11. I haven’t heard many complaints about satellite reception with this model.

    Tim - November 29th, 2008
  12. I am trying to decide between the Nuvi 265WT or the C580, which one is better of the two? Both have TTS, do they both come with Lifetime Traffic or is that an option?

    William - November 30th, 2008
  13. The 265wt is the better option. The c580 does not come with lifetime traffic, it is an option, however currently more expensive.

    Tim - November 30th, 2008
  14. I am trying to decide between the 265WT and the 760. I can find each for about the same price. I know that the 265WT includes a lifetime traffic subscription whereas the 760 only receives 3 months for free (although $60 now provides lifetime instead of yearly). Excluding the traffic subscription, which is the “better” unit?

    Damani - December 2nd, 2008
  15. I am trying to decide between the 265WT and the 760. I can’t decide considering the 2X5 models are newer. Not factoring in the free traffic subscription with the 265WT, which is the “better” of the two? Which would you recommend?

    Damani - December 2nd, 2008
  16. I am trying to decide between the 265WT and the 760. I can’t decide considering the 2X5 models are newer. Excluding the included traffice subscription with the 265WT, which is the “better” of the two? Which would you recommend?

    Damani - December 2nd, 2008
  17. Damani – Assuming you don’t need Multi Destination Routing I’d go with the 265wt or the 255w.

    Tim - December 2nd, 2008
  18. I don’t agree. I have had TMC traffic in the North East for a year now and have found it virtually useless. Don’t be fooled by the promise. It is about as accurate as what you get by listening to your local AM radio traffic reports. Half the time it warns me of non-existant traffic, or doesn’t signal bumper to bumper traffic I am sitting in. While it’s probably better than nothing, the only thing worse than non info is FALSE info. Fortunately, I’ve gotten used to it, and haven’t heeded some of the warnings, which would’ve made me take longer alternative routes. That being said, at least the C580, which I have, comes with the MSN receiver and a year’s free service. The MSN gives you Gas Prices, Movie Times, and Weather, as well as traffic, so at least there are some more useful features. After a year, you can purchase a lifetime subscription for the price of what the MSN receiver would cost you to add to the Nuvi. Now, as far as other useful features: I have had Garmin GPS for over 3 years now, from the I2, to the C320 to the Nuvi 200 to the C550 to the C580. I drive for business all over Eastern Massachusetts, and have taken it on trips to at least 5 other major cities. The Streetpilot series has two features I find essential, and that are deal-breakers IMHO for the Nuvi. That is the Attention tone signal before turns, and the fact that the unit indicates the current street and compass direction AS WELL as the next turn in the text on the top of the screen. Regarding the Tone: I drive with music playing, during the course of driving, with the units speaking, you tend to sometimes tune out what is being repeatedly said. Before a turn, it will mention, for example, In X miles, turn Right on Elm Street a few times. You tend to tune it out a little. The tone grabs your attention so you don’t miss the turn. Regarding the info on top. When driving long streets in an area you’re not familiar with, the Streetpilots will show, for example, “North on Elm Street to Main Street” The Nuvi’s will just show Right on Main Street. I find the indication of the current street or road, and direction invaluable. Garmin tends to add features only by subtracting others with new models. I don’t know WHY they do that. It can’t POSSIBLY cost more money the include an attention tone and the same wording info. While the Nuvi’s thin form factor and widescreen are nice, they aren’t as important to the driver, IMHO, as the other features. I don’t need to see a wide view of side streets I am not driving to, and I like the big stereo speakers of the Streetpilot

    David - December 2nd, 2008
  19. In trying to decide between the 265WT and 760, I thought the audio-out jack on the 760 would be handy to plug into the audio-in jack on my car. Am I dreaming to think that it would be that simple – that I could hear the 760 instructions through my car speakers?

    Bill - December 3rd, 2008
  20. Bill, Yes, that would work.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2008
  21. Tim, Thanks and I guess I should have asked this question too. Would you choose the 760 over the 265WT for that reason, or is the 265WT speaker good enough as is? The recommendation above was the 265WT or the older 760. Do the technology improvements in 265WT justify alone it instead of the 760?

    Bill - December 3rd, 2008
  22. I was wondering which Garmin system would be better for my daughter for a gift, the 265 WT or the 750?

    Thanks

    Shelly - December 6th, 2008
  23. I am looking for the differences between the Navigon 7200T and the Nubi 265WT. I cant find the pts of interest for the Navigon and I cant find a review of the Nuvi 265WT. Any substantial vlaue in the difference in price? Thank you

    Jim - December 6th, 2008
  24. I am trying to decide between the 255W and 265WT for my son and would appreciate any help or recommendations. I think I have ruled out the 750, 760 as the 200’s seem better. Thanks you.

    Joy - December 10th, 2008
  25. My question regarding the garmin nuvi 265WT is related to the bluetooth handsfree feature. Does anyone know how well it works?

    Thanks in advance.

    Peter - December 11th, 2008
  26. Hi, is the 265WT worth an extra $25 bucks more than the 255W even if I wont use the bluetooth phone compatability feature of the 265WT? trying to decide what one to go with? Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks, Bob

    Bob - December 12th, 2008
  27. Peter, I have read that the handsfree feature was not liked by a reviewer because he thought it’s to far away from you, the speaker/listener. He felt something like this needs to be closer to the user.

    Bob - December 12th, 2008
  28. Thanks Bob

    Peter - December 12th, 2008
  29. Which is the better unit? The 265wt or the 760?

    ken - December 13th, 2008
  30. Ken, “better” will depend on specific features you might be looking for, but generally the 760 offers a few more features.

    Tim - December 14th, 2008
  31. I am trying to decide on one for my dad. I have narrowed it down to the 260o or the 265 widescreen. He has an I-Phone and I don’t know if it will pair with the 265 but for a little more I was thinking along the lines of the 265WT. I then saw the 760 which had more features but found out it’s not free traffic like on the 265 and someone said the sound wasn’t that good coming through your stereo and my dad likes the radio on. He is 78 and doesn’t hear that great. but they say the 265 has a better interface so I think I will go with that one. Originally I wanted the 360 someone at work has it and loves it but it;s discontinued and the 265 wasn’t much more. But now people have said my dad would probably prefer the wide screen and it has the qwerty keyboard option so I am now looking for the best price on the 265WT. I kind of want one for myself also.

    Rose - December 16th, 2008
  32. Regarding the lifetime traffic subscription, do you have to pay the $60 to activate or do you get the subscription right out of the box?

    Also, is memory a big deal? I see that the 760 has memory listed in product spec. while the 265WT does not.

    Michael - December 21st, 2008
  33. I know the traffic is free now for lifetime but there are advertisements that pop up on your screen every so often I was told. Traffics not available where I live anyway. Memory I am not sure of I do know the 265WT takes an SD card

    Rose - December 22nd, 2008
  34. My 265WT is marked 265W on the back, and 265W in the About page. Do I *not* have a 265WT?

    Rod - December 25th, 2008
    • Hi there i have the same question, i thought I bought the 265WT but my unit says 265W on the back??? Is that correct?

      dale - June 21st, 2010
  35. Wandering the web for GPS’ – I thought the 265WT sounded good, but I would also like the speech recognition feature. I just want one that tells me where to turn with street name, decent satelite reception and alerts, along with speech recognition, lane assist and multi destination (which is not a deal breaker) – I’m not intersted in all that MP3 player, camera stuff – does anyone make a model that I am looking for. thanks for your help!

    Terri - December 26th, 2008
  36. Michael – The subscription works out of the box. The 265T has memory, Garmin just hasn’t confirmed how much.

    Rod – The two names have been used interchangeably (unfortunately). You likely have the WT.

    Terri – If you want a Garmin with voice recognition, you will need to check out the Garmin Nuvi 850 or the Garmin Nuvi 880.

    Tim - December 27th, 2008
  37. I had my first experience with a GPS recently using the Nuvi 260. I was amazed at just about everything and want one for myself. Looking around I felt that I wanted to stick with Garmin. I really liked the ability to switch between Car/Bicycle/Ped. I was wondering if the 265 or the 780 both had elevation (I would call an electronic altimeter). I’d like to use it for cycling too though and looked at the Edge 705. I like the Edge for some of the workout things and the Barometric altimeter, which I am assuming can track changes for weather as well. But I’m really wondering how well the 705 works in a car, with avoidance preferences, detours, POIs, Text-to-speach, etc. It almost feels like I would have to geet a Nuvi and an Edge to satisfy me, but I would probably do well if I new more about the Edge. Does the Edge have a car mode to be able to use interstates? I know the Nuvi avoids interstates when in bicycle mode. Does the Edge have auto reroute? Basically I’d like to compare the Nuvi to the Edge.

    Jonathan - February 5th, 2009
  38. Just got back to Wisconsin went out to Calif. and AZ. to
    visit family they had moved to new areas in both states
    also they lived on streets that had changed names, this
    Garmin 265WT found everything without a mistake and the
    traffic helper worked perfect in Los Angeles was a big help
    in traffic, and I used the bluetooth with my cell Phone
    worked all the time—- what a wonderful unit—-love it.

    Fuzzy

    Fuzzy - March 6th, 2009
  39. I have a streetpilot 340, and want to replace, as the car charger doesn’t work, and the map needs to be replaced. It doesn’t seem much more to replace with a newer unit. I am considering the 265wt and want to know if this would be an upgrade from what I am used to, or should I just update the map on the street pilot. Also, the discontinued models (nuvi780 & nubi 260w) are such a deal, would it be better to go with one of those and just update the maps. Any help would be appreciated. My eyes are blury with all the reading and no clear answer! Thanks so much!

    ron - April 4th, 2009
    • Ron, I’d get the newer device rather than updating your old device.

      Tim - April 10th, 2009
      • I second Ron’s advice. I have the Nuvi 660, love it. The my husband got the 265wt and I confiscated it since he really doesn’t need it. I don’t know which I like better, but the 265wt is much faster. Quicker updates, quicker to turn on, longer warning of an upcoming turn. My guess would be that the 265wt would be fast than updating any old unit.

        Daliah - August 16th, 2009
  40. I had just about decided on a 255W (replacing 250w), but the 265wt caught my eye.

    Concerning the FM-Traffic info on the 265wt – Do you get info only when in WhereTo/Destination mode, or will it display info for what is happening ahead (or nearby) when unit is simply in “View Map” mode.

    And, does anybody have feedback on how good the feature is for Canada (Ontario).

    Thanks in advance…

    Glen - April 21st, 2009
    • I’d be real curious on comments to this question – my 265wt is constantly ‘recalculating’ and questions to Garmin about how the FM transmitter work have been useless. When I try to use the ‘traffic’ I get an error message giving me my FM transmitter number, but I can find no where on the Garmin website that asks for it to get the ‘transmitter’ to work or get the traffic to get me out of situations. Anybody have any thoughts? Thanks for your time. For the most part I am happy with my purchase, but Garmie sometimes gets ‘confused’ and I have to constantly re-enter where I want to go and Garmie finally catches up. Here in OH streets sometimes have 2 different names depending on what direction you are going and Garmie doesn’t always know that so I’ve had to ‘recalculate’ several times. Better than trying to read a map, tho. πŸ™‚

      Terri - April 21st, 2009
      • Terri, your Nuvi 265WT doesn’t have an FM Transmitter. It does have a traffic receiver which uses FM technologies, but it isn’t an FM transmitter. You shouldn’t have to do anything to activate it on your model, but you do need to be in an area covered by the traffic services for it to work.

        Tim - April 22nd, 2009
        • Tim, thanks for your response. I’m confused then tho – why does it display my ‘transmitter number’ on a screen – am I suppose to do something with that -it says I’m suppose to register – but where. How do I know if I am in a ‘serviceable’ area? Sorry for all the questions, but I do love my 265WT, but sometimes it drives (no pun intended) me crazy.

          Thanks,
          Terri

          Terri - April 22nd, 2009
          • All traffic receivers have a unique ID number.. that is probably what you are looking at. It has a lifetime subscription included– no need to activate. You can go here to see coverage areas.

            Tim - April 22nd, 2009
  41. Does the traffic service on the 265WT work in all towns/cities or only in larger ones? What about the traffic services that are bought by subscription?
    Thanks!! Tracy

    Tracy - April 21st, 2009
    • Just big areas, although the spread looks pretty good for most; see garmin’s website for more info and the coverage map: http://www8.garmin.com/traffic/fm/navteq.html

      And I’m another one debating this over the 760…

      Tony - April 21st, 2009
  42. I’ve tried to read all your pertinent reviews and comments so I wouldn’t ask redundant questions. I bought home (good return policies) Garmin 750,265wt, and 765wt. Hooked up all 3 in my RV from GA to MI, then in my car around SE MI. Frustrating that some don’t name the road you’re on on the map. But I was mainly interested in whether to go for the free traffic. Ads are really minimal. Huge difference in traffic info between 265wt and 765t. The 265wt is much quicker and more responsive to situations arising. The 765t is slow, and doesn’t adapt well if I don’t follow its first advice. I like other features of the 765t (eg, altitude in the RV). Any reason you know of that its traffic isn’t as good? BTW, I put the 750 in my fanny pack while biking and it worked real well even tho zipped in a pouch. Told distance,avg speed accurately. I assume the others would as well.
    Kathy

    Kathy - May 6th, 2009
  43. Hi,
    I am not sure if you got an answer on your question, I think you still have the blue-tooth, correct?
    I am wondering if this is a different model or it’s the same, b/c mine (Garmin GPS) is also marked as 265WT on the box, but on the back it’s marked as 265W.
    Please let me know.

    ilya - May 15th, 2009
    • If it has North American or European maps, then it’s a 265WT. All the 265WT units are really 265W model units, the T just indicates which maps are preloaded on the GPS unit.

      Ariz - June 23rd, 2009
      • The “T” indicates that it comes with the lifetime traffic option. To check map coverage by region you would need to look at the product code.

        Tim - June 23rd, 2009
        • I also purchased a garmin gps. The box says 265wt but when I looked at the “settings” on the GPS it says nuvi 265w. Can I get live traffic with this unit. Is this unit capable of getting live traffic

          Don - January 6th, 2010
          • Yes, all 265W models are actually 265WT models.

            Tim - January 7th, 2010
  44. I know the traffic receiver is in the power cable. What happens if I just use the charged battery instead of the cable? I know the traffic won’t receive, but other than that, all other functions will work, correct?

    Also, I have a 200W and the speaker volume is great. Is the 265wt’s speaker loud enough?

    Steve - June 7th, 2009
    • Correct, all of the other functions will continue to work when running from the battery.

      Tim - June 8th, 2009
  45. I see you were just back to this forum today. I keep watching for your input (reply) on the difference in traffic function between the 265wt and the 765t (see #42 above). Still trying to decide…
    Kathy

    Kathy - June 8th, 2009
  46. Other than the blue tooth capability, is there any significant difference between 265WT and 260W? 260W is $70 cheaper than $265WT and I am wondering whether the additional features in 265WT is worh paying $70 more.

    Thanks for your input,

    Sri.

    Sri Ram - June 18th, 2009
  47. Travelling from OH to Chicago, I was really disappointed in the 265WT and gauging traffic (and construction). Here I am in the middle of the city (Chicago) bumper to bumper traffic and the 265WT said there was NO traffic. What about accidents and construction – should this device be able to ‘pick up’ on those. I was stuck on Indiana I-65 for over an hour because the road was shut down due to an accident – but Garmin never told me why and it didn’t even tell me there was traffic – really disappointed for this particular trip.

    Terri - June 19th, 2009
  48. Any news on when Garmin will resolve the Brussels problem?

    Brussels problem:
    – I’m English and live in Brussels
    – My Garmin 265WT is setup for English voice
    – Brussels is bi-lingual (French and Flemish/Dutch)
    – I don’t speak either language well, but am more comfortable with French than Flemish
    – I can search for streetnames in either French or Flemish
    – My Garmin will only speak streetnames in Flemish, never in French

    Do Garmin have plans to ever resolve this niggling issue?

    Is there some workaround possible?

    Thanks…

    Ben - June 22nd, 2009
  49. How does one save and store addresses on the 265 WT? Any tips?

    Thanks

    anita - June 26th, 2009
    • Hit the Save button.

      Jack - July 2nd, 2009
  50. You’re kidding me right? The unit says, \In .5 miles turn right on (whatever street you’re turning on)\ while showing you the street you’re on and the turn that is coming up and you want a tone instead? And when you get to the turn it tells you to turn and when you arrive at where you are going it tells you you’re arriving. I suppose it could blow your nose as well but I don’t see how it could give you any more information that would be useful. It warns you at least a mile out that your turn is coming, depending on your speed, shows you whether you’re turning right or left, tells you whether you’re turning right or left and guides you constantly through the turn. When you turn it announces how far it is to the next turn.

    Jack - June 26th, 2009
  51. Does “Bluetooth Data” and “Wireless Data” mean the ability of the unit to download data through those means instead of just a USB cable hooked to a computer?

    Jack - June 26th, 2009
    • No. It means the ability to receive data services like weather, fuel prices, or similar through either a Bluetooth DUN connection or through a GPRS radio, both enabling two way communication.

      Tim - June 26th, 2009
      • Thanks Tim. I’d like to hear your response to my latest post.

        Jack - June 26th, 2009
  52. I’m new to GPS’s and in love with them. This is artificial intelligence used well and one can only hope it will get better and catch up to mobile phones in graphics and ease of use. I bought the 265WT and its been great using it for the past month. Had a drive through unknown territory with lots of country roads at night of about 100 miles. I told it to take me home and it didn’t miss a beat. I love not having to worry about missing a turn or wondering if I’ve made the wrong one. Wonderful wonderful technology.
    BUT
    it has whetted my appetite and I want MORE!
    Who out there makes a unit that has these features?
    Widescreen
    Touch Sensitive
    Bluetooth Hands Free
    Bluetooth Data
    Wireless Data
    USB
    Included Traffic
    FM Transmitter
    Voice Activated
    Music
    Photos
    Text-To-Speech
    3D Display
    Waypoints Limited only by memory
    Routes Limited only by roads and memory
    Waypoints/Route Same as above
    POI Database Items Limited only by memory
    Electronic Compass
    Barometric Altimeter
    Active Lane Guidance
    Remote Control
    Download Routes from Google Maps
    Sync with my Phones address book
    IQ Routes
    or
    Predictive Routing/Timing
    or
    The Ability to LEARN (Let me correct some stupid mistakes in the map. Eg, a road I travel has a switchback to change from one highway to the next. Garmin knows its there and uses it in one direction but in the other it doesn’t. When I drive onto it, it hesitates, recalculates, paints it on the screen so it understands its there. I should be able to fix that without having to wait 6 months to a yr and a half OR it should have the capability of updating itself from what I’m driving – as a programmer I can tell you that isn’t unreasonable.)
    TDS or Time of Day Sensitivity

    So if anyone out there can tell me who has this list of features or which unit comes closest, I’m ready to buy it.

    Jack - June 26th, 2009
  53. The 265wt still gives better traffic info than the 765t– could it be a difference in software versions?Is there a way to check dates of software?
    I recently tried the 855. Love the voice commands (I drive alone), but I think you can’t spell things to it so it has to work on things it already knows, right? And no traffic.
    I love the altitude displayed by the 765t. Do any others have a way to see altitude?
    I like having a bicycle mode, but I think they all do.
    And I think a replacable battery might be nice for long bike rides, but does it lose all info when replacing the battery?
    I’ve only tried Garmins because I think they have the most dependable routing, but is there one which has all that I like in the individual ones? Should I consider another brand? Should I wait for the newest Garmin?
    THANKS for any input– Kathy

    Kathy - June 26th, 2009
  54. I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 265WT MODEL BUT THE TRAFFIC RECIEVER DOESNT SEEM TO WORK .ONCE IN AWHILE THE TRAFFIC ICONS WILL COME ON BUT MOSTLY THEY DONT COME ON.I LIVE IN LONG ISLAND IN NASSAU COUNTY I SHOULD BE GETTING IT JUST ABOUT ALL THE TIME .MY QUESTION IS HOW DOES IT WORK .DO I HAVE TO PRESS ANY THING TO ACTIVATE IT OR WHEN I PLUG IT IN IT JUST COMES ON.

    JAMES - June 27th, 2009
  55. Hi all,
    I cannot find the sobeys supermaket or td bank which existed for about 3 years near my home using point of interest search. I have downloaded the newest 2010 map and no new updates are available for my garmin 265wt. Is there an updated POI file i could download.

    ken - July 2nd, 2009
    • Ken, GPS devices only include a portion of all known businesses. There are about 6 million included on the Nuvi, out of about 25 million in the map coverage area.

      Tim - July 2nd, 2009
  56. Hi all. I’m currently debating between a garmin 755T and a 265WT. The 755T is a $100 more, but if it’s a significantly better unit, I think it would be worth the price since I’m very directionally challenged. Any thoughts? Has anyone here tried both?

    Gwen - July 7th, 2009
  57. Gwen–see my comments #42 and 53 above. I’ve been trying 265wt and 765t(which I assume is almost the same as 755t) and I find significant differences in traffic response.I like the display choices of the 765t (eg, I like watching altitude in some areas) but the 265wt is way better with traffic. I still haven’t gotten any response to my questions.
    Kathy

    Kathy DeRonne - July 7th, 2009
  58. Great! Thanks so much for replying Kathy. The 265WT is $100 cheaper so unless the 755T had much better features, I was probably ging to go with the 265. Glad to know that the traffic is good even on the cheaper model! Appreciate your response πŸ™‚

    Gwen - July 7th, 2009
  59. I hope this isn’t a stupid question, but I bought the Nuvi 265WT yesterday, that’s what the box says, but located on the bottom of the GPS… it says 265W. Doesn’t have the T. And I went from North to South Jersey without the traffic icon popping up… coult the company really be stupid enough to put the wrong GPS in the box?

    Jim - July 17th, 2009
    • No.

      Jack - July 17th, 2009
    • Jim, see question #43 for your concern. Hope this help.

      Orchid

      Maureen - September 30th, 2010
    • See also question #84.
      This may help too.

      Maureen

      Maureen - September 30th, 2010
  60. Turns out… they put the wrong one in the box. They’re going to let me return it. I googled .wrong nuvi gps in box. and apparently another person had a problem with stupid Costco too.

    jim - July 17th, 2009
    • It was Costco that put the wrong unit in the box? Weird – why would they even have the box open. My nuvi 265WT say 265W on it as well. Not anything unusual in that. Mine gets traffic perfectly fine. Its the cable that came with it that lets you know if you can get the traffic, not the unit.

      Jack - July 17th, 2009
      • I also have the same issue. The box says it is 265WT while the unit is labelled as 265W. You mentioned about a cable that provides the traffic info. Can you please expalin which cable it is and how does that get the traffic info?

        Thanks, Sri.

        Sridhar Ramamurthy - July 17th, 2009
      • oh… really? what do you mean by the cable that comes with it lets you know if you can get the traffic? is there actually a model with just W and not WT? why would they not write the T on it?

        jim - July 17th, 2009
        • The cable that plugs into the power in your vehicle. If it has a box (small and rectangular) on it that’s the FM receiver for the traffic and what enables you to get traffic. Without it, you won’t get traffic.

          Jack - July 17th, 2009
          • Thanks alot! So in other words, you won’t get traffic if it is running on battery power, only if it is plugged in.

            jim - July 18th, 2009
  61. For all the questions about 265W and 265WT concerning traffic, go to page 29 of the users manual accessed here:
    http://www8.garmin.com/manuals/2675_OwnersManual.pdf

    Jack - July 18th, 2009
  62. I am finding that my 265WT has a tendency to get lost and directions tend to come ‘after the fact’ – there are also times where it announces directions for an area that I am ‘not even near’ – has anyone else experienced this. Also, do we need to ‘update’ our Garmins often so that construction routes etc may be determined better – or is it really left up to the ‘fm’ transmitter?

    Terri - July 18th, 2009
  63. The 265WT takes a while to activate the traffic subscription. It has to have a satellite fix and also be in an area with traffic signals. This took more than 30 minutes for me, 20 miles north of Boston. It only has to activate once.

    Rod - July 21st, 2009
  64. With no regard to the Bluetooth and the Traffic features of the 265wt, how does the 255w stack up against the 265wt?

    Alix - July 23rd, 2009
  65. Can’t decide between the Garmin Nuvi 265WT or the Nuvi 760. Are the newer features of the 265 worth more than the additional features of the 760? Both are in the same price range. Help!!!

    Sally - July 24th, 2009
  66. Just bought the 265w(t) (deleted). It seems to be a very nice unit. A FM transmitter to play over the car radio would be nice though. Haven’t got a chance to check out the traffic feature. Paired w/ my phone via bluetooth, but as someone else said, audio can be a little difficult to hear. Went online and updated the software & voices…

    Gabe - July 28th, 2009
  67. I have to agree with David – the traffic advice on the 265wt is virtually worthless in my opinion. Also, I lost my satellite signal alot and sometimes it will tell me a turn is coming up 20 times (slight exaggeration) before I get to it and sometimes I’m right on top of the street it wants me to turn. Causes much frustration. Also I don’t find the route it takes me to be the most direct route or the quickest.

    Terri - August 16th, 2009
  68. What is the best bicycle mount for the nuvi 265wt ?

    Kim - August 23rd, 2009
  69. Hi all. I’m in UK and recently purchased a 265T. First use was holidaying in France. Overall pleased, but a number of annoyances: 1) The via feature seems to have been designed for stopping at places rather than simply routing in a general direction. Consequently, going to Manchester via Derby will take you off the motorways and INTO Derby which is not very useful. 2) Once a route has been found, no alternative is offered (fastest/shortest/economical/scenic would be great). 3) There is no option to avoid specific roads or cities. 4) Scrolling through the route list shows every turn. It would be useful to simply highlight the road names or numbers (blue for motorways, green for A-roads etc.) 5) Other than by scrolling through the route list or zooming in on the map, there is no means of confirming the final destination address. May seem obvious, but when you get out the car and return some time later or have added a via point, seeing the final destination would be comforting. 6) There does not appear to be an option to plan a route that does NOT start from the current address. 7) And finally, as mentioned elsewhere, not showing the current road is a glaring omission. An obvious place to site this would be “on” the menu button at the centre bottom of the screen. 8) Would I have been better off with a TomTom One IQ???

    Paul - August 27th, 2009
  70. One of the features of the 265WT that is influencing my decision to purchase this GPS uint in the near future is the Bluetooth option for phone calls. I scanned the above comments and discussions and did not see anyone address the use of the GPS unit for the phone feature. I don’t like using a headset, and of course my car dosent have bluetooth feature either.

    Could anyone give me feedback on this feature. Thanks

    nancy - October 2nd, 2009
    • I use the bluetooth feature with my 265WT and love it. I didn’t know my phone (Motorola) had that but one day I set my phone next to the GPS and they started talking to each other. Very cool and I like being hands free. Its only as good as the strength of your signal though which should be obvious but some think its the fault of the GPS when its their phone. I use it daily and really appreciate being able to dial right from the gps and having my phone #’s automatically downloaded to the gps and being able to call a destination without having to have the phone# in my phone. Great stuff!

      Daniel - October 2nd, 2009
    • The Bluetooth is nice. Be aware of a couple of things, though. A. You can usually hear your callers pretty good, but you won’t sound too great to them. The built in Mic is pretty lousy, and there’s no noise reduction with it. Finding a suitable external mic to plug in isn’t easy, either. The other thing is, though it gets info from your phone, you may often find what it lists as “last called” or “last received” may not actually jive with what’s on your phone

      David - October 2nd, 2009
  71. As a county deputy, I need to find addresses quickly. My current GPS requires the zip code of the address where I want to go- and there are 48 different ones in my county! I need a unit that will search by county or at least by state (if it had a CAD-like feature it could narrow those results down by the number on the address, which would be even better). I do like the tone for turns, since I am usually listening to two different police channels and the GPS voice gets lost. Any suggestions?

    Kim - November 4th, 2009
    • Did you ever find one? I am in need of the same thing!

      me - December 11th, 2009
  72. Looking at getting this model. How is the navigation performance on it? Seems like some people aren’t too happy with Garmin’s route selection.

    Paul Rhodes - November 19th, 2009
  73. Hi Peter,

    I have been using bluetooth with this unit now for one week and it works amazing.

    Ligolocoli - November 20th, 2009
  74. What, exactly, is the difference between the 265W and the 265WT? Is it simply that the WT gives you the lifetime subcription for traffic?

    When I look at the specs, it says that the W has data connection but the WT does not. What is the advantage of this feature?

    The WT has a keypad interface, but the W does not. What is this?

    Also the W has downloadable maps but the WT does not.

    The W is $20 cheaper, but seems to have some better features. Should I buy this then pay the $60 for the lifetime traffic subsription?

    Thanks!

    Kirsten - November 22nd, 2009
    • One more thing, I will be using this GPS in the Greater Toronto Area (Ontario, Canada). Has anyone used the traffic feature here? I see from the Garmin website that it is available (Hamilton, Mississauga, Toronto, etc.) but does it work? I don’t want to pay for something that is not going to be of much use.

      Kirsten - November 22nd, 2009
    • The only difference is the traffic receiver. There is no differences in data, maps, keyboard, etc otherwise… just traffic.

      Tim - November 22nd, 2009
  75. Is the Nuvi 285WT the same as the 265WT except for the traffic options?

    Gary - November 23rd, 2009
  76. Hello All Iam hoping someone can recommend a unit for me.. Have been researching and my brain is in overload..
    I am looking for one that will state streets, clear voice, and shows current street .. Other options a bonus (traffic, bluetooth etc).
    Was loonig at the 265WT but not sure about the current street issue.
    Also add in todays paper for 255WT and I can not find any info on it. Was that a type O and should be 265WT??

    Thanks

    Thank you

    Lori - November 26th, 2009
    • Lori, Garmin has a habit of randomly creating new models without actually announcing them or putting info on their website about them. A 255WT is an exclusive to one retailer as far as I know and includes the free lifetime traffic unlike the 255w but it doesn’t have the bluetooth function found in the 265WT.

      Tim - November 27th, 2009
  77. POI’s… does the Garmin allow you to view POI’s while you drive?

    John - December 4th, 2009
    • Not in the default driving 3D mode.

      Tim - December 4th, 2009
  78. My wife doesn’t drive on freeways. I’m looking for a GPS that has an easy-to-use option for routes that do not include freeways. Does the Garmin 265WT offer this? Any other suggestions? Thanks!

    Greg - December 7th, 2009
    • My 255W is essentially the same thing – I drive exclusively on back and secondary roads. In seven years there is maybe 100mi. of freeway on my VW.

      In the Settings for the Garmin, you can disable use of Highways (read Freeways), and avoid also non-paved roads.

      In addition there is “Shortest” OR “Fastest”.

      Works like a charm. You can also avoid Tolls, which is fine until you need to navigate across a Canada/USA bridge that has a toll-booth.

      Glen - December 7th, 2009
      • Thank you. Can you tell me if the “no highway” option is a choice you make every time you program in a new route, or is it something you set as a default in an options menu?

        Greg - December 7th, 2009
        • You set it once and forget. However, if you were to decide that for a trip you were going to use freeways, just change it for that one trip, and then back afterwards.

          I occasionally disable the “avoid unpaved roads” if I feel truly like exploring out-of-the-way places.

          Glen - December 7th, 2009
          • Thanks, Glen. VERY helpful!

            Greg - December 7th, 2009
    • The Nuvi 855 has LOTS of custom avoidances to choose from– avoid highways, toll roads, a certain ractangle on the map, etc. It also lets you automatically or do-it-yourself optimize via points. It has gotten VERY cheap recently (yesterday,don’t know how to access a forum to say where) and is lifetime free traffic compatible, meaning you can buy the FM traffic plug for it later, if you like.

      Kathy - December 11th, 2009
  79. Hi I want to buy either the 265wt or one of the 700 series for my husband who get lost everywhere and never knows how to get somewhere. He is also always in the wrong lane when he needs to be turning off somewhere. We end up fighting on highway trips since he always tales the wrong exit or can tell which lane he should be in. I would also like bluetooth… its law here in ontatio canada, I am in Ottawa area so triffic feature is irrelevant. CAN you sugggest the best model. it would be nice to jack into our sterio system for better sound but not necessary. What do you recommend?

    bonnie - December 9th, 2009
    • Bonnie, I’d look at the Garmin Nuvi 765T since it has a lane guidance feature that the 200 series doesn’t have. However, I’m not sure how much coverage there is for lane guidance in Ottawa.

      Tim - December 9th, 2009
  80. I have narrowed my choice to either Garmin 265WT ot TomTom330XL. Am I correct that the garmin has free traffic while the 330 has the lane advice feature. If you had to choose which would you go for. From most of the comments here ,it seems the traffic feature is not that helpful. I live in MOntreal and can get the 330 for $150 and the garmin 265 for $200.is it worth the $50?
    thank you

    lloyd - December 9th, 2009
    • I have a 255W, but before I bought it this last fall I checked on the traffic feature of the 265wt. The only Canadian city to have traffic was Toronto, and the information was next to useless from what I could determine. I’d save the money and get the 255w. I don’t use freeways/400s myself, so the lane-assist function is not useful to me, and if I was always using the same 401/411 etc, I still can’t see it being important. (just my personal opinion).

      Glen - December 10th, 2009
  81. 265wt or Streetpilot C550? That is the question!
    There are still some new streetpilots out there so which would you buy and why?
    many thanks

    andrew - December 10th, 2009
    • I vote for Streetpilot. I’ve been using GPS’s for about 5-6 years now. Have owned 5 Garmins, a Tom Tom and a Magellan. Currently, I have the C580, which is the same as the 550 (MSN vs. TMC) and the TomTom Go630. What the SP’s have that the Nuvi’s don’t are A. The optional Attention Tone before turns, and B. They will tell you the current street you are on AS WELL as the next turn. I drive all day for work, to a different client each time all over Eastern Mass. Street signs are scarce here. I find the tone important as you tend to start to ignore the voice commands after a while, and the tone at least alerts you to your stop, and I find knowing what street you are currently driving on invaluable, especially when in an unfamiliar area. The Nuvi’s just indicate the next turn, but not the current street. Why Garmin changed that is beyond me, but it appears that the SP’s were more true driver’s navigation tools, and the Nuvi’s are more toys. Yes, the Nuvi’s are thinner, but that’s the only advantage. IMO

      Dave - December 10th, 2009
      • OK, you have me convinced on buying a C550 (or C580). But the problem is they are not available in the stores anymore. I don’t like buying online so much because you cannot return it easily if you have a problem. Please see my post #98. Any replies would be greatly appreciated.

        Mitch - November 8th, 2010
  82. Just purchased a Nuvi 265wt and am having a problem registering it. When I get to the part that says please wait while the plugin finds your device, I wait and wait and wait and nothing happens. The computer recognizes the nuvi (serial #, etc.) and I have downloaded the software update, but I can’t download maps (because it says it is not registered). What am I doing wrong? Windows xp with IE as browser and I allowed active x to be installed.

    Vern - December 17th, 2009
  83. Tim,
    I think I posted my question to the Black Friday page by mistake. I don’t see the Garmin 285WT on your list. I’ve seen one on sale and I’m considering purchasing it.
    It will be my first Garmin.
    It has the wide screen, the travel feature and is BlueTooth
    compatible.
    Have you heard any reviews of this model?
    My boyfriend wants to know if it can be reprogrammed to say.. “no, no, your other left”. just kidding.. but he’d do it if he could.

    Ann - December 27th, 2009
  84. my question is that does any body know why on the box it is written that 265wt, and on the gps it is written 265w, if any body know pls answer it thanx

    RAJ - January 7th, 2010
    • Raj, a 265WT is a 265W with a traffic receiver. The GPS is identical. The power/traffic cable is the only difference. So a 265WT is a 265W with the addition of a traffic cable.

      Tim - January 7th, 2010
      • thanx tim, but i called customer service about this problem and tomorrow they are sending me the right piece, then should i call them not to send me new one because it is same ? pls guide me thanx

        raj - January 7th, 2010
        • If your GPS has the thick power cord with integrated traffic receiver then you have the 265WT package already. (There never was a 265W that didn’t come as a 265WT.)

          Tim - January 7th, 2010
  85. I live in the new york city area and i am thinking of buying the 265WT. Is the traffic updates with this unit accurate or am i wasting my money?

    Bob - January 15th, 2010
    • the traffic updates are WELL worth it, i avoided a water main break on the baltimore beltway yesterday taking someone to the airport, saved the day and get her to the airport on time. the big cities will be very good with the traffic, outside the city (rural) may be a little spotty, but traffic is usually a non issue

      Jeff - January 20th, 2010
  86. I recently purchased the 265WT. The Bluetooth feature was one of the reasons that I chose this model. I am very disappointed in the quality of the Bluetooth. When my husband calls me from the car, he has to almost yell in order for me to be able to hear him. It sounds like he is at the end of a tunnel a very, very long way away. Also, there is lots of background noises interfering with the sound, despite trying it with the radio turned off and even the car turned off. As a result, I can hardly understand what he is saying to me.

    He can hear me through the GPS without any difficulty. It seems to be a problem with the ability of the microphone to pick up sounds, and the interference, of course.

    Anyone have any problems with their Bluetooth?

    Kirsten - January 20th, 2010
    • No, but I bought the 265WT for the Bluetooth feature and it does not work with my cell model. I called them for help and was told there was nothing they could do that I should check back to see if they add that model to the list.
      So now your comments just added to my dissapointment with my garmin.

      Ann - January 20th, 2010
      • I’ve had the 285wt (identical to 265wt except with MSN) for a week and the blue tooth is fantastic, both what I can hear and for the person on the other end. I have a feeling this is more related to your own phone than the GPS itself.

        Chris - January 25th, 2010
  87. Use my 265wt primarily on the weekends to go to garage/estate sales. Use Garmin Communicator to link device with online maps and send addresses to device – works great! However, each following week, all of the past addresses get reloaded to the device as favorites. This is obviously a syncing issue (I don’t want it to sync).Is there a way to disable syncing when I connect the device to the computer?

    Glenn - March 14th, 2010
    • There is no syncing functionality. Whenever you load new addresses they are added as new addresses and the old ones are not changed/deleted, etc. The old addresses remain until you delete them.

      Tim - March 14th, 2010
      • Delete them from where? I delete all of the addresses except for home,work and family on the Garmin while it is in the vehicle. I verify that they are all gone. I bring the unit inside and connect the USB cable and voila, the addresses are back.

        Glenn - March 14th, 2010
  88. I’ve had a 265wt give questionable routing travelling in NY and PA – taking me for a 2 hour section off I81 to save 10 minutes over a more direct I81 to I90 interstate route. Routing goes through residential areas and county routes with traffic lights…not what I expect on a long trip. I can’t find any options to avoid this type of routing.

    On a recent trip, it would freeze at 99%, 85%, 84% etc. and not be able to complete a route to ‘home’. Had to pick another, closer destination and then try to route for home again. I’m not impressed.

    Goran - March 18th, 2010
    • Had the same issue whilst visiting PA from Canada. I resolved the issue as soon as I disabled the ‘avoid toll road’ option.

      Looking later on GoogleMaps, I found out that I could not easily get to Erie,PA from Canada without using tolls. Since changing the setting, has worked perfectly….

      Tom - June 2nd, 2010
  89. got myself a 265W last week
    i cant get it to update from 6.10 to 6.40
    if i try to update through myDashboards. it would hang at 8%
    OR it goes through all the way, asks me to restart the unit. and when i do, the unit would display ‘the software update corrupt. please download again’
    if i try to use the webupdater. it will hang at 16% with a ‘communication error’

    i cant even update the map from 2010.10 to 2010.30 that i have already downloaded. it gets stuck with ‘unrecoverable error’ whe trying to update the above firmware

    any ideas? TIA

    mahadhir - May 24th, 2010
  90. are yu able to enter latitude and Longitude into any of the car GPS units?

    Kent - May 29th, 2010
  91. I the \where to\ menu, press the down arrow and you should find a icon for lat & long, you can enter them here. This is on the 265WT unit, I don’t know about any other models.

    My problem with it, is the documents I get GPS coordinates from give the coordinates in this format xx.xxxxxx and that is not one of the options for entering coordinates. I haven’t been able to find a way to convert them to hh mm ss format.

    Nancy - June 4th, 2010
  92. Hi everyone,

    Is it possible to disable the Bluetooth option in this model?
    Does it save the setting, or should I set it each time I turn it on?

    Thanks a lot!

    Boris - July 24th, 2010
    • The BT on the 265WT can be turned off, however I leave mine turned ON all the time. I also leave my phone’s BT ON.
      You pair the 265WT to your BT phone only once. After its paired the 265WT will remember your phone, so YES it saves the settings.

      The extra features that the 265WT can do via BT is totally dependent on your phones BT feature. I have a Blackberry Tour 9630 and will speak specifically to its operation with the 265WT.

      The protocol for re-connection after the 265WT is paired is this…each time you reach your destination and turn off your engine or power the 265WT off, the BT link is broken. Assuming you optioned both your phone and 265WT BT ON, when you start your car or power on the 265WT via switch, the 265WT BT attempts to reconnect to the phone. You must watch your phone (my BB 9630) for a reconnection message and answer YES, otherwise it will tmeout. If left unanswered the 265WT will dispaly BT “Connection to Phone Failed” message.

      If you missed the reconnect message, you must initiate reconnection to the 265WT from your phone.

      Once you answer yes, BT connection is established which is indicated by a phone icon that will appear at the bottom of your 265WT screen.

      If you quickly press the phone icon on the 265WT you will see on the screen (default) 4 icons – Points of Interest, Dial, Call Home and Voice Dial.

      If your phone supports other BT features, you will slowly see them appear momentarily as the features get sent over the BT connection from your phone to the 265WT. They don’t instantly appear. Within a minute or so, on my 265WT screen I will see 2 additional icons: Phone Book and Call History for a total of 6 icons (when you press on the Phone icon from the main Home screen).

      At the bottom of the 265WT Phone screen, you’ll see the Status Bar. When pressed, it will show your phones Signal Strength Bars and Battery Status. Kinda handy.

      The 265WT can only handle pairing with one phone at a time. When you add another BT phone, it will disconnect from the paired phone (if you have one paired).

      For example I haso have an Android Sprint HTC Hero. When I switch to the Hero on the 265WT, my Blackberry 9630 gets disconnected. BTW, my Sprint HTC Hero pairs just fine with the 265WT (its not listed on Garmin’s Phone Compatibility List). Momentarily it sends over the Phone Book and Call History. Again, these are features of your phone – wheather or not it gets pushed to the 265WT ot not.

      The Phone Book is from the current phone thats paired. It seems that it overwrites the previous Phone Book.

      The Call History is calls made to/from the 265WT so that includes any and all phone calls made on the 265WT.

      This process may differ from phone to phone.

      Maroot - August 4th, 2010
      • Correction on the Call History.

        It appears the Call History is from the paired phone and NOT from my earlier post that states its from “any and all phone calls made on the 265WT”

        The Call History information is fresh each time you pair a new phone to the 265WT.

        Maroot - August 4th, 2010
        • Thanks a lot for the detailed info!

          Boris - August 8th, 2010
  93. I just returned my 265WT. the problem is it does not show me the main road, always shows me the country road (the road with stones). It does have the main road, straight and shortest. However, this GPS always shows me to make turns, really ridiculous

    wey - August 2nd, 2010
    • I had exactly the same problem in Quebec this weekend. I checked the unpaved roads in the Avoidances section, it made no difference. th GPS kept avoiding paved roads and highways and sending me to dirt roads. In three opportunities, these roads ended in cul-de-sacs and the GPS told me to keep going. Had have done so, I would have run through a couple of houses and barns. Not good. Any suggestion appreciated.

      Jude - August 10th, 2010
  94. i went to montreal but my nuvi 265wt was quiet there, and was not prompting the steets names there could any body help
    thanx

    rick - August 8th, 2010
  95. Do I need the garmin usb cable or it is a standard usb cable?

    Ginger - August 11th, 2010
    • Most of the time a standard USB to mini USB cable will work fine. However I have seen situations where a random cable didn’t work and the Garmin cable (often with a ferrite bead on it) worked. So if you’ve got a cable from another device go ahead and try it– if it doesn’t work you can then go get the Garmin cable.

      Tim - August 11th, 2010
  96. just wondering the best choice tomtom 730 or the nuvi 265wt?
    have read the reviews, but still undecided.
    looking for a push in the right direction.
    Both are available new for $149(tomtom) & $159(265wt)
    thanks
    Bryan

    bryan - September 27th, 2010
    • Bryan, they’re both good GPS units but I think the Garmin has an edge over the TomTom.

      In my opinion the Garmin 265WT has a better UI (User Interface), and is faster. Using a GPS day in and day out, you’ll appriciate the better UI and GPS operational speed. That’s something you can’t change after you purchase it.

      Believe me, for the $10 difference, you’ll be happier in the long run with the Garmin. But if you want to save 10 bucks, you’ll have to live with the Tomtom’s menus and operational speed for the life of the GPS.

      Your choice.

      Maroot - September 28th, 2010
  97. I understand that if I have a route set I can configure this unit to show the speed limit and alert me if I go over it… what I’m looking for is basically the alert if I’m speeding without always having to put in a destination…
    Does this unit – or any other unit you know of do that?
    (I get tickets and am sick of it) πŸ™‚

    Andy - October 6th, 2010
  98. Thanks for a great GPS review site! After reading all the posts, I am convinced on buying a Streetpilot C550. The problem is that the unit was introduced in 2006 and is no longer available at any stores. I can find a few units new online for a reasonable price, and used (like new) units for about half the price. But I like buying things from a physical store so that I can take it back if I have a problem with it or I don’t like it. I can get a new Nuvi 256WT from several local big name stores for about half the price of a new C550 purchased online, and I can take it back if it is defective or I don’t like it. But I like the two features of the C550 that the 256WT doesn’t have: namely the alert tone and the name of the present street you are on. I wish I could find the C550 in a store somewhere. What a dilemma!

    Mitch - November 8th, 2010
    • Get it from Amazon, their returns policy isas good as any store

      David - November 9th, 2010
      • Also, if I buy a C550 (new or used), I assume the maps will be from circa 2006. Does Garmin still support the C550 with new updated maps (2010 versions)? Is the map update free or how much does it cost? How do you install them? How does the whole thing work? Also, please see post #99.

        Mitch - November 9th, 2010
  99. Amazon does not have any new units for sale, only used units. Would you buy a used unit for about half the price from Amazon (but then you are really getting it from another vendor that advertises on Amazon)? Or would you buy a new unit (presumably with a warranty) from another vendor that had a good satisfaction rating? By the way, I assume that the C550 has maps for Canada, is that true?

    Mitch - November 9th, 2010
  100. The unit still takes new maps. If you don’t buy it new, you probably won’t qualify for the new maps guarantee. I have the 2009 maps in my 580. You install them from your computer. Either a disc or download. Incidently, the 550 and the 580 are the same unit. The only difference is the cord. I haven’t figured out WHY Garmin would eliminate these two features, it’s not like they’re saving money by doing it. Both units have all of North America. We recently used mine in Quebec

    Dave - November 9th, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright