leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Magellan RoadMate 860T

Apr
20
2006

The Magellan RoadMate 860T has been officially released by Thales. The new RoadMate should be available in stores in May at a retail cost of $799. The “t” in the product name means that this Magellan RoadMate has traffic reporting and avoidance capabilities through the SmartDetour service. A 15 month subscription to the traffic service will be included with the RoadMate 860t.

Text-to-Speech is also offered in the RoadMate 860T (which Magellan calls SayWhere) so not only are verbal directions such as “turn left” included, but it can also say the street name, “turn left on Main street”.

The Magellan RoadMate 860T also includes a host of multimedia options making your travels more enjoyable. You can listen to music and view photos stored on the 860T’s 10GB of remaining storage space. The 860T comes with a 20GB hard drive.

“The Magellan RoadMate 860T builds upon the benefits, flexibility and value the Magellan RoadMate 800 offered as the ultimate multimedia travel partner,” said Raj Mitra, director of product marketing. “The Magellan RoadMate 860T not only provides enhanced navigation performance with live traffic updates but also delivers more than twice the available memory for multimedia file storage.”

The SmartDetour service is not available in all areas, however it does come in handy for many of the larger metropolitan areas. You can choose to have the Magellan RoadMate 860T simply alert you to upcoming traffic, or to automatically reroute you around trouble-spots.

NAVTEQ maps of the USA, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands come preinstalled on the 20 GB hard drive. There is also an optional package to have maps from 27 European countries loaded on the Magellan RoadMate 860T if you are a really worldly traveler.

Additional features include a smart volume function where the volume automatically adjusts to your current speed, an integrated battery to facilitate using the device for advance planning while not in the car or for playing music and photos out of the car.

The Magellan RoadMate 860T comes with a POI database of over six million points which include phone numbers. A night view option automatically changes the colors on the display so your eyes retain better night vision.

As for goodies, along with the Magellan RoadMate 860T you get a windshield mount, cradle, USB cable, AC adapter, headphones, protectiv pouch, and power adapter.

53 Responses


  1. I’ve been researching numerous GPS units in advance of my first purchase and I’ve narrowed down my choices to the new Magellan Roadmate 860T or the Garmin Nuvi 350. I’ve used the Hertz Never Lost before, but was a bit turned off by some of the comments on this site about the sluggishness of the Magellan products vs the Garmin units.

    The RM 860T seems to have some great features, but the size of the Nuvi is appealing as is the apparent sensitivity in picking up signals.

    My intended use is for in both my pesonal vehicle and in rental vehicles when I travel on business, which is fairly often.

    Can you please offer a recommendation on one of these units and a few words supporting that recommendation.

    As an aside, the site is great and very informative. Hope you can help me out.

    Mark - July 10th, 2006
  2. Hi Mark – If you are traveling frequently in different vehicles I would recommend the Garmin Nuvi 350 for a couple of reasons.

    First as you mentioned is size. The RoadMate 860T is much larger and will be easier to move between vehicles. Second is the GPS chipset. The 860T uses a 12 channel SiRF chipset while the Nuvi 350 has a 20 channel SiRF chipset which will be more accurate and acquire a signal faster.

    Prices appear to be similar at the moment. I’ve seen the 860T for about $699 and the 350 for $624.

    GPS Review - July 11th, 2006
  3. Do I lose any key features with the Nuvi 350 that would be present on the RM 860T? I’ve spent hours trying to compare the two and being a novice, I’m not sure what is important and what isn’t. As you noted above, it sounds like at least with one important feature, chipset, the Nuvi gets the nod. Can you comment on a few other aspects of the units as follows:

    Are the maps and POI in each unit comparable as far as completeness?

    Both seem to have the equivelant of the RM “SayWhere” text to speech. Are both units comparable in this area?

    I’ve read some concerns on your site about poor performance of the Nuvi screen under bright sunlight conditions. Is this a real issue? Some users seem to have no problems at all in this area.

    Is there any value to waiting for the new Nuvi 360? Sounds like the two big enhancements are a locking feature and blue tooth.

    Are there any other features I should look at closely before purchasing my first GPS?

    Thanks again for your help and for what I hope will be a few additional kernals of wisdom that will help me wade throught the final stages of this purchase process.

    Mark - July 14th, 2006
  4. The Magellan RoadMate 860T does come with an integrated traffic receiver for receiving live traffic reports (subscription necessary). It also currently comes with a free 15 month subscription to the traffic service. This would be an advantage over the Nuvi that requires purchase of an external traffic receiver to connect and they don’t offer a free 15 month trial subscription.

    The RoadMate 860T also comes with a 20 GB hard drive with 10 GB free (the other space used for maps and POIs) which you can then use to store MP3 music and pictures. The Nuvi only has about 700 MB of free space.

    The maps should be quite similar as both products use maps from the same vendor, NAVTEQ. Both do have text-to-speech as you mention which should be similar.

    At some point Garmin apparently switched screen suppliers (due to a reported supply issue) for the Nuvi and some people have noticed the change. Most people I’ve talked to are happy with the screen and it could be that they have switched back to the original screen now.

    The locking feature for the 360 is also now available on the 350 via a software update. The only real difference between them is therefore Bluetooth.

    I think you have the major features covered in what you have asked. Feel free to ask any additional questions!

    GPS Review - July 16th, 2006
  5. Thanks! Your inpout is terrific. I think I’m going to go with the Nuvi 350. Looks like they have comparable major features and I love the small size of the Nuvi. The traffic feature isn’t high on my list.

    I hear the 360 is coming out shortly (7/21?), so maybe I’ll see a price drop on the 350 when that occurs, but I’ve already found the 350 online for as low as $599. Maybe the impending release of the new 360 is already baked into that price. I’m not sure they will go any lower than that.

    Thanks again! Your site and your personal comments have been the most helpful I’ve found during this shopping process.

    Take care!

    Mark - July 16th, 2006
  6. The 360 is currently shipping and having watched the prices on the 350 I think the price drop has already happened. However if some retailers still have a good amount of stock of the 350 they may drop a little more to get rid of the older inventory.

    GPS Review - July 17th, 2006
  7. I found out that Magellan offer 4 routes selection on all the models and the Garmin only offer one is this true?

    rafael Jerez - July 19th, 2006
  8. Rafael – I’m not sure what you mean by “4 routes selection”.

    GPS Review - July 20th, 2006
  9. I think what Rafael is asking- which I’d like to know about too- does the Garmin Nuvi allow for multi-destination like Magellan? I’m also trying to choose between Garmin Nuvi and Magellan 860T and that would be an important feature to me. Actually, I’m kind of put off by the small screen sizes, but it seems that all models are that way. Also- do both provide a dash mount (even if sold seperately) that is good? I just used the Hertz Never Lost and I liked that the screen gave time to destination, total distance and distance to next turn off, can I expect that in all units?

    Sandy - August 4th, 2006
  10. Sandy and Rafael, The Nuvi 360 only offers one “via’ to be inserted into a route. Other Garmin models like the StreetPilot 2820 offer multiple “vias” per route.

    Sandy, both models do offer dash mounts and I haven’t heard many complaints about the mounts. Most of the features you mention (time to destination, total distance and distance to next turn off) are included in most systems. Some models have a few of those stats on a status page that is one click away, but most feature those items on the primary display.

    GPS Review - August 7th, 2006
  11. Hello All,

    I would like to add my comments.
    I am a big Magellan RoadMate Fan.
    I started with my first Magellan 750n Plus for a whopping $1,650. I love it. I gave that one to my Dad and bought the Magellan RoadMate 700, still have it and loving it very much. Thinking about giving that one to my wife as she will need it soon. I love the fact that Magellan RoadMate 700 has the ability to change voices (male/female)and speech dialect (US English or British English). So I just noticed a new line of Magellan RoadMate labeled the 2000 Series, they look interesting.

    He is my wish list for Magellan’s next line of Units for us.

    1) Figured out away to “COPY” or “BACKUP” all the address that we have put into these GPS units to that it is portable!!! You can use SD chips on the new ones to listen to MP3 why not add the ability to “Download” the addresses so that we can save it to our PC’s. That would be great to backup and to add more addresses on your PC then upload them to the unit.

    2) Add the ability to record a destination that is not “mapable” as a waypoint so that we can goto it again in the future. I was able to do that on my Magellan 750n Plus!

    3) Create “ALIAS Addresses” entries, and by that I mean, sometimes you find out that an address changed in real life (due to 9/11 or Fire Rezoning) but the unit has an old address. It would be great to be able to map the new address and link it to the units’ old address.

    4) Get rid of “Shortest Distance” (since Shortest Time is always best) and add a new “Custom Route” to the existing listing of choices. This “Customer Route” would be a recording capable function (store it to the extra 10GB) that would record your route as you drive from start to finish. Sometimes now matter what unit you buy there are some Routes you wonder who programmed them into the units.

    5) Keep the Infra-Red Sync option that I have currently on my Magellan 700, I love to “Beam” addresses from my Treo 650 phone directly into my unit, works great as long as the address is formatted correctly in your phone.

    6) On the fly POI (Points Of Interest) while you are on the go would be great if they stayed local to you. All the time when you are actively traveling and you want a POI and instead of selecting “NEAREST” you decide you want to look for “IHOP” as soon as you finish typing it in it is NEVER nearest to you. You will find the IHOP in Nebraska or Texas while you are driving in New York!

    I have tried most of the top end units when I was buying my next unit and I still loved the Magellan units best. They really get you right where you want to go 99% of the time. You’ll understand that once you buy a unit and like it and get use to it, chances of moving over to another brand of GPS may not be easy. It is like someone changing your remote control without you knowing, I think you get the picture.

    Bottom line having “a” GPS unit is always better than not having one at all……

    Thank you for letting me share my thoughts.

    WB

    WB - September 25th, 2006
  12. I’ve spent about a week resesarching GPS units for my boyfriend’s christmas gift. He fell in love with the Hertz Neverlost years ago and has been begging me for one ever since. But I’ve seen just a couple of mixed reviews on the Magellan 860T and the Nuvi seems to have nothing but great feedback.

    My biggest concern is that by all accounts there is no way to repeat a direction once given. Is that so? Has anyone else found this to be an issue? We talk alot on road trips and listen to music fairly loudly, so it could be an issue for us personally.

    Also didn’t see an answer as to whether or not you can choose alternate routes on the Nuvi such as Shortest time, shortest distance etc.

    pattyD - October 10th, 2006
  13. pattyD – There is a way to have the 860T repeat the last instruction. just press in the volume control knob and it should repeat the last instruction.

    You can choose alternate styles of routes. The RoadMate 860 T offers shortest time, shortest distance, least use of freeways, and most use of freeways as options.

    Tim - October 10th, 2006
  14. Thanks Tim. Do you know if the Nuvi can repeat a direction once given, or if the Nuvi can give multiple routes such as Shortest time, shortest distance etc.

    pattyD - October 10th, 2006
  15. I don’t recall the Nuvi having a ‘repeat instruction’ option, but I could be wrong. I checked the manuals and didn’t see any reference to that option. You should post that question into the Discussion Forums to see if anyone there can confirm. I don’t presently have a Nuvi to be sure.

    The Nuvi can calculate two types of routes, fastest and shortest distance.

    Tim - October 10th, 2006
  16. Hi Tim. I have two key criteria that I am looking for in a GPS navigator and was hoping you could provide a recommendation. The are:
    1) A built in FM traffic receiver (don’t want to spend more on an external device and don’t want the extra wires around, if I can avoid it).
    2) SiRF StarIII chipset for faster satellite acquisition and better reception (I live in manhattan and the tall buildings will likely be a problem).

    I’m trying to stay under $750, but if you have a great recommendation above that, I’d love to hear it.

    The GPS will mostly be used in my one car, but occasionally in rental cars on business trips

    Currently, I’m trying to decide between the 860T, Garmin C550, Magellan 6000T or the Garmin Nuvi 660. Which is your favorite? Is there any one that I’m missing from my consideration set?

    Mark - October 13th, 2006
  17. Hi Mark – Of those options the first one I might drop from the list is the Roadmate 860T. It is the largest, weighs the most, has the shortest battery life, and is the only one in your list without the SiRFstarIII chipset.

    Of the other three, the c550 is bulkier than the Nuvi 660 and 6000T. Therefore it wouldn’t be quite as portable. Between the 660 and the 6000T, the 660 has a larger screen and has a bit of a premium price since it was so recently released. There are some good prices on the 6000T right now.

    You can compare each of those four here:

    http://www.gpsreview.net/compare-gps/?gps=967-822-852-867

    Tim - October 14th, 2006
  18. Thanks Tim! I think I’m leaning toward the two Garmin devices. It looks like all of the Magellan devices (not just these two, but the entire line) require an external FM attenna for the traffic updates. This seems like it would be messy on the windshield, with the unit mounted, the car charger cord, and a double wire for the antenna (looks like two thin wires with suction cup mounts on the images I have seen of it).

    Are there any other brands I should consider?

    Also, what about the cheaper Nuvis? I think I have changed my mind about the add on device for Garmin traffic receivers – their GTM 20 looks like it replaces the stock car charger with one that has the FM receiver built into it.

    I also just realized that my blackberry has bluetooth, and looks like that would be nice feature for me to consider as well. Guess I’ll be spending som time with your comparison engine!

    Finally, it would be great if you could add information about the FM Traffic to your comparison engine (a great site feature by the way!). If you do this, could you indicate if the receiver is integrated, or an external and separate wire?

    Thanks for a great site and all of the help you provide everyone!

    Mark - October 15th, 2006
  19. For GPS devices in the USA that provide traffic information, I think you have the list covered fairly well. There are other brands, but you are looking at the primary ones where people have the best feedback.

    You are correct that the GTM-20 is a combo charger/traffic receiver. However not all of the Garmin receivers are compatible with the GTM-20. There is a compatibility chart at the bottom of this page:
    http://www.garmin.com/traffic/

    I am working on adding traffic receiver types to the comparison engine. The engine itself is a work in process which is why I haven’t started to fully promote it yet…. but soon. :)

    Tim - October 16th, 2006
  20. What about a comparison between the Magellan Roadmate 3050T and the Garmin nuvi 350? The 350 is much smaller and the voice names the streets. The 3050T claims to be much faster and I am not sure if the voice names the streets in its verbal directions. Which has most bang for buck? Is there a comparison chart somewhere?

    Thanks, Harry

    Harry - October 17th, 2006
  21. Hi Harry, I’ve responded to this question over on the Magellan 3050T page.

    Tim - October 17th, 2006
  22. one thing that everyone is forgeting is ability to program multiple destinations trip. the nuvi 360 doesn’t have the feature and RM 860t. I find it very important. I’m a real estate agent and i program my trip at home. then press on “optimize” button and it gives the best optimized trip. most of the GPS receivers don’t have that. RM 6000T has this feature and it’s aso a 20 chanel receiver. I would choose that one before Nuvi.

    Dima - November 23rd, 2006
  23. Does anyone have a recommendation of the latest and best navi? I figure, if I’m investing $400-600 I may as well get the best technology for a bit more money.

    The features I really like are:

    ** text-to-speech feature (SayWhere that audibly announces the street or highway name of the next maneuver)
    **SmartDetour – Automatically prompts you to route around heavy or stopped traffic
    ** traffic updates
    -Multiple destination routing
    -SiRFstarIII chipset

    Thank you in advance to anyone whom can give me some input.

    Joe

    Joe G - January 26th, 2007
  24. By “navi” do you mean “Nuvi”? Or are you specifically looking for a Magellan since the features you named are what Magellan calls them?

    Tim - January 26th, 2007
  25. I’m looking for those features listed in ANY GPS (not just a nuvi nor Magellan:

    ** text-to-speech feature (SayWhere that audibly announces the street or highway name of the next maneuver)
    **SmartDetour – Automatically prompts you to route around heavy or stopped traffic
    ** traffic updates
    -Multiple destination routing
    -SiRFstarIII chipset

    I’m wondering if anyone has an opinion of the best system with the above features.

    Thank you in advance,

    Joe

    Joe - January 27th, 2007
  26. Depending on your definition of multiple destination routing, the 6000T, 2200T, and the Crossover best match your features. You might want to also consider the Nuvi 350, c550, or Nuvi 660 but those don’t offer multiple “vias” if that is what you mean by multiple destination routing.

    Tim - January 27th, 2007
  27. Hi;
    I’m looking for feedback on two GPS units. I’m considering a Magellan 860T or possibly the new brand NOVOGO V70 model with voice recognition. I travel alot, and the GPS will mostly be used in my 24′ RV with an 18′ trailer behind it. Often I’m driving without a co-pilot, so accuracy with consise directions and traffic updates are a must. Ease of use while driving is also a must and therefore the voice recognition used in the NOVOGO V70 is very apealing. I have alot of music on CD, with a CD changer in my other vehicle but only a single deck in my RV. The 860T’s large memory/hard drive and available space for MP3 files would allow me to have all my music in my RV without buying a CD changer. And the ear phone jack in the 860T should allow me a way to jack in the music to my RV speakers. Lastly I know the 860T doesn’t use the latest SiRFstarIII chipset. But is that a major issue?

    Basically, I’m open to comments on these two units and or suggestions to any alternate units to consider. Size/weight is second to features for me.

    Thanks in advance for any help you may offer.

    Larry P. - January 30th, 2007
  28. Not having SiRFstarIII isn’t a big deal unless you are frequently near very tall buildings where your signal might be obscured. The NOVOGO voice recognition might not be what you think. You can setup specific pre-programmed addresses to have recognition. You can’t say any random address and have it identify the location you want it to go to.

    Also, support appears almost non-existant from NOVOGO. I’ve heard numerous complaints from people who haven’t been able to contact their support department.

    Tim - January 30th, 2007
  29. I’m in the market for purchasing a portable GPS for the first time. I’ve spent some time looking at the Garmin Nuvi, Garmin C550, and the Magellan 6000T and 860T. While I was discussing these with a retail sales rep today, he was pushing the newly released Alpine Blackbird that is significantly less expensive given the capabilities according to him. Do you have any feedback on the blackbird? and what is your pick among the four I’ve mentioned?

    A couple of sideline questions……do you recommend buying from a retailer at a premium price? or is it sufficient to purchase from some of these web only based brokers that offer a cheaper product, but without the support of a large retail company? and do you recommend or discourage wiring the GPS directly to the car directly, thus eliminating the car lighter power adapter. I would think that cosmetically this would be the way to go but don’t know if there is a downside.

    I’d appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

    keith - February 5th, 2007
  30. You can read about some of the comments other people have had about Alpine’s Blackbird GPS. Picking a GPS often comes down to features. For example the Nuvi is very thin (highly portable) and there are several Nuvi models. The c550 is sometimes a little less expensive, but not as portable. What features are you looking for?

    I’d recommend purchasing from a store which has an easy return policy should you find it necessary. That could be from an online or physical store.

    You can hard wire it, although you might technically void your warranty by doing that.

    Tim - February 5th, 2007
  31. thanks for the feedback. for me the priority items would be ease of use. accuracy, and the speed at which it provides information. i will likely only be using it in one vehicle. i would actually prefer an in dash unit, but the make of my vehicle prevents that unless i get a pop our unit which i just didn’t like the cosmetic look in relation to my dash. on that note, cosmetic appearance is something else that is important to me.

    as for the hard wiring, the retail store i was at offered that service, so i just assumed that the warranty would still apply although worth asking. on a similar note, is a an extended service warranty worth considering? i’m a novice at this type of electronics, but it would seem to me that this is not the type of item that would have many problems.

    one last question, i’ve been very disappointed in the small screen sizes of the portable units in relation to the in dash…do you know of any with larger screens?

    keith - February 5th, 2007
  32. The trouble with in-dash systems is that they are more expensive, less customizable, much more difficult to update, and extremely costly to update with newer maps as they become available.

    If the store offers hard wiring, I’d take them up on the offer since that would likely keep the warranty in place.

    The Nuvi 660 from Garmin offers a larger screen as does the TomTom 910. There are a few others as well but those are the most popular right now.

    Tim - February 5th, 2007
  33. thanks, i’ll check those out as well. one other item that i forgot to mention that is important to me is the traffic reproting system. are there any significant differnces between the brands in this area? and i read conflicting information about the nuvi 360…does it have a built in (integrated) transportation system or do you have to purchase a seperate piece of equipment of antenna?

    keith - February 5th, 2007
  34. Comparing the Garmin and Magellan in the USA they use basically the same service. The 360 does not come with an integrated traffic receiver. You would need to purchase the antenna separate. (The GTM 12 which is about $160 MSRP).

    Tim - February 7th, 2007
  35. I was wondering if 860T sends any signals! just had that thing stolen from my car! was wondering if possible to locate it! with serial number and everything!@ I’ve registered that thing too!
    thanks for help

    boris - April 22nd, 2007
  36. No, typical GPS devices do not send out any signals.

    Tim - April 23rd, 2007
  37. Our Magellan RoadMate 860T has problems locking up.Does anyone else have that same problem, and if so is there anything we can do short of purchasing a different unit.We do enjoy our RoadMate when it works, but it has become a real aggravation.We have tried contacting the company with no response.

    Thanks,
    Lost in Georgia

    S. P. Godwin - April 27th, 2007
  38. S. P. – You might want to try installing the latest firmware update, or reinstalling it if you’ve already applied it. Near the top left of this page is a block of specifications and in there you can find a link to the latest firmware update. Have you tried calling Magellan support on the phone?

    Tim - April 27th, 2007
  39. Can the 800 be upgraded to the 860(minus the “T”) by installing the Firmware update?

    Is there any software/map updates for the 800?

    It seems that the 800 is no longer supported by Magellan.

    Any views?

    brian - May 15th, 2007
  40. Brian, there is a firmware update for the 800. There is a link to it near the top right of this page under the specifications.

    Tim - May 16th, 2007
  41. I will be traveling to Israel in just over a week (so please get back to me quickly), and I was hoping to get a GPS device that had Israeli maps so I can find my way around. I will need to travel to several cities throughout the country. It would be very nice if I can use this same device in the USA, as I travel here as well. The RM 860T, according to the Magellan can do this. Is that so and are there any other devices that can also help me as well? The traffic feature of the 860T seems like a good feature as well (I suspect that this feature only works in the U.S.). It must be an English device as my Hebrew is very limited. Thanks

    David L. - June 8th, 2007
  42. Which map product are you looking at from Magellan for Israel maps?

    Tim - June 8th, 2007
  43. I was told by Magellan Support at their 800 number that the RM 860 or the 860T would both have Israeli maps locked on them. But when I went to their website to check on which countries are available for these GPS to unlock, Israel was not listed amongst them. I am not committed to Magellan. I just want a GPS device that can work in the USA and Israel that has similar functions to these Magellan devices. Can you suggest any?

    David L. - June 8th, 2007
  44. I haven’t looked around a ton, but I haven’t found detailed Israel maps readily available. I see some of them include Israel in worldwide base maps, but those probably wouldn’t have the detail level you are looking for.

    Tim - June 10th, 2007
  45. Thanks so much for looking. I have come to the same conclusion.

    David L. - June 10th, 2007
  46. Hey David L., any luck with your trip to Israel? We’ll be making a trip in two weeks, and I hear the roads aren’t the easiest to navigate. If you’ve found something that worked, I’m all ears. Or eyes.

    T. Stone - August 2nd, 2007
  47. I owned one, 860T for about 16 months now, it locks up (freezes) constantly. I’ve contact Magellan several times by email and the only reply I’ve received was an automated email saying we have receved your email. I found out from another web site that sometimes by reloading software it would correct this problem, I’ve done this 4 or 5 times now and problem seems worse then it was before. If your thinking of buying one don’t. I understand this is a common problem with Magellan GPSs (locking up/freezing).

    jgodwin21 - August 2nd, 2007
  48. Hi Larry (& Everyone else who may be interested),

    I could not find any GPS that came loaded for both Israel and the USA. So on that trip earlier this year, I did not take any GPS along with me. I did do some shopping when I was in Israel on that last trip and I found many GPS units that had Israeli maps and spoke English, but none had USA maps with them. Their price range was between $500 and $800. I did check the web at that time and all of the USA maps that would play on those GPS units that I found in Israel were about $300. So buying a GPS unit in Israel that will meet all my needs would be a very costly experience. But the story does continue. I will be returning to Israel in mid-August and I still need a GPS. So I just got the Mio C-520 (I got mine for $369 at Circuit City [it was marked $399 but they price matched their own website price, - I saw saw them much cheaper at some websites, but I was in a hurry] and I plan to pick up Israeli GPS maps while in Israel [they will run about $260]. Still not cheap, but I think a better solution. Mio appears to be big in Israel and getting Israeli GPS maps for the Mio seems to be relatively easy. On an Israeli website, they do sell a Mio C250, which is an older and much less feature-rich GPS, but it does come with the USA and Israeli maps preloaded for about $650 plus shipping. These same Israeli maps will work on other Mio units starting at about $200 for a simple unit.

    I hope this was helpful,

    David L.
    I

    David L. - August 2nd, 2007
  49. First time here.Great web page. I am in sales so i am making multiple stops daily. I need to be able to input all my stops into the gps and have the gps calculate the best route so i won’t have to try to figure out manually which one of my stops is the next closest. I would also like to have these additional features.

    text-to-speech feature (Say Where that audibly announces the street or highway name of the next maneuver)

    Smart Detour – Automatically prompts you to route around heavy or stopped traffic

    traffic updates

    SiRFstarIII chip set

    Weblandlord - September 20th, 2007
  50. One feature I haven’t seen that I have had with an older laptop based GPS is where you can set the speeds by road type (hwy, state road, local Road). This allowed for you to select speeds that better define either your driving style or local conditions as you define them. Does any of the newer GPS’s have this type of feature.

    I have just had my Cobra 3500 crash and it is worht the money to upgrade the map and repair the unit. I’m considering a higher end unit like the TO Tom 920.

    Thanks

    Rob - November 28th, 2007
  51. Hey everyone… my magellan roadmate 860T started acting crazy. It will not respond when I press the buttons. The touch screen will kind of respond, but there is no way to get to the menu screen (that I know of) w/o using the menu button. Any suggestions? I’m really upset that this is happening.

    Stina - January 14th, 2008
  52. iam looking for multi route, gives short cuts, back road, long driving direction, blue tooth , lane assistance, it will tell me when to turn, . i am not good in direction and afraid to drive in freeway, i’ve never drive in I95 or turnpike. my kids always compete to different county and we always drive going up north but my husband does the driving . i like to drive in long driving but i am afraid to get lost. what you can recommend to me beside the magellan. i read the comments about magellan 860 some of them are not good . how about tne garmins? thank you
    agnes

    agnes - November 5th, 2010
  53. I don’t know if you are still wondering about this but you are probably better off to just buy 2 gpses. In many cases the additional maps are more expensive from another country than just buying an actual gps in the country that you are looking for maps in. i.e. If you are looking for Israel maps, just buy a gps when you get to Israel for about $100. It’s cheaper than buying the maps from the united states.

    baruch - November 28th, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright