leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Garmin StreetPilot c330

May
11
2006

The Garmin StreetPilot c330 is part of Garmin’s “c” series, currently their most popular auto GPS navigation systems. The StreetPilot c330 will guide you to your destination with a 3.5 inch touch screen color display. Maps can be viewed in 2D or 3D mode and the map data comes from NAVTEQ.

Preloaded maps are one of the biggest selling points of the Garmin StreetPilot c330. If you want to save a little cash and load maps yourself, you might want to consider the StreetPilot c320 instead. To load maps you use the included MapSource City Select disc to load the 128 Mb SD card.

Text-to-speech is not included on the c330, while there are verbal directions the c330 will not speak the street name to you. If that functionality is important, consider the Garmin StreetPilot c340 instead.

If you are considering your first GPS system for your car, the Garmin StreetPilot c330 would be a fantastic pick.

91 Responses


  1. […] Thrifty announced today that they will be offering their cars with a Garmin StreetPilot c330 GPS navigation system. “Whether a customer is traveling for business or on vacation, the addition of the optional StreetPilot can help drivers arrive at their destination on time without the typical travel hassles,” said Jay Foley, Senior Executive Vice President of Corporate Operations. “With families and business travelers trying to make the most of their time while sometimes driving in unfamiliar territory, more of our customers began asking us for navigational assistance.” […]

  2. […] Based on Garmin’s popular StreetPilot c330, the unit features a simple touchscreen interface, with automatic route calculation to any destination and turn-by-turn voice-prompted directions along the way. The navigator contains detailed maps of the U.S. and Canada — featuring addresses and nearly six million points of interest — including hotels, restaurants, gas stations, ATMs, and tourist attractions. Dollar and Thrifty car rental locations are also optimized in the unit’s database, and drivers can easily route to the vehicle’s rental return facility. “Offering Garmin car navigation in Dollar and Thrifty rental vehicles is an ideal fit for everyone involved,” said Gary Kelley, Garmin’s vice president of marketing. “Dollar and Thrifty can provide their customers with a convenient and easy-to-use navigation device, and Garmin is able to expose thousands of potential customers to its popular portable GPS navigator.” […]

  3. […] PC mag has reviewed the Garmin c330 StreetPilot GPS Vehicle Navigator. They liked the ease of use, overall light weight, and preloaded maps. They found the screen difficult to use in bright sunlight, and limitation of single-segmented trips. […]

  4. […] Overall With other similarly priced and featured GPS devices out there, such as the Mio 136 and the TomTom GO 300, the Garmin StreetPilot i series will face some tough competition. However, if the units perform as well as the company’s other models, such as the StreetPilot c330, then Garmin should have another winner on its hands. […]

  5. […] Over at TidBITS (one of my favorite reads) Adam has posted an extensive review of the Magellan RoadMate 700. Although the RoadMate 700 worked well at its basic task most of the time, it didn’t evoke in us the same level of appreciation as the StreetPilot c330 did. It had more options, including male and female voices and the choice of touch screen or physical controls, but those options didn’t seem to add much other than some complexity. […]

  6. […] The Toronto Star recently took the Garmin StreetPilot c330 for a spin and gave their thoughts. Overall they thought the device saved them hours of map scanning and retracking. With a 3D touch-screen, clear, intuitive design and remarkable street savvy, this is no-fuss, no-muss digital cartography. Use the touch-screen buttons to input the desired address or choose from a list of 5 million points of interest such as tourist attractions, stores and gas stations — then wait a few seconds for the device to calculate the best route. A seductive female voice then begins to guide you verbally. […]

  7. I would like to get some info on the garmin products, specifically the c330. From what I can tell, there is not a way to view the miles left on the trip from the front screen, just the time when you will reach the destination. Is there any way to view the mileage without scrolling through the turn by turn moves until you get to the bottom and see the mileage there. It is driving me nuts!

    Cori - July 13th, 2006
  8. The ‘Trip Information Page’ on the StreetPilot c330 does include the total distance remaining, but I don’t recall being able to view it from the main navigation screen.

    GPS Review - July 19th, 2006
  9. What is the functional difference between the GPS mode and WAAS/EGNOS mode ? Which one is better ? Secondly, why would it be taking almost 5 minutes to pick up a satellite ?

    Murray Blandford - December 15th, 2006
  10. WAAS is a supplement to GPS. It provides additional accuracy through ground stations. You need to be in an area covered by WAAS to receive the WAAS signal… it is not global like GPS. Turning on WAAS will increase accuracy, but limit battery life.

    Tim - December 15th, 2006
  11. I really enjoy my c330. However, I set out a detailed ROUTE and tried to upload it from my pc (I have a 2GB SD card inserted with the entire N.A. MetroGuide installed – lots of memory left). Mapsource will not recognize my device unless I pick ‘maps’. The other options – waypoints, routes, and tracks are greyed out. This unit is supposed to accept one route with up to 500 waypoints. Do I have to enter them on the unit the hard way through the touch screen? I can do this, but what a drag!
    Any suggestions?

    Roger Marsh - September 10th, 2007
  12. Roger, I believe 500 waypoints refers to the number of favorites you can store. Each of those can individually be recalled and added to a route. However it only supports one via point in your route. In other words you can specify your destination (one waypoint), and one “via” point (another waypoint) in one route. So one route can have the destination, plus one other via point.

    Tim - September 10th, 2007
  13. Can someone give me an opinion on the Garmin nuvi 200w vs. the Garmin c330?

    Gary - November 24th, 2007
  14. Gary – You can compare those two over here. The Nuvi 200 has a more sensitive chipset for better reception, and is smaller despite having the same screen size. The c330 has a little bit better battery life and wider map coverage.

    Tim - November 24th, 2007
  15. I am want an inexpensive gps for occasional use. I would find extensive POI’s and the ability to add POI’s to the database an important feature. I want to avoid paying for map updates. Which of the Garmin c330 or TomTom One (LE, 2ed, and 3ed) would be better? Is there a better choice? Thanks.

    Rich - December 6th, 2007
  16. Rich, all manufacturers charge for official map updates.

    Tim - December 6th, 2007
  17. I like to fish. Can I download maps of the lake where I fish on the Garmin C330 street pilot?

    David - December 8th, 2007
  18. Tim – Thanks for the info on the maps. Still, considering number of POI’s and the ability to update them, richness of features, quality, and overall usefulness; would you recommend the Garmin c330 or the TomTom One 3rd edition? No one here knows the units well enough to be helpful, I really need a recommendation. Thanks.

    Rich - December 11th, 2007
  19. Rich, the ONE has a more sensitive chipset, is smaller and lighter (but same screen size) and has more routing functions.

    Tim - December 11th, 2007
  20. Can you tell me the different between Garmin streetpilot c330 and Garmin nuvi 670?

    sharon - December 15th, 2007
  21. I should clarify,what are the great or significant advantages of Garmin nuvi 670 over streetpilot c330?

    sharon - December 15th, 2007
  22. You can compare those here.

    Tim - December 15th, 2007
  23. Please advise whether the Garmin C330 or the C530 would be the best choice for me – am not particularly computer savvy. Would be using the unit primarily for vacations, road trips, etc, not everyday driving. Got both from Santa, need to return one. Thanks for any feedback you can offer.

    Nancy - December 26th, 2007
  24. c530.

    Tim - December 26th, 2007
  25. I have a garmin 330. routh preference is faster time, and shorter distance. Is there any way to alter a route. The tomtom has that feature. May need to take it back and get tomtom. Appericate your advice.

    Calvin - December 28th, 2007
  26. Calvin, other than adding one via point, or just ignoring the directions and having it re-route, there is no way to force a particular route.

    Tim - December 28th, 2007
  27. I received a Garmin 330 for Christmas. It worked perfectly the 1st time I used it. Today I tried to use it in my wife’s car (2006 Honda Civic) and all it kept saying was that it was searching for a satellite. It never found one. Any thoughts?

    Jeff Raymond - January 1st, 2008
  28. I got this for x-mas and it works just fine but it doesnt really have any of the business listed, if Im figuring this out right the maps preloaded are 06 is that right?

    Rhe - January 2nd, 2008
  29. How do you tell which Garmin products are the newer models? I am trying to decide between the Garmin C330, C340, C530 or the Nuvi 200 and 250.As you can see, I’m very confused. I would like to get a newer model so that the maps will be as new as possible. But I also want to get the best quality one. These are all priced within $50 at the store I’m shopping at. I plan to use it mostly in the city but since I’m in Canada, the traffic option is not available, so I don’t need that. Any advice would be appreciated.

    Also, where do you go on the site to compare various models. I’ve seen links on the site where to where comparisons are done between certain GPS types, but I can’t find where I can do the comparisons myself. Thanks

    Laura - January 3rd, 2008
  30. The Nuvi models are the way to go and are the “newer” models. You can reach the comparison tool in the ‘Find Auto GPS’ block near the top left corner of the homepage.

    Tim - January 3rd, 2008
  31. Thank you so much for your suggestion and the information on how to compare various models. I’m going to go pick up my new GPS today. You were a big help. Thank you.

    Laura - January 4th, 2008
  32. Watch out for Garmin products. Some have US and Canada maps installed, but, when you try to update them with 2008 maps, there’s not enough space to put both countries. I live in Canada and have a C330. I’m very disappointed with the update which will allow me to update Canada or US but not both. Garmin’s solution is to load southern Canada and northern US. This is not acceptable since I purchased the unit with the entire US and Canada.

    Bob - January 18th, 2008
  33. Hi Tim,
    The other day we were trying to test our Garmin C330 with walmart store around us. It showed us three locations which did not exsist anymore for at least a year now. It also doesn’t recognize several new store locations.
    How can we update it?

    Ayman - February 10th, 2008
  34. Ayman, what map version do you have now?

    Tim - February 11th, 2008
  35. Hey Tim. I’m getting ready to purchase my first “auto gps”. I want something I can plan my routes on my computer with then upload to my gps, sort of like I do currently with my Legend handheld. I’m cheap, but I do want something that is accurate and won’t take me half way around the world. Thanks a bunch for your help.

    Lee - February 12th, 2008
  36. Lee, you can’t plan routes on your computer with the c330. The c330 doesn’t support routes.

    Tim - February 13th, 2008
  37. Tim, I beleive its version 5.7. I tried to update for new versions from garmin.com, it said there are no new versions available. But clearly our C330 doesn’t know some of new establishments. Is there any other way to update?

    Ayman - February 13th, 2008
  38. Ayman, that sounds like the software version, not the map version. (Settings -> Map -> Map Info)

    Tim - February 13th, 2008
  39. Oh my bad, How about ‘City Navigator North America NT v8’?

    Ayman - February 13th, 2008
  40. There is one newer map than that version available for purchase. It is based on a release Garmin got from their map supplier in the second half of 2006. You can get info about it here:
    http://www8.garmin.com/unlock/update.jsp

    Tim - February 13th, 2008
  41. The new version has all of north America, but, it won’t all fit on the C330 as it did in past versions. You have to chose between US states or Canada or the upper US states and part of Canada.

    Bob - February 13th, 2008
  42. I am a service tech. located in Minneapolis, St.Paul. Have had my Garmin 330 for 1 year. Works well but there are a few intersections around the twin cities it gets wrong, including the mall of america which has been there for over 10 years. Thats not a big problem if you know the area and know of the error, but it would goof a newbie up. Its for this reason that I purchased and installed the 2008 update. Not only did it not fix any of the intersections it got wrong in 2007, It still showed that the 35w bridge is still there!! Doesn’t the Garmin map people watch TV? I think the bridge falling in the river was shown on national TV. I want my 79 dollars back.

    Steve - February 23rd, 2008
  43. Steve, the 2008 update is based on a release Garmin purchased from their mapping supplier in the second half of 2006, (and includes changes they had made up to that point) so it won’t have anything newer than that in it.

    Tim - February 23rd, 2008
  44. I’m in the same boat Steve is in. I live very close to 35W and was completely shocked that it kept directing me toward the collapsed bridge. I purchased my garmin in March 2008 and the problem had not been fixed. What a shame. Since I live so close to the bridge it often directs me toward a road that doesnt exist anymore. I have also noted odd hick-ups with my Garmin. When crossing over, lets say, 94 towards NE it starts to recalculate like im actually taking I-94 and not just crossing over it. Very Bizarre

    Cray - March 16th, 2008
  45. Im looking for a base for the c330 Garmin, actualy all I need is the piece with the contact points that fits in the base. If anyone has an old unit and wants to make a few bucks please email me. Thanks

    B Yeagle - April 14th, 2008
  46. I have the c330. I believe I have the “City Navigator North American NT v8″ verision. I also see a “base map 4.0″ and 2005. Also Copyright 2007. I’m not sue which one of these refer to my mapping version.Is there an update available..Also I’m hearing that the c330 doesn’t have enough memory to hold the replacment mapping for the 330. Can I load just the lower 48 on my gps and then load mexico and canada on an SD card,is that an option….How ???

    mike - May 21st, 2008
  47. “v8″ refers to your map version. “2008” and “2009” were released since that time. You are correct, it won’t hold the entire 2009 map, however you can install just the 48 contiguous states. Mexico doesn’t come on the 2009 map.

    Tim - May 21st, 2008
  48. Tim,
    Thanks for the info. I really don’t need mexico but would like to have Canada. I’m just a little foggy on how to load the 48 states on the gps and then Canada onto an sd card.

    mike - May 23rd, 2008
  49. Mike, I haven’t done that myself so you might want to check/ask in our StreetPilot forums to see if others have split the map like that.

    Tim - May 23rd, 2008
  50. My c-330 will not recognize intersections of major interstates. Often that is the information I really want. I am forced to pick a city destination which may not be important to my itinerary at all. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong.

    Philip Kuhn - June 19th, 2008
  51. Philip – See this article: Interstate Highways as Via Points

    Tim - June 19th, 2008
  52. Tim: Thank you, it describes the problem I have exactly and I am sure others do too. It also appears there is not clear cut answer to it, but there could be with a bit more in detail programming by Garmin.

    Phil - June 19th, 2008
  53. Tim: Thank you for the response. It details exactly what I am concerned with. Apparently there is not a clear cut answer to the problem right now. There could be with some more in depth programming. Right now I do not use mine, nor recommend it, because of the deficiency. I went back to paper maps.

    Philip Kuhn - June 19th, 2008
  54. MY C330 was left inside the car and when I tried to use it, it powered up for a few seconds and then shut off. Is this a sign of heat damage as I have not been able to get it to power up again. And if so is it worth repairing?

    Dione - July 2nd, 2008
  55. Dione – I think only Garmin could tell you what the damage is. It would likely cost more to repair it (if it is a hardware issue, have you tried the reset switch?) than it is worth.

    Tim - July 2nd, 2008
  56. Tim , thanks for the tip. I reset the system and it powered right up. Just in time for a weekend getaway!

    Dione - July 3rd, 2008
  57. Glad to help.

    Tim - July 3rd, 2008
  58. Good tip on the reset button Tim. for all those who might not know where it is on a 330, you must first pry off the silver faceplate, the reset button is behind the faceplate. Other tips: due to the poor search function of the garmins(all or nothing) when you are searching for a road, and can’t find it, someone might have misspelled the road. just type in the first letter of the road and it will pull up all the roads with that letter. also some roads are entered in the garmin as county roads. type in “cr” to see all the county roads. same for “hwy” for highway roads. hope this helps.

    Steve - July 8th, 2008
  59. I have had 2 units now. Absolute garbage and a half hour hold time with Garmin is unacceptable; probably because they keep producing faulty units. My first unit froze while in the car during trips. Would not pick up satellites either. Second unit was sent as a replacement but was refurbished. Completely stopped working to no fault of mine when I went to use it on a trip. A lot of good that did me! Then they tell me to hook it up to the computer which to me totally defeats the purpose of a GPS! I could just use mapquest while the dumb gps unit charges over night as recommended… I feel bad for the people on the tech lines at Garmin because the company is producing crap! I wish I could get my money back to go with a Tom Tom or Magellan.

    Chris - August 11th, 2008
  60. I have had my C330 for a couple of years. I am spending a couple of weeks in the UK shortly. Can I load UK maps to my SD. My base map is N. America.
    Suggestions will be appreciated.

    Roger Marsh - August 11th, 2008
  61. I just tried my C-330 again this week to find a place I have never been. It set a route that was ridiculous, when in reality there was a very direct route available. I am coming to the conclusion good old paper maps are still the best way to go.

    Philip Kuhn - August 11th, 2008
  62. Hello Philip.
    A couple of things to check. Make sure you don’t have any “exclusions” set. I had “no toll roads” set and ten miles from Niagara, it wanted me to cross via Kingston! Similar thing happened with “no u-turns” set.
    Also try changing from shortest distance to fastest. Make sure you power down and reboot after setting.
    If you know the better route, just start off. The unit will recalculate and accommodate you.

    Roger Marsh - August 11th, 2008
  63. Roger – Yes, you can purchase the UK maps on SD card.

    Tim - August 11th, 2008
  64. Roger: Thank you for the tips, I will try them to see if they will help. Right now I am very unsatisfied with the C-330.

    Phil Kuhn - August 11th, 2008
  65. Piece of junk, maps are at least 10 years out of date, Routeing is a joke.

    Kenneth Waggoner - October 11th, 2008
  66. I HAVE BEEN EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH MY STREETPILOT C330 HOWEVER SINCE TAKING IT ON A TRIP VIA PLANE AND USE IN ANOTHER STATE 1000 MILES AWAY, IT HAS BEEN TAKING A LONG TIME AQUIRING SATELIITES. WHAT CAN I DO? ALSO IT NO LONGER HAS POWER UNLESS DIRECTLY PLUGGED IN IE.DOES NOT WORK ON BATTERY. HOW CAN I SOLVE THIS?

    ERROL - November 2nd, 2008
  67. I have a Pilot car service. Sense oversize loads are usually routed on secondary roads with many diff. roads, I need to beable to enter the rout that is specified on the trucks permit. Is there any GPS that I can do this on ?

    Gail - December 9th, 2008
  68. Wondering if my Garmin C330 will work in Ireland if I buy the Garmin maps for there. Will the cigarette lighter plug work in a Irish rental car? Using software version 6.10. Now have City Navigator NA NT v8
    Thanks Pete

    Pete - February 10th, 2009
    • We purchased the map for all of Europe and it was a lifesaver when we drove thru Ireland and Scotland! Unfortunately I resold it on eBay! We also have an older streetpilot c330. Good luck! Kath

      Kath Beiswanger - March 18th, 2009
  69. I have the c330 Street Pilot and when I put in a address that has a State Route it always comes up no matches found…so it is not doing me much good with my job

    Bobbie - February 16th, 2009
    • Bobbie, how are you entering in the street name? Try entering just the number of the route itself without any letters or spaces and tapping ‘Done’. Can you provide an example? Which map version do you have?

      Tim - February 17th, 2009
      • Here is a example of a address I have:
        1813 ST RT 902 First I enter the house number, I put in 1813, hit done, next I enter the street, I have put in just the 902, I have put in State Route and spelled it out, I have put in the ST RT, I have put it in lots of ways and it always comes up NO MATCHES….when I use a regular address it does fine. I’m sure I”m doing something wrong with how to enter it. Also, where does it tell me which map version I have?
        Thanks,
        Bobbie

        Bobbie - February 19th, 2009
  70. I purchased the city navigator North Am. NT 2009 map last Dec. It worked fine. Today when I tried to put in an address for Fairfax, Virginia all that comes up is is “Fulks Run, Va.” not allowing any other cities to be found??? Also I tried to locate Tampa, Florida-when I put in Florida for the city, the screen keeps repeating what state?? I have done a reset and re-downloaded the software?? Is there any thing else I can try?? Thanks for any help, Kath

    Kath Beiswanger - March 18th, 2009
  71. I just tried my C-330 again the other day after updating it. Had I followed its directions I would have driven at least another 15 miles to get where I wanted to go. Now it did nail the exact address, once I used a paper map to find the best route and got close. I think I need to acquire a better GPS instrument.

    Phil Kuhn - March 18th, 2009
  72. I have had the Garmin 330 for 2 years now. How old would the maps be that it was downloaded with? How often should you put in new maps? Should I put in highway instead of state route on a address?

    Jerry - March 19th, 2009
  73. The last time I attempted to use my C330 it came on and displayed “low battery” then went off. I unpluged it and each time after that it came on only for about 2 seconds and went off again. Can the battery be replaced and if so where can I get one and how is it changed?

    Charles - April 5th, 2009
    • The battery is not “user replaceable”, however it can be done with some effort. I don’t know of any sources for the battery.

      Tim - April 10th, 2009
    • The battery on the C330 can be replaced by the user if they have a little technical ability. You can find step by step directions on the net and the battery can be picked up on ebay. You just need to be careful when reassembling, so as to not foul up the antannae.

      Frank - May 15th, 2009
  74. I purchased a Nuvi 205 and I can not get my home address to input. It is a county road address which requires numbers, then the term “west county road” then another number and the other direction of “south”. It is sometimes called a “911” address. As I enter it, after a few letters into the country road part it faults to another screen saying the street name will be entered in the next block. Can you give me some help? This is my first GPS and I am anxious to use it.

    Betty - August 18th, 2009
  75. I live in the country & my fisical address is a rual rout.
    I have the Microsoft, streets & maps 2009 downloaded in my lap top.In trying to input “home”, It won’t take my address, but it do’s give me a coordinate. Put I can’t find how to enter that as HOME ? I am a piolt car driver & sometimes I end up in the middle of some city & I don’t know how to get back out of it. I need the take me home feature ( if there is one )Can any one tell me how to do this ? Please address any info. to Gail, so I can find it in the long list on this site.
    Thank You
    Gail

    Gail - August 22nd, 2009
  76. Gail, find an address close to your home that it does recognize, and use that as your home address.

    Anthony Farkle - August 30th, 2009
  77. Hi
    I have a Garmin streetpilot c330 I’v had it a couple years and updated it once.When I try to update I’m told I have july 2008 updates alreadey.How do I update it to present or can I get life time updates from Garmin? also I read someware that this unit was discontinued. Thanks for the help if possable.
    Jim

    jim - January 26th, 2010
  78. You probably have the latest updated map in your C-330. They do not change them often. They wanted $65.00 to update mine last year, but then I found out from another individual it was the same map he already had.

    Philip - January 26th, 2010
  79. We have the Garmin Street Pilot c330 and are considering purchasing the lifetime map update. I have read that the updates aren’t very current. We are leaving soon for a trip and I am concerned that our maps won’t be accurate. What can you tell me? Are there any other update options without spending so much money?
    Thanks for any help you can give.
    Susan

    Susan - March 3rd, 2010
    • Susan, I wouldn’t purchase a map update for your STP c330…. On a device of that age it just isn’t worth it. You will spend at a minimum $93 for the lifetime map update. Yet you can spend as low as $80 for a Garmin Nuvi 205. You would then have a GPS with the latest maps automatically, plus more features and a slimmer device than your c330. You could spend as low as about $55 for a single update at Amazon, but even then I don’t think it is worth it on that device.

      Tim - March 3rd, 2010
  80. The battery of my Garmin c330 no longer holds a charge. Is it possible to have it replaced? Also, my Garmin recently started taking several minutes to acquire a sattelite when I turn it on. Could this problem be related to the battery issue?

    Joel - May 9th, 2010
  81. I have a Garmin c330 and live in WI. I will be taking a trip to CA soon. When I try to load an address in for CA, it does not find the state or allow me to save an address in CA. Anyone have any ideas on why CA isn’t showing up?

    Ann - May 27th, 2010
  82. I have been trying to load a more current map. The las one I loaded was about August of 2009. I have been getting an error code 404. Is there a updated map for the Streetpilot c330? Thanks
    James Drake

    James - July 16th, 2010
  83. I am looking for free map updates for my garmin streetpilotc330 are there any/ thanks

    vicki - July 21st, 2010
  84. Got it as a Christmas gift a few years ago. It’s a very capable gps until you require an update. You can literally purchase a new model Magellan for the cost of an update, I know, I bought my a Magellan for less than my update cost. For the 1st year you’ll love IF you have enough space to store when you leave you vehicle, it is a little bulky.

    B Donnell - May 11th, 2011
  85. I currently have this model of Garmin GPS. The problem I am having with this, after a few years of owning it, is that it takes almost 20-30 minutes for the Garmin to acquire satellite connection. I will repeatedly get asked if I am indoors, in the USA, and current time. I am not around any large buildings or sky scrapers. Just sitting in my driveway or parking lot trying to get directions. Please assist.

    Keith - June 9th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright