leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Mio c220

Apr
11
2007

The Mio c220 has been announced, a likely candidate to replace the c310x. The c220 will have many of the same navigation features as the former sibling, but there are a few notable changes in overall design, and some of the “extra” features. Some feature changes are for the better, yet other features were dropped. Still, the c220 will be a serious contender in the small, portable auto GPS segment. Here is what you will get.

The first big change from the c310x is that the c220 comes in a different form factor. Gone is the asymmetrical screen placement which allowed for several buttons to be placed along the side. Instead, this design more closely resembles a small Nuvi or the ONE from TomTom. While still not as narrow as those two devices, it does shave some width from the c310x.

Mio has done a good job with button placement on this device. On the top you will find the power button, on the right side you will find the SD slot and headphone jack. And the speaker is located on the back.

Another seemingly minor change is the color of the GPS. I’m glad to see Mio dropped the white color in favor of a darker color which makes the screen more readable.

The screen is a fairly standard 3.5″ display running 320×240 pixels and can display 65,000 colors. This is very typical of a GPS in the same class. While the screen is not as bright as competitive devices such as the Nuvi 200, it doesn’t perform badly. You should be able to squeeze about 4.5 hours of battery life out of the c220, in the middle of the road of similar devices.

Like so many GPS devices these days, the c220 uses the iGo interface for navigation. This interface does have several positive aspects. It can be customized to provide the fields you want on the primary map display. It also has a nice graphical turn “progress bar” which graphically shows you how close you are to the turn.

Thankfully, the Mio c220 also includes a feature where you can set a starting location different than your current location. It still amazes me that other companies still ship GPS devices which cannot do this. You sped a couple hundred bucks (or more!) on a GPS device and it cannot even tell me how long my trip tomorrow will take which starts somewhere other than where I currently am. Thankfully, this feature is present.

Mio has also chosen to install 3.5 million POIs on the c220. While you won’t find every POI in that database, it does offer a bit of a boost over other devices that might contain less than one million. With devices ranging from less than one million to over 12 million POIs, this again puts he c220 in the middle of the pack.

While most of the features in the c220 are “middle of the road”, one aspect that isn’t middle of the road is price. The retail price is $250 and we expect it won’t be too many months before it can be found for under $200. Overall the c220 is a great value.

34 Responses


  1. How do you feel about the voice volume? The voice is so low that you can’t hear the directions its trying to give you. Plus the unit freezes up on me in the middle of sending me to my destionation. I had to replace one unit due to that problem, then took the second one back for the same reason.

    Sherry - September 15th, 2007
    • Voice is low, also freezes up half way to my destionation.

      Paul Smith - April 12th, 2011
  2. I’ve had my MIO C220 for about two weeks and it’s perfect. This is a real sleeper GPS unit. Most people are not yet familiar with the brand. The salesperson tried to lead me to much more expensive units that actually don’t perform as well based on the extensive amount of reviews I read before my purchase. The C220 has a lot of features for the money. Why would you want MP3 and video in your GPS? The C220 focuses on being a great GPS receiver only. It’s extremely fast when recalculating route changes and can be programmed to take you within a few “feet” of your destination. In my opinion, you can spend $200 more but won’t get a much better unit than the C220

    Tony - September 20th, 2007
  3. Don’t buy this product for one simple reason. The device has a SERIOUS design flaw in that the SanDisk card with the maps is not secured in the unit. Simply by gripping the unit to place it in the holder or remove it can result in the card popping out of the unit and getting lost, rendering the unit USELESS. I travel on business and I used the unit for 1 month, often placing it in the rental car for trips. However, I recently noticed that the card was missing on my last trip and I could not find it. I called MIO techinical support and explained that I did not think it was my fault that the card popped out and pointed out the device flaw and all that they offered me was to go their website and pay $130 for another card! The device should have a latched door on it like most digital cameras, but it does not! The card can easily pop out inadvertently simply by gripping it by the side of the unit. Take my advice and do not buy this product unless this design flaw is recified. Otherwise you would be better off buying a more expensive GPS with a better design, because you will wind up paying the same amount after replacing the SanDisk card with the maps. If you already have the device I strongly urge you to place a piece of electrical tape over the memory card slot to keep it in place, but this is a hokey fix for an obvious design flaw. Also I found Mio’s unwillingness to replace the card very disturbing from a customer service standpoint.

    Jeff - October 27th, 2007
  4. I’ll comment on the C230 – similar & a replacement to the C220.

    1) purchased it today (11/13/07) maps are current as of oct 2007 (not bad)

    2) c230 offers nice clear crispy text to speech
    (female voice)

    3) pretty simple to enter a destination address – can be done by zip, then when entereing a street name it will automatically fill in – usually after the 1st few chars (sometimes as little as 2 characters – ex: OR auto gets me Orchard Street)

    4) maps of Israel (with a hebrew keyboard display)
    are available – very rare (if not impossible) on any other unit.

    5) Super accurate (at least at 30 miles N. of NYC)

    —-
    downside

    1) sd card slot seems useless as the 900k POIs
    are not upgradeable

    2)the user manual on the included CD is not printable (protected – major bummer if you ask me,
    as I like a harcopy in my car – in case I want to refer to it).

    3) a little harder to use for something other then
    just keying in an address.

    4) would be nice if I could add canada or mexico or more POI’s on external SD slot.

    Sam - November 13th, 2007
    • Did you have to install the israel map? I have a c230 but there is no map of israel installed.

      jonah wolf - May 3rd, 2009
  5. This is a better unit than most in its price range, even if it gets no respect. A Circuit City saleskid told me to buy a Magellan 1200 instead. The Magellan has a third the POIs, a slower router, and freezes more often, but the saleskid assured me it was better because more people bought it.

    The Mio c220 can function as simply as the Garmin or Tomtom, by simply entering a destination and pressing go. Or you can plot out a route with several stops, either by entering addresses or tapping the screen. The POIs are much better organized than the TomTom One series, and when I’ve been able to compare them, are at least as good as the Garmin Nuvi, even though the Nuvi supposedly has twice as many.

    And there is more screen information on the Mio. The screen constantly displays where your next manuever will be, what direction you will turn, and how far away it is, as well as how long your trip will last and what time you will arrive. When you get close to your next manuever, the screen zooms in and tilts, making it easier to be sure at a quick glance that you are on course.

    I’ve read several complaints about this unit, but most of them are weak. The screen is NOT hard to read or too dim in bright sunlight, the SD memory card does NOT pop out when you are handling the device, it does NOT freeze up or reboot with any more frequency than more expensive units. I managed to freeze mine once, in a very small town in Mississippi where the maps were obviously miscalibrated. The unit could not figure what street I was on, and I made matters worse by making a couple of quick turns. Even then, the unit recalculated within a minute and found itself.

    Two complaints that are valid: the menu is a little confusing for some of the more complicated commands until you get used to it, and it does use the TeleAtlas maps, like Tomtom, which are slightly less reliable than the NAVTEQ that Magellan and Garmin use.

    All in all, this unit is at least as good as the low end units of the major three vendors, and is better than each in some areas. I’d recommend it for price, and for the more advanced features and quickness of routing than other low-end models.

    Joe - November 29th, 2007
  6. just got mine on black friday [snip, see comment policy]. What a deal for the money. So far, sound is a little low, and screens are a little confusing. I still can’t figure out how to create my own POI’s. Any suggestions. I have a hand held Magellan that I use for my boat and all I have to do is press a button and it marks the POI and I can give it a name and it automatically saves the GPS coordinates.

    Paul - November 30th, 2007
  7. Mio c230 I found it to be good, but however they claim maps are from 2007 I would say that they are from before Columbus discovered America. These maps have tons of errors. Once they supply a better map choice then the device would be great.

    Juan - January 22nd, 2008
  8. Juan – both me (30 miles N. of NYC) and my brother (des moines, IA) have the exact same c230.
    He complains like you about maps being ‘a little’ outdated. – here in NY they seem fine. – Viola Road in 10952 had an extension completed less then 2 years ago – it show up completed in my MIO.
    Tele-Atlas is the map supplier (wish it was google …) I’m thinking they update some states better then others

    still – unit has a lot of features -but is NOT super friendly. – too many buttons to get to a ‘detour’ – and way too many to get to lower the volume. would be nice if they had some ‘outside’ physical buttons for 1) detour 2) volume 3) brightness.

    sam - January 22nd, 2008
  9. I had a MIO c220 that I used for my mobile business traveling through NJ and used this on vacation in San Diego and Las Vegas. It works very well.

    After 7 months of daily use it just died. Won’t turn on. I had a protection plan from the store I bought it and was refunded my purchase price so I’m shopping around for another. I may go for the Mio c230, Tom Tom One 3rd edt or Mag Roadmate 1200.

    The pros of the c220 were it’s size, information on the screen of time until next turn, distance til next turn, distance to destination and time to destination. I saw the Tom Tom One has a similar feature,which is invaluable!

    The volume was a little low on the Mio and setting the clock was a major PITA but otherwise it was an awesome inexpensive unit. I like the POI address and phone numbers. This is vital info if your traveling and need to know if the place is open before you drive to that restuarant if your on vacation!

    The maps were fairly good, I did have a few problems but that was only on brand new developments. One old street wasn’t in the map either but that was 1 in 2500 searches. Not the norm and not enough to worry me about buying another one.

    I do paln on getting another service contract, Well worth the $$$ in case a screen burns out or goes dead like mine did.

    Mike P - January 24th, 2008
    • I had a MIO Moov 210 for five months when the screen cracked. I had left it in my car overnight and when I tried to activate it the next morning the screen cracked. I continued to try to activate it without success and the screen cracked even further. MIO refused to honor their warranty claiming the unit was mishandled. Since the unit was working before I left it in the car overnight, it seems the GPS might have been faulty rather than mishandled. Buyers beware. The MIO product is obviously inferior and their warranty has little or no value. By the way, MIO did offer to repair the GPS for $80. Big deal.

      Jerry - March 1st, 2009
    • How did you set the clock on the mio C220? They way the manual describes is not correct!

      Dave - March 12th, 2009
  10. there is (from what I understand) quite a difference between the c220 and c230.

    the volume since plenty loud on the c230 (unless you are driving a diesel 18 wheeler with bad mufflers) – maps are decent in NY/NJ – my brother has complained a little on the maps for Des Moines IA.

    my main complaint is that it is not all that friendly – also getting maps for Canada or Mexico or other countries – it’s just not there.

    would be nice if someone made a unit (anyone) that is compatible with google maps (without of course, subscribing to a ‘data’ plan)

    maybe even a GPS that is Linux ‘open source’ based.

    sam - January 24th, 2008
  11. Sam – Google doesn’t make maps. They purchase them from other mapping companies. They purchase them from the same vendors the GPS companies use to get their maps.

    All of the TomTom devices run on Linux, but that doesn’t make them much more “open source” than most other devices on the market.

    Tim - January 25th, 2008
  12. As to volume on the Mio C220, you can find and fix the low volume if, at initial booting up of the unit–a root directory w/ two choices is on screen at this stage–you select “settings” rather than “mio map”. Under settings there are icons for volume, language, brightness, etc. Also, under route information screen, select parameters, and there are slider keys for minimum and maximum volume relative to speed. The little mio can speak quite loudly once you spend the hour or so trekking down these two things, the root settings menu and the variable volume relative to speed.
    My only other complaint is that it does freeze up on me (any advice??) and you have to turn off and on again, plus it could be better about advance time (verbally) warning you of highway exits.

    Nels Pearson - January 28th, 2008
  13. C220 is my 3rd inexpensive GPS and the 1 I am keeping (returned Harman/Becker & TomTom One).
    My biggest complaint: Volume is WAY too low for noisy environments (car w/ windows down, bicycle, pedestrian, truck, etc.). There is NOTHING that can be done – it’s just way too low – even with a earphone plugged in volume is too low. I’ve gone through every possible tweak. The designers should be fired for the volume issue.
    Other than that, I love it. Well, that’s because it’s so hackable. It runs on the WindowsCE platform. Comes with 256mb internal flash & a 1gb SD card. The maps on the C220 are WAY outdated (from 2006) and there is NO update available from Mio. However, if you are creative, you can turn this puppy into a PDA with all sorts of utilities, upgrade MioMap version, add skins, AND use updated maps. I’ve got USA, Canada, Mexico, many countries in Asia and Europe…. I think I may grab a C230 (similary hackable) when the sale price approaches $100.
    One warning however – Mio recently was terminated from its licensing of the iGo(NavNgo) software. This likely will mean delay in map upgrades, and may mean future upgrades will involve change in the software and map data…..

    Rich Frist - March 14th, 2008
    • Hi, Rick.

      How and where can I download maps of Mexico for my Mio C220?

      Thank you for your help.

      Antonio Arana - January 7th, 2009
  14. Have been using this little unit for almost 4 months (my first and only unit.) Except for a a few voice turn misdirection (the voice tells me to make a right but the screen in reality wants you to turn left, I have no problems with this GPS device. It recalculates missed turns really fast and accurate, based on “parameters” that you have programmed on that particular route. It would allow you to add in-between routes on your original destination. Programming and learning how to use the unit took me several days but once it is learned everything is simple and automatic. Except for newer road developments around the NJ/NY city area, most of the maps are accurate. POI’s need to be updated though. The unit “died” on me just hours before I wrote this review. I figured that the unit must have been left on when I last used it. It was programmed to turn off after 10 minutes of inactivity but it didn’t. I recharged the unit using my USB port in my computer and I had to reprogram my preferences again just like the first time I used it out of the box. The SD card contrary to the review will never fall off because the edge of the card is flushed on the right side. You need to push the card with your little finger to disloded the SD card. BTW, the voice direction is loud enough as long as it is programmed correctly. The LCD screen can be seen even in the brightest sunlight. The backlight is adjustable depending on the driver’s preference. For the price I paid for this little GPS, I know I got my money’s worth. My only complaint is that the USB port for the power unit is located at the bottom. Also the power button should have been recessed so that it would not turn on accidentally when kept in its case when not in use. Mio..not well known yet in the US but certainly knows the GPS business..

    Ray Kabigting - March 16th, 2008
  15. Have had one for over a year now. Received as corporate swag gift!! (Cant beat free!) Like it, havent tried any other (tom tom, etc) to compare to. Wife loves it.
    Would like to see ANY progress in regard to manufacturer updates for USA maps. Live in a rather new area and roads have been paved & opened since out of box map release.

    Heywood Jablome - April 2nd, 2008
  16. If you looking for a serious GPS unit stay away from the MIO range. I say this as a developer and a MIO user. IMHO do yourself a favor spend a little more and buy a Garmin unit. My gripes are as follows.

    1. Sound is quite bad
    2. Takes quite long(sometimes) to get GPS singnal fix.
    3. The maps are quite outdated
    4. There is no desktop application available like Garmin’s Map source to save track information or to plot routes. Now this is a BIG one for me as I even asked them if they have development APIs that I could use to write my own application to which I was told they are not available to the end users.

    This communication was taken directly from their site(my account) which I will be closing shortly:

    Developers
    Hello,

    I was just wondering if there are any development APIs avaliable for you products as I would like to develop a product similar to Garmins map source where you can see track logs, generate routes and download or upload them to/from the GPS device.

    Also it would be a nice way to do map updates to the device as well.

    I know this is a bit of a geek thing, but I like to have a little more from my device if possible.

    Thank you
    Lindsay 4/24/2008 8:40:32 PM

    Re:Developers
    Sorry, CS can’t offer these materials for you, and base on the company policy, these materials can’t be offer to end user. 4/28/2008 3:48:44 PM Steven@Mio Support Vote

    Re:Developers
    Thanks, I’ll go buy a garmin then. But hey I suppose it does not matter to you as you already made a sale…

    I’ll be warning people against your products

    What a load of crap!

    Just a question, why does the device support recording of tracks if you can’t really do anything with them?

    Not happy with your answer – but it is what it is

    So anyway that’s my rant let the flaming begin.

    Lindsay - May 7th, 2008
  17. I’ve had mine since Christmas and it sits unused. My son has the same one and relys on it extensively. I gave up when it sent me through ghetto streets unnecessarily, and other really odd directions. My son went on his first buisness trip to a destination which should have taken 4 hours. It took him 6 hours with the directions given. Really, really wacked out directions. Where I live there is an interstate split which is dangerous. You need to be in the proper lane long before the split to ensure safety. This Mio GPS waits until the last second to tell me which interstate split off to take. Totally unacceptable IMO. I worry about my son using this thing, so I plan to get him a better one this Christmas.
    It’s also not user friendly, difficult to learn all of the menus and figure everything out.

    Mary - May 16th, 2008
  18. Well, does anyone out there knows the mean of garbage?, That’s what most of this devices are. The real problem is the obsolete maps they using. I don’t know where they get this data from. Making a short trip of approximately 6 miles I found more than four errors. When recalculating routes they send you thru places that not even horses can travel thru. Just take a look at this example: At this latitude (18.045298 -66.945534) it shows a road that has never existed. I grew up here since I was two years old and I’m now 60, so you must imagine if I know this place. Even selecting not to use unpaved roads it always insist in using them even if that trail no longer exist.
    They have and I say they have to update those maps if they pretend to say on business. Because of this I just bought a TomTom One and to my surprise I found to be the same s…, except that it have the new technology called share, but not big deal. So is my conclusion that all these people doing is selling stuff that are not good and then they charge you for fixing the errors they created themselves. I don’t have any further complains other than the stupid maps. A voice of advice: to get instructions a little ahead change the units from miles and feet to meters and also you have to slow down just before reaching your next turn. Also it will also help checking the route itinerary to make any adjustment, even though I think this devices are supposed to tell you, not you tell them.

    Juan Almodovar - May 17th, 2008
  19. With the astronomical cost of gas, the GPS market will lose some of its steam. Motorist will have little use of the device as they cut on unnecessary trips. The GPS device that gives the most accurate and quickest route to a destination will win the game and the rest will fade away. I have not used my MIO c220 in months as I have stayed away from those liesure trips that I used to take during weekends. I am those lucky ones who work and live in the same city. This summer I will ride a bike and stow my gas guzzling SUV away. Perhaps my GPS can still be used while riding a bike, all I need is to make provisions on how to install the device on the handle bars….

    Ray Kabigting - May 25th, 2008
  20. Ray, I’m actually seeing quite a few people who are looking to purchase GPS devices because of the current gas prices. Some GPS devices have the ability to download fuel prices to allow the user to see where in town has the cheapest gas. Other people are looking at them as a way to get to their destinations with fewer missed turns and no extra miles.

    Tim - May 26th, 2008
  21. I’m new to GPS. I came here to see a review on the Mio Moov (I think this model is similar). Bottom line, I think I’ll wait and do some more research. Obviously, the mapping software should be updateable, and finding the least expensive gas is HUGE. I’d like to hear from whoever to see what you reccomend as the “saleskids” are probably biased to what’s on their shelf. Thanks, and happy motoring. Oh, one more thing, is there such a thing as a combination road and off-road GPS? Thanks again!

    Nick - June 28th, 2008
  22. I bought a MIO C220 12/2007 In feb it started having fatal errors in june it beeps and shuts down in oct screen goes multi colored lines and won’t reset. Then it got lines running through it looked like old tv screen going out!!! Sent it in for warranty firtst repair servce center could no fix it. 11/6/08 It si being sent to another repair service to see if they can fix? Only takes time to find out it’s junk. i bought warranty plan good thing.

    Mark - November 6th, 2008
  23. hi,
    how do I find maps of Israel for the mio c220?
    I’ll be in Israel for pesach and just don’t know where to start…
    thanks in advance!

    noam - January 30th, 2009
  24. Purchased this unit because I though it would be a good unit. I have another brand that was older and a map update was needed. However this unit was on sale and I just thought I would get a new unit with updated maps for just a little more than the update map would be for the older unit. However, the C220 had an older map than the older unit that I had. I tried to get updated maps from Mio and they are not available. After calling Mio, I have been told that I have an older unit (???) and they don’t have updated maps for it. In other words, the map it came with is the only map they have. They are not providing any updated maps now or in the future. I now have a unit that can not be updated and that means I have useless GPS.
    The volume is not loud enough on this unit either. Even at it’s loudest setting, it is not loud enough to be heard while driving in most conditions. I would not recommend this unit to anyone. If you have $100 plus buck to waste, then it might make a good toy for you child…

    Ron Blackstock - March 20th, 2009
  25. I my looking for drivers for a digiwalker c220
    if you do send them to my e-mail address
    thank you

    Alfred Grimberg - November 22nd, 2010
  26. I got a mio gps at kmart and the battery is swelled up and cracked the case and they want me to pay 79.99 to get a new one that is not right , they should replace it thats why you get a warranty , but why should i have to pay 79.99 to get it fixed

    glenna - February 21st, 2011
    • If you have a current warranty through Mio or the retailer then they should fix/repair. But this model is so old I’m guessing your warranty expired already.

      Tim - February 22nd, 2011
  27. I want to update my Mio Digi walker c220 with the latest South African maps. Please help with all relavent information

    Jan Hendrik Botha - April 13th, 2011
    • Please let me know if you find an update i would like to update my c220 as well

      Louis - May 9th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright