leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 350

Mar
27
2006

The Garmin Nuvi 350 has become one of best selling GPS devices in the world, and for good reason. It offers what most people are looking for in a first time GPS purchase; a pocketable device which is easy to operate and doesn’t have too many advanced features they will likely never use. But, one GPS device doesn’t fit all, the Nuvi 350 lacks many navigation functions found in other GPS devices you might be interested in. Is this Nuvi right for you?

Hardware

In terms of the physical design, Garmin just about nailed this one perfectly. Along the top of the device is the power button providing easy access when mounted on your dash. Along the right side is the SD card slot, USB/power connector, and an audio jack for headphones. Thankfully, no buttons were placed along the bottom since that area is out of reach when mounted in a vehicle.

The Nuvi 350 comes with a “flip-up” antenna. I’ve never really understood Garmin’s reasoning for doing this and I’m glad that the new 200 series dropped this antenna style. The GPS chipset inside the “flip-up” antenna is the legendary SiRFstarIII chipset. So you should have no trouble getting a quick signal, and one that will stay locked on even in areas where older GPS devices might have found challenging.

You will also find that the Nuvi 350 is very light and compact. It weighs just over five ounces making it one of the lightest GPS devices in its class and is less than one inch thick. Within this frame Garmin put in the fairly industry standard 3.5 inch display which can show 320×240 pixels. The screen is of very high quality and works well in bright sunlight and from a wide viewing angle. If you are extremely tough on devices, the frame on this Nuvi does flex a little bit more than other similar devices, however I’ve never heard of that actually becoming an issue for anyone.

The mount is hands down the best mount in the industry. It is not ridiculously large like some other mounts, it is easily adjustable, and there is a quick release button along the bottom of the mount. To top it off, the power connector connects to the mount itself which feeds power to the GPS, therefore you don’t have a power cable dangling loose when you take your GPS out of the car. I’ll say it again, this is the best mount in the industry.

Navigating to an Address

What makes this GPS a hot seller is largely due to how simple Garmin makes the initial presentation on the device. A simple menu saying “Where to?” is all you need to get started. This resonates with many people and makes it a device I recommend to people who are less technically savvy. After clicking Where to you can navigate to an address, any number of POI categories, your stored (favorite) locations, intersections, coordinates, or specific places on the map. Typically you might select an address.

After selecting address, you are asked what state your address is in. Here, you type in the name of the state you want to go to, or it will also display your current state as a “quick pick” option. Typing in the name of the state seems like a huge pain. You can’t even type in an official state abbreviation, instead you must type in the whole state name. This can be a pain when you want to go to somewhere like New York where you must type in N-E-W-space-Y before you can select New York. It should know what I mean if I type NY.

After typing in the State, you type in a city. Following the city is the house number. This has always seemed backwards to me. While at first the Nuvi 350 seems to be drilling down from the biggest target (states) to smaller targets (cities) the Nuvi asks you for the street number before typing in the street name. No biggie, but it did catch me off guard the first few times. After selecting the street number, then you select the street. You can then see what result it found from your search and then either click the Go button to be routed to that location, view the address on the map, or save it to your favorite locations.

Navigating to a Point of Interest

Navigating to a POI is equally simple. After clicking “Where to” you can select from a list of categories. The categories seem be sorted by how frequently you might use that category, but I’m not entirely sure. For example “Auto Services” is near the very bottom of the list. But up top center I found “food”. Then you can select from a list of types of food and the GPS will search for a list of restaurants in the category of food you are looking for. The list is sorted by how close each location is to you. Selecting one of the POIs will show the street address and phone number of the location. Just like after finding an address you can either click the Go button to be routed there, save the location to your favorites, or show the location on the map.

Driving

While navigating text will be displayed across the top of the screen telling you your current/next instruction like “Main Street to I-95″ if you are currently driving on main street and your next turn is onto I-95. What I don’t like is that in many cases there is no indication of which direction your next turn is directly on this screen if you forget what the voice said. Instead near the lower right is a field for “turn in” which tells you how far away your next turn is. Clicking on this will show a picture of the intersection along with an arrow indicating where you travel through the intersection. The information is available, but it is a click away.

Along the lower left side of the screen is a field for your estimated arrival time. I’ve found it to be very optimistic, even in areas of no traffic. Also missing is a field to tell you how long (in time) you have left to get your destination. You can take the arrival time and subtract that from the current time, but doing time based math while in traffic is more than I can handle. So when the kids are in the back of the car saying “Are we there yet?” you can tell them that you are 43 miles from your destination (if you click to go to another screen) or you can tell them you will arrive at 8:43 pm…. But neither of those answers may answer the question they are looking for. Again, this is a minor gripe, but I’ve had several people coming to me wondering where to find “time to turn” and “time to destination” information on their screen. Most people can estimate time better than distance.

Advanced Planning

The point of the Garmin Nuvi 350 is simplicity… and simplicity was delivered. However this leaves out many routing features that are available in other GPS devices of the same class. There is no “advanced planning” type feature. For example if you are going on a trip and want to know how long it will take you to get from your destination airport to the hotel, that information is difficult to get out of the Nuvi 350. There is a workaround involving turning the GPS antenna off, going to the map, zooming way out, finding your starting location on the map, zooming back in, clicking the set location button, then going to the menu, navigating to an address, clicking go, and then viewing the arrival time (doing the math yourself to see how long it will take you to get there based on the current time) and/or going to the trip information screen to view the distance to the destination…..but that workaround is probably more trouble than it is worth.

Detours

There is a detour feature on the Nuvi 350. While driving if you come across a blocked road you can click menu and then select the ‘Detour’ button. This will create a route around the next section of the road. But again, Garmin has gone for simplicity here. Other devices typically allow you to select either an estimated distance ahead of you that the road is blocked, or allow specific road or intersection to be avoided. Those customizations are not available on this GPS.

Multiple Destination Routing

Another feature many people ask us about is multiple destination routing. People who make deliveries or are sales reps and drive to several locations in one day typically ask this for. What these people are looking for is a way to build up one route with all of their destinations. Then they can see how long the entire route will take. The Nuvi 350 allows for one “via” point per route. In other words you can say “I want to go to destination A and to get there I want the GPS to take me via point B”. However you can only add one via point per route. Most people might not need this feature, but it can be really handy to have depending on the type of driving you do.

Voice Quality

The Nuvi 350 has text to speech, this means that it will speak the names of streets as part of the voice prompting when giving directions. It is also one of the fewer entry level GPS devices which incorporates this feature. The voice quality itself isn’t quite as good as other devices in its class which don’t use text-to-speech, but it is a very acceptable quality and I didn’t have too much trouble understanding what the voice was telling me to do. There are multiple voices to choose from. The volume is also acceptably loud. When cranked all of the way up, the volume is still an acceptable quality at highway speeds.

Extras

Speaking of sound, the Nuvi 350 will also play MP3 files and audio books. The external speaker won’t replace any of your other audio devices anytime soon, but if you occasionally want to plug in headphones you will find it an acceptable MP3 player. You will have about 700 MB of free space to work with.

It is also worth mentioning that there are a few other applications which come along with their “Travel Kit”. You get a picture viewer, world clock, calculator, as well as a currency and unit converter. Those features probably won’t tip the scales one way or another in your choice of a GPS device

Nuvi 350 Purchasing Advice

As mentioned at the top, the Garmin Nuvi 350 is one of the best selling GPS devices out there, mostly due to the simplicity of the design. If you are looking for your first GPS device and want something extremely simple to use, the Nuvi 350 should be on your list of devices to consider. If your navigation needs are a little more sophisticated, you might want to consider a device with more routing features such as a TomTom ONE or the Harman Kardon GPS 500. But if you are looking for a dead simple GPS device with text-to-speech and without all of the “extras”, take a hard look at the Nuvi 350.

435 Responses


  1. Tim, any news on the “connecting to satellites” issue? Was there a firware update?

    Michael - January 17th, 2009
    • I’m not sure what news you are seeking. Was I going to research something from you? Most 350s are exceptionally quick to get a signal. Others when they sometimes have trouble can be fixed by following our Acquiring Satellites tips. And there are some where the sensor that determines if the antenna is up or down breaks and the GPS thinks the antenna is down. (This is recognizable by the GPS going into simulation mode.) Beyond that I’m not sure what to tell you.

      Tim - January 17th, 2009
  2. I got a notice to update my NUVI so I went to the website and updated. What was actually updated? Were the maps updated or the system? If the maps are updated, then why should I buy the 2009 North America maps?

    Paul - January 19th, 2009
    • I think you will have to tell us what you updated. I wasn’t watching. :)

      Tim - January 19th, 2009
  3. I’m having a hard time telling how old my NA maps are on my nuvi 350. Can anyone tell me what’s the latest version?
    Thanks!

    Jack - January 20th, 2009
    • Tools -> Settings -> Map -> Map Info. That will show you your current map version. The current version is called “City Navigator 2009″ and despite its name was released by Garmin around April of 2008 and is based on a release they purchased from their mapping supplier in the second half of 2007.

      Tim - January 20th, 2009
  4. I have a problem with my garmin 350.everytime I press the Address or Food or Spell Name,Show on the screen No Map Available? What is this means ?I need your help. Thank You Very Much.

    EVER - January 27th, 2009
    • What does it show if you go to Tools -> Settings -> Map -> Map Info?

      Tim - January 27th, 2009
  5. I have a Nuvi 350 for the past 2 years or so. I hadn’t used it for the past few months. Now when I go to ”Where to ?” and ”Address” it asks me to spell the State. Problem is it won’t allow me to enter the State….instead all it says is ”No matches Found”. So I can’t go beyond that.
    Anyone know what the problem is here ?
    Thanks for any help.

    Frank - February 1st, 2009
    • I assume you are trying to type in a state name and not an abbreviation.?.

      Tim - February 1st, 2009
      • It will not allow me to type in anything. As soon as I hit a letter it says ”No Matches Found”.

        Frank - February 1st, 2009
        • If you go to tools -> settings -> map -> map info, is there a map selected? If that doesn’t help you should call Garmin support.

          Tim - February 1st, 2009
    • I too updated my maps on my Garmin 350 and now it won’t even let me type in the state…goes right to “NO MATCH FOUND”..Why is this a problem. I paid a for a lifetime update and now I have nothing.. I rely on this devise for my business. What is going on and is there a remedy? Garmin is not responding…

      Jyl - September 12th, 2010
  6. Thanks for your help Tim. That worked.

    Frank - February 3rd, 2009
  7. Has anyone had problems with their unit not updating to where you are? Bought a unit for my parents for Christmas for them to take on their month-long trip to Florida. My mom said that no matter where she is down south, it starts her routing from her home in Michigan. It will give her 30 screens of driving directions from home to Florida! The key reason they wanted the Nuvi was for its food and hotel search functions, but they can’t use it at all. They have turned it on and off, checked the longitude/latitude seetings, etc. I feel so bad we bought this and it is useless for them.

    Dawn - February 9th, 2009
    • Dawn, it sounds like the device just doesn’t have satellite reception yet. Was it outside with an unobstructed sky view? For how long?

      Tim - February 9th, 2009
  8. My 2 year old ($450) NUVI 350 looses satellite signal intermittently. It worked great for the 1st 15 months of ownership and then progressively had difficulty with locating satellites. I’ve tried resetting waypoints, applying upgrades, etc. and results are the same, i.e., at 1st it finds the satellite, sets up routing and starts you on your way but then, without any reasons, looses satellite, and asks if your indoors or have moved 1000s of miles etc. I called Garmin and for $175 they’ll fix it or give me a refurbished one (hopefully w/o new problems) — never mind a new one is $159.

    Thoughts?

    Bob - February 16th, 2009
    • Same issue. I gave up on it and bought a Navigon 2200t. No way am I paying $175 to fix it when I can get a new device with updated maps and traffic for considerably less. I have heard of others having this issue as well, via google. Nobody seems to know the problem–I speculate that the antenna connection has come loose, but that’s all it is–speculation.

      I am hugely disappointed in my Garmin failing. I thought it was a great device for a while but turned out to be a bad investment.

      Wes - February 17th, 2009
      • It does seem to be the antenna cable connection between the flip up antenna and the core of the device.

        Tim - February 17th, 2009
        • QUick Update: I’m having some preliminary success after trying the following:

          1.) Power-Condition the battery — that is run it down and charge it up — I noticed the battery is only good for about an hour. Historically, I never used it on battery.

          2.) I’ve added a ~$10 antenna to the unit. Its finding satellites quickly indoors and out.

          Bob - February 22nd, 2009
  9. I just encountered a rather significant problem on Garmin’s website regarding my Nuvi 350. I purchased Garmin’s lifetime map updates for $119.99. I connected my GPS to my PC via the USB cable, and tried starting the map download. Keep in mind that my credit card was billed before you’re allowed to start the download, for obvious reasons. Anyway, the download did not start and Garmin’s website indicated that “This GPS is registered to another user” and it would not do the download. I sent an email to Garmin with no response yet. I purchased my Nuvi 350 on Ebay over a year ago from an authorized Garmin re-seller as a factory refurbished unit. Is it possible that the original owner did their own map update previously and now I’m not allowed to since I’m not the original owner?? Anyone have any ideas??? Obviously I don’t want to be stuck with a $120 bill and can’t even update my maps!!!

    Steve - February 22nd, 2009
    • Because you bought it legitimately you should be fine. Call Garmin and they’ll likely want copies of the receipts etc. I’ve noticed a number of people on chat groups complaining that they bought it from Craig’s list and they’re screwed.
      Good Luck

      Robert Schweiss - February 22nd, 2009
    • Hopefully Garmin will take care of you, but keep in mind that Garmin states on their website (here) that they do not have any authorized dealers on eBay.

      Does Garmin have any authorized dealers on eBay or any other online auction site?
      Garmin does not have any authorized dealers that sell new products directly on online auction sites. Any purchases made through online auction sites are on a “buyer beware” basis.

      Tim - February 22nd, 2009
      • Thanks for the responses Tim and Robert. I’m going to call Garmin tomorrow night and hopefully they’ll cut me a break. It’s not like I’m going to demand my money back. I’m more than happy with my Nuvi and would love to continue using it with updated maps, of course. I’d like to think Garmin could over-ride a possible previous registration on my unit and wipe the slate clean, so to speak, so I can download the maps successfully. I’ll report back with what Garmin’s response is.

        Steve - February 22nd, 2009
        • I’d be surprised if they don’t help you out. Garmin support typically takes care of people well.

          Tim - February 22nd, 2009
  10. Tim, just one more quick question – if I were to make a future (NEW) GPS purchase from an online retailer like Tiger GPS for example, do you think I’d have any issues updating the maps through Garmin’s websites like I’m having now with my Ebay purchased item? Or do you think this is this an issue exclusive to Ebay refurb’s? I would assume buying NEW from an online store shouldn’t be any different than from Best Buy or another retailer that I would buy from in person. I just want to avoid this happening again in the future since I’m a little paranoid now about making online purchase that may involve updates from the manufacturer.

    Steve - February 22nd, 2009
    • I would suspect the issue you encountered would be applicable to refurbs from any source.

      Tim - February 23rd, 2009
  11. Tim, I’m sorry for all the questions today, but I just had one more. Can you recommend a good hard-wire kit for the Nuvi 350? I’d love to hard-wire it for a cleaner look. Please let me know if you can point me to any good kits out there online. Thanks!

    Steve - February 22nd, 2009
    • I’ve never hard wired a GPS myself, but I know the issue has been discussed in our Garmin Nuvi Forums.

      Tim - February 23rd, 2009
  12. If you have a computer that has mapped drives to another computer or network storage device, Make sure that you do not have the letter F: Mapped to it. I was going through all kinds of things trying to figure it out, until I went into Computer Management and noticed under the Disk management that I had F: Garmin although I had a drive Mapped to a network server in My Computer set as F: Once I disconnected the drive and remapped it to something different I was not able to see Garmin.

    Shane - March 26th, 2009
  13. Hi,
    I have Garmin navi350. My GPS giving wrong street directions. Map is showing as right turn. But voice will mention as left. both have different information. Can anyone tell me how to solve this problem.

    Phx - March 26th, 2009
  14. I have the nuvi350 W/software version 6.0
    Do I have to be in Canada for me to be able to get their map info. All I am able to get is states. I’ve made the change in the locale area. Still just shows States.
    Thanks.
    David

    David - March 30th, 2009
  15. We first tried a lesser brand that crashed at the most awkward times; such as the night we pulled into Washington, DC, 10:00PM on vacation en route to my niece’s house in a driving rain from our home state of Indiana. The audio crashed, but the vidieo DID finally enable us to find our address. The audio bailed out twice more and we returned it upon getting back home.

    We then opted for a Garmin model that actually worked fine, but we had neglected to get one with the street name option as in: “In 900 feet, take ramp on right to I94 East”, or “In one mile, turn right on Mulberry”.

    The Nuvi 350 filled the bill in all respects. We were in Myrtle beach navigating with it to our condo’s office when I was sure we were in a residential area by mistake. I decided to let it run its course and, sure enough, it was leading us right to their front door.

    Not only does it work fine in the routing respect, but the time to destination is dead on!! If it says, you’ll be there in twenty minutes, better start waking up the kids!

    James - April 7th, 2009
  16. I have a nuvi 350, and now when I turn it on, I get a blue poolside background with the copyright info on it, and a window that asks “do you really want to erase all user data?”. Nothing happens when I push either yes, or no. Hitting the reset button on the back only shuts the unit down. Doesn’t matter if it’s plugged in and charging, or off the charger, same message, same results. Any suggestions on how to repair this issue? Thanks

    James - May 4th, 2009
    • James, sounds like maybe a touchscreen issue. Have you contacted Garmin support?

      Tim - May 5th, 2009
  17. I have acquired a 350. It only asks for a street address, is it possible to just get directions to a city?

    Bud Sherry - May 15th, 2009
    • I’m not sure that function is available but a workaround I have used successfully is to put in a generic street name – such as Washington, Main, etc., – common street name – and a number. Sometimes I’ve had to enter several numbers before I get a good one, but then I have the route to the city. I guess you could even use an address from the target city’s phone directory.

      James - May 17th, 2009
    • Yes– it will take you to what it considers the “center” which might not be on the same side of town as where you need to go. But if I recall correctly it is under Points of Interest –> Cities.

      Tim - May 18th, 2009
  18. thanks James
    I did try finding the address of a target city on the net and that works fine. To bad the instrument won’t allow.

    Bud - May 18th, 2009
  19. i have a nuvi 350 and am wondering how i can find rest areas using device? have a new puppy and use them rather than getting exit and finding plce to let her do her stuff.

    ron - May 27th, 2009
    • I am having trouble keeping contact with satellites. Even in wide open places, where highest building is silo, losing connection. Even when first getting connected before going on trip can be a 20-30 minute wait. In the house before leaving i can get connected in 2-3 minutes. If i stop for gas etc. it is a 50-50 chance i’ll get reconnected. Can my car be problem? I drive a Toyota Camry and put device on bag with corn kernels to hold as unit falls off using your device.

      ron - May 27th, 2009
  20. I received a nuvi 350 for christmas. It has worked great, but when it is plugged into the 12 volt outlet and we are traveling occasionally the picture on the screen will split in half and switch places with each other. I cannot really explain but the left half of screen will go to the right side and vice versa. I just have to cut off and turn back on and everything is okay and it still remembers where we are going. Any easy fixes. Thanks Russell

    Russell Johnson - May 31st, 2009
    • Russell, I haven’t heard of that before, but it sounds like a hardware issue to me, in which chase there probably isn’t an easy fix.

      Tim - June 1st, 2009
  21. I think I had a lemon as well. Every single time I turn it on, I have to turn it off to actually get the text-to-speech to come on. Every time. In addition, it sometimes takes 5 minutes to acquire signal. And it takes a very long time booting up. It makes me not want to purchase another Garmin.

    Robin - June 8th, 2009
  22. My Garmin 350 is less than 2 yrs old. It is not acquiring satellites. When the antenna is in the up/open position nothing happens. When I close it it replays the trip from the last time it started to work properly but then died. It will only repeat the last trip.
    I just paid for new maps a few days before this began to happen.

    John - June 21st, 2009
  23. I have mine for almost 2 years, it works just fine and does its job perfectly. Once a while, it will mix up directions due to new roads or confusions of dirt road. Overall it is a user friendly piece of electronic device. Especially for people like me that don’t have much sence of directions, I love it, it is my buddy.

    Loretta - June 23rd, 2009
  24. How long should it take to download the updated map via sd card? Ours show a message of “software loading” and has had this on here for several hours.

    Brenda - June 27th, 2009
  25. i have had my nuvi 350 for two years now and it has worked just fine. i’m thinking of purchasing a nuMaps Lifetime, but i’m having second thoughts with possible internal memory issues.

    at present, my unit has 526 MB of free space remaining, and i wanted to ask if anyone knows how many map updates it would take for this to run out.

    thank you!

    Michael - July 6th, 2009
    • Michael – the new maps overwrite the existing maps. While there are many new roads added, it is a drop in the bucket compared to the millions of roads in the database. So the new maps are not much larger than the old. I would doubt you would run out of memory anytime soon.

      Tim - July 6th, 2009
  26. i appreciate very much your quick response and input, tim! i’d hate it very much to not update the maps on this piece of equipment that has helped me find my way around so well all this time, and get a new one. so glad to know there is this website i can go to for help. again, many thanks!

    Michael - July 6th, 2009
  27. I purchased a Nuvi 350 from WalMart as a Christmas gift for a relative last December. The unit worked fine for a couple of months and sudenlly lost all maps, POI and saved data at power-up. I contacted Garmin and the support tech helped me download a fix from their website. It took about 6 hours to complete the download but all was well when it finally finished. After another 2 months of use with no problems, the same thing happened again. I have a support call opened with Garmin and I expect the same ecellent service received on the first call. I searched recent posts for similar problem reports and found nothing. So I’m guessing that the problem is not a common one. Has anyone else experienced the same problem. I’m thinking that, given the opportunity, I should return for repair / replacement rather than opt for a second download.

    Thanks, Larry

    Larry - July 15th, 2009
  28. Hello I have a Nuvi 350 that I bought for my wife July 18, 2008. Yesterday she was using in her car with the adapter and after making one stop and then plugging the adapter back into the car the Nuvi 350 will not turn on (start) I been trying to find a solution to this problem but haven’t from on yet. I will call Garmin tomrrow. Can you offer any ideas to this problem?

    Thank you, John

    John - July 26th, 2009
  29. Advice on pawn shop purchase of Nuvi 350 2006 version… I am looking at picking up a used Nuvi for a 7th of retail. I do not have mounts or cables on this purchase. Any other additional things to watch out for? If I register the product, will Garmin update the maps?

    Thanks, j

    John - July 27th, 2009
    • John, it doesn’t sound like a good deal to me. You can buy a new Nuvi 350 for 1/9th of retail which will include all of the parts, warranty, ability to update maps, etc. A GPS at a pawn shop that happens to be missing the mount and cable sounds like a stolen GPS to me, and it wouldn’t be eligible for any warranty anyway as a second hand (likely third hand) purchase.

      Tim - July 28th, 2009
      • “buy a new Nuvi 350 for 1/9th of retail”

        Thanks. I’m ready to buy. Please let me know where this might be.

        Great GPS reviews….

        Rick - August 16th, 2009
  30. my mom had a Garmin Nuvi 350 and it was recently stolen. Since I left the car unlocked, I want to buy her a new GPS, but I see that it says the 350 has been discontinued. Does anyone know another garmin gps that would be similar to the 350 that is in a pretty good price range…such as 160 dollars? Help is appreciated.

    Rebecca - August 15th, 2009
  31. I have a Nuvi 350. I want to mount it on my Harley Road Glide. Will the radio still work if the Nuvi is plugged in to the AUX receptacle? Can it be recharged throught the cigarette lighter?

    Stuart - August 19th, 2009
  32. Well I also have a 350 that is about 2 years old. I have been recently having trouble with the unit loosing signal while on the road open highway plenty of sky. Seems to me that this is more common then it should be for such a device that has had no physical damage. I have read that an external antenna could fix the issue. If you think the external antenna will not solve this problem I would be grateful to hear that.

    I would appreciate if there is any additional insight into this as its frustrating to loose signal when you are relying on the GPS to get you somewhere. I would not buy another garmin given this seems to be common and acceptable service for this problem is lacking.

    Tony - August 19th, 2009
    • i found out if i hold gps outside car until it finds connection and then put on dash it works fine. also having antenna on a 90 deg slant it holds reception. i still sometimes lose it but just for a second and its back. hope this helps.

      ron tallo - August 19th, 2009
      • thanks I have tired different antenna positions and honestly not sure if that helps. Yesterday on a drive to chicago the GPS lost signals no less then 50 times some times for just a few seconds and others for periods of up to 15 minutes. Ironically on the return trip (where I knew where I was going) it worked trouble free for the 200 miles home.

        Again I love the thing when it works but I am trying to avoid situations of failure when I need the thing not to fail. if an external antenna will help then great but given I never had an issue with the 350 until the last 6 months I would say its either software hardware or both and when a fix is more costly then simply replacing the unit the clear disposable nature if the device keeps purchase of another garmin for me unlikely

        Tony - August 19th, 2009
  33. Short answer.. No. You’ll have to set the radio input to AUX to hear the signal comming in through the AUX port. It can only process the signal from one input at a time. i.e. AM, FM, WB, CD or AUX. You could feed two inputs to the AUX port through a Y adaptor – Like an XM radio reciever and the Nuvi, but the wires could get a little messy. Another possiblity would be to send the output from the Nuvi to some helmet speakers or a set of ear phones instead of the AUX input on your radio. Consider too, the NUVI 350 is not the best selection for a motorcycle. I use the Garmin Quest II GPS on my Glide. It’s waterproof and vibration resistant. They have other newer models for bikes that you could use as well. I keep my NUVI in the car. Ride safe.

    Larry - August 19th, 2009
  34. I am attempting to download Europe Maps to an SD Card on my 350 – it reached 50% and seems to “freeze” – only other msg is
    “…City Navigator┬« Europe NT (1636MB). Do not disconnect while the download is in progress.
    Steps:

    Estimated time remaining: 30 minutes”

    thanks

    Ray - August 23rd, 2009
  35. We’ve had our 350 about 3 yrs. We like to use the car charger/adapter instead of running it off the battery but the charger gets so hot that I have to use a paper towel to pull it out of the cigarette lighter. We bought another adapter but it’s not powering the Nuvi (no lightening bolt) and it’s not the cigarette lighter which is a 2 split adapter because we check it with our radar detector. As you know, the 350 is only good for a few hours on battery and can cut out in the middle of a trip. I don’t think the charger getting so hot is a good thing. Any suggestions? Can we use the charger that works? Otherwise, it’s great.

    Phil - August 27th, 2009
  36. Hi, I have had my 350 for a couple of years now, and am very happy with it. I would like to increase the number of Mp3 I can store in the device. Is there anyway to do this. puting the mp3s in the SD card does not work, as I am not able to navigate to SD card via the MP3 player.

    thanks

    Sun - September 14th, 2009
  37. Sun, the 350 should be able to read mp3 files off the SD card. I have a few hundred songs on my 2GB card and it reads all of them fine. Try a different card, maybe a smaller capacity one, or less files to start.

    Good luck.

    Ruben - September 14th, 2009
  38. My wife bought a Nuvi 350 on eBay and loves it. I have MapSource loaded on my computer and want to use it to view trip report routes of motorcycle rides. But the base map in MapSource is too crude. So (if I understand this all correctly), I’d like to unlock the North American map (that came with the Nuvi) in MapSource on my computer. My wife knows nothing about an unlock code. Should she have gotten one? Should there be one ‘registered’ to her Nuvi? Is there any way for me to get it, or any unlock code that would give me a better map in Mapsource?
    Note – I understand the limitations of using Mapsource with the Nuvi 350. Again, I just want to be able to see the tracks/routes generated and shared by other motorcyclists.
    Thanks,
    -carl

    Carl J. - September 16th, 2009
    • There isn’t any way of getting the detailed maps from the 350 into your computer for use within MapSource unless you purchase a new map for your device.

      Tim - September 17th, 2009
      • So there was no ‘unlock code’ with the unit? The 350 was never meant to work with Map Soucre? I can only see the maps I have in the 350. Bummer. Well, I do appreciate your sharing your knowledge with us all. This is be best source of information for the 350 I have been able to find.

        One additional question – I think the software version in my wife’s unit is 5.0 – the latest upgrade is 6.x – do you recommend upgrading?

        thanks again for all your help
        -carl

        -carl - September 18th, 2009
        • Correct. When you purchase a GPS device with maps pre-installed on the device, the maps are already unlocked for use on the device. If things are running smooth for you at version 5 you might not want to upgrade– but version 6 seems stable for most people.

          Tim - September 18th, 2009
  39. Thank you for your suggestion Rueben. I have tried this with a 2GB card and with a few files in it, it seems to work, which is great. the last time I had filled it to capacity. I dont know if that was the problem.
    Thank you again.
    Sun

    Sun - September 16th, 2009
  40. I need the upgrade map of nuvi 350. What can I do?

    Kevin Liu - September 21st, 2009
    • Kevin, go to garmin.com/numaps – You can purchase the upgrade there.

      Tim - September 21st, 2009
  41. My Garmin Nuvi 350 is not working. It turns on but when I program it to go somewhere it is giving me directions to go somewhere else, that I have never heard of. HELP!!!

    Terri - October 2nd, 2009
  42. Ever wonder why this unit is so old but is more expensive than the new flashier ones. I live in Jamaica and before I bought my unit I had to know in advance where I will be going when I visit the States and go onto Map-quest and print loads of maps to take with me. When I bought the Nuvi 350 in March 2007 my life changed, traveling was much more fun it was the first thing I pack before my passport. It works well however at least two occasion it freeze on me and I didn’t know it luckily I picked it up quick, a couple of software upgrades fixed that and its fine. I travel about 5 times each year to the US and it never failed me since. Once I go into my rent-a-car plug it in and off I go. Another issue I had is most Car rentals parking are in huge buildings so no signal until I get out and you can’t stop outside or the Police will be on your case, this always happens at Fort Lauderdale International Airport in Florida, you cannot get your directions until you are outside the airport and sometimes based on how that airport is constructed you have to make lane decisions before your GPS answers your request. I have to follow the signs to I-595 until the satellites are acquired. I was looking for a newer unit but after reading all the comments I’, sticking with old faithful.

    Ian Lynch - October 10th, 2009
  43. I use the Harley Davidson Ride Planner to plan my motorcycle trips. The site says that the planned route can be uploaded to Garmin GPS. I have tried on several occasions, and it has failed. Can you tell me how to do it?

    Stuart - October 10th, 2009
    • I should have added that my GPS is a Garmin Nuvi 350

      Stuart - October 10th, 2009
    • Stuart, the Nuvi 350 cannot import routes.

      Tim - October 10th, 2009
  44. Does anyone else have this problem with the car charger that came with Nuvi 350. It gets so hot when plugged into the cigarette lighter that you can’t touch it. We need it for long trips because the battery doesn’t last long enough. Is it safe to use? – Phil

    Phil - October 13th, 2009
    • Nope, my only problem is that it developed a short and I had to replace it.

      Ian Lynch - October 20th, 2009
  45. My Garmin 350 seems to have lost functionality after an upgrade on Oct 15/09 am. The text to speech is no longer available and the directions can spontaneously update during the initiation of a direction. For example the Nuvi 350 recommends staying left and then updates to turn right during the turn.
    Is there a patch available? Can I backdate to the previous release?
    This has been a terrific product that has become unreliable.
    Thanks in advance.

    Steve - October 19th, 2009
    • Well all right. Last night I reloaded the latest release and found that the program defaulted to American English voice not the American English TTS – Text To Speech version. That fixed that. Happy now.

      Steve - October 20th, 2009
  46. Could someone please help me? My nuvi 350 is 3 yrs. old. When I put in an address to get where I am going, it sends me nowhere near where I need to go? What should I do?

    Terri - October 20th, 2009
  47. HI, I just purchased the used Nuvi 350 off the internet and didnt realize I bought the unit without a charger or any other parts….Just the unit itself…Anyway I have a blackberry and I tried using its USB cable to charge it but all I get is a picture of the Nuvi connected to the computer I also get the same picture when I hook it up to the actual computer or if I try to charge it in the car…is this normal and can I fix this…I would love to be able to use the unit while plugged in to the car charger?? Im hoping its because its not the right cables but I want to make sure theres no defect before I purchase the cable. Thank you for any help you can provide!

    V incent - October 26th, 2009
    • Because it isn’t a charger designed for use with the Nuvi your device is going into USB Mode. The chargers designed for the Nuvi won’t do that.

      Tim - October 26th, 2009
  48. I bought a Garmin Nuvi from Wal-Mart. The main reason I chose this model is for the free updates. I tried to update my maps and was told that because I had not registered the unit within 6 months of purchase, I would have to pay. I am thoroughly disgusted- this is clearly a scam whereby Garmin makes money out of those who do not read & abide by the instructions from cover to cover. Several emails later and the reps are playing the blame game. Based on this experience with Garmin, I will not buy from them again.

    Paul - November 6th, 2009
    • Paul, I’m sorry you got the impression somewhere that Garmin offers free maps. If Wal-Mart told you that then I’d take the issue up with them. However I’ve never seen any marketing materials from Garmin mentioning free map updates. Garmin does offer users the ability to download the current map if the device didn’t ship with the current map. You have 60 days to take advantage of that offer (not 6 months). But in all of the materials I’ve seen on that program it is pretty clear about the 60 day limit mentioning it several times in the intro text.

      Tim - November 7th, 2009
  49. Hallo.

    I have an 350 Nuvi, will put some seacards into it!

    Anyone who can help med with some guiding or manuels, or links?

    Regards
    Bernt

    Bernt - November 13th, 2009
    • Bernt, What are “seacards”?

      Tim - November 25th, 2009
  50. My problem with the Garmin is routing
    1. On one trip on I-95, it took me past an exit, directed me to a few exits beyond, directed me to make a U turn back onto I95, and back to the exit I which I passed previously.

    2. It does not have major intresections interconnected via the intersection ramps, such as I95 and I595 in Fort Lauderdale.

    3. It says that it has not been updated when I just up-dated it last week

    Fred Steinlein - January 31st, 2010
  51. I am trying to update my nuvi and it is asking me to set interface to garmin or host. How in the world do you do that? Please help.

    Jennifer - February 3rd, 2010
  52. Has anyone taken one of these 350′s up in an airliner and been able to monitor the flight path?

    Jim B. - March 24th, 2010
    • Yes.

      Tim - March 24th, 2010
      • Well, gee, Tim, thanks for the instant reply!

        Jim B. - March 24th, 2010
  53. Hi,
    my Garmin 350 will not play my MP3 file, when i plug it in the computer i can play music from both garmin and the 2GB SD card, when i unplug there is none of my music on the Garmin

    Neal - March 29th, 2010
  54. can anyone please assist me?
    my 350T “just” stopped working while in use and wont power back on!?
    any help would be greatly appreciated
    thank you!

    Sven - April 3rd, 2010
    • Hi Sven,

      My nuvi 350 too just went off yesterday and now will not turn ON. I see you encountered this issue sometime in April and hence wanted to know if you found the cause/solution?

      Thanks!

      Abbas - November 14th, 2010
  55. Just a message recommed anyone to NOT buy any NUVI products! My parents spent a lot of money for their NUVI 350 about 3 years ago. They are over 70 and depend on a GPS. We spent another $100 in 2009 or so to update to “Map Update 2009.” At the beginning of 2010 it could not “acquire satellites.” Yes, I’ve tried all the web updates up to Version 6.20, the “Clear Waypoints,” “Clear user data,” and used the “Reset” button on the back. I think the problem is in the antenna and Garmin knows this is a design defect. If you read this site and others you come to the same conclusion. Shame on them. I bought my parents a Magellan Roadmate 1440 and they LOVE it. Please don’t give NUVI any of your money!!

    Leslie - April 9th, 2010
    • dude buy a 10 dollar external antenna from amazon and call it assay. new these units were 300-400 dollars so its hard to understand that they spent a lot of money. Map data is expensive but there are deals now where you pay around what you did and get multiple upgrades go to Amazon get an antenna plugs into the flip up one on the unit and works like a charm

      Tony - April 9th, 2010
  56. I think its should be updated for free…… its not that hard to do for a huge company like Garmin

    Leo - April 19th, 2010
  57. I have my nuvi 350 for 6 years .,Idont use it for ayear ..Iwant to use ,,,It says update a battery

    magdalena tuazon - May 13th, 2010
    • Magdalena

      I think its a rip off what you pay for it should be gauranteed for life including updates

      Leo - June 14th, 2010
  58. I have a Nuvi 350 with a new (never used) Onetime map update. I loaded the software and followed all the instructions explicity. It gets about 65% done downloading, then says “The download of new map update has failed. Click ‘Back’ to either try the download again or install map data from this DVD.”

    Every time I hit back and download again it does the same thing… I have never used the disc before and I have more than enough free space on the drive and my Nuvi (it’s pretty much as close to factory as you can get).

    Gary - May 30th, 2010
  59. I got my Nuvi 350 as a birthday gift. Approximately, it’s 3 years old. I did not do any type of maps update since I got it and up to now. Can I buy the maps update 2010 even my unit has an old version? Which is better between nuMaps Onetime or nuMaps Lifetime? Thanks much for the help.

    Amelia Hoekstra - June 8th, 2010
    • More than likely you can update it without a problem, but you might have to update it via the website as I did.

      Lifetime gives you 4x updates a year as long as you have it, where you have to purchase Onetime updates as you update your GPS…

      HTH!
      -Gary

      Gary - June 10th, 2010
  60. Jennifer I have the same problem. Were you able to obtain an answer?

    Phil - June 13th, 2010
  61. I buy a City Navigator Europe NT map from garmin.com and downloaded it to a SD card. The download is complete but when I view the map info the Europe map is not in there. Need help.

    Ruth - August 23rd, 2010
  62. My nuvi 350 was doing fine while I was on a trip then I noticed it seemed stuck on my location and mileage left for destination was not changing. I turned it off/on then was able to reset the destination and that part has been fine since, the voice has never worked again. I have reset to factory settings, changed volume, put mute on/off, changed voices etc… I have run out of things to try. Is it repairable? I need the voice, can’t always take eyes off road to read it or see where my turns are.

    thx,

    Kim

    Kim - September 5th, 2010
    • Did you ever solve this? I’m having similar problems with my Nuvi 350. One time, it told me it was recalculating … in the middle of the Verazano Narrows Bridge! The map just showed my car hovering above the water.

      Peter - June 21st, 2011
  63. I have a Garmin 350 that I have purchased the updates and now everytime I try to plug the unit into the car power source it freezes with a picture of a computer as if it is plugged into the computer and updating. Then at times is tells me that power cord not Garmin approved but, it is the cord that came with the unit. So basically I can not use the unit while plugged in. Planning a long trip and need it for more than just a couple of hours. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Linda - September 21st, 2010
  64. Some of you may have encountered an issue where the Nuvi will not acquire satellites or the touch screen might become unresponsive. According to one of our readers, Garmin has been replacing some of these devices (the Nuvi 650 was mentioned) for free even though they are out of warranty. I have no first hand confirmation of this, however if you’ve experienced the issue you may wish to check with Garmin. You can read more about this here:

    http://www.gpsreview.net/garmin-nuvi-650/#comment-101496

    Tim - September 22nd, 2010
  65. I have a 350 which was purchased new, back in the day. When I plug the unit into an AC outlet, the main screen remains lit throughout the the entire process. Is this normal and is the unit actually charging (it was taken out of storage after 1-2 years of no use)?

    Thanks!

    Roberta - September 29th, 2010
  66. For some reason my vuvi 350 listing are in german how do i get it back to displaying english

    duane - October 10th, 2010
  67. I bought a Nuvi 350 from ebay. When I push “Go’ for a destination I get a message at the top of the sreen that reads “GPS Is Off”. I’m puzzled.Can’t get GPS tracking to work.

    Ed - December 14th, 2010
  68. Hi all: Bought my nuvi 350 in March of 2007 and use it all the time,I did the update shortly after I purchased the unit and I’m happy to tell you it still works like a dream.Its sad what I had to pay for it,now you can buy one with loads of of options for better than half the price.I would recommend garmin to anyone looking for a GPS

    Scott - February 11th, 2011
  69. My Nuvi 350 just started giving me a problem, everytime I turn it on, it starts to load up and then all of a sudden the screen goes blank and appears to have shut down. What’s wrong, or what should I do?

    Michael S. - May 9th, 2011
  70. I have a Nuvi 350 and been having sence it first came out approxmently 2005. I have never had problems updateing it till now. This is the first time it notiffied me of needing an update. I pluged it in useing my USB and typed in Garmin update but I can’t find it free no more. That’s why I bought Garmin because it had free update’s for life. Could someone please tell me what’s going on or help me too fix this so I can update my GPS. I’m leaving to go on vacation on the 8th of this month and need it very bad.

    Thank’s:
    John Morgan

    John Morgan - July 5th, 2011
    • John, Garmin didn’t offer free map updates with the Nuvi 350. If you were promised that then you would need to take it up with the place you purchased it from. But the Nuvi 350 didn’t include free map updates. Garmin didn’t start offering that on any of their models until a couple of years after the Nuvi 350 came out.

      Tim - July 7th, 2011
  71. Hi, I have a simple question and hoping you can answer for me. I have a Nuvi 350. I will be traveling to Nicaragua in about a month and I found a website that sells a digital map compatible with all Garmins for about $50. My question is: do you think that my nuvi has enough internal memory to fit both maps (North America and Nicaragua) or do you think that I am better off purchasing the map on a SD card? Thank you in advance.

    Roger - September 8th, 2011
  72. My Garmin has gone silent on me. DO I need to replace it with a new one or can I buy a part for it.

    jasmine - September 13th, 2011
  73. I’ve had the 350 and it’s been terrible for the last 2 years.
    It doesn’t pick up satellite location randomly. Battery life is really short. It lost its sound capability do I had to send it back. Now it won’t power up.

    I’ve called support and they want to charge me $69 for something that never really worked well.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND the Navi 350 NA at all!

    Roberto - September 15th, 2011
  74. I love my nuvi 350, but suddenly I’m not able to update the maps. I purchased the lifetime map updater when I first bought my 350 and had no problems updating until now… I continue to be notified that new updates are available, but I get an error message saying there isn’t enough space and I need to pick another area. It doesn’t matter what I pick, I still get the same message.
    Thank you for any help you can provide.

    Anne - October 6th, 2011
    • I just finished my nuvi 350 and noticed something that might have something to do with not being able to update my maps. Shortly after my nuvi turns on, a message saying “unable to unlock maps” pops up. I touch “ok” and am able to continue using the nuvi. This problem started at about the same time as not being able to update my maps.

      Thanks again for any help you can provide.
      Anne

      Anne - October 6th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright