leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan Crossover GPS

Sep
12
2006

In the upper end of the new RoadMate 2000 series from Magellan is the CrossoverGPS. (Formerly known as the Magellan RoadMate 2500T.) This GPS includes maps of North America but also adds pre-loaded topographic maps for outdoor adventures. Other outdoor maps from Magellan such as marine maps can be added through SD cards. A host of other advanced auto navigation features are included such as real time traffic reporting, an MP3 player, and a photo viewer.

This GPS comes with the Sports Guard case to make handling the device easier and also provides additional protection for the device. The CrossoverGPS will be available sometime in December January for $549.

186 Responses


  1. Tim, You are correct. I failed to mention that I sent that same email directly to Magellan.
    John, I took back my Crossover and purchased the Garmin 60CSX and love it. It does everything I want but talk to me with that sultry voice. It does beep at me though. I recommend it.

    Trevor - September 21st, 2007
  2. This is the response Magellan sent me in regards to the above email I sent them.

    Thank you for contacting Magellan. This email is in response to your query
    about the CrossoverGPS.

    We apologise for the delay in responding your email and for any inconvenience
    caused by this issue.

    We understand from your mail that your unit has some issues.

    Regarding the reset of unit, I request you to send the unit for repair.

    In order to process the Repair, you need a Return Authorization number, which
    will be provided by us. To know how to get the Return Authorization number,
    please follow the instructions below:

    ** The warranty period for the unit is 12 months from the date of purchase –
    New unit**
    ** The warranty period for the unit is 90 Days from the date of purchase –
    refurbished unit**

    If the unit is under warranty, then send us your Name, Shipping address,
    Phone number,Date of purchase, Email address and the serial number of the
    unit for us to process a request for Repair.

    The Return Authorization number and the address to which you need to send the
    unit would be informed to you in the corresponding reply.

    If your unit is NOT under warranty, it is recommended you call our Technical
    Support to give your payment and other information for us to process the
    request in this case.

    The Technician would inform You about the Cost involved and Provide You the
    Authorization Number to send the UNIT in for Repair.

    I would like to inform you that currently there is no map updates available
    for this unit and the latest firmware version available is V 2.14. Currently
    there is no topo map available for this unit.

    If you do have any further queries regarding this issue please email us or
    you can call us at 1-800-707-9971 for further assistance.
    ————————————
    Regards,
    .
    Magellan Email Support.

    Do not call that 800 number as you will be spitting fire after attempting to communicate with a non english speaking person. Thank goodness for Garmin.

    Trevor - September 21st, 2007
  3. I am looking at buying one unit that I can use in my truck and to do inshore saltwater fishing. I am thinking about getting the Magellan Crossover or the Lowrance iWay 600c. I have read all the post here and noticed the mixed reviews. There aren’t many reviews for the Lowrance. I like the fact that the Lowrance comes preloaded with both street and lake/coastal maps. The fact that it doesn’t operate on batteries doesn’t bother me. Does anyone know more about the Lowrance or have recommendations on which one I should buy. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Again I am only interested in purchasing one unit not two. Thanks.

    Rusty - October 1st, 2007
  4. Rusty,

    I’d highly recommend purchasing the Garmin 60CSX. I bought one and love it. It does everything I want but talk to me. You can buy the maps for lakes, topos and streets. The only downfall I can speak to is the cost of the additional software. Given the performance and durability of the unit however, I have no problem paying a little more. I believe you’ll find the 60CSX more than you expected. Best of luck.

    Trevor - October 4th, 2007
  5. I LOVE my Magellan Crossover. I am a PC Technician and it guides me to the homes to fix dead computers and televisions. On weekends I use it for geocaching with the family and husband uses it to go hiking in the mountains. I got it for 335 at Staples (500 less 165 110% price match guarantee with Costco’s 350 price) several months ago. It has frozen up on me once or twice, but I reset it. It is much easier to use than my Lowrance and I find LOTS of Points of Interest when I need them. If find about 10% of the addresses it has trouble with (finding exactly, it does come close), but they are all WAY in the boonies and I don’t know that another brand would do better.

    Debbie - October 10th, 2007
  6. Read Larry #83. He is dead right and there are many other amazing flaws. [snip] Bought the lakes south SD and the unit does not recognize the SD! Had a Garmin before and it was much better. The only thing positive about the Crossover is that route calc is fast and the sat receiver is very sensitive. Will sell it or keep it for backup if I can get the lakes SD working somehow.

    Jeff - October 14th, 2007
  7. Mary Ellen: There are Quebec snowmobile maps available for garmin gps here http://www.trakgps.com/shop/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=61
    I’ve seen a group using it last year, and have purchased it for this year already

    Kevin - October 15th, 2007
  8. Had my unit a week and generally like it. Mag documentation is poor and registering unit advised of a firmware update, but it failed twice although instructions were followed to a T. Email support from Mag solved issue in less than 24 hr, but correct solution is not to be found on website. Routing Alog is still a little dicey, but I travel from US to Canada and back. Seems to work from Can Home to Can dest through US with region set to US as long as address from book. Will test more. Seems quite accurate on addresses even in boonies. Down loaded POIs and software again tricky to tranfer properly, but solved. Won’t view my jpegs, but will show thumbnails, hmmm? Took it moose hunting and worked great. 2.14 firmware update changed interface, voice, and unit seems faster.

    John Elliott - October 16th, 2007
  9. Responding to message from Robert from back in August regarding the Magellan Crossover GPS w/ TrafficKit. I have the setup, and the TrafficKit, and it has never worked. It locks into a signal, but never shows a problem or routes me around jams (until I come to a stop, then it naturally suggests a re-route). I’ve already had the GPS into Magellan for repair once because of it. They didn’t have me send in the TrafficKit. Now, it still doesn’t work. Stuck in a jam for 20 minutes this weekend – well-publicized construction. So, I’m looking to see if anyone else had success in getting theirs to work.

    Also, I had lots of trouble with the repair center. They lost the unit (it was delivered next door (same company runs that place too), and the Help Center kept saying it was my problem. Finally, I called Magellan Public Relations, and a wonderful lady there solved that problem.

    So, I’m planning to call them again for an repair authorization, unless someone knows the solution.

    James P. - October 22nd, 2007
  10. John in comment 108 states that firmware update soultion is not avaliable in website. I have had no luck as well. Does anyone know how to get the update. Magellan has not responded to my emails about this

    Dan - October 28th, 2007
  11. Dan
    To get to the 2.14 Firware upgrade, when asked to input the software version number of your existing unit, I was advised by Magellan to input 1.68 rather than the 1.62.xx.xx my unit showed and it took me to the 2.14 upgrade location. You are warned the 2.14 firmware upgrade is not reversible, so be aware. I like the 2.14 interface but maps are still the same and routing engine still a little clunky, but overall for the price I am satisfied. You are advised to backup your address books, etc.as they will be wiped by upgrade. I only had a few in and ignored, but they were not wiped by upgrade.
    Luck
    John Elliott

    John Elliott - October 28th, 2007
  12. John: Did Magellan explain why you should state that you has version 1.68 instead of the 1.62 that your crossover came with? I ask because I first upgraded to 1.68 (it took me to a 1.72 version upgrade), then later I upgraded to 2.14. The crossover works fine, but it it doesn’t get traffic reprots from the traffickit I bought. Maybe they’re related.

    Charlie - October 29th, 2007
  13. I love the Crossover GPS. I’ve had it for a couple of months now and haven’t run into any notable problems with it. The road directions are precise and the voice prompts are clear so looking at the GPS can be avoided completely when driving. I regularly use it for road and for geocaching. The save functions within the Road option is extremely easy to use, and the coordinates and compass in outdoor mode are accurate and quick to update. Overall its a great GPS that does what it claims. If I was looking for something to complain about, the GPS does occasionally take a minute or two to locate the sats when first starting up, and although response time was fast (under 12 hours), the support responses are clearly cookie cutter. No real complaints here. I’d recommend one to a friend.

    Jay - October 30th, 2007
  14. They did not explain and mie went from 1.68 straight to 2.14. Can’t help with the traffic kitas i don’t have one. Could it be related to having the text to voice announcements turned on? You can set under user options what you want announced. I forget which tab. Poor documentation certainly makes this unit a not user friendly learning curve
    Jack

    John Elliott - October 31st, 2007
  15. I’ve been looking for a GPS unit that is motorcycle friendly and it seems that the crossover may fit the bill. Garmin has the zumo series but they are out of my price range.
    Are there any other units in the $300-$400 range With similar features?
    I mostly need something that is
    water resistant
    can use a 12volt adapter
    has voice directions with auto routing
    has a headphone jack

    The ability to use it hiking is a plus but not necessary.

    Simonov - November 5th, 2007
  16. Simonov – This and the 2200T are probably your only options under $400 that offer auto routing and are at least water-resistant.

    Tim - November 5th, 2007
  17. Have one Crossover 2500N and yes it has the features you are looking for. i am generally pleased, but little Mag support and routing engine is a bit clunky. Batt life good and quality of test to voice pretty fair.Limited POIs but you can add lots more. Don’t know how tough it is but mine is working OK. Documentation is out of date and you will prob have to update firmware when you get it, plus Mag has an abysmal rep for cust service. Units are being advertised new online in Can for less than $[snip] Can, but wouldn’t let ahundred bucks deter me from getting a better unit.

    squirrelpie - November 5th, 2007
  18. Has anyone been able to figure out how to display city or town names on the map for the corssover? Even the icons do not appear until the scale is down to 500 feet or so. It’s pretty frustrating and Magellan hasn’t repsponded. I had on old 315 and you could adjust the scale at which waypoints and there names could be viewed. We must be going backwards. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

    Bill - November 8th, 2007
  19. Must admit I never even noticed the names of towns weren’t showing on the screen, just the street name. Have noticed a few other things
    1. If you want to ‘ENTER AND ADDRESS’ from a ‘POINT ON THE MAP’ you have to be zoomed in fairly close. So if it is a distant point, you zoom out move the map to the cross hairs and then zoom back in close until you zero in on the desired point and then tap the screen. Not mentioned in the documentation.
    To use the TRIP PLANNER for multiple destinations, it will OPTIMIZE the order of the route, but will not GUIDE ME through the seies of all destinations from start to finish. Only guides me from current position to each destination in the TRIP PLAN separately. Read and Reread and still no luck and no helpful response from support. In addition interface in 2.14 does not match documentation.
    3. Runs out of memeory and resets on occasion, so think I have too many addit POIs loaded on unit rather than SD Cards.
    Still like the unit and getting used to its excentricities. Its a challenge

    squirrelpie - November 8th, 2007
  20. I have had the Crossover for about 4 months, and am pleased with it in general. We took it on vacation and it worked pretty well for the 2,000+ mile trip.

    On occasion it would have imprecise location of a road (probably not updated map) and would have tell us to make a U Turn when it was obvious we were on the right road. It always helps to review a paper map or internet map before going anywhere, as you may not realize that while you are going the shortest way you are also in the worst part of town.

    I do wish as others have commented that you could scroll in real time the map and for the traffic kit to work, but it does its job 90+% of the time, which is better than many of the other GPS systems.

    Tom - November 10th, 2007
  21. I just purchased the Crossover GPS for my husband. He loves it. My complaint is with Magellan’s customer service and tech support. Due to their web issues, I was unable to download MapSend Lakes West, and ended up spending a total of more than 5 hours on the phone before I found someone that would help me. Their reps would say “Let me pull up the file, hold on one moment,” then I would get stuck back on hold for 10-15 more minutes, then a new person would come on the line. Whenever I asked for a supervisor, they told me there were no supervisors available. They did not help me until I told them I was going to dispute the charge with my credit card company. I would much prefer a company that takes care of customers the first time!!

    Stacy - November 13th, 2007
  22. I am looking for a PORTABLE GPS system that includes Central American countries such as Costa Rica and Panama, or one that has those maps available as a download.

    Roy Browning - November 13th, 2007
  23. I have a 2200T. I want to upgrade to 2.14. Where do I get the code. I don’t care about crossover as I don’t need the unit for hunting or fishing.

    John Filicetti - November 13th, 2007
  24. John, Magellan’s website, support tab, then find your GPS model. Updates will be listed there.

    Tim - November 14th, 2007
  25. This is a pretty basic and disappointing MP3 capability…why not make the licensing/software arrangements to provide the ability to play wav file audio books?

    David - January 27th, 2008
  26. I bought a Magellan Crossover and returned it after the first time out off-road. The topo maps are worthless and no upgrades are available or planned. On a river or lake you see no shoreline or tributaries. Major topo features are not shown. A track is a line on a blank screen. It’s OK for the road, but don’t expect much beyond that.

    Bill Christenson - January 30th, 2008
  27. Bill
    Better check your facts. Detailed topo maps are available. Check other sites and threads for what’s available. The stock topos on the unit are pretty crude agreed and Magellan Support poor at best, but others have managed to make this unit perform quite well.

    John Elliott - January 30th, 2008
  28. Sorry John, but I agree with Bill.
    I posted on this forum many months ago. The “Crossover” is highly misrepresented by Magellan..it has no real usable “off road” maps and the “Nautical” is actually comical. I have gone back to my Sportrak Pro and for off road, backwoods and water and am now using a Garmin Zumo for travel. My 2500T is going up for sale, only because I am sick of Magellan’s “NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT” and their misleading advertizing on the Crossover.
    If you know where good topo’s are, why don’t you post them. I gave up months go looking months ago….even Magellan told me they didn’t have any!

    John R - January 30th, 2008
  29. Try the following link to a thread for Crossover info. jlg234 has done a lot of work with topos and 2200T and 2500T upgrades. If you don’t find the info you are seeking in thids thread follow to some of his other postings. I have used the supplied topo maps very little and agree they are pretty rudimentary. I have not used the optional maps he refers to, but as you will find in these threads there are those who have. I agree with you completely that Magellan support and user manuals are abysmal. I also think we are on the cusp of much improved GPS capabilties for functions integrated between different hardware and software. i.e. Google Earth, the internet and mobile devices. We are seeing some very expensive units starting to enter the market that have realtime POIs, traffic, GPS, and gas prices. The next year or two will be very interesting as these hit mainstream and prices plunge.

    Luck
    http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID =99785

    John Elliott - January 31st, 2008
  30. John Elliot. Not sure what you found on that website, but all I could get on the Magellan Crossover was a bunch of people (mostly in Canada & Europe) wondering what maps would work on it and how to use them. No one indicated that Magellan’s detailed US topo map would work. Canada, Mexico, Bulgaria, parks, etc. yes, but NOT the US topo other than the worthless one that comes preloaded. Have to say that GPSPassion is an interesting site. Bit different navigating it, but lot of “info” if you can find it.

    Bill Christenson - January 31st, 2008
  31. Have a Crossover by Magellan and a Garmin 72, If you looking for a multi purpose GPS which Magellan cross over claims to be, don’t waist your money. Used as a road navigation it works ok.

    Daren VDB - February 20th, 2008
  32. This would be a spectacular GPS if Magellan would update the maps for it. I won’t recommend it until they do!! I have been misled by the Crossover several times. On the somewhat newer bridges in my area, it looks as though the car is a boat crossing a bridge-less body of water. However, the off-road feature works well.

    Tommy - March 9th, 2008
  33. I was considering the Crossover befor reading the comments listed on this page.

    What I am looking for is a dedicated GPS for my UTV for trail and “Jeep” roading.

    Sounds like the best solution is the handheld units in which the screen is to small to navigate by.

    Are there any “Good” units that are mountable, you can see (larger screen), rugged, and have basically trail/jeep roads built in or importable?

    Also, does anyone know anything about the Lowrance BAJA units?

    Bill Baggins - March 11th, 2008
  34. Bill Baggins – after I sent my Crossover back I went with a Garmin GPSMapping 76CSx. Couldn’t be happier. Use it for kayaking (it’s waterproof & floats) and am very pleased with the topo 2008 maps. Got the mount for the car and use it in my pickup on and off road (we go kayaking in some out of the way places). The 76CSx works great for road trips with the City Navigator maps. Only things missing are voice directions and touchscreen. Screen is a bit smaller than the Crossover, but much more readable in all kinds of light.

    Looked at the Lowrance XOG crossover. Not too impressed. Support is another consideration. I’d take Garmin over Magellan & Lowrance hands down.

    Bill Christenson - March 11th, 2008
  35. Bill,

    Thank you for the information. I am now also considering the Delorme PN-20. Small screen but looks like a solid unit.

    Again Thanks for the reply. :)

    Bill Baggins - March 11th, 2008
  36. has anyone used the crossover for boating? this is one of my main reasons for this unit.

    steven - April 4th, 2008
  37. Bought the Crossover and used it for about 2 weeks. On the road (Auto) it works ok. Took the unit with me today on a boat trip to see how it does on water and was so dissapointed. The “Tracking” is correct, however it screwed up all of my saved “Waypoint” along the way to the fishing spots. For instance, I started the track from the launch ramp, got to the fishing spot (15miles) saved the “waypoint”, then repeated again for the next 10 spots or so. When review my saved “Waypoints” they were all off by at least 10 miles! The last spot I was at was about 14.5 miles (according to the track) but one of my saved spots was all the way at 45 miles distance!!! This is crazy and I will return it for some other better unit. Also, the unit has locked on me at least 4 times in 2 weeks! This is nothing but junk when you’re in water.

    kevin - April 6th, 2008
  38. Kevin – welcome to the club. My earlier posts mirror what you’ve found. I use my Garmin 76CSx in the Gulf and it’s great. Works fine on the road as well, just doesn’t have the voice feature.

    Bill Christenson - April 7th, 2008
  39. I bit the bullet and bought the Garmin 478 [snip, see comment policy] last weekend. Tried it on Sunday fishing trip and never look back. This unit works on land and water as designed and the “Recalculation” is very fast. It’s got so much features built in that I’m still flipping the manual. the tracking feature was dead on so are my saved way points. Well, better to believe you get what you paid for. :-)

    kevin - April 15th, 2008
  40. I recently purchased the Magellan Crossover GPS. The road maps are outdated for my area. It doesn’t recognize a street that I turn onto that has been here for years. I went to the Magellan site and they want me to pay $79 for a map update. I’ll be sending this unit back next week.

    Chris - May 11th, 2008
  41. Bought mag C/O FOR USE ON MC slow, maps lack any detail, off road is a joke, tracks use up memory fast, hard to see in bright light, cheesy rubber shell that falls off, 12v port will leak water, will try 276c and 550 zumo, any one want to buy delorme unit??

    terry richardson - May 28th, 2008
  42. my first one failed to power on after 3 weeks. i bought a 2nd one which failed after one week of use (faile to power on again). i like the features that i can use it for hiking or boating (no roads there). track feature is helpful but not available when in auto navigation mode

    julio - May 30th, 2008
  43. “my first one failed to power on after 3 weeks.” Julio
    My unit did this a couple of times but I was able to fix with a hard reset. It occurs when you do not set power to “auto off’ and the battery goes completely dead. Sometimes the “auto off” features becomes unchecked for some reason? and will kill battery. A tip to check out. Hole it helps
    John

    jOHN - May 30th, 2008
  44. My neighborhood [snip, see comment policy] has the magellan crossover on clearance for about 55% off the original MSRP. Would that be considered a good deal for this unit? Sounds like reviews are totally mixed.

    jeremy - June 3rd, 2008
  45. never buy from magellan.They promise a lot on the package, but don’t mention you will to buy 450 dollars software to begin to use damn thing.Stores do not want to take their crap back.Save yourself a trouble.

    eugene - June 5th, 2008
  46. jeremy – June 3rd, 2008
    Have had unit since Oct 07 and although I find unit useful, Magellan cust support is terrible, documentation poor, and unit must be near e.o.l. model. Unless you can by very cheaply or need the outdoor and marine functions and are willing to invest lots of extra money, effort and time to make unit function you are probably better off to purchase a Garmin 260 for your car. It is inexpensive, works very well with similar in car features as the Crossover and enjoys excellent documentation, Garmin web support, and a massive user base for excellent forum support. Base your purchase decision on your requirements, not the price. Noah was the last person to buy anything at MSRP. Most GPS are available for 50% or less of MSRP. Google it.

    John - June 5th, 2008
  47. Had the Crossover since march 07 more disapointed than anything… do not upgrade firmware from 1.56 to 1.68 as twice it has froze resulting in lost map and a replacement as they will not allow free download for NorthA vehicle maps. Tech mention after the fact that you should go right to the 2.14 firm ware… like others the maps for my area are over ten years old… whole neighborhoods are missing and routes given are hilarious…. Would not recommend in fact, if you want mine, check my garbage can in about a month cause if these new $76 maps still suck… that is where you’ll find it. If I don’t smash the crap out of it on Utube.

    Grant - June 5th, 2008
  48. I just read several comments about the Magellan crossover and it seems like I shouldn’t buy it. I really wanted a gps I could use hiking AND in the car and the Crossover seemed to be what I was looking for. Does anyone have anything good to say about the Crossover or should I go with the Garmin?

    John - June 6th, 2008
  49. Any one look at the Lowrance XOG. I have the Lowrance Iway 250 and is a very good basic car GPS. the XOG is Still only 12 channel but according to this review comparing it with the Magellan ( http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=71447 ) it outperforms the SiRF III?

    I want something for Hiking, Biking, and my car.\

    Anyone have any input?

    James Chester - June 6th, 2008
  50. The Crossover is a nice unit for all kinds of uses. However, the LCD screen is of poor quality. My screen cracked, within the first dozen uses, into a spiderweb when I merely pushed for a “reroute.”

    That is when I found out that Magellan does not cover LCD replacement under any of their warranty programs. Even the extended warranty did not cover this vulnerable piece of the unit. What is worse, is that Magellan charges $90.00 to replace this weak link in their product!

    If I were to buy another GPS, it would not be from Magellan! I recommend others avoid the company until it stands firmly behind all parts of their products.

    bob - June 7th, 2008
  51. I have owned a Magellan Crossover GPS for nine months and have used it extensively in my vehicle for navigation from dense urban (Washington D.C., New Orleans, Detroit, Baltimore, and more) to very rural Pennsylvania, Colorado, and Michigan. I have not had the opportunity to use the marine feature and have had no reason to use music or picture capabilities.

    In response to other reviews. Unit has never malfunctioned, not once. It has never failed to give me correct directions and deliver me to within 150ft of a POI or address destination (error not due to GPS accuracy but rather database accuracy).

    Pros: ability to use Topo and Vehicle useful in rural areas (used once to bypass closed interstate on dirt roads – excellent). Directions spot on (I usually get a voice prompt on highways at the same time I am passing a sign so it is double verified).

    Cons: Touch screen can be sensitive when inputting text. Topo maps are not the highest quality (if you do lots of hiking buy a dedicated GPS – the buy two adivce).

    Summary – if you want a GPS that works well for driving on road and you also do off road driving with short hikes this is a great unit.

    Steve - June 14th, 2008
  52. Steve – if someone is looking for a good gps to use in the car with the occasional off road or back road excursion there are certainly better ways to go than this piece of junk. A Garmin made for road trips with added topo maps will perform rings around it. You’d have a better gps from a company that gives you great support. Hate to see a review like yours, even if it’s true, that would encourage people to follow your lead, then be totally disappointed as most of were. As can be seen in reading the reviews of the Magellan crossover, by far the majority are negative and for good reason.

    BillC - June 15th, 2008
  53. I’m sorry if my own personal experience isn’t in line with what you think. I truly appreciate the “even if it’s true” insinuation.

    I only own the Magellan and a Garmin Etrex (a good simple unit in my opinion). I am not an expert and do not claim to rank it in comparison with other units.

    I upgraded firmware. Even exchanged e-mail with customer support because the download wouldn’t work initially, and I would give them maybe a 3 – 3.5 out of 5 (middle of the pack).

    Other than the firmware upgrade I haven’t done a thing to the unit and I am fairly satisfied.

    I noted the topo maps are not high quality, but they have served me well during limited use (half-day off road trips). The upgrade prices for maps are higher than I think reasonable.

    There is likely a better unit on the market. I was doing research as I am purchasing a unit for my father. If anyone has a well reasoned comparison/input (more info than – “perform rings around it”) I would appreciate it greatly. The review link James C posted #149 was good, anyone know of one comparing Garmin?

    Steve - June 15th, 2008
  54. Steve – I do apologize for coming down so hard. The crossover was a major disappointment, but very glad that in the end I ended up with a Garmin 76CSx. I use it the most for kayaking both inland waters & the Gulf. But, I also use it a lot on trips and it’s great. Only thing lacking is voice and while I don’t miss that too much, do realize it could be important for others. For your dad, I like the Nuvi series unless he’d use it off road a great deal of the time. Almost went with a 350 until Tim and Garmin support recommended not to because it isn’t waterproof. But did learn that just about all the Garmin’s will work well (there may be some limitations on some models) with topo and lakes maps (not Bluechart as far as I can learn). Take a look at the other reviews above as several give input on what they bought in place of the x’over. One area I do have to strongly disagree with is your evaluation of Magellan’s support. My personal experience would give them a 1 at best. If you read the other reviews I don’t think you’ll find anyone who would give a 3 – 3.5. Can’t recall anyone that hasn’t had good response from Garmin. Before buying the 76CSx, I emailed Garmin’s cartographic team several times with questions. The response was tremendous and has been on all subsequent queries. Lowrance wasn’t up to Garmin, but head and shoulders over Magellan. Am sure you’ve heard way more than you want from me, but hope it might help a bit.

    BillC - June 15th, 2008
  55. I wouldn’t even give them a 1. They are worse than the cable companies.

    Chris - June 15th, 2008
  56. I have just ended my time with a Crossover. I liked the GPS. Maps were old (car and waterway), but it did reasonably well. I bought the TrafficKit – wouldn’t work. Sent the GPS in, it got lost. Post office could show it was delivered to the right company, but wrong door, yet Magellan support said the Post Office had lost it (even had a signature). After over 2 months, I called Magellan Headquarters and a wonderful woman there helped escalate it so that I finally got it back. But, it still didn’t fix it. 2 new TrafficKits later, still wouldn’t work. So, they have now swapped me out with a 4250. Much more up-to-date map, but lacks the CrossOver features. They said the CrossOver is on its way out. Sad that they didn’t ever support it like they should have. Had they supported it, I think it would have grown to have a good following.

    Regarding Magellan support, they are worse than the cable companies. When I couldn’t get my address files to back-up, they said to buy a new card and throw the old one (1 GB, dedicated to the GPS for back-ups only) away. I’ve sat on hold for 1/2 hour at times, and when I was working out the deal to get the new GPS, I was on the phone almost 2 solid hours.

    I liked my CrossOver, but Magellan supports stinks. When folks ask me, I point them to Garmin 1st and TomTom 2nd. Everyone I know with Garmin love their support. My dad has one and I just upgraded his maps at NO CHARGE. When’s the last time Magellan did that!

    I’m going to stick with my Magellan – it’s paid for and I know how to use it. My next GPS will be a Garmin. You can’t seem to go wrong with them.

    James P. - June 15th, 2008
  57. Bought the Crossover about 3 months ago, and excepting the occassional missing road, or street, love it. I have used it for driving both on and off road, and for marking hunting and stream fishing waypoints. I do wish the topo maps were more accurate also. As far as outdated maps are concerned, my brother has the Garmin Nuvi350, and he is missing exactly the same streets and neighborhoods that I am. It appears that either usgs or whoever is responsible for the cartography at both companies haven’t updated my area (the upper peninsula of Michigan) in at least ten years. I prefer to blame the government, myself and put all blame on the usgs. Is this the best possible unit that I can imagine, “no”, but it is very suitable for my needs and my needs exceed the average person that want this unit for occasional off-road excursions, with the majority of their use coming in-vehicle. Haven’t tried the marine nav, as it does seem pretty pricey, and I don’t have a boat anyway. mp3 player and photo viewer are useless, as you can’t use them while navigating. Just my 3 1/2 cents guys.

    Allen B. - July 6th, 2008
  58. Mapping for the auto side/road does not come from the USGS, it comes from private mapping companies; in this case it comes from NAVTEQ.

    Tim - July 7th, 2008
  59. Similar to a previous post, I too was contemplating the Crossover in order to search and navigate to cemeteries for genealogy research.

    Was also wondering if the Crossover or any GPS would be able to accurately pinpoint a grave marker as I would like to document for family tree purposes for future generations in the event there is an unmarked grave or weathering of a tombstone.

    Tim, you mentioned something about consumer vs commercial grade GPS – will a consumer unit accomplish what I’m trying to do?

    Robb - July 7th, 2008
  60. You can count on consumer level GPS devices to have an accuracy of about 10 meters.

    Tim - July 7th, 2008
  61. I’m looking for a GPS that will navigate land and marine with voice. What do you recommend? After reading the reviews of the Megellan Crossover I’ve decided to review others, but need help.

    Dennis - July 8th, 2008
  62. Been using this on my V-Strom motorcycle for about a year. At $220 or so back then, I couldn’t find anything else that can touch it. The topo in WA for the fire roads is pretty accurate, the street addresses are fine and my behind wears out before the battery does. I found a mount made for bicycles for about $15 that has held up as well.

    A cheap solution for bikes that has worked great for me.

    Karl - July 8th, 2008
  63. Dennis, I’d recommend getting one device for the car and another for your marine use. You won’t spend much more money than you would for one and will have a much better setup.

    Tim - July 9th, 2008
  64. magellan support is not good, asked maggie if map send topo canada v1.00e is compatible for crossover gps, she said YES ,i made the purchase, now they say no its not,and i now have no support from Magellan.i was considering the lowrance XOG , should have made the purchase. thanks bill july 12-08

    william - July 12th, 2008
  65. William, I Purchased the XOG and didn’t care for it. It gave me bad road directions a couple of times. It seem to work o.k. on the water. Didn’t like it and retruned it

    Dennis - July 14th, 2008
  66. I have a Magellan Explorist XP, which is the predecessor of the Crossover and 2500T I believe. I’ve had it a year and a half and it has completely died twice. The first time was a week after I bought it and I just returned it to the retail store I bought it from. The second time was just e few weeks ago. Their tech support sent me a brand new “comparable” unit in the Triton 1500, but I’ve found it is nowhere near a comparable unit. It can’t be used for street directions, which is what I predominantly use it for. I agree with the general concensus here that Magellan is weak overall, especially customer support. I’m looking for a dual use unit mostly for driving. I think I’ll check out the Garmin 76CSx.

    John - July 15th, 2008
  67. I’ve had the Crossover since Jan 08 and overall I’d have to say it’s been a good GPS. Fortunately, it’s the only one I’ve ever had so I don’t know what it’s lacking. I got the CO because I wanted a GPS for the car and my boat. I’ve seen the limitations on the auto map but their nominal, so far. I’ve just recently purchased marine software and am a little disappointed with the amount actually received. For example, SC has about 12 lakes and the Lakes software only comes with 4 of them. Fortunately, I the 3 I needed were included. I have used the outdoor tracks when boating and it worked extremely well. I was especially thankful with boating at night. (I only used the outdoor mode to backtrack a route that was established in daylight)

    Support has been horrible. When I tried to update the firmware, I couldn’t. If I hadn’t found out to put in a bogus firmware version on a forum like this, I’d still be stuck. When downloading the marine software, it wouldn’t work. The directions were for the explorist and tech could’ve simply changed the name for my peace of mind. As luck would have it I noticed the downloaded file conflicted with the directions. (the last three numbers of the of the file should correspond with the serial number on the unit. It didn’t. I renamed the file and then suddenly it worked)

    I’m taking the unit on the lake for the first time to use the marine software and will let you know how it does. It’s not very detailed so my expectations aren’t great. However, if it lands me on fish, I’ll think it’s the greatest invention ever. But we’ll see.

    Jon - July 16th, 2008
  68. Dennis thanks for the info. I use the crossover on the water alot.works quite well , you have to learn to trust it. If any one knows how help make topo maps work, I would like the help.

    William - July 17th, 2008
  69. John – Afraid you experienced what most cross-over buyers found with Magellan support & the X-over. I returned mine and went with the 76CSx. Couldn’t be happier. Use it kayaking, biking and on road trips. It has performed flawlessly. Have had questions and Garmin support has been outstanding. Answered my questions, gave good pointers and excellent advice, all very quickly. While it doesn’t have voice directions for routes on the highway, it does give audible signals as turns are coming up and visuals on the map. If you can do without the voice, I think you’ll find this one is an outstanding unit.

    BillC - July 17th, 2008
  70. Everyone reading this article might very well be interested in this latest news, Garmin has released a hybrid GPS that might very well be the answer many of you are looking for. The Garmin Nuvi 500 is almost here!

    Tim - July 22nd, 2008
  71. Is there a way to turn off the quick spell for addresses on my crossover? it gueeses the wrong city.It greys out the letters that I need to spell my town. Maybe I have to be in a more accurate time zone?

    Gary - October 8th, 2008
  72. If the QuickSpell isn’t letting you enter a particular location, then either the location is not spelled correctly in the database, you are not spelling it correctly, or the location itself is not in the database.

    Tim - October 8th, 2008
  73. Per Tim, you are not spelling it the way it is listed in the database, it doesn’t exist in the database, or you have it set to the wrong region (depends onfirmware version you have- I have 2.14.
    i.e. DeFuniak Springs, Fl must be entered as D-E-space-F-u etc. not d-e-f-u. Also some suburbs or rural areas insist on the legal Municipality Name not the mailing address. i.e. Stratton, ON, must be entered as Morley (the township). Also the region must be set to Canada or the US depending on which country the city is located in.- I think that was rectified in 2.36 where the Region is US and Canada rather than separate. Hope this helps
    Jack

    John Elliott - October 8th, 2008
  74. ok, I was wondering if it needed a region. Where do I change that? Thanks!!

    Gary - October 8th, 2008
  75. Gary
    Start up Veh Nav and go to the second page and under User Options you set the Region, in ver 2.14 and earlier. Don’t know about later versions. This works kind of weird when you start out in US and want directions to Canada or vice versa. Change the region to the location of the city you want to navigate to, look it up and enter the address and away you go, no matter where you are starting from. The weird part is if you want to look up POIs on the way and haven’t entered the “Region” you are going to yet, you have to change back to your current ‘Region’ to look them up I think). Frustrating but it works. I forget if custom POIs work regardless of ‘Region’ you are set to.
    Lots of other little quirks in this unit as well, like fairly frequent “resets to first user” to clear up memory freezes. Also try to keep trips under 600 mi and use the ‘Trip Guide’ to force routing you want to take. Some good threads at GpsPasSion Forums with lots of workarounds on this unit. Luck

    John Elliott - October 8th, 2008
  76. Ok, got it, thanks. I just got this for snowmobling around Pa, NY and Maine. Do you think I will be satisfied? I can return for 30 days…

    Gary - October 8th, 2008
  77. Cracked Crossover screen during normal use. I bought my unit used through Amazon. It broke after 3-4 uses, was never dropped or abused. Screen had spider cracks with normal pressure on the screen. Talked with Magellan in July & found the $90.76 repair cost. Waited too long – they no longer repair & must buy refurbished for $159+. Customer service via email was non-existent. Sent several emails & 1 out of 3 might go through. Most bounce back. Customer service persons were nice but there was no further support they could provide. Very unsatisfied with Magellan service & product. The Crossover is good concept but requires additional software to make it work offroad. Ok for a street unit but not at this price.

    Kirk - October 10th, 2008
  78. I have found a brand new magellan crossover for [snip]. I think its a good purchase, considering that it retails for $400. I need one mainly for tracking on water at night and would like to use it for highway travel as well. Would like everyones thoughts/ advise and experiance with this model?

    Mark - December 14th, 2008
  79. Hello,
    Would appreciate your advice and guidance on best selection of an economical GPS for use on my sailboat, either preloaded with USA east coast marine charts, or an in-car unit capable of accepting BlueNav downloads. I don’t need alot of bells and whistles, just want to know where I am, where I’ve been, and where I’m going
    Thanks,
    Mike

    Mike - February 25th, 2009
  80. I have the Magellan Crossover and I would like to know how you can upload the tracks from the gps to my computer and print them out so I have a hard copy of the map. Do I need to put the SD card into the computer to upload it? Or could I just plug the gps in through the usb cord?

    Thanks

    todd - September 13th, 2009
  81. Also what program would i need to create the map on the computer?

    todd - September 13th, 2009
  82. Todd did you get a good answer re upload tracks to your computer?

    George - January 13th, 2010
  83. I have just purchased lake property at Lake Murray SC. I need a good gps with road and lake function. I would like a compass and depth finder. Perferbably hand held with voice and touch function. Can you recommend what I need?

    Thanks

    Barry

    Barry - January 30th, 2010
  84. Please let me know where I can download a crossover manual. I bought it from a friend, and he lost all paperwork, so I need some instructions. Thank you, Nancy

    Nancy - February 12th, 2010
  85. Very expensive for what it really is, you cant update maps, re-route slow, sometimes giving circle drive, the company can’t fix my broken screen, is ridiculous, by 480 dollars to i spend, i expect better service, BAD GPS

    Marco - September 3rd, 2010
  86. How does the crossover compare to the lowrance 600c?
    Thanks.

    Jeff - March 10th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright