leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

LG LN790

Jan
10
2007

(Considering the LN790? Check out our review of the sibling LN735 which offers many of the same attributes.)

Finally at the top of the GPS lineup for LG is the LN790. There are two outstanding features about this GPS, there is a large 4.3 inch display, as well as the ability to play video files. The large display will make it easier to view the GPS if it needs to be located further away from you in the vehicle. It also will make watching videos on the device more tolerable.

You get preinstalled maps of the USA and Canada on this device just like the other LG models. Traffic alerts are possible through the included traffic receiver. With this model you also get Bluetooth capabilities which will provide hands-free calling.

Other advanced features include text-to-speech, and the SiRFstarIII chipset. Expect to pay about $800 for this device when it becomes available in the Spring.

23 Responses


  1. I purchased my LN790 last Sunday from [snip, see comment policy]. It is currently on sale [snip]. From what I have seen this is a pretty good deal.

    Pros:
    The unit responds excellent and is very accurate. The screen is a beautiful size and handles movies, pictures, and music very well. Generally I found the interface to be easy to use and easy to learn. The multistop feature is a great option. It uses NAVTEQ maps which I hear are the better ones to use. The handsfree bluetooth option is great as well!

    Cons:
    Purchase date was Dec. 9/2007. Map on unit is dated 2006.Q2 which leads me to believe that the map is over a year and a half old. I went to LG website and couldn’t even get a user manual on this unit. I called the toll free support only to find out that if I want updated maps, it will cost $150. That will only bring it up to 2007 which is almost done.

    Ookpic - December 11th, 2007
  2. How is the traffic navigation? Does it have the same wire with suction cup rigging as the 740?

    a - December 26th, 2007
  3. I didn’t even see the traffic navigation however I’m from Canada and I think I may have seen that it is only available in the US. Not sure on that thou?

    I wound up taking this unit back strictly because of the map update BS. The unit I will buy, I will make sure has free map updates. Other than that, the unit is nice, maybe a little too big but very easy to use and setup.

    Ookpic - December 29th, 2007
  4. This unit is good but ends expensive as the updates are expensive. I am going to return as will cost me more to update to 2007 although bough in Dec 2007 only showing maps 2006. Good luck to LG

    art - January 2nd, 2008
  5. I have never purchased a GPS and am considering purchasing a LG LN790 but am unclear about the maps. How often do you need to upgrade the maps and does it cost to replace them with all units or just this one. Also, does anyone know if the customer service improved since last year. I have only read negative remarks about LG service. Where would I find the closes service sites.

    Keisha - March 16th, 2008
  6. Do not purchase any LG navigation units! They have not released any updated maps as of yet (currently using 2006 maps). Neither do they have an estimated date for updated maps. While the unit itself is fine (I own the LN740), not having updated maps is frustrating.

    Joe - April 20th, 2008
  7. When will we have the upgrade for this? I hope it wont be expensive because GARMIN done this in January 2008 for FREE.

    Lambert C G - May 12th, 2008
  8. The Garmin map update wasn’t entirely “free”. If you purchased a device and at the time of purchase it didn’t have the most recent map available (for example) it was free. But if you purchased the Garmin device say six months ago you could not get the update for free.

    Tim - May 12th, 2008
  9. But no body can tell me when the update for LN790 arrives?

    Charles G Lambert - June 2nd, 2008
  10. Charles, LG has been telling people for about a year now that a map update will be available “next month”.

    Tim - June 2nd, 2008
  11. Folks, while these units are cheap and look like they have all the features, their support and updates are terrible, I bought a LN730 in Oct 2007 and it had the June 2006 maps. Theres still no available map update, And the LG customer support is the worst I’ve ever encountered.

    Better to pay a bit more and buy a GPS with real customer support/updates.

    Alan - June 15th, 2008
  12. I too purchased a LN735 last August (2007) for a trip in Hawaii. While the unit is great to use and very easy to figure out, it’s the outdated maps that are frustrating. For example, in Maui none of the modifications at the AIRPORT are even in the map, and they have been there since 2005! Despite saying that they are Q2 2006 maps, I doubt that. Some roads that have existed in my area for 4+ years aren’t even in their database. Calling them, well I would rather stick needles in my eyes. A lesson learned – you get what you pay for. I should have paid the extra $100 and gone with a Garmin. Suppose there’s a reason why Future Shop and Best Buy (in Canada) have dropped the LG line of GPS’s.

    John - June 17th, 2008
  13. John, unfortunately 2005 is quite recent in terms of the speed of mapping. Just because the maps were produced in 2006 doesn’t mean every existing road was mapped at that time, it often takes years for new roads to make it into maps.

    Tim - June 17th, 2008
  14. There is map updates for LN730, LN735 and LN740 but no map updates for LN790!! that totally sucks!

    Call LG customer service line and they will transfer you to the parts departments.. you have to pay for the map update. price will be around $100? or more?

    charmainia - August 15th, 2008
  15. Some people knows what kind of connector is good for the external GPS antenna or best where I can find one

    Luc - August 27th, 2008
  16. I almost got a LG today.Thanks for the info folks.

    Max - September 18th, 2008
  17. I just got off the phone with LG, and there is finally a 2008 map update for the LN790…cost around 100 bux, they just sent me the form to fill out, I will be sending it back today and hopefully recieving the update soon !! Its about time !!

    harold burke - October 6th, 2008
  18. J’ai reçu la mise à niveau pour le LN790 et il s’avère que beaucoup de nouvelles sont manquantes et qu’ils ont été construites avant 2007

    I received the upgrade for the LN790 and there are many new ones are missing and they were built before 2007

    Charles - October 31st, 2008
  19. Je parles bien entendu de rues et c’est payé le gros prix pour une mise à niveau qui n’est pas complète.

    I speak of course Street and is paid for an upgrade is not complete.

    Charles - October 31st, 2008
  20. Well it’s 2009 now and just curious if anyone knows where i can get an updated map for my LN790. By reading the previous comments before mine, I think i’m gonna have a hard time finding it.

    Jason B - February 10th, 2009
  21. Le update était pour l’Europe ou pour le USA/CANADA

    Lesbulls - February 17th, 2009
  22. In Canada call 905-568-6800, keep at them for maps and eventually someone will email you the form to fill out.
    Mine came with a note that said send form in box with unit
    they will install updates and ship your unit back to you.
    Good luck on all this, I just perchased another make

    Wayne - April 7th, 2009
  23. De quelle façon pouvons-nous changer la batterie sur le ln790? Parce que la batterie ne garde pas sa charge.

    Lambert - May 10th, 2009



content bottomleft content bottomright