leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan RoadMate 2000

Sep
12
2006

The Magellan RoadMate 2000 is at the bottom end of Magellan’s new 2000 series. The 2000 series represents a new crossover design which are designed for both outdoor activities and auto navigation. The 2000 features a 3.5 inch touch screen display as well as 3D maps and the infamous SiRFstarIII chipset in a design that costs $399.

The RoadMate 2000 is also quite light weighing 7.8 ounces. There are 1.3 million POIs loaded as well as map coverage of the 48 contiguous US States. Navigation options which come standard on most GPS devices are included such as navigating via the shortest time, shortest route, using the most freeways, or using the fewest freeways.

Other navigation features include a predictive text entry for addresses and POIs. Based on what you have typed in so far, the Magellan 2000 tries to be smart and figure out where you are trying to go, making address entry faster. Night views are made simpler by having an automatic switch function which can be manually overridden if necessary. You can also choose to avoid specific streets within a route. While many other GPS devices have this feature, some of the more popular models do not. Avoiding specific areas can be handy, so it is nice that this feature is included in the RoadMate 2000.

When comparing this device to other models, be sure to check out the size. This device is a bit wider and thicker than other models in the same class. For most people this shouldn’t be a huge issue, but it does make it a little more difficult to toss in a shirt pocket when you leave the vehicle.

Being an entry level device, there is no Bluetooth, multimedia, or traffic capabilities. However at the advertised price, you wouldn’t expect to get those features and many people never use any of those features.

An internal, Lithium-Ion battery is included (unlike other Magellan models) and it should provide about three hours of battery life. Lower than many other GPS devices in its class, however plenty long enough for most drives if you happen to forget the charger.

If you are looking for something smaller, check out the Nuvi 200 from Garmin which has similar map coverage, but in a smaller design. You would give up multi-destination routing, however.

If you are looking for a GPS which can also display topo maps, has the capability of connecting to live traffic reports, and has a much longer battery life, look at the RoadMate 2200T which has those features for about $100 more.

85 Responses


  1. I just got my Magellan (or Maggie as we call it in my house) 2000 yesterday. Love it so far. It weighs less then my wallet and fits easily in my purse when I don’t feel secure leaving it in the car. Snaps easily on and off the holder. Easy to set up, thouhg I will tell you that the quick start directions indicated that it would have some charge in it when it arrived. It did not and needed to be plugged in to the car before I could go through the set up. But after only 40 on charge, it had enough power to it that I could run it out of the car and show my friends.

    Alicia - November 8th, 2006
  2. Funnily enough, we’ve also been calling this GPS unit “maggie”. This is our first GPS.

    Some obvious issues:

    1. While on route, if you want to go to a POI such as a gas station, you have to cancel the current route.

    2. if you need to add an address to the addressbook, you need to cancel the current route (no access to the addressbook on route seems dumb to me).

    3. When travelling from california to texas, I had to tell the GPS that we went to texas, new state, and street address. It should have figured this out by longitude and latitude.

    4. No way to do a hard reboot for when it bugs out.

    BUGS: sometimes it just keeps saying proceed to route. Sometimes this can be fixed by cancelling the current route, and rerouting, sometimes you have to go back and tell the GPS where it is (see #3)

    daniel - November 20th, 2006
  3. I purchased the Roadmate 2000 at Costco this week. I have taken it on two trips. Trip number one was to Los Angeles. It performed quite well. It rerouted us from the dead stopped freeway through city streets (eventually). It took a few re-route attempts as it kept wanting to put us on the freeway. Overall it performed very well.
    Trip number two was not so good. We set out for Jamestown and it routed us for 2:40 minutes from home, once we got on the freeway it updated to 3:12 minutes. We wanted to go a certain way and it wouldn’t route us that way until we were actually on road 59. With “our” route we arrived in 2 hours flat. It missed turns and added turns that weren’t there. It was a rural town and country highways. But we found this very frustrating.
    ALSO the POI information is great but I have found some outdated spots.
    For our LA trip it was great. For our trip to Jamestown it was off quite a bit. Good thing we knew where we were going.

    My question is… Is there a GPS unit out there that allows us to choose the road or route we prefer other than the 4 options given?

    Donna - November 26th, 2006
  4. You can do that with your GPS. If you don’t like the route offered you can add “via” waypoints to the route to force it onto the streets you want to travel.

    Tim - November 26th, 2006
  5. I don’t remember seeing a via waypoint option on this unit, and I’ve been using it a lot by now.
    Donna, using the “most freeway” option seemed to get it to be more like yahoo maps for me which ultimatly has been faster. Have you tried all four options to see which one gives you the best results?

    daniel - November 26th, 2006
  6. As to the via waypoint options, look in the manual around page 18 where it says “Creating a multiple destination trip”. You can add intermediate points you want to force on the route as additional destinations.

    Tim - November 26th, 2006
  7. Thanks for the response. Your suggestions are exactally what we just tried. I had saved the location when we were on 59 and now I can route to that point as part of my “Trip Planner”. Thanks for the tips! Happy navigating~

    donna - November 26th, 2006
  8. We just got our Magellan 2000 (also called Maggie in our house – did anyone come up with another name?). [...] We have seen her misdirect us on at least two occasions so far. I wish she was more accurate, but my husband and 16 year old new driver (who has no idea where anything is)absolutely love her. I think we’ll keep her.

    Nancy - November 26th, 2006
    • We call ours “Mother” as it often tells us what to do. Maggie is a good name for Mon though!

      Lou Eckert - May 3rd, 2009
  9. can you put in a partial street name? does it have an auto complete function?
    thanks
    Amy

    Amy - November 27th, 2006
  10. I have been using the RM2000 for two weeks now. I build and design GPS units for a living, but this is the first time for me using one for car navigation.

    “Lips” (as I call it), forgets to talk to me at times and shows the dreaded “PROCEEDED TO ROUTE” message. It fixes itself after a while, but I haven’t figured out any tricks to speed up the reset process. I think it is caused by using WindowsCE as the base operation system.

    It does have a form of auto-complete when entering street names.

    I tried the backup and restore function last night. It will save about 1 megabyte of data onto a SD flash chip. When I tried to restore from the flash, it said the files were in the wrong format.

    I connected Lips to my laptop via the USB port, but I could not find any driver that would talk to the unit.

    It looks like a solid unit. The screen is bright and sharp. The sound is good enough for the job. The holder has been rock solid.

    Entering address data can be a pain at times, but it does work. I would like to add some other options on finding a point of interest neat some other POI. ie. “I’m looking for a parking garage near the downtown court house”.

    One problem with the sound, it is difficult to adjust. If you set it for normal city driving, it is too low when you get out on the interstate. If you set it for highways, then when you slow doen into town, it will blast you out of your seat. It would be a very easy patch to have the sound level adjust to your speed. The faster you are going, the louder the sound.

    I wish I could get access to the software source code. I could really make it work right.

    Vince - November 28th, 2006
  11. i just bought my Road mate 2000 one month ago,

    This week the GPS does not gave any voice instrcution when i am using it.For instance , i want to head to my home, i have my home address saved and than i went and toggle on calculate road, on the 3d map display i just have proceed to raod and this continue during all the itenaries, howver when you go and press proceed to road i have the maouevre list BUT on the 3d map display no voice instruction neither signs mentionning a turn to the righ or to to the left,

    has anyone encountered this pb? do i need to exchange?

    many thanks

    rosina chaker - December 1st, 2006
  12. Just got my Magellan RoadMate 2000. I can never get it to get out of “Proceed to Route”. I tried it out going to places that I know the route, but I got to my destination without the GPS changing to its normal mode. I tried re-routing, cancelling, etc. but it’s still the same. Does anyone know how to fix this situation?

    Cliff - December 2nd, 2006
  13. Here is what Magellan says about the “Proceed to Route” issue:

    If your current position is in a location where there are no mapped roads, e.g. a shopping center, park, etc., DirectRoute will calculate the route starting from the nearest street location that fits the intended route. In this situation, you will see your current position icon and the start of the highlighted street route on the map screen will be separated from it. You may have to zoom out a step or two to see the start of the route. Proceed to Route can also be the first step if you activate a saved Waypoint Route as a street route, if your current fix is not near the route. The map screen is much more help than the Route List screen for navigating to the start of the route.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2006
  14. I am debating if I should keep this unit. Since I bought it from Costco, they have a great return policy. If I were to upgrade to another gps? What would be your top three choices or so of units that are priced under $500.00?

    donna - December 3rd, 2006
  15. It partially comes down to the features you are looking for…. Traffic, Bluetooth, MP3 player, Text-to-speech, etc.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2006
  16. Well, to fix the problem it so happens that I had to restart my GPS and my RoadMate 2000 works fine now (I don’t know why but, just like PCs, rebooting somehow fixes a few problems). I pulled over into a parking lot while on route, restarted the unit, and, as I made my way back to the street, the GPS unit was immediately able to pick-up that I was indeed on the route. I was then able to use it for the rest of my day without any issues. The turn-by-turn directions were precise and for a basic GPS unit seems to be quite good.

    Cliff - December 3rd, 2006
  17. Hello Everyone
    I call my RM2000 “Susan”
    Susan is pretty good except for a couple of times when she got me lost in Brooklyn. I was trying to find a highway to go back home(I was near or at Brough Park) but Susan had me going in circles. I remember passing a couple of orthodox jews twice before i realize i wasn’t going anywhere.
    Unless Susans knows of traffic problems, she likes to take alot of main roads and roads not traveled instead of the main highways. So many times Susan had avoided the highway and created sidestreets routes and streets that i didn’t remember existed instead of going straight for the highway. I know this for a fact because i always take the highway home from my friends has which is about 5 miles away and Susan will travel 2 miles through side streets before she decides to get on the highway. But i must say Susan doesn know where i live.

    If you ask me i would give Susan a B+ but still she needs more road lessons

    Heath - December 4th, 2006
  18. Hey

    just how you rebooted your GPS, i tried to do it by pressing the hold button and also the power button

    button did not work?

    is ist what you did Cliff

    many thanks

    rosina - December 4th, 2006
  19. Page 3 of the manual gives illustrations on where the reset button is. It is under a cover. If I remember correctly you put the reset switch into the down position and power on the device.

    Tim - December 4th, 2006
  20. Tim is correct. It is under the flap near the “hold” button. You need a sufficiently sharp object to move the button in the other direction (I don’t know if it’s up or down). I don’t know if it is necessary to wait a while before you move it back to the original position. Hope that solves your issues! Good luck!

    Cliff - December 4th, 2006
  21. Thanks guys
    it works no proceed to route anymore

    apprecaite your help

    rosina

    rosina - December 5th, 2006
  22. re “proceed to route” – Magellan tech support told me you need to re-set the unit by using the toggle switch referenced above. They said to do it twice. I had to extract it from them in over 20 minutes of phone conversation, first they were insistent that it is normal for it to read “proceed to route” for up to 10 minutes or so, til I kept explaining that I could get quite lost in that 10 minutes. After the tech person “spoke with my supervisor” he said the cure is to do the reset. I see that this seems to be a common issue in “internet complaints”. They do not acknowledge that.

    Edward - December 8th, 2006
  23. HELP! I’m trying to by my husband and GPS for Christmas and I’m quite confused. He want’s to avoid traffic jams, navigate cities as well as trails. Does one GPS do all that?? Thanks-Rachel

    Rachel - December 8th, 2006
  24. used my Magellan RoadMate 2000 twice. The directiions provided does not matched mapquest nor google’s mapquest. The first time I used it I got everyone lost thank goodness for good old fashion paper mapping. I just used it again yesterday visiting relatives in CT. It insisted on taking me off couse. Heading home I deliberatly took a different way home reprogram the Magellan 2000 and it still would not calebrate the directions on the road I was traveling on. I thought the system is required to locate your present signal and reroute you from the point of driving?

    I have one more road trip coming up, if I experience any problems I’m taking the unit back to Costco for a full refund.

    I want to know if anyone has been sucessful with their multiple destination trips in fooling the system to take the driving couse one is familiar with?

    Valerie - December 10th, 2006
  25. In order to “force” the unit to the route that you want, you can try excluding certain routes by pressing on the “proceed to route” or next street name bar. Last night, it wanted me to use a different highway that I did not want to use so I excluded it, and the unit changed to the route that I was more familiar with. However, the optimization for either “shortest time” or “shortest distance” may not match the route that is used by Internet map systems, which should probably be coined “least confusing”. The advantage of a having a GPS unit is that even if it gives you a different route, it will tell you all the turns whereas the internet map systems are probably aimed at getting you there in the least confusing way.

    Last night, I was driving on a small street about 10 minutes from my house when I asked the GPS unit to pick a route to my house. The “shortest time” option asked me to go to a bigger street with a higher speed limit, while a “shortest distance” option wanted me to go down a smaller street (but would probably be of shorter distance than the route I was traveling on). So, I’m guessing that these optimization options are probably not the same as those on Internet sites, which could also sometimes differ from one website to another.

    I also tried to find my route to a restaurant in the suburbs. Both Yahoo and Google had me driving through a bunch of highways, but the RoadMate 2000 asked me to go through a bunch of smaller roads. They all arrived at the same location, and one cannot really say which one is faster.

    As for rerouting, on bigger streets my unit is able to re-route pretty quickly (almost the instant that I do not make the turn it wants me to). However, there are some instances when the GPS unit takes a while to re-route. It might be a hit or miss thing.

    Cliff - December 11th, 2006
  26. I called Magellan Tech Support about the “Proceed to Route” problem and they admitted that it’s a known issue and that they’re going to issue a patch for it shortly (who knows when that is). Also, the guy on the phone (probably in Bangalore) said there was nothing they co do to solve my problem until the update was out. They didn’t even suggest doing the reset? But I’ll try the reset and hopefully it works.

    Brian - December 12th, 2006
  27. Brian, the reset does not work. It still says “proceed to route” each time. The print directions appear instantly, but the map directions do not activate til you start moving,and even then it takes a minute or two. Once it gets going it’s usually OK, except every so often mine spontaneously reboots and then picks up where it left off, or, once in a while all of a sudden it will tell me to make a u-turn, then it will correct itself and tell me to proceed. Who knows! But generally it works and it sure was cheap as Costco!

    Edward - December 12th, 2006
  28. Brain/Edward,
    I am facing the same issue “Proceed to Route”. called tech support. They could not comment when the patch will be available. My system has stopped giving voice notification or instructions on exit etc plus does not recalibrate direction if I take a wrong route automataically At 300 buck at costco its a steal but this bug is making me unhappy. Did Rest work for u? do we need to put all the address again?

    Sam - December 12th, 2006
  29. Sam,

    except for the proceed to route, and the very occasional quirk, mine works great, I am generally pleased with it. I think you should re-set it. ON the left side, move the slide switch to the opposite direction of which it is in currently (I don’t remember if that is 1 or 0) and then do it again. It should reboot. If it does not reboot, then hold the button on the bottom LEFT side, til it reboots. This might solve your additional problems. Otherwise, you must have a defective unit. The main complaint on this unit is the proceed to route issue, but the problems you are describing go beyond that. Mine held all the addresses on reboot, but if you are worried about that, get a 128mb SD card, insert it, back up all the addresses and then if they get lost you are supposed to be able to restore them. Backup and restore are in the options menu, I believe. I have backed up, it is a bit slow, but i have never had to restore. I have read that some people have had issues with restoring. Good Luck!

    Edward - December 12th, 2006
  30. I have a 2200T and wonder if any 2000 owners have noticed this, when you are out on the highway are there any town names displayed on the maps?

    Paul - December 14th, 2006
  31. Thanx Edward,
    resetting did the trick
    Sam

    Sam - December 15th, 2006
  32. Just got a Maggie 2000, its up against my Garmin 10 B/T Dell Axim combo, I’m guessing the Garmin is going to win out in the long run. But the 3D maps are cool enough, however seeing as you need verbal directions more than looking at a map while you are driving…

    RG - December 16th, 2006
  33. I just picked up a RM 2000 after two frustrating experiences with the RM 3050T (the top buttons kept sticking on that model). In general it seems to work ok, but I noticed that on the current location screen, the compass display was somewhat spastic for a while (it didn’t know what direction to point… would flutter back and forth). It seemed to clear up after about 30 mins of driving around. Is this a problem? Will it recur?

    Eric - December 18th, 2006
  34. We call our unit “Bitchin Betty” which is the name fighter pilots use to refer to the female voice alerts built into various military aircraft cockpits.

    The problem we are having is that, although the route shown on the map display is correct, the maneuver list occasionally is missing a step. Since the voice prompts always match the maneuver list, it is very easy to miss a turn unless you check every turn against the map display. We have a RoadMate 760 in our other car which has never given us this or any other problem (except that the maps are missing some of the newer highways and updates have never been made available). Any suggestions out there?

    Lee - December 19th, 2006
  35. Lee, it is possible what you see is by design. In the case of some intersections, if you are staying on the same highway the unit might not verbally tell you which way to go. This can sometimes be confusing when the road you are staying on makes a 90 degree turn but going straight takes you on a different road. I’ve seen instances like this where the GPS wouldn’t announce the turn.

    It might be that you are experiencing something like that.

    Tim - December 19th, 2006
  36. I bought Magellan RoadMate2000 from internet. The unit did not work properly from the beginning. The connection is being cut off from Satellite after 10 seconds and the screen is frozen. I called technical support,I am very disappointed with the service that they gave me. I sent my unit to authorized dealer but they could not fix it. Now my unit is dead meat, nobody is responsible for it.

    Kham - November 24th, 2007
  37. Is there a way to update the unit with new streets and POI’s etc.. without the CD rom? I bought this unit for my wife 4 months ago for a gift, and when we opened it everything was there except the CD rom. We went back to the store and because it was long ago past their policy, they couldn’t do anything. Can I download any updates?
    Thanks…..

    Dwayne - November 24th, 2007
  38. Dwayne – Unfortunately this is the information you are looking for.

    Tim - November 24th, 2007
  39. Tim
    Thank you so much for getting back to me, even during this black Friday weekend craze. Even though the result is what it is, I do feel better and my mind is at ease. Thanks again.
    Dwayne

    Dwayne - November 24th, 2007
  40. I am seriously starting to hate our roadmate 2000. It is getting so out of date with all of the construction around the DC metro area and they are not releasing any updates for it…and they have no plans to.

    I also have a ever so “slight” problem in that I cannot install the firmware update that they HAVE released. If you google it up this is a VERY common problem as the USB driver required for XP is apparently not included with XP and magellan does not publish it. I spent a WHILE on the phone with a very nice lady from tech support that took a long while to figure out that I already had the unit turned on and plugged in….eventhough I told her this several times.

    I may scrap this unit and buy something else that is supported.

    bryan - December 3rd, 2007
  41. The Magellan Roadmate 2000 is a fine unit. So far I’ve used the road mate 2000 many times and it definitely will get you from Point A to point B. People must understand that nothing is 100%. Sure, there’s been times when I found directions online slightly more accurate as far as the shortest time recommended on this unit but as with any electronic equipment is not perfect.
    A couple of weeks ago I was headed to the Airport at night time. Keep in mind that many street signs were missing, bent out of shape so badly that there totally unrecognizable especially at night time. This is one of many critical experiences where I found the Magellan Roadmate 2000 to be very helpful and convenient. It guided me straight to the airport with no problem. In fact it even guided me out of the huge parking lot (which would have been a headache because of so many confusing directional sighs ) back home with absolutely no problem.
    To sum up, if you’re making a long trip I would always cross reference with online directions with any GPS system but for local travel when your not sure, I have no problem relying on the Magellan 2000. It’s a fine easy to use GPS system. Good luck. Enjoy!

    Joe - December 9th, 2007
  42. I like the Roadmate2000, not a whole lot of extras thay I would not use. I live in hills and have a few ways to get home.. the 2000 has one way, but when I take another, it quickly re-routes me. I set it for CVG the nearby airport and missed the exit on purpose.. it told me to get off at the next exit and go back to the exit of choice for the airport. For the price a very nice unit.. I guess it will have downloadable updates for new roads.. O my road name was changed by the planning commission and it knew that. my sons GPS only knows the old name of the road.

    JimW - January 10th, 2008
  43. Bought a Roadmate 2000 a couple months ago thinking Magellan does updates on maps (recall something on the box alluded to such). However, soon found the last update was apparently when it went on the market or shortly there after in 2006. Now find out they’ve taken it off the market (went legacy in Jan 08) and now I regret the decision to purchase it for several reasons (that I would presume are common to most Magellan products). Can’t edit an address once entered. Even when an incorrect address is deleted it tries to use it again when entering the correct address. Roads built 4-6 years ago are not on the map. And despite multiple cleaning of the screen, randomly enters some other character rather than the one selected.
    Basic navigation seems to work, it has worked to reach destinations in the Boston metro area and the KY /TN / OH region of the country, despite the missing roads and perhaps not using the “best” routes. Is an interesting display when it shows the current location in the middle of nothing and the road it does know off to the side (seeing this view depends on the scale set, at lowest scale…don’t see the road to the side). The menu GUI to do most anything is too simple and lockstep, must use the sequence and there’s no shortcuts. Enough of the negativities, just really disappointed Magellan doesn’t support their products better. Won’t get another of this brand.

    JohnW - March 8th, 2008
  44. I bought this unit in Feb 2007. I will never buy another Magellen product again. We just got back from vacation and it didn’t have the address in the system that we were going to. In fact, it had NO addresses at all, for the neighborhood that we were going to…..and it is an old neighborhood, not a new one. This is not the first time this has happened either. It also brought up two towns when I put in the zip code…..one was for the town I wanted but the other one was a different town with an incorrect zip. When I called customer service I was informed that there is nobody to speak to, in any department, in the USA. WTH! I was on the phone for over one hour and never got an answer to my questions. Instead I was informed that I could purchase an update for 79.99 that would have updates on it….of course with no gaurantee that the roads I was looking for would be on it. Why should I buy an update when the address is old and should be on it already. As I said, I will never buy another Magellen.

    DebbieC - April 10th, 2008
  45. They finaly put out an update, but they want $85.00 to update a $139 unit, It should be a free update.

    Ray M - April 18th, 2008
  46. If the map updates were free, who would pay the mapping companies to produce the maps and build updates?

    Tim - April 18th, 2008
  47. Tim,

    Please tell me you are joking. Other companies absolutely include updated maps as a part of the unit…it is called supporting a product. And how do we know they have resolved their driver issue so you can even install the maps?

    Bryan - April 18th, 2008
  48. No, I’m not joking at all. I don’t know of any company that offers free official map updates for their GPS devices.

    Tim - April 18th, 2008
  49. So, let them put out updates but charge a reasonable price for them. $80 is ridiculous. And if the same tech programs the updates that programed my unit then he/she better buy some street maps! I’m waiting for a response to my emails (phone support is useless)from the company. If I don’t hear in a few days I’m contacting the BBB. There is no reason these road should not be on this unit.

    DebbieC - April 18th, 2008
  50. Debbie – Be glad you don’t have an in-dash GPS system where map updates typically cost $150-$350. The world (even USA) isn’t as well mapped as many people think. It often takes years for new maps to appear in mapping databases, and I can show examples of roads that have existed for a couple of decades that are not mapped.

    I’m not saying the situation is a good one, or that the status quo is acceptable. But $75 – $100 is the going rate for maps for PND devices and given the insane costs to produce those maps it seems a reasonable cost for consumers every year or two.

    Tim - April 19th, 2008
  51. I don’t have a problem with charging for the updates but my unit is 5 months old, we should at least get free update for a short time.

    Ray M - April 19th, 2008
  52. I find it hard to believe that a whole neighborhood is missing though, that has existed since forever. If it takes that many years to put roads on a map what in the world do police/emeg services do in the mean time. I just don’t by it. A road here and there, now and then, which is what it has done in the past, but not an entire community. And to have two cities come up with the same zip code (and I know the one zip is wrong)makes me believe that someone didn’t know how to do their job.

    DebboeC - April 20th, 2008
  53. I still find it hard to believe that it would have an entire community missing. A road here and there, which is what it does do, but not an entire community. I don’t buy it. What are police/emerg. supposed to do in the mean time? They depend on these types of systems.

    DebbieC - April 20th, 2008
  54. This Roadmate 2000 is a joke at being dependable. It is confused after driving even short distance. It will show your destination on right and tell you to turn left?? It does this at the same location when coming from other direction except now it tells you to right?? Wanted to get customer support and they do not have any, just want to sell you an update to down load from your computer. Waste of money.

    Jim - April 22nd, 2008
  55. Tim, If we had any sort of assurance that the new maps were the least bit accurate I *MIGHT* pony up the cash to pay for this update. And there still is the other “little” issue of the lack of compatible drivers and Magellans silence if they have released them. It is not Microsofts problem to release drivers for Magellans product…I know that will shock some people. Updates do no good if you cannot install them!

    As it is TOM TOM includes a years updates with their units…FREE!!!!! And after that it is 99 a year for updates that occur OFTEN!!!! Guess which unit I am purchasing.

    Guess which unit hit the trash.

    Bryan - April 22nd, 2008
  56. There is no doubt there are some manufacturers out there that have better map update deals than Magellan. All I’m saying is that Magellan’s map update prices are pretty much industry standard.

    The best map update deal going is NAVIGON FreshMaps. You get three years of updates for $79.

    The good part about TomTom’s deal is that if you purchase a device that doesn’t have the latest map available, they will give you the current map as part of their Latest Map Guarantee.

    Keep in mind that the “one year free” you are referring to from TomTom is for corrections you can make yourself and share with other TomTom users. So if nobody else bothers to make the change, it won’t appear on your device. Also you can’t do things like build new roads… that requires a paid map update that isn’t free. I’m not saying MapShare isn’t a great program… it is… but it isn’t as good as having an official map update.

    Magellan is far from perfect… their driver support is ridiculous as you mentioned and their support department is even worse… practically non-existent. But their map update prices are in-line with most of their competitors.

    Tim - April 22nd, 2008
  57. I got an answer back from my email I sent to CS…..bet you can’t guess what the answer to my questions where……..which I’m sure came from someone in Egypt…………yup, buy an update! Never again will I ever buy another Magellan, ever!

    DebbieC - April 27th, 2008
  58. Oh, in all fairness……he did say that the map in this unit is from 2005. But never even attempted to try to explain why the roads I wanted weren’t on it. Bad, bad, bad, CS.

    DebbieC - April 27th, 2008
  59. best thing that have ever bought it has everything ull ever need my friend bought some tom tom for 400 bucks n it has so much crap on it that he stil doesnt know how to get to give him directions lol well this item is the best gps out there in my oppnion + it takes less then 5min to fig it out

    joey - June 1st, 2008
  60. Joey. I agree with you that it’s an easy to use unit. Now let us all know when you start having problems finding roads you need. Good luck.

    DebbieC - June 1st, 2008
  61. I bought the 2000 last fall, and just recently purchase the map upgrade, The upgrade IS NOT worth the $90, the maps still don’t show the latest road changes. The POI menu still lists places that have been out of business for years, and others are not listed at all. Also many of the POI listings are WRONG and 7 0f 10 references are wrong, some by 1/10 of a mile others by 3-4 miles. Bad news when you are looking for gas. The software update in nice and makes the unit easier to use, but I think that’s a free download.

    Ray M - June 9th, 2008
  62. Sorry you wasted your money. After what I’ve been through with customer service I wasn’t about to waste any more of my money on this piece of crap. It sounds like they have a moron that programs their equipment.

    DebbieC - June 10th, 2008
  63. My wife bought me the 2000 last year before the big family vacation. The unit missed on almost every address I put in it. Either the address did not exist or it lead me on a wild goose chase. It would not even recognize my home address that has been there for 30 years!!! After reading some of these posts, I’d like to know when or if this company will be responsible for their products.

    Scott - June 11th, 2008
  64. Scott – Do you ever use Google maps, and if so what is your impression of their maps?

    Tim - June 11th, 2008
  65. Scott – From my experience with their cs dept. I would have to say that Magellan could care less about their customers. I called several times and emailed, with no good explanation as to why so many roads are not in the unit. The email indicated the map in this unit is from 2005. Well, if you ask me, or it seems just about anyone, it seems to be from about 1905. Word of mouth does a lot of damage no matter how big the company. In this economy you would think they would at least try to help customers to keep them coming back. To bad for them.

    DebbieC - June 11th, 2008
  66. this is my first gps nav device. my girlfriend got it for me. i went to look at newer gps devices and what i like about the 2000 is that it seems more rugged in construction. it works pretty well for me. and sometimes it is off a lil bit. it’ll take me in front of a home’s address but it’ll tell me its on the left when its really on the right. no big deal. i can look at a mailbox for an address number.

    what i would like to know, is what is the ‘enhanced poi’ option for? i cannot select it in the menu. it is greyed out, along with the ‘regions’.

    does the update allow for custom POIs?

    Mel - June 14th, 2008
  67. I have a Magellan Roadmate 2000. I recently went from Maryland to North Carolina. They entire trip I kept getting “calculating route”. Now that I am back in Maryland, I am still getting “calculating route” no matter where I go. Any suggestions?

    Kathleen - July 11th, 2008
  68. Have you tried to reset it?

    Tim - July 11th, 2008
  69. How do I reset it?

    Kathleen - July 11th, 2008
  70. Pages 2&3 of the manual.

    Tim - July 11th, 2008
  71. I bought my Magellan RM 2000 in Los Angeles. I just moved to Canada and it doesn’t come with a map of Canada.

    Does anyone know how I can get a map of Canada for my Magellan RM 2000? I talked to customer service and they were not very helpful. I know I need to buy an SD card, but does the Magellan 2000 have Canadian maps available online?

    Jullian - October 11th, 2008
    • Wow…. I just did the same thing. Moved from Los Angeles to Toronto. Was shopping here for a power adapter as mine stopped working. Am very disappointed to read here now that my Roadmate 2000 may no longer even work. Did you have any luck finding help or a solution?

      Nicole - February 27th, 2009
  72. I don’t believe they are available at all.

    Tim - October 11th, 2008
  73. if you want updates to 1.56 its free on magellan’s website

    T - October 23rd, 2008
  74. I was looking at a Megellan Roadmate 1412 but can’t find any information on this product. Is it new?

    Dick - March 18th, 2009
  75. I would like to go to canada, from New York. Canada address is not accepted. I spent hours it was impossible. Region in the GPS is inactive . How can I inactive region icon. Please help me.
    Jean

    Jean Rock - August 24th, 2009
    • You can’t. The RM 2000 only includes maps of the 48 contiguous states.

      Tim - August 24th, 2009
  76. I have the roadmate 2000. I am going to hawaii, i take it that the maps of the state are not in it. is the newest update of maps have hawaii ??

    mike gates - September 10th, 2009
  77. I have a Roadmate 2000 and would like to to use the trip
    planner to route a trip with several stops. However I can’t
    make it to go to more than the 1st one. Can you help?

    James Short - October 1st, 2009
  78. My Magellan RoadMate “sometimes’ gives me inaccurate info. Is there any way I can update it?

    Amy - November 6th, 2009
  79. The final map update for the Magellan RoadMate 2000 is $80! Magellan’s website indicates that no additional updates will be provided. So the message from Magellan is clear: instead of updating your obsolete RoadMate, buy a Garmin Nuvi 205W with a widescreen [snip]. I wonder how much they are paying the MBA marketing genius that came up with the $80 map update.

    Dave - December 24th, 2009
  80. How do i get my 2000 megallan roadmate up dated?

    Lamar - November 13th, 2010
  81. I’ve had my Roadmate 2000 for several years. On first trip I named her Alice, The Honeymooners, remember. ie;hateful witch!

    The instructions were terrible and support sucked. Finally, I ws able to get new maps, for a price. Newer roads that had beeen around for a year weren’t there. New maps fixed that. But I think they added so much info that it has overloaded the CPU and now response time is terrible specially when your in a tight situation with quick multiple turns coming up. Many times I’m past the turn point & now get the legal U turn message. Duh, on an interstate? Come out the tunnel in MObile, AL going west& you’re at an exit within seconds and Alice is computing route. Now the internal battery hardly keeps a charge and has to be plugged in for awhile before she’ll come to life. Most Of the time it requies a reset! That little gem is hard to find and when you do it ‘s hard to understand what they mean by flip it up. Up is not obvious.
    Anyway I’m now looking for a new GPS and it won’t be Magellan. Too bad you can’t try these babies out before you buy. But that’s the computer industry. If I had to guess I’d say Microsoft programmed this thing.

    Jim - March 12th, 2011
    • Microsoft didn’t program it, but many of them are running Windows CE under the hood. :)

      Tim - April 4th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright