leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin Nuvi 750

Jan
1
2008

Looking for a GPS with lots of navigation features, but without features you might never use like Bluetooth? The 750 might be a great option. The highlight of the Nuvi 750 is multi-destination routing. If you have a complex route to follow or multiple stops to make simply enter the locations into the 750 and it will optimize the order of the stops creating the most efficient route.

While the 750 is compatible with live traffic reporting it does not come with a traffic receiver like many of the other 700 series Nuvi devices do. However if you decide later you want that function, the option is available.

352 Responses


  1. My wife and I just bought Garmin Nuvi 750. We were shopping for Nuvi 255W, but it was not available at the moment and 750 looked as a good deal [snip]. We plan a trip in few days and I did not want to wait for online purchase.
    We have not used it yet but I am concern about its performance after reading some of the reviews after the purchasing. We plan to use it during our vacation trips and occasionally into the city (We live in Miami, FL).
    This is our first GPS and primary user will be my wife.
    Should I return it and go for Nuvi 255W or TomTom 720. I need a GPS with reliable maps, good monitor, and proper voice direction. Also I woud like to know if it can be use in East Europe (Bulagia)

    Plamen - November 23rd, 2008
  2. I mean Bulgaria

    Plamen - November 23rd, 2008
  3. I’m trying to decide between the 265WT and 750, and the major snag point is that I know the 265 is compatible with Mapquest and you can send information from the website to the gps. Does the 750 have this feature? And if not, does the ability to add custom pois make up for the lack of compatibility with Mapquest?

    Sara - November 23rd, 2008
  4. Tim
    Thank you for your reply about the FM transmitter. I turned off the radio but the Garmin did not talk even though the voice was activated. Is there something I am missing? The only thing that worked was the FM 88.7 with the static. How do I choose another frequency or how do I just use the Garmin voice since it did not speak without the radio. Thank you. Jo

    Jo - November 23rd, 2008
  5. Use of the FM transmitter is documented on pages 35 and 36 of the manual. If you are not hearing audio then either the FM transmitter has not been turned off or you don’t have a voice selected. Turning off your car radio won’t impact the on/off setting of the FM transmitter in the GPS.

    Tim - November 23rd, 2008
  6. Just purchased a nuvi 750…my car already has a navigation system(too complicated to use) and Bluetooth for my cell…my friend had a Garmin and I was impressed with the ease of usability…wondering now if the two systems will interfere with one another?

    Laura - November 23rd, 2008
  7. Laura, the Bluetooth might get confusing if both are paired with your phone but it won’t otherwise interfere with each other.

    Tim - November 23rd, 2008
  8. I tried nuvi 750 around the city. So far works fine – normal response and recalculations. But it gave us a wierd direction once in a big intersection. Instead of right turn asked for U turn and left. If you do not know the road will be difficult to manage the situation. What should I do? Does it need update or this happens sometimes?

    Plamen - November 24th, 2008
  9. Plamen, you will find lots of errors in the mapping database from time to time.

    Tim - November 24th, 2008
  10. Tim, I am in the market for a GPS. I have decided between the TomTom720 and the Garmin 750. I really do not need bluetooth, which seems to be the only difference. Without the risk of you being sued, which one would you recommend (i.e. reliabililty, ease of use,etc…)
    Thanks for your help.

    Jake - November 24th, 2008
  11. Thank you Tim,

    Do you mean errors in this particular GPS, or in general. This is my first GPS and I have seen others only briefly.

    Plamen - November 24th, 2008
  12. Plamen – in general. Another device would likely do the exact same thing.

    Jake – It isn’t that I want to be Switzerland, but the Garmin vs TomTom debate is much like a Pepsi vs Coke debate. It will largely come down to personal preference. Garmin is generally favored by someone who wants something solid, simple, and “just works” out of the box. TomTom is generally favored by people who want more control over the routing options, display options, and more customization. See this anecdote from someone who wentthe Garmin direction and then this article from someone who went the TomTom direction. Both people used both brands.

    Tim - November 24th, 2008
  13. Tim

    Thanks for your answer and the links you provided. You are really doing lots of folks a great service with the information you provide on this site.

    p.s. If you have time, visit Switzerland. You will love it ;>)

    Jake - November 24th, 2008
  14. Tim,
    I’ve been looking at the Garmin 700 series and am interested in the 755T. other discussions mention that the 755T is faster acquiring signals and plotting a route than the 750/760 series. Also has an internal antenna. Folks are still really interested in the 760/750 series though and I wonder if I’m missing something other than the price?
    Are there significant benefits to the 7×5 series over the 7×0 series?

    Ed - November 24th, 2008
  15. Read tons of reviews, but it’s xmas time and I need to buy a GPS for a gift. Using it mainly in AZ, but will be taking a trip to San Francisco in January and think it will be of great use up there. If you had to choose….would you go with a brand new Garmin 750 or a refurbed 260W? Thanks!

    Jay - November 24th, 2008
  16. I have just bought a 750. My question is can I navigate to an attraction without going to the destination. As and example, if I want to go from Richmond Va to the Kennedy Space center in Florida, will the 750 find the Center without me having to make a route to Titusville then look at attractions.

    Ted - November 25th, 2008
  17. Ted:
    Where to -> Near -> “titusville” -> Titusville, FL -> Points of Interest -> Spell Name -> “kennedy” -> John F Kennedy Space Center.

    Tim - November 25th, 2008
  18. Tim, great info. I am trying to choose a GPS (first time user). Needs: widescreen, street names with voice, and an option to see two different routes-shortest distance and shortest time. A particular large box retailer has the 750 for less than $200. Would you consider this a good buy. Any other products to consider? Thanks

    Chip - November 26th, 2008
  19. Hi Tim,
    On my Nuvi 750 how do I enter “1120 South 1st, Clayton NM 88415″ or “Plano, TX, Avenue H” I have tried every which way, but cannot get it. Please help
    Thanks again!

    Heinz - November 26th, 2008
  20. Where to -> Address -> “new me” ->”clayton” -> “1120″ -> “1st” -> GO.

    Where to -> Address -> “t” -> “plano” -> -> “h” -> H (Ave, Pl) -> GO.

    Tim - November 26th, 2008
  21. I have a garmin 750 and cannot get it to receive a signal inside of my home. There are times when I would like to plan a route or look at alternate routes before I leave my home and cannot do it. It this normal or is there some type of software fix for the problem. I purchased the unit in the summer and have been pleased with everything else.

    Thanks in advance for any assistance you can be.

    david - November 30th, 2008
  22. That is normal. GPS will sometimes work indoors, however it isn’t designed for that.

    Tim - November 30th, 2008
  23. David: Try to turn on “simulator”: TOOLS->SETTINGS->SYSTEM->GPS SIMULATOR-> ON

    I use it for indoor usage and it allows me to create/preview/edit…etc or sometimes “taping” yourself to window helps acquiring signal :)

    Marek - November 30th, 2008
  24. Hi,

    I tried nuvi 750 on longer trip. It worked fine. The sound is not loud, but it is good enogh. One thing I did not like is that it wanted me to drive on I95 insted of Florida Turnpike. Also after I took the Turnpike, it tried to get me back on I95 on every exit. I live near by the Turnpike and this was easier and shorter way. I had to turn it off and on. Is it set up to avoid toll roads, and can I change the route if I do not like it?

    Thank you in advance and have a nice week.

    Plamen - November 30th, 2008
  25. Tim, what does the “screen shot” do, I know where it is and how to enable or disable, I have read the manual, page 38, “Touch the camera to take a screen shot. The picture bitmap file is saved in the Garmin/scrn folder on the nuvi drive.” I can’t figure out what good a photo of the screen at any given time would be???? If this is a function that has a useful purpose, please explain.

    James - November 30th, 2008
  26. James, it is mostly a feature for people like me who are writing reviews or tutorials. It takes a “picture” of the current screen that you can later copy to your computer. For example we included many screen shots from the Nuvi in the second half of our Traffic page. Click on those images to blow them up.

    Tim - November 30th, 2008
  27. Plamen, there is an option you can set to avoid toll roads, but it is not setup that way by default. If you don’t like the route you can add a via point or use the Route planner function to force the route you want.

    Tim - November 30th, 2008
  28. I am looking towards a 750. I drive a regular size truck in FL and want to be able to see the display. My husband and I also ride our Harleys from time to time, but not usually on long distance runs. What are the differences between a Zumo and a Nuvi 750. We do not ride in the rain. can you use the 750 on the motorcycle and/or can you use the Zumo in the truck. What is the better choice? Thank you.

    Dawn - December 1st, 2008
  29. Dawn, the Zumo would likely be the better pick for you. While it has a slightly smaller screen, it is designed with fuel and UV resistant plastics, and is waterproof. Despite not riding in the rain the waterproof qualities will also help keep dust out– the 750 has an exposed SD card slot and just a little bit of dirt or moisture in there could ruin it. The Zumo is also designed for the vibrations of riding that the 750 is not.

    Tim - December 1st, 2008
  30. I purchased both the Garmin nuvi750 for a pretty reasonable price. During my after Thanksgiving shopping, I found a Garmin nuvi 260 for $100 off (about $50 less than the 750 I already bought) and bought it also. Which one would you suggest? I’m buying it for my husband and I have no clue what he would want but want something decent but easy to use. Please let me know as I have no clue which one to keep.

    Julie - December 2nd, 2008
  31. I’m planning to get a refurbish nuvi 750 because it is cheaper. Are there any disadvantages getting a refurbish compare to a new one?

    Joel - December 2nd, 2008
  32. Joel, see Refurbished GPS Devices.

    Tim - December 2nd, 2008
  33. Thanks Tim. They are an authorized dealer for Garmin. I will call them first and ask about the map update before I put my order.

    Joel - December 2nd, 2008
  34. I see that the 750 doesn’t have the “ding” feature prior to a voice message. Is there an easy way to have the message repeated if it’s missed? Thanks……

    Jack - December 2nd, 2008
  35. Jack, yes, you can tap the turn in button to get a verbal repeat.

    Tim - December 2nd, 2008
  36. I have the Garmin 750 and I like many of the features. I live in Daphne AL and have found many mapping errors. My home street which is over 5 yrs. old is not on the map. I have to use a near by street as my home. The exit off I-10 to my house has 35-A & 35-B. A takes you north or south on Hwy 98 & B takes you east on Hwy 90 to my house. The map does not know there is an exit 35-B and directs you to take 35-A which sends you in the wrong direction. Also there are many national stores & restaurants in the area which are over 5 yrs. old and are not in the POI. I have the 2009 map updates. I called Garmin customer support and they told to email all of the map errors and they will try to verify them within the next year. They told me I can purchase the 2010 updates when available and they hope the corrections have been completed. A friend has a TomTom and my home address and all of the other map errors on Garmin are current & correct on his TomTom. Is there any other way to update map errors?

    Elmo - December 3rd, 2008
  37. Elmo, there isn’t any other way to correct the map errors on the Nuvi. Other brands like the TomTom do offer a way to correct some types of map errors and share those changes with other TomTom users, but Garmin hasn’t offered anything similar.

    I wouldn’t email the errors to Garmin. Garmin purchases their maps from a third party digital map provider, so I’d go straight to the source and report the error at mapreporter.navteq.com

    Tim - December 3rd, 2008
  38. Hi Tim can you tell me why does the 750 have a mike and and also hands-free calling instructions under the help button? Thanks..

    Rick - December 5th, 2008
  39. Rick, I don’t know.

    Tim - December 5th, 2008
  40. Hi I have been reading this site for days and it is was a great tool on me deciding to purchase the nuvi 750. My ? is I have been trying to install new vehicle icons, but when I follow the instructions from the garmin website the vehicles to not transfer over to my gps. In fact while my gps was connected to my computer it removed the vehicle icons original on it. How do I install properly so that icons will get to my gps…thx 4 fdbk..

    Dee - December 6th, 2008
  41. I just wanted to take a moment to let all of the beginner GPS folks know how informative this site is. Tim, you do an excellent job of answering everyones questions. I have experienced almost all of the issues that people have and wish that there was a site like this to answer them when I had questions. I have a Garmin 340c Street pilot and am currently looking for something basic for my brother to use. I travel for a living and use my Garmin every day and it hasn’t failed me. I will be upgrading myself to something with Bluetooth very shortly and you can bet I will be checking this site for the “best bet” when that time comes. Thank you for the info!

    Wade - December 8th, 2008
  42. I AM TRYING TO DECIDE BETWEEN A 255W AND A 750. HOW DO THEY COMPARE AND WHICH ONE IS EASIER TO USE?

    RICK - December 9th, 2008
  43. We bought a Nuvi750 a couple of weeks ago and the the voice on it goes away. We have to restore all the factory setting to get it back. This has happened three times. Is this normal or is something wrong with it?

    Ann - December 10th, 2008
  44. Ive had the Nuvi 750 for about a year. Just recently started to GEOCACH. Can any body give me advice. Will the Nuvi 750 do what I need in finding sits?

    Frank - December 10th, 2008
  45. Hi Tim,

    As others have said, this is a GREAT site; very informative.
    I am planning on purchasing a Garmin Nuvi 750, as most of the comments posted here (and elsewhere) are favorable.
    Howver, I have just heard today that Garmin is discontinuing this model (Nuvi 750). Is this a fact?
    I would rather buy a new unit that will remain on the ‘active’ list, at least for some period of time.

    Have you heard of this? Your comments would be appreciated!

    Thanks for your time.
    Bob

    Bob - December 19th, 2008
  46. Frank, the 750 won’t be a good device for geocaching.

    Bob, Garmin has over 40 versions of the Nuvi, so they get ‘discontinued’ rapidly. I wouldn’t worry about it with respect to the 750.

    Tim - December 20th, 2008
  47. Tim, If the Nuvi 750 want do what I want. What do you us or recommend?

    Frank - December 21st, 2008
  48. Tim,
    Will the garmin 750 continue to provide info if it loses the satelite signal? For example going trough a tunnel or Mt. terrain.

    Steve - December 21st, 2008
  49. Steve, unfortunately from what I recall it does a pretty poor job. Basically it just displays a warning message blocking the map view that says “Lost Satellite Reception”. When you come out of the tunnel the map will reappear when the signal is acquired again.

    Tim - December 22nd, 2008
  50. I have a 750 about a month ago. It was working fine until about a week ago. It does not speak directions and street names anymore. The map shows direction and turns, but no voice – silence! I checked the “Mute” it is OFF. What is the problem?

    Mike - December 24th, 2008
  51. We’re considering the Nuvi 750 and the Magellan Roadmate 1412. We can get them for about the same price for either one. Can you tell me the relative merits of the two units (e.g., signal acquisition, ease of use, route engine, reliability)?

    Paul - December 25th, 2008
  52. Great site and so much to read – can you help me filter – looking at the Garmin 750 and TomTom 330xl – interested in a unit that lets you search by category of restaurant – if you don’t know the name, but they type of food you are looking for.. do either of those do that? thank you so much.
    Cheryl

    Cheryl - December 25th, 2008
  53. I received two different GPS systems for Christmas. The first is a Tomtom One and the other is Garmin nuvi 750. Would you have any advice as to which one I should keep? I am a first time user.

    Liz - December 26th, 2008
  54. Have nuvi 750. Since new the opening “GARMIN” on screen has the bottom clipped. Software was 3.20 have now updated to 4.20. The opening screen still has bottom of “GARMIN” clipped but also now has what is best described as 5 – 7 red kidney shaped objects under the “GARMIN” Have reinstalled with no change. Have you heard of this? Any suggestions? Have been looking at on board coding but can’t see anything.
    Thanks

    John - December 26th, 2008
  55. P.S.
    Also no matter which of the the selectable opening screens (JPEGS) I select, it is now blank.
    Thanks

    John - December 26th, 2008
  56. Mike – check the process described under the Garmin section under our Enable Text-to-Speech article to make sure everything is set properly.

    Paul – I’d go for the Nuvi.

    Cheryl – The TomTom devices do not break down restaurants by category, the Nuvi does.

    Liz – I’t try them both and see which you like more. But the Nuvi 750 offers more features than the TomTom ONE.

    John – I’d contact Garmin support.

    Tim - December 27th, 2008
  57. Tim, When You are GROCACHING, Which GPS DO YOU USE? I understand the Nuvi is not ideal. I agree the accuracy is not there.

    Frank - December 28th, 2008
    • The Nuvi is plenty accurate to geocache with, it just lacks good tools for straight line navigation, a compass heading, granular enough distance readings, etc. But the GPS itself is plenty accurate enough.

      I have so many GPS devices I can’t say there is just one I use for geocaching. Through much of the summer I was using the Garmin Oregon 400t and more recently I have been using the DeLorme PN-40.

      Tim - December 28th, 2008
      • Thanks Tim for the advise. Iam looking for Garmin eTrax Venture HC. For two reasons price and hopfully accuracy. Any thoughts.

        Frank - December 31st, 2008
  58. Can I connect the car charger directly to the 750? Or do I need to put the GPS in a cradle of some kind. If so, where does it plug in. I’m on the road and do not have my instructions and the garmin website won’t download a pdf for some reason.

    Roger - December 28th, 2008
    • You plug the charger into the mount and then the mount into the charger.

      Tim - December 28th, 2008
  59. Tim,

    1. Have uploaded the post October 15 2008 maps. My nuvi 750 now takes longer to upload maps and to find satelites…is this normal?

    2. After loading new maps, are ther old maps(or anything else) to discard from nuvi 750 and if so, how?

    3. Satelites are found but often lost …even when travelling in unobstructed areas?

    Thanks.

    Claude - December 28th, 2008
    • Do you have the latest application update for your device?

      Tim - December 28th, 2008
  60. Hi Tim,

    I have never owned a GPS system before and asked for a Garmin for Christmas. I received the nuvi 205 but was considering taking it back and getting the 255w or 750 after doing some research online and comparing all of them. Should I do this? And if you think I should which one should I get? The 255w or 750? I’m don’t need the mp3 player or FM transmitter. All I’m concerned with is having a quick, reliable, easy to use, and as up-to-date nuvi as possible. I get lost easily when navigating to new places, sometimes even in my home city, haha and so want the system that will be the most practical and best choice for me. I really don’t know which would be the best fit for me and need to make a decision soon. Will the 750 be discontinued soon in the future?

    Thanks.

    Katie - December 28th, 2008
    • The 750 has already been replaced (essentially) by the 755, which has a similar release date to the 255w. If you don’t need Multi Destination Routing then I would go for the newer 255w.

      Tim - December 29th, 2008
  61. I have a Garmin Street pilot 2720. It acquires the satelite in a minute or less. I bought the Nuvi 750 for my girlfriend. She wanted something smaller than what I had. It never acquires the satellite. Has anyone else ever had this problem? Why would the street pilot have no problem, but the 750 does? Could it be just a badly made 750, and another one would work better? Any opinions or advice would be appreciated.

    Jeff - December 31st, 2008
    • Did it ever get a signal? Are you running the latest application update? How long has it been left while connected?

      Tim - December 31st, 2008
  62. Tim,

    Is it possible to download my music stored in iTunes (not purchased in iTunes) to my nuvi 750 an if so how?

    Gordon - January 1st, 2009
    • Yes, you can copy them into the Nuvi drive when it is connected to your computer. Note they must be in MP3 format which is not the default iTunes format, even for music not purchased from iTunes.

      Tim - January 2nd, 2009
  63. I have a Megellan 2000 that I have an issue with, entire towns missing from the map, very poor customer service, etc, so I started looking for a new GPS. After reading this site forever (I wish I had found it back then), I just bought the Garmin 750 from a store yesterday for literaly half the price that everyone else wanted. I did check which version map it has (I think I did it right) and it says….City Navigator North America NT 2009. I’m guessing that’s about as up to date as it’s going to get right now. I used it to get me home from the other side of town last night too. It wanted to take me a different way then I wanted to go, not the wrong way, just a longer way. When I turned it recalculated itself and took me home with no problem. It was however, off taking me to my house by 20 yds, which would have took me futher to my neighbor.I guess I’ll have to pay attention to addresses when we’re getting close to where we want to go. The voice is different than the M2000, a bit robotic where the M2000 is more human, but I could here it clearly and it was plenty load enough. It pronounced one of the roads a bit oddly (kinda like your caller ID on the phone) but then again, it’s a name that if I was new here I would too. So far it’s a keeper.

    DebC - January 6th, 2009
  64. Hi Tim I have returned my unit. I did not like the way that it gave directions and the issue with the routes ( can not see the whole route turn by turn from point A to D only to the first point). Do you have any suggestions for another unit more efficient in the way it gives directions? I like to be on the freeway and avoid streets as much as I can. Even if I selected faster time it put me on the streets with weird routes. Our Garmin IQ 3600 is more efficient . Do you have anything suggestions. Thank you

    Patricia Martin - January 16th, 2009
    • I guess I’m not certain what to tell you since I’m not sure I understand your question. You can see the whole route, turn by turn, ahead of time on the 750. Your old iQue uses an almost identical set of routing rules and software, but likely has older maps.

      Tim - January 17th, 2009
  65. I have a Nuvi 750 and would like to explore possible routes for a Florida trip in March . However I cannot get a signal inside my house in order to look at the options ahead of time short of going outside and sitting in my car in the middle of winter with a map on my lap . Any suggestions ?

    Thank you !

    David - January 21st, 2009
    • See our article on Offset Starting Locations. You will essentially turn the GPS Simulator on which disables the GPS chipset, then set your home as your current location.

      Tim - January 21st, 2009
  66. The FM tranmitter function on my Nuvi 750 is not working; that is, I cannot hear downloaded music played through my car radio. I have tried several different FM stations on two different vehicles in several parts of my San Francisco neighborhood, and still nothing. The customer service rep at Garmin even said that she has never known the FM transmitter function to work on this model. Why tout a product feature as a selling point if the feature doesn’t actually work? Anyone have a similar experience or any tips?

    Joan - January 22nd, 2009
  67. I bought a 760 & had problems from Day 1, primarily with TTS which would just stop working in the middle of a route. My only remedy was a master reset, which wiped out all of my data. I am returning the 760 & considering a 750, which I can buy at [deleted]. I had a 350 that I loved, but the screen got bumped & the display became useless. I’d consider another 350, but want a 4.3″ display, especially since the keyboard letters on the 3.5″ are too close together for my fingers. TTS is very important; traffic, bluetooth, photos, etc. are NOT. What would you suggest?

    Barbara - January 28th, 2009
  68. Where can I download the complete manual for Nuvi 750. I was excited about purchasing my Garmin today and then didn,t have the complete manual on how to operate it. I may need to return it. Very dissappointed. Thanks for any help

    Frances - February 2nd, 2009
    • There is a link to the manual in the ‘Specifications’ column of this page, along the top left.

      Tim - February 2nd, 2009
  69. I am looking to buy my first GPS. I am leaning toward the nuvi 750, but also am considering the Garmin Quest because I ride a motorcycle. Any help in deciding will be appreciated!

    Denise - February 8th, 2009
    • I’d checkout the Zumo series that is designed for auto and motorcycle use.. it is designed for exactly what you want to do.

      Tim - February 9th, 2009
      • Thanks!

        Denise - February 9th, 2009
  70. Tim,
    got the 750 two weeks ago. Right out of the box everything fine except a stuttering with both American-English TTS voices. Words – and not only street names – are sometimes (to often to be acceptable) garbled to non-recognition and then the 750 will make the next announcement – almost identical text – without problem.
    Reloaded unit software without change.
    Any suggestions?

    Roland - February 8th, 2009
    • Roland, contacting Garmin support would be my suggestion.

      Tim - February 9th, 2009
      • Thanks Tim!

        Roland - February 10th, 2009
  71. Need advice. My nuvi 750 is having battery trouble. It want stay charged for more than 2 hours at the most. Even when I charge it all night. Can anybody give me any help. I read what it says in the manual, but no help. Can the battery be replaced ? It about two years old.

    Frank - February 14th, 2009
  72. I have a Garmin Nuvi 750. I added a SD Card, and load some MP3 files. When I get into the MP3 Player, it searches but doesn’t find them. What am I doing wrong?

    Bruce - February 14th, 2009
    • Are the files actually in MP3 format, or some other music format? The Nuvi will only play music in MP3 format and not other formats like the format iTunes uses.

      Tim - February 17th, 2009
      • They are MP3.

        Bruce - February 17th, 2009
        • I’m not sure then. You might want to ask around in our Garmin Nuvi Forums.

          Tim - February 18th, 2009
  73. I have a Garmin Nuvi 350 and just purchased a 750. Can the home power adapter and the automobile charger for the 350 be used to charge the 750?
    The end of the auto plugs are different but the 350 chargers both have a 90 degree USB plug that looks identical to the USB port at the bottom of the 750. Can you plug the 350 chargers into this port on the 750 without damaging it? Seems a waste to buy a new home charger for the 750 if the old 350 will work.

    Ray - February 17th, 2009
  74. I just ordered the 750 and this is my first GPS. Two questions please: I am hard of hearing and often take out my hearing aids, especially when driving alone. I can not use the radio at all as it is not intelligible enough for me through FM transmitter. So that feature of the 750 is useless for me. I suppose I do not need to hear the directions if I can see the map but of course verbal instructions would be preferable.

    I ordered this unit last night on-line, not only because of the very good reviews but also because it has a line out for earphones (I assume to be used for MP3 playback). My question is will the sound also come through the line out when the GPS is giving instructions? I know it is against the law in some states to wear headphones or earbuds when driving but if I want to use this device fully, I have no choice.

    Secondly, what do you all think about those mounts that attach to the power outlets? I don’t want a window mount and I think the dash mounts might be unstable but the ones that plug in the accessory power plug seems pretty neat. Have any of you mounted the 750 that way?

    Marty - February 23rd, 2009
    • I didn’t like the window mount either, so I put a strip of velcro on the back of my Nuvi and the other on my dash just under the radio…works great!

      Kay - April 16th, 2009
  75. I am a real estate appraiser and want a unit that if I put in about 6 addresses in close proximity it will arrange them and take me to the addresses with greatest efficiency. Will both the Garmin 260 and 750 do this?
    Thanks..

    David - February 26th, 2009
    • No, the 750 will but the 260 doesn’t have that function. Only the 700 series and above offers it.

      Tim - February 27th, 2009
  76. Question? Can I get an separate power source to us with my Nuvi 750 for when Iam not in my vehicle??

    Frank - February 27th, 2009
  77. I recently purchased the Garmin 750.The GpS is great, but how do you get the system to read a SD card. I have tried 4 different ones and neither of them will comply. The one that I have now is the San Disk 4GB (recommended by Garmin tech). Is there some kind of format required? Music nor pictures.Can someone please help?

    Cleveland - March 13th, 2009
  78. I have a garmin 750. I recently purchased the GDB 50 FM Traffic Receiver from garmin.com. The problem that I’m having is that when I’m viewing the traffic map, my car icon drives off the screen and I have to zoom out to see it again. Does anyone know how I can change the settings so I can view the traffic map the same (or similar) to the navigation map?

    Cory - March 22nd, 2009
  79. my nuvi 750 also is acting up in text-to-voice; doesn’t give street name, only \turn rt. in 300 ft.\. you say to go to voices; where is this??have been playing around with it all nite.

    barb - April 4th, 2009
  80. Is there a gps model that allows you to download driving directions? Mine goes from point A to B..and at times I do not like the route it takes. Need a gps that I can download a specific route such as using mapquest driving directions.

    Susan - April 15th, 2009
    • This 750 has that function Susan. Any of the Nuvi devices in the 500 series or higher have it.

      Tim - April 16th, 2009
      • Tim, what are the steps to doing that?

        Kay - April 16th, 2009
        • Kay, see page 12 in the manual.

          Tim - April 17th, 2009
  81. Thanks Tim, this is very helpful to know.

    Susan - April 16th, 2009
  82. I need to get my first GPS. At first I would like to get 205w but aftre seeing the dicount on 750, I really con’t decide whether to get 205w or 750!! Should I get 205w or 750?

    Sone - April 19th, 2009
  83. I’m about to purchase a Garmin 750, and would like Spas/Salons to be a POI, but I cant seem to find any custom POI file with Spas/Salons included. Do you have any suggestions?

    Brian - April 27th, 2009
  84. My Garmin 205 was stolen this week from our vehicle. I would like to purchase another one, but I have been looking into a Garmin 750. I see that it is discontinued. I am not sure if it would be better to get this one because of price and features or if I should try to find one that is not discontinued. I was also looking at the 760 and wondering if that one was an overall good buy also. My husband and I really liked the one we had, but I have seen quite a few features that I like on these 2 models…So could anyone tell me why Garmin has discontinued the 750?

    Stephanie - April 28th, 2009
  85. I’m thinking about the Garmin 750. Can you tell me if it has a feature to plot waypoints for hiking?

    Mark - April 28th, 2009
  86. Let me be more specific. If I walked 300 yds through the woods can I track my trail and get back to where I started?

    Mark - April 28th, 2009
  87. Hi. With the 205w, 260w or 750 (found one used, hence reading here), is there a way to save a route such as from google maps? What we would like to do is purchase one for our daughter and pre-load routes into the GPS for cousins, grandma’s house etc. We borrowed a neighbors 200 and it was really neat, but it wanted to take us through some funky cut throughs and I’d like to set up routes on major roads for her. Basically saving a point A to point B route and labeling it. Thx

    RP - May 5th, 2009
    • RP, you can do that with the 750, but not on the 200 series models as they do not support multi destination routing.

      Tim - May 5th, 2009
  88. Hi Tim,
    Is there a way to make Spa/Salons a custom POI on my new 750?

    Brian - May 5th, 2009
  89. Hi everyone, I just bought a car without navigation and am replacing a BMW that had navigation. I am leaning towards a Garmin but really I am interested in what up-to-date traffic information I can receive. I understand on some of the Garmin 700 nuvis I can get Clear Channel traffic which was the same as in the BMW and that was pretty good. What other services do people use and how good are they? Is MSN good? FX? Also do any of the systems provide local resaurant and gas information? Thanks in advance!

    Nancy - May 8th, 2009
  90. Nancy, I have this 750 and its great, however if you want traffic updates go with the 255wt, got it for my girlfriend. Comes with Lifetime traffic and it works great. Now it depends where you are, smaller cities it does not work as well. We live in Atlanta. Overall though, Ive been very pleased with both Garmins. They are very versatile and there are always plenty of updates which the Garmin site makes very accessible.

    Ben - May 27th, 2009
  91. Can I use one of the universal car chargers (i.e. unit from Day Tripper) with the 750? These chargers appear to use the mini USB port and would allow me to leave the dock at home when traveling by plane/rental car.

    Also, how about my motorola cell phone chargers (wall and auto). They also use mini USB.

    RJ - May 30th, 2009
    • RJ, some will work and some will not. The Nuvi is very fussy about power and many non-Garmin chargers will just throw the device into HUSB Mode.

      Tim - June 1st, 2009
  92. Yesterday, I bought Garmin 750. Today I plugged in my Car (Toyota Camry). I selected location, language and time setting. Then I got massages that GPS is looking for satellite connection and it will take few minutes. I wait more than 20 minutes but I did not get the signal. I tried several times but failed to get connection. Does anyone help me to solve this problem? Thanks in advance.

    Md Zahid Hossain - June 12th, 2009
  93. I just purchased a Nuvi 750 and was talked into an ac charger. I have owned a Streetpilot 340 for 4+ years and have always just used the car power cord. The battery in the streetpilot died 2 years ago. Should I be charging the battery in the 750 to use it or is just using the power cord ok?

    Brian - June 18th, 2009
    • Please review response number 1 for answer given earlier

      Frank - June 19th, 2009
  94. My garmin nuvi 750 when being used will now give the distances to turns and direction of turns, but not announce the street names or highway names or exits. I just purchased the lifetime upgrade system and updated the first time. It downloaded the new maps and other information in great fashion. But I still only get the voice prompts for distance, is this something I need to change manually on the unit. Thanks for the help!!!

    Timothy - August 7th, 2009
    • Make sure you have Enabled Text-to-Speech.

      Tim - August 7th, 2009
    • Hi Tim:

      Only certain voices do the Text to Speech. I believe that they are the voices that are named. Try that and see if it works.

      Cory - August 7th, 2009
  95. Tim,
    Thanks for the info. It works now as it should. I also like the option for different names you can use. I also printed the manual from Garmin for this 750 unit. Again, THANKS!!!

    Timothy - August 7th, 2009
  96. Is there a way to run the garmin while connected to the USB?

    I only have one cigarette lighter in my car and so have to make a choice between Garmin or IPOD.

    My IPOD (Belkin, actually) adapater, has a USB jack on it. So I would like to have my IPOD running in the Belkin, and send a USB cable to the Garmin. But when I do that, I can’t use the Garmin.

    Steve - August 12th, 2009
    • Hey Steve
      See post 291 for your answer.

      Jeff - August 12th, 2009
  97. My Nuvi 750 is only 2 days old and it died…i think. I used it to get to a certain destination and when I arrived I shut it off. When I was heading home I turned it on and placed it in the cradle. It froze while loading the maps so I turned it off and went to turn it back on but nothing happened. Just a blank screen. I tried to everything to get it going by using the AC adaptor and the cigarette lighter but nothing. Has this ever happened to anyone else?

    Thanks
    Jeff

    Jeff - August 12th, 2009
  98. When you go the “trip display” I’m not sure what the top right two displays mean. Does anyone have an answer to for me? Also, I was told that it can give you your gas mileage as well but I’m not sure how to do that.

    Thanks in advance.

    Jeff - August 15th, 2009
  99. Hi, my daughter (Nuvi 260) is trying to put an address in with Hwy. 12 & 16 and it will not accept that. This is the mailing address.

    This question has been addressed but I cannot find it on the forum right now.

    (I’m experimenting on the 750 but it is still taking an awfully long time to find satellites. An ongoing problem…)

    Thanks,
    Mary

    mary - August 21st, 2009
  100. I have a 750 and when I plug it into the usb port a picture of a computer comes up and I can’t turn it off. AQdditionally is the Garmin charging at that point. ?I don’t know if this is normal as I just purchased it. Doug

    douglas - August 31st, 2009



content bottomleft content bottomright