leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan Content Manager

May
23
2009

Magellan has released a new software application called Content Manager (download), somewhat akin to Garmin’s WebUpdater and TomTom’s HOME applications. So far, the only method available to update the application on Magellan devices has been to download installer applications from the Magellan website and install manually.

Magellan Content ManagerHowever there are apparently some severe limitations to Content Manager. First, the program is PC only– Mac users are out of luck as they have been with other Magellan updates and applications. Second, the software is currently only compatible with the Maestro 4350 and 4370. Third, while you can transfer routes to your device, the software itself cannot create routes. Instead it will import a KML or KMZ file and transfer those to the GPS. KML and KMZ are formats most widely known for their use by Google Maps and Google Earth. So it would be possible to create a route from either of those systems and transfer it to the GPS.

While I’m certainly happy to see new things coming from Magellan, even with this new software they are still lagging years behind the software functionality their major competitors are offering.

13 Responses


  1. I just purchased a Magellan 3045 GPS the sals person told me I could get free map updates , All I had to do was go to Magellians content manager website to do so .

    Magellan says no way they want to chareg me $79.95 for the first and there after. Ronald Belmont

    Ronald Belmont - December 8th, 2010
    • Ronald, the salesperson was wrong. If your device doesn’t ship with the latest map you can get it from Magellan’s update guarantee, however they don’t otherwise offer free maps. See: http://www.magellangps.com/Support/Magellan-30-day-Map-Guarantee

      Tim - December 14th, 2010
      • Tim,After the firs map update what is the cost for others after the first one , I map update a feature I need to have on my unit

        Thank you, Ron Belmont

        Ronald - December 15th, 2010
  2. just purchased the new magellan, i love it.

    eduardo chavez - December 14th, 2010
  3. Recieved it for Christmas, and I have yet to use it but I find it a little ridiculous in this day and age that Content Manager is PC only. I know tons of people with Macs, and its time Magellan to get with the times!

    Patrick - December 24th, 2010
  4. I received the magellan gps road mate 2036. Have not tested it yet. Hope I am not disapointed. I will post after first use. It will be a road trip this weekend.

    Leslie - January 17th, 2011
  5. I cannot get magellans content manager to work either on windows xp or on windows 7. I have been working on this for about 3 months. I have sent lots of emails to magellan, but so far no progress

    Thomas Brown - January 25th, 2011
  6. I have received my Magellan Roadmate 5045-LM going on my
    first trip,using it-hope it work properly!

    Roger L. Davis - February 13th, 2011
  7. I´m disappointed to see that Magellan does not have a MAC OSX Compatible version of the software. They need to get their act together. Consider an increase in sales of more than 10% if you do. Is that worth it. Yes, that´s what I thought.

    get with it people, I will not purchase a Magellan GPS just because of this.

    Luis - August 15th, 2011
  8. Briefly, I have a Maestro 4350. First purchase was faulty and replaced by store. Second one faulty, sending me when I want to go west from A to B, first east on extended route to B. I attempted to reload OS from CM and in process formatted NAND (I am totally computer iliterate and do not understand the language). Now the Magellan screen comes up and the clock stops immediately. The unit is out of 12 month warantee and Magellan say they do not fix units over one year old and I must trade it in with them. I cannot believe that a year old unit cannot be fixed. Can someone advise what I can do to reload the OS? Thanking you. I am going nutty trying every single option.

    Tim - October 10th, 2011
    • Welcome to the club of disappointed Magellan owners. I have owned no other GPS to date. I have a 1470. Magellan service SUCKS. The R&D guys are way behind the tech curve. They make buggy mistakes and then ignore customer pleas to fix them in a timely fashion. Content manager doesn’t work properly most of the time. I am running V2.22 at this very moment and the update screen is frozen and will not cancel. When you call or email them about an issues that is all over the net in various customer reviews, they act like they are hearing it for the first time. Any company that hasn’t figured out that a good way to check on the effective design of their product is to go to egghead, or amazon, or anyother site with product reviews and read about what they sell is lazy and mismanaged. Magellan is first in line here. It was all over the net when software update v 2.** was crashing every unit that downloaded it. Their answer was to pay to ship it back, pay to have it fixed if out of warranty(they just shipped a refurb to you), and pay to have it shipped back even though it was their buggy software that caused the problem. Now Content Manager is another POS software that they can’t seem to get right. I love my Magellan when it is working but I despise MiTac and the left-over Magellan idiots they didn’t fire when they took over the company. Anyone reading this, do yourself a favor and by something else. These guys can’t get it together or don’t have the will.

      Dan - December 6th, 2011
  9. I previously owned a Maestro 3225 unit for about 3 years and loved how it worked. When it died recently (battery) I got a 5120LMTX. Love it too except for garbled voice problems and no MAC update support (And I bitched about this 3 years ago with my Maestro) . Customer support in India (?) said new operating system software (V4.90) for 5120LMTX would fix both these problems. After multiple (I am sorry Mr. K) calls, I still could not find out when this is to be released. My map version is 41. Version 43 is current and V45 is due out and NO target date available via India(?) (I am sorry Mr. K).

    Content manager is only PC compatible (No MAC support) and my “I am sorry Mr.K” phone call could not provide an answer as to when MAC suoort would be available. I tried to update from a PC and could not do it – Content Manager was useless – Magellan’s “How-to” video is ludicrous! It should be effortless to update an software and maps on your GPS and not require someone with a degree in computers to do it.

    The GPS’s user interface is great – too bad the update support/ user update interface sucks. Get with it Magellan Geeks! It should be seamless, effortless and painless on the end users part – PC & MAC! How many years do you need to get it done and properly?

    Al - December 15th, 2011
  10. Update on my Dec 15, 2011 comments above. I just checked the Magellan website and I see that they finally released a Mac version of Content Manager (requires 10.6 Snow Leopard and above which requires a Mac with an Intel processor). If you have a pre-Intel Mac (3 years or older) you cannot use the new Content Manager SW. So Content Manager will work with 10 year old PC’s with WIN XP (released in 08/2001) but only on newer than 3 year old Mac’s with Intel Processors and Snow leopard 10.6 (released in 08/2009). Nice going Magellan. I am glad I got a Garmin because I certainly would not buy a new Mac just so I can update my free maps!.

    Al - December 28th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright