leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan RoadMate 3000T

Apr
3
2006

Rounding out Magellan’s announcements today is the Magellan RoadMate 3000T auto GPS navigation system. The RoadMate 3000T includes 3D maps on a touch screen display. It can be integrated with TrafficKit to receive live traffic updates and route around traffic jams.

Maps of the USA and Canada are included as well as a POI database of over 6 million points. More popular features will be the digital music player which can play MP3 files and WMA files via SD cards as well as a photo viewer. The internal battery of the RoadMate 3000T is a li-ion rechargeable to enable multimedia playback when not in your car.

The Magellan RoadMate 3000T also comes with technology to automatically increase the volume with speed as well as switch the map background color at night so the driver can retain better night vision.

GPS accuracy should be great since the RoadMate 3000T comes with a SiRF Star III chipset which is WAAS enabled. The 3000T is shipping now and has a retail price of $599.

98 Responses


  1. [...] James Derk of the Sun Herald has written a short column about the Magellan RoadMate 3000T. His biggest praise is of the accuracy and acquisition time of the GPS chipset. Since the 3000t is powered by a SiRF Star III chipset this isn’t a surprise. He also praises the bright screen. Once powered on, the unit locates the satellites and orients itself. One thing that impressed me was the unit’s ability to locate satellites even while being held by the passenger in a car; it didn’t seem to need line of sight to the dash or even a clear view out the windows. The unit’s 3.5-inch color screen was bright and easy to use. [...]

  2. Is there an easy way to convert custom POIs in csv format to RM 3000T POI files? I found the software included with the unit for adding custom POIs is very tedious and difficult to use. The POI database comes with the unit left out a lot of interesting POIs like Fry’s, Circuit City, Best Buy, etc. I found custom POI files for Garmin in csv format, but could not locate any custom POI files for the Roadmate 3000T. Thanks for you help.

    Peter - July 23rd, 2006
  3. Hi Peter, I’ve moved your question over here to the Magellan RoadMate 3000T page.

    Yes, you can load custom POI databases into the RoadMate 3000t. You can do this with the included POI Manager application. You can use the application to manually add custom POIs or you can import from text file formats like ASC, CSV, TXT as well as GPS Exchange file format (.GPS,.XML); Magellan Waypoint file format (.WPT,.RTE); and Garmin PCX5 Waypoint file format (.WPT,.RTE).

    Chapter 16 in the Magellan RoadMate 3000T covers the RoadMate POI Manager application.

    GPS Review - July 24th, 2006
  4. Also note to Roadmate 3000T users that Magellan has updated the firmware to version 1.13. Included is the following fixes:

    • Route simulation issues during the Demo mode
    • Potential system freezes using the ‘Escape’ or ‘View’ buttons during routing
    • Reduced sound level when using earphones

    GPS Review - July 24th, 2006
  5. Thanks for information. Can you also please point
    me to where I can download the csv files for custom POIs specific to Magellan format? I found some as listed below, but I think it’s specific to Garmin.

    -117.848282 33.85334 Fry’s Electronics 3370 East La Palma, Anaheim CA (714)688-3000

    RM 3000T does not allow me to use negative values such as -117.848282.

    Peter - July 24th, 2006
  6. If the POI database you found is in Garmin’s PCX5 waypoint format then you should be able to import them into your Magellan RoadMate 3000T. With other formats you might need to do some editing or converting to get them to work. I don’t know of any sites which offer custom, third party POI databases specifically for Magellan RoadMates like the 3000T.

    GPS Review - July 24th, 2006
  7. It seems there are basic, mid-range and High-end GPS devices. I like the Magellan 3000T features overall (especially multiple destinations and intelligent place name assistance), but would like the speech-to-text (street names) feature and I have no use for blue-tooth of traffic information. Is there anything that fulfills these desires (with of course SirfStarII) and that is available in the $500 price range?

    Robert Duncan - August 8th, 2006
    • I bought a Magellan 3000 T on [deleted, see comment policy] about six months ago that was refurbished and paid only [deleted] for it..It was shipped to me three days later and it didn’t have a scratch on it..I honestly couldn’t tell that it wasn’t NEW..
      Before buying it I searched several stores looking at different brand name systems that ranged from $100 to $600. I just want to say to you people that you don’t have to drop $ 600.00 on this system eventho it is truly worth every penny. I was kinda skeptical at first because of it being refurbished and now I am so glad I took a chance with this GPS. I am in the Military and have had numerous amounts of time using different types of GPS systems during my tours overseas and I only wish I would have had a Magellan 3000T in my Humveevery fast and is so easy to use.
      My SIX year old son programs our destinations and also saves them. I am very pleased with this product and I wanted you guys to know that it has everything you need in a GPS..Mine also came with a one year warranty,car charger,home charger,USB cord,DVD instructions manual and a window mount..Thanks for reading and I believe that If you buy this system you will be very satisfied..My best friend bought a Garmin for $359.00 and was not happy with it..He actually sold it last week and bought the 3000T on [deleted\ for less than [deleted]..NOW HE RIDES WITH A SMILE!!

      Thomas - May 31st, 2009
  8. Robert, the cheapest GPS I can think of with text-to-speech is the WorldNav 3000 XL

    GPS Review - August 10th, 2006
  9. [...] Magellan is currently offering a free TrafficKit for people who purchase a Magellan RoadMate 3000T before January 31, 2007. The trafficKit normally costs about $150 and comes with a three month subscription to the traffic service. Thinking of taking up this offer? Also watch where you buy your RoadMate from. You won’t qualify if you purchase your RoadMate from Wal-Mart, BJ’s Wholesale, Longs, RadioShack, or auction sites. [...]

  10. Prior to purchasing a MRM 3000T, I used Delorme Street Atlas with a PC mounted under the seat, a 7 inch touchscreen monitor and a DC/AC inverter to power it all.

    I purchased the MRM 3000T about 1 month ago. It worked okay for a few days, and then started locking up. This usually happened when I pulled off the route to get gas, or stop and eat. A few times, it would continue to update the location on the map but very slowly. Sometimes the time and distance to the next turn and the time and distance to the destination would be blank. It would stay this way until I reset it. It acted like something was hogging all the CPU time.

    The only change I had made was the installation of a 512MB SD card. I removed the card and since then it has worked flawless for the last two weeks.

    The maps are very poor compared to Street Atlas.

    The three comments I have are:

    1). None of the towns have names. It would be very nice to know the name of the upcoming town.

    2). Whoever created the maps must be a golfer, as I believe more time was spent putting all the golf courses on the maps and less on actual travel details like the city names.

    3). Routing leave very much to be desired. I have changed a route from use “mostly” freeways, to use shortest distance, and had the mileage change from 117 miles to 76 miles. I guess I wonder what “mostly” means. The 76 mile route was all four-lane state highways, whereas the 117 miles was going 21 miles out of my way on a state four-lane to hit 20 miles of Interstate highway.

    Even though the PC with Street Atlas software is clumsy, I will go back to using it.

    Bob Nelson - November 14th, 2006
  11. I just purchased a Magellan 3000T, how do you update the maps? I could not find a good answer on Magellan’s site.

    Alex Barber - December 3rd, 2006
  12. Hi Alex – The RoadMate 3000T is fairly new. Most of the GPS manufacturers only release new map updates about once per year. When Magellan releases new maps you will normally purchase a CD/DVD and run the supplied installer on those disks.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2006
  13. DO YOU OR DO YOU KNOW WERE I CAN FIND OUT WHAT DATUM THE MAGELLAN3000T IS BASED ON? ANY INFO WOULD HELP THANKS.

    robert g - December 15th, 2006
  14. I was wondering if you could steer me in the right direction? I recieved my magellan from a friend who lost the user’s manual. could you please help me in obtaining one of these

    Jack W - March 7th, 2007
  15. I asm sorry the magellan I recieved is a 3000t thank-you again Jack

    Jack W - March 7th, 2007
  16. Robert – The GPS system itself is based on WGS-84. Some devices can display coordinates in other datums, however they are typically converting what was calculated in WGS-84.

    Jack – You can download it from here

    Tim - March 7th, 2007
  17. Does anybody know if you can also use the Mag 3000T (or another model) as a monitor for a “backup camera” (camera gets mounted to rear bumper and line fed to dash)” so as not to have 2 screens mounted on dash. Thanks, Chad

    Chad - March 27th, 2007
  18. This device cannot do this, and neither can the vast majority of PND devices. I think some of the Alpine devices can do that, and the StreetPilot 7200 and 7500 allow for AV input which might interface with what you have.

    Tim - March 30th, 2007
  19. I am thinking of purchasing a 3000T, I have borrowed an 800 from a friend to try out. I am looking to use it on ambulance in some off beat areas of BC, Canada. The 800 works well but some of the remote towns do not have street names even when the streets are shown on the maps. I have been looking to see if I can purchase additional Canada maps for the 800 or 3000T but the only software is the Canada MapSend Topo which I don’t think will work with the Roadmate series (Even though the magellan preview reveils that the street detail I am looking for is in there).

    Any ideas ?
    Thanks
    Phil

    Phil - May 11th, 2007
  20. Dont waste your money if you live in rural america. I just got a 3000T Tried it this morning going to work. ?? Didnt even have the road I was driving on ?? This road is not new, been there for 100 years or more ?? I going to send it back and get a garmin nuvi. !!

    BBetz - May 17th, 2007
  21. BBetz, might want to check out the database in the Nuvi before you purchase it. The GPS manufacturers don’t make the maps themselves, they get them from mapping companies. Magellan and Garmin use the same mapping company.

    Tim - May 17th, 2007
  22. Ok tks Tim, I did just upgrade to the 3.1 firmware and Its much better.? lol. For [snip] delivered, I guess I will keep it now. Found out in order to get local street to show up , one must zoom down to about 350ft. or 700ft view. The 103 page Acrobat Reader manual is a Pain to search out, too bad they didnt actually send a real manual, other then a quick start sheet. But for the price, I guess I can put up with a little inconvience. Purchased at [snip] and I cant tell its not brand new. All the parts are there, packaged just like its brand new. That would be a Megellan 3000T . Looks like new map update is due out in August this year.

    BBetz - May 18th, 2007
  23. I’m looking at an entry level GPS for use on the road. I wondered if you have any opinions on the Magellan RoadMate 3000T vs TomTom One vs Cobra 2100?

    Walt - June 8th, 2007
  24. How do I add custom POI’s if I only have addresses (like in an excel spreadsheet) but have no latitude or longitude information? I’m trying to add my customer database of who I frequently visit and am not seeing an easy way to do this. Thanks for your help.

    Lisa - June 29th, 2007
  25. Lisa, there isn’t an easy way to do it otherwise. You will need to geocode (find the lat/long for an address) the addresses first.

    Tim - July 11th, 2007
  26. Walt I like my Megallan roadmate 3000T just fine, I wouldnt think of upgrading. Serves my needs just fine. Getting read to use it for a trip out west and back with several destinations. Just came back from the beach and had no real issues with it.

    BBetz - July 11th, 2007
  27. I received a magellan 3000T as a gift. It’s a rebuilt.Everything seem to work good, except for the zoom out button. The webcite it was purchased from will exchange it. Is it worth shipping back for another rebuilt? How often are those buttons used? My brother travels Europe with his GPS and never uses the zoom out or in.

    Shirley - July 19th, 2007
  28. I occasionally use the zoom, but not very often.

    Tim - July 20th, 2007
  29. I use the zoom often when traveling , in and out. But sometime it isnt as fast as you expect it to be. But keep trying it could be a matter of waiting on it to zoom in or out. Only it the zoom in or out once until you get the results to want. Numerious hits will make the unit slower and take more time. I know from experience.

    BBetz - July 20th, 2007
  30. I bought my husband a magellan 3000Tabout a year ago. We were told that we would be able to purchase an upgrade for live traffic monitoring. Is such a thing available? Also, is there an update out yet for the maps?

    Denise - July 26th, 2007
  31. Yes, you can see the traffic accessory on this page. Magellan says there will be a map update available for purchase in September.

    Tim - July 26th, 2007
  32. How do you update the maps for the Magellan RoadMate 3000T? I can’t find how to do that.

    Teresa - August 14th, 2007
  33. Magellan hasn’t released any map updates for the 3000T at this time.

    Tim - August 14th, 2007
  34. Teresa the how to for updates is in the manual,on line or on your disk. I thought I saw updates to maps the end of August.. I just went on a driving vacation and logged 4400 miles with my 3000T. The only problem I had was leaving it in the sun while I shopped with no air conditioning on. I had to take it off the pod and cool it, before it would operate properly. I would have never gotten through Chicago or Concil bluff / Omaha Neb. without the 3000T. Great product for the money. My wife was very happy too, she didnt have to hassle with all those maps. I know she loves it more then I do now !!!

    BBetz - August 15th, 2007
  35. Have the updates for the 3000T been released, if they haven’t when will they be released?

    Mike - September 18th, 2007
  36. The most recent update is 3.11

    Tim - September 18th, 2007
  37. For the 3000T when was the 3.11 update released?

    Mike - September 19th, 2007
  38. I’m getting ready to buy my first ever GPS. I’ve used a few and I’m considering a Refurbed Magellan RoadMate 3000T. I travel all of MD, DC, & VA and go to construction jobsites a lot. The destinations vary from normal interstate/city to med rural to very rural. Lots of traffic and delays especially around DC, Baltomore, Norfolk/Chesapeake, Richmond. I like the idea of the blue tooth hands free since I’m on the cell a lot. Need something that routes and re-routes quickly and keeps me out of traffic jams if possible. The price point I can get the 3000T for is around $200. Is the re-furbed 3000T the right one for me and my needs?

    John L - September 19th, 2007
  39. I doubt it, If I was you I would spend at least another $100.00 bucks and up grade to a newer model. If your going to get detoured alot you need one that actually says the name of the steets. Which would be more helpful in the long run. But you will still have to sign up for the service that report the detours ahead of time, to get good directions, and rerouting.

    Bruce Betz - September 20th, 2007
  40. How do I update my 3000T

    Greg - September 26th, 2007
  41. That depends what you want to update.

    Tim - September 27th, 2007
  42. Load your software from you disc that came with 3000T. Go to the web site, and follow the instructions. its actually very easy. You will see the cable that came with the 3000T now that is very important piece of the downloading process. Just follow the instructions and you will be fine.

    BBETZ - September 28th, 2007
  43. I love my 3000T except that it doesn’t have most Starbucks in its POI database. Is there an update available? Thanks.

    steve - October 7th, 2007
  44. Steve, updates don’t typically add new POIs beyond the original selection.

    Tim - October 8th, 2007
  45. Oh, that’s distressing :-) With new Starbucks (and Wal-Marts) popping up almost daily, it would be helpful to us road warriors if POIs would be updated periodically. Maybe some interprising computer type could take the all the Starbucks locations, format them for Magellans, and sell it to deperate folks like me.

    steve - October 8th, 2007
  46. Well let’s take a step back for a moment. I might have given you the wrong impression. There are 6 million POIs in the 3000T, quite a bit compared to most GPS devices, but only a tiny fraction of all of the known POIs they could include. So a software update or map update would correct information in the existing POIs, and add perhaps a few more using the same criteria they used for the original selection, but it won’t just include all new POIs.

    Also, there are quite a few custom POI databases you can download (most for free) into your GPS that people have collected. You can download a CSV file of Starbucks locations from places like this and then convert them to the format for different GPS devices and upload them to different devices. You can probably use the Magellan POI Manager program to create a POI set from that list.

    Tim - October 8th, 2007
  47. Feeling much better now. Thanks, Guru Tim.

    steve - October 8th, 2007
  48. I bought a Roadmate 3000T/3050T a year ago and ended up returning it after a week because it was locking up about every hour of use. The replacement still locked up about once a week (driving about 2 hours a day). I’ve uploaded the updates as they came out and it only locks up about once every 4 or 5 hours of use. The latest update seems to have helped extend that to only locking once a week. But that just isn’t right. With all the new units out there in the $250 range I don’t see myself spending $200 for new maps. Bye the way the maps are out of date in my area (Central California along hwy 101). There are streets missing that have 40 year old homes on them. But I have that on my Jeep Nav system. But the system in my Jeep NEVER locks up. My Roadmate directs me to use dirt roads instead of paved ones. The Magellan support people don’t seem to really care a lot about this lockup problem yet I see a lot of mention about it on the forums, etc. but not much about other GPS units. I did ride next to someone on an airplane a few weeks ago who had a newer Magellan. I asked if his locks up and he said no. But I find it hard to trust the brand given the poor response from tech support and the way mine (the second one) locks up.

    Don Johnson - October 17th, 2007
  49. I just bought the Roadmate 3000t. I am completely new to this. Can I load topo maps into the 3000t? If so, where can I download them? Thanks.

    Jim - October 18th, 2007
  50. No, the 300T cannot accept topo maps.

    Tim - October 18th, 2007
  51. The new maps are out for 3000T. There is a $20 coupon code that is good until the end of the year on the Magellan website. Go to their update page at https://www.magellangps.com/support/ and select the 3000T. Cost is $79 -$20 discount coupon so I ended up paying $59 plus shipping for a DVD. I love my 3000T and have had no issues, except a few new roads are not on it. I use it a lot as I drive a tour bus and it works perfect for me.

    Greg S - October 27th, 2007
  52. How do you update the maps for the Magellan RoadMate 3000T? I can’t find how to do that. its for canad i need the new one
    thx alot

    ozz - November 12th, 2007
  53. Ozz, here is the link but they have had technical issues with the update so they have removed it for now.

    Tim - November 12th, 2007
  54. I bought the map update, cost $70 with the discount and it won’t install. Says the key is wrong. When you order the replacement you have to give your serial number so they can match the DVD key to the serial number. I contacted tech support and after 2 days they said the key was good but said I needed to type in all caps (which I did) and I should hit enter instead of clicking “Next”. When I went to try it the DVD wouldn’t work. Apparently they write something to your computer registry to keep you from using it more than once. I challenged them on that NO RESPONSE. I called and talked to someone with a thick India or Pakistani accent who told me that I would get an email. Still waiting. I tried it on another computer and it didn’t work and now the DVD won’t play on that machine. I’m running out of computers. I think they are a little overboard on the protection and very short on customer support. It has been 4 days since I’ve heard from them.

    Don - November 13th, 2007
  55. Don, you are far from the only one that has happened to unfortunately. You can join other fellow owners unable to update their maps at this thread in the forums.

    Tim - November 13th, 2007
  56. When will the updates for the 3000T be available ?

    Michael - November 20th, 2007
  57. Michael, I don’t think anyone but Magellan knows. :(

    Tim - November 20th, 2007
  58. I’ve read some real horror stories on the M RM 3000T; Can someone tell me whether or not the latest 3000T map update (released in 8/2007) worth the $79.00 (I apparently missed out on the ’07 coupon)& the frustration using the correct key and the shaky ‘off-shore’ product support or should I just get another unit??

    TimP - March 29th, 2008
  59. I didn’t see any real changes in mine but they messed up the ability to find POI’s in a distant city. With the old version I was able to go to Points of Interest and pick a city and look for restaurants, etc. Now the stupid thing can only find POI’s around where I am. I would save my money for another GPS, my 3000T locks up about every 2 or 3 hours of use. It is so bad that I usually hit the reset button just before I arrive in a city that I will need guidance or I find myself pulling off the road to wait reset and wait for it to boot up and find the satellites. Not much of a time saver. DO get the FREE updates for firmware, but I didn’t see any improvements in the maps.

    Don Johnson - March 31st, 2008
  60. They up date is ok but they are lying on the web site.. I bought it and they said it supported windows vista.. ha ha ha ha.. after 6 calls to India… I finally found some one who told me they havent written the program for windows vista yet..?? I wanted a refund, so I had to make about another 6 calls to India,, to get the right department for a return authorization number. But when I did get the right department, the guy told me to call back tomarrow that everyone has gone home..!! Megallen has lost me as a customer in the furture.. Dont buy the update unless you have window xp or know someone with it.. end of a nightmare.

    Bruce Betz - April 8th, 2008
  61. I got the new upgrade for my 3000t. The DVD
    didnot work after 20 calls later. I was told
    no refound. that I would need to send my GPS back
    and thay will do it for me. would take up to 3 weeks to get it back. VERY POOR SERVICE I will never buy there gps again.

    Jim - April 30th, 2008
  62. If I am going to Mexico, can I track my route so that I can backtrack to it if I wanted to? I am doing some off-roading and I would like to know where I came from in case I got lost. Thanks

    Gabriel - May 30th, 2008
  63. The RM 3000 is designed for on-road use only.

    Tim - May 30th, 2008
  64. The 3000 doesn’t save your route. There’s no way to back track on your route. You can’t even plan a multi-point route. HOWEVER, you could simulate this by periodically saving your position. If you are doing this for back tracking you might save each location where you make a direction choice with sequential numbers in front of the name. Like “01 – Mexican boarder”, “02 – Rosarito”, “03 – Ensenada”, etc. Then they will sort in your list and you could return one at a time in reverse order.

    Don - May 30th, 2008
  65. Okay, so I got a great deal on the 3000T at a certain huge department store, and now I’m wondering if it was worth it…the first year of posts have been good, but the most recent ones are awful!! I have 30 days to return it. Maybe I should? All I need is accurate maps in Canada, with street names, the basic turning direction and distance, and some good POIs. I’m not hooked on any brand, just something that is user friendly. I’m thinking that all the grief with updates on this model means that it’s NOT going to be as user friendly as I’d like…?

    Dianna - June 12th, 2008
  66. Dianna,
    My main complaint with my 3000T is the lockups. I had two. took the first one back because it locked up about every hour of use. By lock up I mean that the screen froze and it wouldn’t respond to the controls. The only recourse is to hold down the power button for about 7 seconds or find something to poke in the reset button above the power connector on the lower right side of the unit. My second unit goes about 4 hours before freezing. I probably would have taken it back, except I’d spent about $100 on accessories and I’ve gotten used to hitting the reset before I enter an area where I don’t want it to freeze. On the outside chance they’ve fixed it, you could just make a point of running it everywhere you go for a week. If it doesn’t freeze, then maybe they’ve fixed it. Although I don’t have a good feeling because a friend recently bought a different model RoadMate and his does it too. Good Luck! -Don

    Don - June 12th, 2008
  67. Does anyone know if the magellan 3000T has upgrades of maps of mexico? if anyone has a link or some good feedback i would appreciate it!

    Richard - July 1st, 2008
  68. Not that I’ve heard of.

    Tim - July 1st, 2008
  69. I recently purchased the 3000T in hopes of taking it to mexico in a couple of weeks to use as a guide. so am i out of luck with that? is my only option to purchase another one? if so can you tell me which is a good one to buy thats both affordable and has the capability to have a map of mexico since i am traveling by road?

    Richard - July 1st, 2008
  70. I think you are out of luck with respect to the 3000T. I’d look at something like the Garmin Nuvi 200 and then purchasing Garmin’s SD card of Mexico maps which retails around $99. (Garmin part number 010-10755-00)

    Tim - July 1st, 2008
  71. Thanks! I will look into that.

    Richard - July 1st, 2008
  72. Hi….
    My Magellan 3000t stopped working this morning.
    Everything was fine, till I got home. 5 minutes later I left and turned it on, the screen showed the logo “Magellan” and nothing else happens. It’s frozone there… I pushed reset and everything remains the same.
    I will appreciate your help
    Thanks,

    OSIRIS

    Osiris - July 5th, 2008
  73. Every time mine has frozen (lots of times) I can fix it by either holding the power button for about 6 or 7 seconds to shut it down OR pushing the reset button. It happens so frequently that I keep on of the large paper clips in my car that I’ve bent into a convenient shape so I have a point to insert into the reset hole. But if neither of these is working, you have a big problem.

    Don - July 5th, 2008
  74. I bought my magellan 3000t about 2 years ago. Never had any major problems with it. It never locks up. Sometimes when I look for a local store it will give me ones in other states but you can work around this simply by how you search. I’m sure there are better GPS’s out now but I will keep using mine. Just got back from vacation in Las Vegas, California, and Grand Canyon with no problems….

    Gary - July 16th, 2008
  75. Is there a way to make the 3000T easier to use?? and to acquire, to find POI’s etc.

    Mansfield - August 5th, 2008
  76. What did you have in mind? You can’t really change the design of the interface.

    Tim - August 5th, 2008
  77. I have a Magellan 3000T model, I just purchase an SD card for it, I loaded a whole bunch of music in it, and it work excellent. My question is, can I listen my music by plugging it in my stero and use my GPS at the same time, I can’t figure how.

    Paul - August 21st, 2008
  78. hi i have a 3000t….how do i put music on it? please helpppppppp lol thanks

    steve - September 9th, 2008
  79. Steve, page 75 of the manual.

    Tim - September 9th, 2008
  80. I had my 3000T for 1.5 years, liked it but it did freeze up sometimes. but now it will not take a charge unless you hold the plug just right at the head unit.Magellen sayd they know the problem but will not fix it. they said they do not do repairs anymore. and that they would sell me a rebuilt one. I am shoppig for a new one and it won’t be a MAGELLEN.

    John - September 22nd, 2008
  81. I recently purchased a Magellan 2008/2009 Map Update. I have a Magellan 3000T, but the software only lists Magellan 3100 and later. Will this software work on my 3000T?

    Ruby - October 26th, 2008
  82. My Roadmate 3000T, is a good buy. But recently, it will not charge from the Car battery charger (Though it shows the power light on). I can charge it with the wall outlet at home, but then it’s not good for a long trip. Is there something wrong with the Battery (can they be replaced).

    Winnie - December 14th, 2008
  83. I have had my MRM3000T for 3 1/2 yrs. No freeze-ups but lots of blank roads. Tried to purchase Map update but could not get understood by the Rep in India or Pakistan, so I did not pursue, which is a good thing according to many people who have paid for the disc and cannot get satisfaction. How do I get and upgrade to 3.1 Firmware?

    Diane - January 22nd, 2009
  84. where is the up dates for m3000 T

    rick - March 4th, 2009
    • magellangps.com/support

      Tim - March 4th, 2009
  85. I was going to update my maps on my 3000t and
    came to this site. I have really enjoyed the last 20
    minutes reading almost every comment. I have had 0-problems
    with my unit and would recomend it in a minute if it was
    not such old format. I found the map update and could not
    believe the $80.00 price tag. If somebody knows a way not
    so exspensive let me know.

    Thanks

    mike - August 30th, 2009
  86. I know a way Mike, sell it and take that money and the other 80 bucks and go buy a new Tom Tom. Problem solved. Tom Tom has user updates on thier web site and you can download them for free.

    Bruce - August 30th, 2009
  87. I have a AAA version and the resets don’t work on this.

    Why?

    I am trying to clear to FACTORY SETTINGS by doing the
    ++/–/+- and the normal units work fine but for some reason the AAA version will not work.

    Ny thoughts?

    Alan - September 30th, 2009
  88. I am a commercial truck driver , that acqiured a differant truck . a model 3000T was left behind. original owner, user, unknown . When I first noticed it, and fired it up, it didn’t work at all. then one day, it opened up, on its own, and did seem to locate itself, but as I played with it, it froze up. I put it away again. recently it fired up again, on its own.??? but this time it is asking for a current password. I have no clue. If any one can help, open it up, I would play with it, to see if it is repairable, or should be tossed, instead of left behind

    Dennis - January 8th, 2010
  89. I have this product and LOVED it… until it died. It kept telling me that the battery was going to die, so I attempted to recharge it. It never seemed to recognize that I had it plugged in. It kept warning me to recharge, then one day it died. I thought maybe the problem was with the charger cable (plugs into the cigarette lighter) so I bought a brand new one from Radio Shack. Unfortunately the new charger cable did not do the trick. So my wonderful GPS is dead. It was my favorite GPS of all the ones I’ve tried.

    Audrey - July 17th, 2010
    • Try this: its an old lap top battery trick. Put the battery in the freezer for a few days. Then take it out and while its still cold and try recharging.? It worked on laptops.

      Bruce - July 17th, 2010
  90. Purchased software update version 2 for my 3000T. Problems include program not found and driver not approved by Microsoft. Somebody help. Thanks Charles

    charles - November 14th, 2010
  91. I had a problem with an update not working. As I recall there was a problem with the leading zeros on some number that you type in. I think it was the serial number – my unit had leading zeros in the number (like 001234567) and the disk didn’t show the leading zeros (like 1234567) or visa versa. Once I figured out the difference and adjusted the number that was entered it took.

    Don - November 15th, 2010
  92. REF: NOV 14 REQUEST FOR HELP…. I RAN ORIGINAL DOC DISK AND LOADED DRIVER WHICH GOT MESSAGE FROM MS TO STOP, BUT RAN IT ANYWAY.. WAS ASKED FOR MY AUTHURIZATION CODE; HAD TO OBTAIN FROM MAGELLEN, WHO TOLD ME THAT THE DRIVER WAS NOT MS PRODUCT; RUN IT ANYWAY, IT WOULD NOT DAMAGE MY COMPUTER. RAN IT ANYWAY, ENTERED A/C; SUCCESS. THREE HOURS TEN MINUTES LATER HAD NEW INFO ( UPDATE ) IN MY 3000T. CHARLES

    CHARLES - November 19th, 2010
  93. I heave this product and want to travel to Europe. How can I update the map. Thanks.Spiros

    Spiros - December 7th, 2010
    • Spiros, Magellan does not offer those maps for that GPS.

      Tim - December 14th, 2010
  94. Got this ‘hand-me-down’ Magellan 3000T from a friend that has moved on to a newer unit. It hasn’t been used in a year plus. The battery was all run down but did take a small charge (keeps the unit up for 2 seconds after a 8 hour charge) (OK, the battery is trash)

    Having some experience with PCs they thought I would be able to unbrick this unit. Never have worked on GPS units, I am in need of directions and advice.

    This 3000T never really boots up, the Magellan Roadmate Tools program and Explorer never finds the 3000T.

    The 3000T boots up to the blue Magellan screen only and none of the buttons work. Then after 5 minutes it starts rebooting every 10 seconds.
    I’m working this as a learning tool and looking for advice to try to fix it somewhat.

    Please help.

    Bill Zaffos - June 6th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright