leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 670

Nov
29
2006

Looks like Garmin has a new Nuvi coming to a car near you, the Garmin Nuvi 670. Like the other siblings in the 600 series the 670 will be a widescreen model. We finally know some more about the 670. One of the things that will make this GPS great out of the box is that it comes with preloaded maps of North America and Europe. This is a feature many potential Nuvi customers have been asking for.

More of the “general” details, the Garmin Nuvi 670 will come with a nice widescreen, text-to-speech, an FM transmitter, an integrated traffic receiver, as well as Bluetooth hands free calling.

Like many of the other Nuvi devices the 670 offers the ability to play MP3 music files and has a JPEG picture viewer. The music (and other audible directions) can be played via the FM transmitter over your car stereo… Let’s hope this works a little better than the FM transmitter on the Nuvi 660, but my suspicion is that this is just a 660 with the additional European maps.

Finally the Nuvi 670 has an integrated traffic receiver which comes with a 3 month subscription to the Total Traffic Network. After the trial period a subscription costs $60 for 12 months of service.

Bluetooth is also featured on the Nuvi 760 allowing you to connect wirelessly to a compatible phone for hands free calling and to dial POIs.

The Garmin Nuvi 670 should be available in February.

41 Responses


  1. […] Since Traffic.com is now part of NAVTEQ, this type of information will eventually make its way into GPS devices from Garmin and Magellan. In fact, this could be part of what the new Nuvi 670 to send traffic information and real time statistics to and from…. […]

    Traffic.com TrafficPro GPS Review - December 22nd, 2006
  2. When will Garmin Nuvi 670 GPS be available?

    ron pudduck - December 23rd, 2006
  3. Garmin hasn’t acknowledged the existence of the Nuvi 670 yet so it is difficult to tell when it will be available for purchase. However we expect Garmin to acknowledge the product the first week of January and provide an estimated release date at that time.

    Tim - December 23rd, 2006
  4. Tim,

    Some of the items have great tech. details, e.g. the Tom Tom Rider, but others don’t provide them or is there a special forum one can access?

    birdy176 - January 4th, 2007
  5. There are not any specs listed yet for this GPS since Garmin hasn’t even confirmed that the model exists or will be released. Once we have a few more specs on it the spec sheet will be displayed.

    Tim - January 4th, 2007
  6. Based on your comparison charts both the TomTom 910 and Nuvi 670 have text-to-speech features. The TomTom salesman told me the difference is the TomTom can recognize (or try to) a spoken address where the Nuvi Text-to-speech is one sided -voice directed directions. Is this correct?

    Hope the question makes sense. Thanks for all the great information.

    Debby Shelor - February 28th, 2007
  7. No, that is not correct. The 910 and 670 both can speak street names (text-to-speech). Neither model has any voice recognition type features.

    Tim - February 28th, 2007
  8. Thanks again Tim. Fortunately through this site I have found many such discrepancies – I don’t necessarily blame the salesman just the ‘training’ they receive.

    I took your advice and contacted Garmin direct about the Sprint phone I have. It sounds like unless I get lucky, it is not yet compatible.

    Deb Shelor

    Debby Shelor - February 28th, 2007
  9. I’ve found there are quite a few phones that are compatible with different GPS devices, but not listed as compatible by the various manufacturers because they have either not gotten around to testing them or because the particular phone might not have enough market share to justify them spending time testing compatibility. (Boy can I write a good run-on sentence.)

    Tim - February 28th, 2007
  10. Hi! I am between Garmin’s Nuvi 670 and TomTom’s GO910. My main needs are: something portable so its easily packable for business trips, quick calculation/finding your location, US a must/Europe a plus. We have an ancient Garmin 2720?? and only have one pet peeve: it doesn’t verbally announce the street name to turn on (just on the screen), it only states, “Turn right in 1/2 mile”. Do both the Nuvi670 & GO910 do this? Which do you recommend over the other? Or what benefits do each have that the other doesn’t? Thanks in advance for your time & help!

    Becky - April 24th, 2007
  11. The 670 comes with a bigger display, traffic receiver, an FM transmitter, and a more portable size. The 910 gives you multiple destination routing, advanced planning, lots of free drive space for music files, and an iPod connector. Both have text to-speech. You can compare features side-by-side here.

    Tim - April 24th, 2007
  12. I’ve been browsing around for a good pedestrian GPS, and the 670 loks pretty good from what I’ve read. Does it make a good pedestrian GPS, as that’d be my primary use. Also, I’ve seen people say that voice prompts don’t work in pedestrian mode while others say that was fixed in a firmware update. So, are there voice prompts in pedestrian mode?

    Thanks.

    Sean - July 22nd, 2007
  13. I purchased a Garmin Nuvi 670. While it is fancy, compact and reasonably easy to use, it has some serious flaws that, had I known about them, would have caused me to purchase a different unit. There is no “compass” (although on the trip screen there is an indication of the direction), there is no GPS coordinate display, no elevation display, and most aggravating, if a route is in progress, the vehicle speed on the map display is replaced by an ETA. Garmin says there is no way to display the speed if a route is active. Bummer. Someone in Taiwan became enamored with the glitz and forgot about the driver. Think I’ll dredge up my old StreetPilot…

    Allen - August 1st, 2007
  14. Allen, you can get your current coordinates and your current elevation from the GPS Satellite information page. This page will also show your current speed and current direction of travel in addition to the signal strength from each satellite.

    Tim - August 2nd, 2007
  15. The Garmin nüvi 670 is just ok but not very good. Sure, the hardware is (mostly) great but it sure does take forever to load all those maps every single time you start it up.

    The biggest drawback of this expensive Garmin nüvi 670 is that it can’t even ask you whether you wish to route shortest or quickest. It will only do one or the other.

    Having to laboriously change the default settings every time isn’t good. It’s downright unusable if you like to route shortest some times and quickest other times.

    In addition, you can’t add any more than a single stop point before your destination. What’s with that? It’s a computer for god sake. Why can’t it compute the best route for a half dozen waypoints?

    The maps in Sicily were really off by hundreds of feet but not like the maps of Israel which were only base maps and which were off by thousands of feet even on the main highway #1 to Jerusalem or #2 between Tel-Aviv and Haifa. While the Sicily maps were usable the Israel maps were wholly useless.

    As you know by now, the FM transmitter is worse than a joke; why is it even there if it works so horribly – and the so-called “simulation mode” is a joke in that it has only one speed which is about as slow as it takes to walk the route on foot.

    Plus, as you might know by now, there are a score of buttons that do absolutely nothing but you can’t remove them so you have to wade through screens of utter garbage every time you need to change a setting. And you have to change a lot.

    Not only do you have to wade through the settings just to route shortest or quickest, but it can’t even figure out what timezone you’re in so you have to wade through all the buttons to change the time zone or to see the distance to your destination.

    The Garmin nüvi 670 doesn’t even have a “zoom-to-fit” feature so you can see the whole route on the screen. What’s with that?

    Overall, the Garmin nüvi 670 is a good unit but before you buy it, please be aware of these flaws.

    Donna Davis - August 17th, 2007
  16. Donna, you can get a “zoom to fit” after calculating a route by clicking on the next turn bar at the top of the navigation screen, then clicking ‘Show Map’.

    Tim - August 18th, 2007
  17. I’m looking for my first GPS unit. I want portability, text-to-speech, widescreen, and both US and European maps. I’m considering the Nuvi 670 and maybe TomTom 720 + optional Europe map. Unfortunately, I can’t wait for the TomTom 920. From reading comments on your site, it seems like the TomTom 720 has better routing capabilities, but what would some of the pros/cons be of using the TomTom 720 + optional maps compared to the Nuvi 670? Would there be some memory limitations to the TomTom? Thanks!

    Dan Baum - August 31st, 2007
  18. Dan, have you compared the two here yet?

    Tim - August 31st, 2007
  19. Hi Tim – yes I have compared using your tables. I was wondering if there were some inherent limitations by adding an optional map that I wouldn’t be aware of without purchasing and trying it(aside from the obvious step of purchasing and downloading the extra map) to the TomTom compared to a unit that comes out of the box with both sets of maps (e.g. memory limitations for expansion, etc.). Thanks!

    Dan Baum - August 31st, 2007
  20. I have a Nuvi 670 and have been unable to obtain real time traffic information despite an announcement that this was available through Clearchannel as of July. I also discovered that the Bluetooth doesn’t recognize my BlackBerry 8800. Any suggestions?

    Richard Cooper - September 6th, 2007
  21. Dan – No big inherent limitations.

    Richard – Do you have the traffic receiver connected and subscription activated?

    Tim - September 6th, 2007
  22. Yes, I have the traffic receiver connected, but there I have been unable to find any indication of how to activate my subscription. I believe that there was a free trial with the purchase of the Nuvi 670. I saw on the Garmin website that there was a software update released yesterday and this is necessary for the traffic in Canada. I will try that.

    Richard Cooper - September 6th, 2007
  23. Hi:
    I just purchased the 670, what additional products can I purchase for it? And are they worth it?

    Michael Caliendo - September 26th, 2007
  24. You can purchase cases, additional maps, alternative mounts, etc. But most people don’t need any of those.

    Tim - September 27th, 2007
  25. i have connected traffic receiver but does not work in canada…help!!!
    \\\

    deneves - January 2nd, 2008
  26. deneves – Does your GPS and traffic receiver both have the latest firmware? I believe there was a firmware update for both to enable traffic in Canada. Are you certain you are in a coverage area?

    Tim - January 2nd, 2008
  27. I am currently looking at purchasing my first GPS system. I like to have all of the bells an whistles such as mp3 player, fm transmitter, jpg viewer, NA and EU maps, etc.

    Looking at the specs of the Garmin Nuvi 670 compared to the TomTom Go 920, they seem to be very similar. Can anyone offer any insight into any functional differences between the two such as ease of use, pros/cons for one over the other, etc.

    Overall I’d basically like to know which I should lean towards and why. Also would like to know if there are any other GPS systems out there comparable to these two in their price range?

    I was reading Donna Davis’s review from Aug 17 ’07 and I now have concerns about the Garmin Nuvi 670.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.

    Nick O - January 3rd, 2008
  28. I just bought a Garmin nuvi 200 and I am wondering if the voice says street names and if I can update the maps. If so? how do I do that? can someone help me in this matter? thanks..

    Felix - April 10th, 2008
  29. I have just bought a nuvi 670. I was able to connect it with my Blackberry 8800 via bluetooth, but it does not recognize it as a phone, and thus I cannot make phone calls with the nuvi. Any ideas what I do wrong? The Garmin website says “connection instructions to come”.

    Tom - May 14th, 2008
  30. am looking to purchase the nuvi 670 as i need it for both europe and usa…my concern is would you go for this model over the 770? i have heard there are problems with `locked maps` on 770 but it is afterall a newer model… can anyone help. ps i dont like tom tom so a recommendation for Nuvi only please. thankyou

    mark - June 1st, 2008
  31. Nick – When comparing the two top brands, it is difficult to make a ton of comparisons that don’t amount to personal preferences. If you can, try out both in a store and see which one has a menu system that makes the most sense to you. Generally the TomTom will have more features (multi destination routing, no flip up antenna, better detour functionality) at the expense of a slightly more complicated menu system, but one that certainly isn’t hard to use.

    Felix – You will likely get more help on the Nuvi 200 page. But no, it can’t speak street names– you can however update the maps by registering your device at my.garmin.com.

    Tom – I don’t know, you might try asking in the Nuvi forums.

    Mark – I’d go for the 770 over the 670 because the 770 supports multi-destination routing and has an integrated (rather than flip-up) antenna. I haven’t heard of any issues with locked maps on the 770.

    Tim - June 1st, 2008
  32. I do not know much about GPS systems. asked many people with various answers. I am going to France. will be using my garmin all day. Is it best to buy one with a longer battery life? Can I use a car charger? Can it charge while I am driving? If I need to charge, I guess I will have to buy one for 110. Thanks eileen

    Eileen King - July 27th, 2008
  33. It comes with a car charger that can be used to charge and drive at the same time.

    Tim - July 27th, 2008
  34. Thanks tim
    Here is the last question. Do I buy a model like a 770 with maps loaded, or buy a cheaper model and download the maps. I don’t need MP3 player, or bluetooth right now. This is for my husband. A birthday gift. I can’t ask him about this. If you like a better version than the 770, please advise.
    Greatly appreciated.
    Eileen

    Eileen King - July 27th, 2008
  35. I’d go for the 770 with the maps pre-installed– less hassle.

    Tim - July 28th, 2008
  36. Thank you Tim.
    I’ll do that.
    Eileen

    Eileen - July 28th, 2008
  37. I require a GPS with both US and European maps, but am not convinced the added features of the Nuvi 770 is worth $200+ more than the Nuvi 670. User reviews of the 770 are generally good, but the negative experiences reported leave some doubts about reliability. Outside of the extra features and internal antenna, can anyone explain why the 770 is a superior product and worth the investment? Has anyone heard Garmin plans to discontinue the 670? Wayne 07-30-08

    wayne julian - July 29th, 2008
  38. There are a few other subtle differences as well. The 770 has the Where am I? feature, supports Multi Destination Routing, etc. You can go to MapQuest, build up a custom route the way you like it with your computer, and send it to your GPS. Those features might not be worth the price for you. Much of the price discrepancy is due to the age of the 600 series which are getting close to “discontinued” status.

    Tim - July 29th, 2008
  39. Tim,
    – no one mentions map upgrades in these forums. Do you know the price difference/availability of upgrades between TT and Garmin?

    – Can the 770 or 920 be hard wired into a car’s sound system and if so can they still be removed for temporary use in another vehicle?

    Rich - September 22nd, 2008
  40. I tried to install the Garmin Travel Guide on my Nuvi 670 with no success. Garmin said:«The travel guide is a pre-programmed SD card, and you just put it into the slot of the unit, and unit asks if you want to download, select yes». But it doesn’t work. Any suggestion?

    Jacques - October 24th, 2008



content bottomleft content bottomright