leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan Maestro 3100

Apr
16
2007

Magellan today release details about the upcoming Maestro 3100. Similar to the 4000 series, the new 3000 series features a slim profile not found on the other Magellan lines. In contrast to the 4 inch screens on the 4000 series, the 3000 series features a standard 3.5 inch display. Expect to shell out about $299 for this device which comes with maps of the 48 contiguous US states. It also comes with a SiRFstarIII chipset and many of the other common Magellan features such as their detour features and quickspell. This device doesn’t come with the AAA features, for that you would need to upgrade to at least the 3140. You should be able to get your hands on one this month. The battery is expected to last about 3 hours and there is a minimal of 750,000 POIs installed.

58 Responses


  1. This Magellan is cheap and an easy way to get into Navigation, but it’s missing a lot of bells and whistles…no TTS, a POI database with far less than most GPS units, a terrible battery life for a portable unit (3 hours on the lowest screen setting), and only 48 states on the maps. Not recommended.

    Jason Kleeberg - April 26th, 2007
  2. For this price it’s an amazing deal. This model is a great intro model and it’s worked great on my short little test runs so far.

    Brad Voth - May 8th, 2007
  3. I have had no extensive experience with any GPS unit prior to this one so I am blessed with the ignorance of not understanding what “bells and whistles” aren’t available to me. I agree that the POI database could be a little more robust, I drove through the restaraunt/bar district in Wichita, KS and only about half of my favorite haunts showed up on it. There are a lot of retail services that would be handy to know about that don’t appear on the unit.

    This would be my only serious complaint about it thus far. Everything else about it seems to be great. I see myself upgrading sometime in the future, but as an intro model, this thing is awesome!

    Jesse Milne - May 8th, 2007
  4. I picked this up for Mother’s Day due to its low price.
    I had been researching other units like the Tom Tom One, etc for some time and I decided I didn’t really need any of the extra features that these devices offer – such as bluetooth, mp3 player, celebrity voices.
    I just wanted a decent, small, easy-to-use GPS that would get the job done.
    I am pleasantly surprised by the Maestro 3100. It does everything I need and I haven’t had any issues with it whatsoever. I’ve been using it even more than I thought I would.
    IMO, this is a GREAT entry-priced GPS.

    Charley Batchelor - May 19th, 2007
  5. Bought brand new from [snip] for [snip]. Works great from the box!

    Steve M - June 6th, 2007
  6. I very recently purchased the product. After testing it in my route van, I found that it works fine, however; the display is awful. I have a GPS in my luxury auto, and I guess that I am spoiled by it’s display

    Terry Terrell - June 12th, 2007
  7. Excellent beginner GPS model. Operated with ease right out of the box. Noticed a little lag behind on my actual location. Skimpy on the POI, but if you’re out of town and get an address of a place you want to go, all you need is an address. The price is great and for a starter model I give it an 8 out of 10.

    James - June 17th, 2007
  8. Just bought this the other day and I love it. I had a Tom Tom a couple years ago and except for some extra bells and whistles, I like the Maestro better. It’s basically a toy for me, since I’ll use it for actual trips when I need directions only a couple times a year.

    Michael - June 22nd, 2007
  9. I have wanted to purchase a navigation system for a long time, but could not justify the price. I purchased this unit locally, and literally within 5 minutes I was off and running. This is the best $ I ever spent!

    donald - June 22nd, 2007
  10. Got my dad one for fathers day…shuts off in the middle of trips and tells us that we are at our location 1000 feet before we get there. Also told us to make a final left turn to a location and we actually needed to turn right. Called Magellan Tech support and was given no information other than they will call us back in a week or two??? Because of lack of support, going to return it to place of purchase and get a Tom Tom One to give it a try.

    Scott - June 23rd, 2007
  11. I just received my 3100 for a graduation present just before going to the Florida Keys for the first time. We drove around Charleston,SC.,then Miami before driving all the way to Key West with no problems at all. I love this thing. I would highly recommend this GPS to anyone. I should also admit that this is my first one.

    R.B. Newman - June 24th, 2007
  12. Listen, I bought this thing on sale at a well known electronics dealer and I love it!! It works great! I can’t imagine a novice owner wanting anything else from this product. Turn it on an BAM! it’s working. It even makes me want to drive more!

    Jamie D. Dash - June 27th, 2007
  13. When I took mine back we even took the display model and put in a cross country trip and the display even locked up! That is when I decided on the Garmin 350 and it works 100% better with no hangups and over 6 million poi’s instead of the 750,000 in the Magellan. Spend the extra $100-150..you will even love being told the name of the street to turn on instead of just turn right or left. Also has a build in MP3 player and audio book player and picture viewer and many other extras. The reason I did not get the tomtom is that the sales person showed me how to program each and the Garmin was actually easier!

    Scott - June 27th, 2007
  14. This is my first device, it works great so far.
    It takes from from point “A” to point “B” ithout problems.
    It would be great to have a larger number os POI’s.
    Affordable and reliable.

    Javier - June 30th, 2007
  15. I bought this unit on a whim, we have the “Turn by Turn” with OnStar but it only tells you where you are going, I like the idea of also knowing where I am. I know this was an entry level unit but that is what I was after to see if it hada practical use in my life. So far, so good; no problems only positve feedback on this unit. I understand that there are units that can tie my shoes, but that’s not the reason I bought this. If you’re thinking of a basic unit this one is it, for a very good price at most places!

    MJB - July 2nd, 2007
  16. I bought this unit yesterday. I’ve wanted a gps for a year. I finally bought this one. I love it because it was simple, and easy to use. I love it. Wish I had bought it sooner.

    Rosita - July 5th, 2007
  17. I bought this device on 6-5-07, I turned it on Sunday and the battery will not charge. The thing stays on for 30 seconds and turns itself off, you can’t directions to anywhere. I took it back to the Radioshack for a return and they won’t exchange it or refund it. I am not happy with this device so far, guess that is what happens when you buy cheap.

    Stephanie - July 24th, 2007
  18. This is my 2nd GPS and I can tell you, this is a great device. For my 1st device I had to watch a 45 minute DVD to learn how to use it. The 3100 I used right out of the box in the store parking lot. There are a couple of negative comments here about lack of features. I believe this is a much more sophisticated device for the money! I mean, at least you did not have to buy the streets CD like I had to for my 1st device.

    Tony - August 19th, 2007
  19. After reading user reviews from this website and others, I became familiar with the features of the Maestro 3100. I knew the strengths and limitations of the device before I bought it, so I was not disappointed by limited POI’s, questionable battery life, blah, blah. After one week, this unit has exceeded my expectations, and I am very happy with my purchase. Routing is dead-on, the interface is very simple, and I am amazed by the sensitivity of the receiver (picks up 5 strong channels in the downstairs den of my home). I have not run out of battery power, the turn instructions are very explicit (and loud),the windshield mount works just fine and I have no trouble reading the display in bright sunlight while wearing sunglasses. Life is good with the Maestro 3100.

    Mike S - September 28th, 2007
  20. I bought the maestro today a *blank* [snip]. for $[snip]. the only thing i’m disapojnted in is it lacks the real time traffic reports. but other than that everything is great hasn’t failed me.

    Brian J - November 11th, 2007
  21. I bought mine about 2 months ago – have used it pretty much all over. Overall I am pleased with that it is for the money that I spent. Yes, you could probably do better but you will spend more money. Yes, there are times when she will tell you “make a legal U-turn” and there are times when it tells you your destination is on the left instead of the right BUT for the money – you can’t beat it. Heck, I’d pay that much just to have this thing tell me what side of the road the Highway entrance is going to be on – No need to cut anyone off anymore…..

    Scott P. - November 16th, 2007
  22. GREAT site. Thanks Tim.

    John Laurence - November 17th, 2007
  23. Which GPS system is better? I’m looking to purchase either a Tom Tom One 3rd Edition, Magellan Roadmate 1200 or a Magellan Maestro 3100. They are all basically the same price. I just want a GPS that is really accurate has plenty POI’s and can be updated easily. I also want a GPS that will not easlity run out of memory when updating maps and I’ll still be able to update 2-3 years from now.

    Nelson - November 27th, 2007
  24. I just purchased a TomTom One LE and a Magellan Maestro 3100, both for about the same price. I only want to keep one. Which do you recommend keeping?

    Jeff S. - November 29th, 2007
  25. In spite of it’s quirks, I am, for the price, very happy with my Magellan 3100. Quirks: sometimes thinks a T-intersection is just a smooth left or right curve and fails to tell me to turn – no problem though as the map clarifys; Sometimes tells me I’ve arrived at destination when up to three houses away; Tells me that a gated service road is passable. My only real disappointment is total lack of documentation on the memory card and USB port features.

    Jeff Becker - December 1st, 2007
  26. Great little unit. Worked great right out of the box. Picks up sats quickly. Gives plenty of warning before turns. Sounds ding at turn. Good volume unless windows are open in noisy traffic. Good display..bright. Works well even sitting in my ashtray (no need for windshield mount).

    Al H - December 11th, 2007
  27. I have been using the Mag. 3100 and although display and workability out of the box are fine, it is already getting very SLOW as it processes a new address. Its as frustrating as when computers get slow…..I cant wait that long. I have been using it across the country for 3 weeks and it also quits without a battery issue as it is plugged in. The POIs are restricting for what I need but are fine for a straight trip for someone. In the last week I have had it tell me several key times that there are NO POIs for this area while on a major interstate, near major cities.

    Phil C - December 12th, 2007
  28. excellent site and extremely helpful. Still undecided but getting there for a now expense, not fancy, very viewable and excellent battery life gps- magelland, garmin or other?

    Bob - December 15th, 2007
  29. Last email correction- that is low expense (not “now”) magellan, garmin or other?

    Bob - December 15th, 2007
  30. I just got this 3100 for my wife as a christmas gift. It seems to work ok but does a lot of going around different blocks to get where I need to go. Although I have tried the different methods avaiable, shortest, fastest etc., it doesn’t seem to make any difference. I live about 8 blocks from work and it takes me about 3 blocks out of the way to get home. The trip to work is just right??? I looked at the website for a downloadable fix but it doesn’t seem that the problem has been addressed??

    Gib - December 26th, 2007
  31. I have had this unit since June and have no complaints. For the money it gets me where I need to go with plenty of warning and was easy to use right out of the box. This is my first GPS and it is a great starter unit. At some point when my needs become more sophisticated I will look at something with more bells and whistles.

    Pat - December 27th, 2007
  32. Just received the 3100 for Christmas. It worked great right out of the box. I checked out the website and found that there is a firmware update. I downloaded and install without a hitch. It lists the fixes on the website. One thing I found is to set it to 2D instead of the default 3D. In 2D mode, it gives way more information, time to destination, miles to destination, or expected arrival time. You change this by tapping that area of the screen. In 2D mode you can also scroll the screen by just touching the screen and dragging you finger. A stylus from a PDA works great for this. So far I love it.

    John - December 28th, 2007
  33. I need to make a correction to my previous review. Since I upgraded the firmware, the 3D mode has the same information available as the 2D mode. Sweet! The more I use this little unit, the better I like it.

    John - December 29th, 2007
  34. Great value but pray nothing goes wrong. Magellan support for this device is horrible!

    Weldo - January 1st, 2008
  35. I also need to update/correct my prior recommendation. While the unit works great, performing the firmware update left me with a temporary GPS brick. Support was less than helpful. I eventually resolved the issue myself. So as long as you do not need support, this is still a good “starter” unit.

    Pat - January 3rd, 2008
  36. I got this for my dad and he is telling me that the language sounds like a Japanese person who can’t speak English well. Has anyone encountered this issue?

    Amy - January 11th, 2008
  37. DITTO w/ Mike S Sept 28th, but without the sunglasses. Cool tool for the price.

    Chon - March 14th, 2008
  38. I paid $1,100 for a RoadMate 760 less than two years ago. It broke down less than a year ago and was repaired under an extended warranty. It’s broken again — AND THEY CAN’T FIX IT BECAUSE THEY DON’T MAKE ‘EM ANYMORE!

    This is the “help” Magellan offered to me:

    If I mail my broken RoadMate to them they’ll sell me a Maestro 4250 (also top of the line, like the 760) for $400. I can by the 4250 at Circuit City for less than that!

    Magellan is a con. Never buy anything from these bastards.

    I’m getting a Garmin.

    James Miler - April 15th, 2008
  39. So I found this model for [snip, see comment policy]. I’ve never had a GPS, and always said I’d try one out when the decent ones dipped under $100, then upgrade if I liked it. Wondering what you think about this product at that price.

    Also wondering (a more generic question) if there are any models that routinely include a “video-in” or backup camera option…that you would recommend.

    Jeff - May 30th, 2008
  40. I’ve had mine for a year now. Went to New York then to Myrtle Beach. Got my daughter and I all over with no problems. Love it. Just want to know when an update is coming out can’t seem to fine the answer to this.

    Donna - August 13th, 2008
  41. Magellan is estimating the end of September for the next map update you can purchase.

    Tim - August 13th, 2008
  42. A few months ago the unit was sent in because of an error I encountered when attempting to upgrade the software, resulting in a loss of information.

    I’m not entirely sure if my problems are related to that, but I am experiencing very poor navigation choices. These include:

    – being routed a mile down a road in order to perform a u-turn in order to get onto a freeway instead of routing me directly onto a freeway entrance which was possible (happened on more than one occasion in two different locations)
    – Choosing a route which would was almost 250 miles longer when choosing ‘fastest time’ compared to 344 miles chen choosing ‘shortest distrance. I realize it’s hard to ‘second guess’ every route, but this one was a route from Buffalo MN to Green Bay WI. Using ‘fastest time’, the GPS wanted me to take a route that would have gone south to I-90, then east on I-90 on the way to Green Bay. The shortest route involved almost a straight shot on I94>STH29.
    – Incorrect distance to destination which would show a distance hundreds of miles farther than reality, then would recalculate at some point to show a more accurate distance/time.’

    My satisfaction level has gone down significantly since sending it in to have the software reloaded. Anyone else have problems like this?

    Dan - September 7th, 2008
  43. The auto power cord to my Magellan Maestro 3100 is literally disintegrating. I called Magellan and they will not stand behind the product since it was a year old this July. All i wanted was a replacement power cord. This is a known electrical hazard because the Magellan employee said “it’s crumbling” and I said “yes, that’s exactly what it’s doing”. He knew exactly what I meant before it got out of my mouth. I will never buy another Magellan product.

    Donna - September 11th, 2008
  44. MY MAGELLAN MAESTRO 3100 TURNS ON MOMENTARILY THEN SHUTS OFF EVEN WHEN IT’S PLUGGED IN. TECH SUPPORT FOR MAGELLAN IS NOT GOOD YOU CANT UNDERSTAND THEM AND THEY ARE NOT MUCH HELP. THIS IS THE SECOND UNIT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH……I BOUGHT A GARMIN!!!!!! PROBLEM SOLVED

    SCOTT - November 23rd, 2008
  45. I tried to update to the firmwre 2.18 and it did something to my gps and then all i got was a blue screen and then and now it wont turn on unless i hold the reset button and power at the same time and then i get some weird screen with stuff on it that i dont know what to do with i have email magellan but the customer service is very slow no response would not recomend buying from this company as i will never again.

    Jeff - January 3rd, 2009
  46. Purchased a refurbished 3100. Works perfect so far. I guess since it is refurbished, it came with the updates. When I am at a stop sign, cursor is dead on the intersection on the map. Went by a cemetary, and all the drives showed up on the map. Great unit for the basics that it provides.

    bruce - February 3rd, 2009
  47. Bought this unit a year ago and it has been reliable however, the voice mechanism becomes distorted during the summer months and the cord has become totally enravelled. For the price, its a value but the cords stink.

    Arnold - March 17th, 2009
  48. Hey, my daughter gave me this thing two christmasess ago. I have been to embarrassed to ask her to install it for me so here I am trying to install it and I am not getting no where.

    I can not find instructions on installation. Help!

    I need to install this by 10:00am 5/15/09, help

    Hoover - May 8th, 2009
  49. I used my 3100 for a couple of months and then noticed the device would lose power while driving. It turns out the yellow power receptacle/jack in the device had a hairline crack in it and that allowed a loose connection. Magellan wouldn’t repair it since it was outside of the warranty period. Now I’ve opened it and am using my electronics knowledge and doing for myself what they should’ve assisted with in the first place. Decent product, I only needed something for directions, no need for an additional mp3 player or picture viewer, that’s just extra stuff that isn’t going to be as good as satellite radio or a dedicated music player.

    Larry - May 24th, 2009
    • Hi Larry,

      I am having the same exact problem. I have taken apart the unit and struggling to find the part on distributors websites like digikey. Can you please suggest a part or let me know what you used?

      Thank you in advance

      Rob - July 28th, 2009
    • Larry, I also have the exact problem and would appreciate any “fix” advise. I doubt we can get a replacement part so I am thinking of direct wiring the cord. However, I have taken it apart and found that determining what is positive and negative from the tiny plug is difficult. Any help would be appreciated.

      Rodney - August 18th, 2009
  50. I’m planning a long trip, but I don’t want to leave the route up to the GPS…I know that I want to go through specific cities. I don’t know how to do that. Any help would be appreciated.

    Larry - June 29th, 2009
  51. I purchased the Maestro 3100 on Father’s Day for my husband in 2007. It has now completely stopped working. Not only does the power cord not have a good connection in the cigarette lighter in any car but the touch screen is not recognizing being touched. We have replaced the power cord and we are now getting power to the unit but we are still unable to use it. Is anyone else having this issue? If so, Do you have a possible solution? Thanks

    Beth - July 12th, 2009
    • yes our 3100 has stopped working also. the loading process freezes. I just contacted Magellan today so I’ll keep you updated.

      Dale - September 28th, 2009
  52. Hello there,

    I got the Maestro 3100 as a present not too long ago, I am going on vacation back to Argentina, and I wanted to see if anyone knows if I can update the maps with maps from Argentina. Pleasr let me know…
    Thanks,

    Melina - September 25th, 2009
  53. I bought mine in 2007, and it was buggy as heck. it would randomly freeze up, reboot in the middle of trips, and take forever to reroute.

    I updated it recently with the firmware upgrade from Magellan’s website.

    Now it works great. its doesn’t freeze up anymore, and the response time is pretty snappy.

    Make sure you have the gps plugged into before you do any updates, or you’ll probably end up bricking your device.

    You should do a backup onto a SD card before trying any new firmware. You go into System Settings, scroll all the way down, and there is a backup option.

    Jin - February 2nd, 2010
  54. Hello friends,
    I have a Magellan 3100 that I bought off a guy who was travelling in the United States. So it had only the 48 states in it. How can I get a US/Canada map for the 3100 ?
    Also does the 3100 accept free downloadable maps off the web ?
    Thanks
    J

    Jaideep - April 3rd, 2010
  55. I’ve had my model 3100 for quite a few years now and use it on occasion. recently I plugged it into my accessory plug, the green light went on and when we turned on the unit, it came on for about 10 seconds and then shut off. we thought maybe it had to be charged, so we left it charging for over 24 hours in the car and when we tried it again, the same thing happened, only lasted about 10 seconds, and then shut off. any suggestions???

    Lou - October 14th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright