leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

NAVIGON 2100 Max


Today at CeBIT, NAVIGON announced a new GPS in their North American lineup, the 2100 Max. The biggest difference the “max” offers over the 2100 is a widescreen display.

“NAVIGON is building on the same product strategy that drove our success last year. We are committed to providing GPS systems with features that are relevant to the navigation experience,” said Andreas Hecht, NAVIGON’s President for the Americas. “We believe we’ve raised the bar with a competitively priced, feature-packed GPS device.”

NAVIGON 2100 MaxThe NAVIGON 2100 Max comes with a 4.3″ touch screen display, as well as text to speech. Like other NAVIGON products, the 2100 Max offers Reality View which provides more life-like pictures of major highway exits and interchanges.

NAVIGON is also now offering a feature called “DirectHelp” which is similar to safety features Garmin and TomTom have recently introduced. This feature will let you know your current location and provides fast access to emergency POIs such as hospitals.

Another new feature from NAVIGON is “FreshMaps” which will be an optional purchase. For $79, the cost of most individual map updates, you can purchase a “subscription” and receive up to 12 map updates in a three year period.

Other advanced features offered include a Lane Assistant, Route Planning with multi destination routing, and speed warnings.

228 Responses

  1. Have you been able to download the zipped file version? As of 2 days ago, the link was still bad (it was bad when I first tried it a week ago). If you call support they will initially say it works. I do not know how the Mac users have been doing the upgrade. And yes, the maps are still Q3 as shown when you try to select another map set. It says Continental US Q3 maps right on your 2100 Max.

    Benjamin - November 22nd, 2008
  2. I used Navigon Fresh and I had the SD card in my reader on PC. Mine said North America Version Q3 2008 under map display. My product Version is 7.3.2 Build 39. Did not try the Zip file, did not have much success before loading it.

    Gary - November 22nd, 2008
  3. I am a paramedic and decided to buy a GPS unit. I did read some reviews on the Navigon from Amazon and thought it would be a good unit to purchase. The region that i work in as a paramedic you are sometimes sent in different areas that you are not familiar with, our dispatch can see us on their computers but we do not have screen in the ambulances.

    The issue with the Demo mode in the store is that the Navigon maps are on the memory card, so some stores do not put the memory cards in the units so they dont get stollen, the salesman went and got the memory card and then I could play with it, put in an address and it would gove me a simulation because their was no satellite signal in the store.

    This was my first GPS unit, and when we got an emergency call in the ambulance I inputed the address and it was all good. My partner had never used one before, and he got on it durring our next call and he had no issues with it. I am using this in emergency situation and I dont find an issue with response times. I dont know what some of the others are talking about.

    I would recommend this unit

    Kenny - November 23rd, 2008
  4. The zip files are working now. The maps in the zipped files still shows Q3. They are exactly the same as the ones that you get using Navigon Fresh. Support says they show Q3 but they are the latest.

    Benjamin - November 24th, 2008
  5. Recently purchased the Navigon 2100 Max and I was very impressed. Responded well whilst driving around and always gave the correct route, took me straight to my destination with no problems.
    The only slight issue I found was that the suction cup is very weak and the sat nav fell off the windscreen a couple of times, particularly over bumps, etc.
    But overall its a really good unit.

    Mark - December 1st, 2008
  6. I’ve been using this unit for about 6 months, and really like it. The start-up times are not bad, good features, and liked the improvment from the software upgrade. I think for the price this unit is hard to beat. The accent on the text-to-speech voice is pretty interesting, too. I would really like to find a right-angle adapter for the power cord though, coming from the bottom straight down is a little bothersome. Overall, it does what is is supposed to do.

    Mark - December 4th, 2008
  7. Saw on another forum that their is suppose to be a Map update by end of Jan 09

    Gary - December 4th, 2008
  8. The current maps on the 2100Max shows Q3. The webiste does say they have another set for Jan 09. Let’s see. I just got a 7200T, sweet unit! The GUI is the same as the 2100MAX (updated with FreshMaps). The voice entry is a nice touch. The bluetooh works great as well.

    benjamin - December 4th, 2008
  9. I had a pioneer avic N-3 in my last car. I have been using the 2100 max for three weeks now and have done the freshmaps update. I have found this unit to be easier to use than the pioneer. I would have to say for the price this one of the best units out there.Initial fix for satalites takes about 20 second but after that re-rout is faster than the avic was on it’s best day.

    Dennis - December 8th, 2008
  10. Just got a E-mail, 4Q updates are avaiable for the 2100MAX. Will give me something to do tonight

    Gary - December 11th, 2008
  11. Got the email as well. Called support and they said it is new and it is for the 2100Max (I have a 7200T also). I downloaded the ZIP file which is named Q4_2008 so that I can compare the files. So far, they look the same. The maps are still named Q3 like “California_Q3_2008.map”. I did a binary compare of the map file from the last update (post Nov 5 2008) and this new one. Same file. So if you have updated after Nov 5, there is no change with the maps or POI.

    benjamin - December 11th, 2008
  12. I regret to say that I’m returning my 2120Max that I bought this Christmas. I read on many blogs and did my research before committing to this brand and now I’m disappointed. I’ll keep this short:
    – it froze on me and I had to reset
    – it does not seem to charge fully and definitely did not last for 4hrs
    – entering new destination sometimes got difficult and I need to abort and retry.
    – not easy to find restaurants and shops

    BTW. I’m a real customer and I really thought Navigon was a good value regardless of the critics.

    Sebastien - December 28th, 2008
  13. Hi All, I am waiting for delivery of my 2100max, I intially bought a TT. I went to update maps on my mac but the TT was wiped of everything so my question is the 2100max compatible for mac? i guess i should of checked before i purchased this gps.

    andyb - January 2nd, 2009
  14. Yes, it will work with your Mac. You will hate the GPS though. It is a piece of garbage Let us know when you sell it & get something else. I went back to a Garmin as soon as I sold the crappy Navigon. I can’t believe people buy these things. Look at all the negative reviews of it here. Learn from our mistakes!

    Brent - January 2nd, 2009
    • Brent, I was just wondering if you have given up on this GPS unit why do you continually come back to this website to bash it? Have you done any of the updates on your unit? Oh thats right you dont have one anymore!Did you ever use the traffic feature or the fresh maps? 3 years of quarterly updates (12)at retail cost through the company for maps is about 1/3rd the pice thay are for ONE pioneer update. Most of the negatives you talk about have been addressed by Navigon. How long has garmin been in the game and been able to tweek their units? You should let other people give this unit and Navigon itself a chance.

      Dennis - January 9th, 2009
      • Thats a great question Gary. I am trying to save others from making the mistake I did. That and the fact it sends me comments automatically now. I rarely see them in stores anymore. If they have improved… great! It was much needed. They still don’t include Canadian maps, nor will they make them available to you. Why wouldn’t they make their updates less money, they need something to entice new buyers. I choose to stick with a proven product. Maybe someday they will be as good as some others out there. But until then, they are not a consideration for me, and I hope others learn from my mistake of purchasing one.

        Brent - January 9th, 2009
        • I’m going to add my 5 cents. If you feel you made a mistake in purchasing your Navigon, by all means go buy another. And also while you are trying to discourage others from buying the Navigon, I think I’ll encourage them. While my 2100 Max hasn’t been 100% perfect every single time, it is by far better than the Nav unit that was in my Acura TL. I found the voice to be pleasant and understandable unless the volume was cranked up too high. I can also read the text – when I can’t read it, it’s probably due to the fact I’m not wearing my glasses, which I need to read most things. GPS included. As far as routing, I’ve traveled from the West Coast to the East Coast including the DC area, Baltimore, Philly, etc. some of the more congested areas, and the 2100 Max performed beautifully. I am sorry you are so upset with the Navigon people, but like most things that can be bought, some people just aren’t happy and don’t have a pleasant experience. While you unfortunately had that, and I’m sorry for your frustration, mine has been quite the opposite. I highly recommend the Navigon unit to anyone. Don’t even get me started on the traffic feature – man that thing rocks!

          Hope you find the perfect GPS in your travels amigo.

          Robert - January 17th, 2009
  15. Said it is Mac compatible.


    Gary - January 2nd, 2009
  16. Just used my 2100 on a trip to DC and Maryland and the traffic warnings were on the money every time :-)! This is a fantastic GPS.

    Dennis - January 6th, 2009
    • Good to hear Dennis. i have had mine just delivered and will check it out tonight!!

      andyb - January 6th, 2009
      • Alas my 2100 max did not last one day. we took it out for a test drive the evening it arrived. It did not have certain street names that we major intersections and it was nearly 10 seconds behind from where i was. Although everyone had been slamming it I wanted to to give it a chance.
        I have now gone for Garmin Nuvi 670 as it has maps of europe on there too! We shall see how that works out!!

        andyb - January 9th, 2009
        • Wow! I’m amazed to hear that. Maybe you either get a good one or a bad one. Sorry it sounds like you got a bad one.

          Dennis - January 9th, 2009
  17. Check out pro clips or any product like that. They are pricey but it is vehicle specific mounting for your navi.

    Dennis - January 9th, 2009
    • Sorry, this is a response to # 105 Marks comment about the winshield suction cup being weak.

      Dennis - January 9th, 2009
  18. I have no regrets on my 2100max,it really works great!
    I returned my Garmin nuvi760 at Costco after thee months use. What a crap.Garmin GPS is made in China.
    Made in China Sucks!

    leo - January 9th, 2009
  19. You ever think that maybe the GPS didn’t work inside the building because you were inside a building? All the Garmin, TomTom, Magellan products I looked at in Sam’s Club, Best Buy, Circuit City and elsewhere didn’t work inside the building. Imagine that. I suppose a demo mode is better than \no signal\ and not being able to preview any functionality.

    My 5 cents.

    Robert - January 17th, 2009
  20. This is a great unit and if bought at Amazon.com they offer 2 year Freshmaps and Lifetime Traffic.

    First of all 15% restocking fee is to charge morons who dont know how to use stuff and then return it with damaged packaging that has to be sent back to the manufacturer. It cost at least $20 for shipping to do this.

    Second if you did your research FIRST then you would have know about the canadian map problem and small text. If you have fat fingers then either your a freak or your a fat ass lazy bastard that needs to work out.

    Ti - January 24th, 2009
  21. just checked 2100Max 1Q 2009 is out.
    loaded without any problems

    Gary - January 30th, 2009
    • Gary, Just wanted to say thank you so much for keeping us up to date with the updates! I sincerly think this is a great Navi unit and the current updates seem to make it better every time. Thanks again for looking out for the rest of us.

      Dennis - February 2nd, 2009
  22. I just purchased FreshMaps and downloaded the Q1 20009 updates from Navigon. For some reason I couldnt get the FreshMaps application to read the SD card in my card reader, so I borrowed a USB to microUSB cable from a friend. That’s pretty cool that there isn’t a proprietary cable as this was his cell phone charge/synch cable.
    I started the 1+ Gigabyte download at 9:25 a.m. and the product was fully downloaded and kicked off the extraction at 9:38 a.m. 13 minutes to download. I do have a kinda fast connection in case you’re wondering. My point here is that if there is a bottleneck, it’s not from the Navigon servers. The download then extracted and installed. The entire process was finished by 10:50. Not bad for an upgrade that large.
    A side note, I had to call Navigon customer support because I couldnt activate FreshMaps. Support responded promptly, courteously and helped me realize that I really do need to wear my glasses and that my code didnt start with an ‘M’, but an ‘N’. (that’s the price of getting old!!)
    I’ve notice immediately that the interface is different. The support guy told me that in the FreshMaps upgrade, I would receive the upgrade from MN6 to MN7. I verified that I am running MN7.3 now. First thoughts? It’s definitely faster. The UI (user interface) is better. Keying in an address (city, street, address) is faster. POI searches are faster and now it includes my WALMART!!! YAY!! (I actually hate Wal-Mart, but could never figure out why it wasnt a POI.) So far, I’m very excited and happy with the upgrade. I loved my 2100 Max before that, and now I love it more. I’ll post in the forum if there are any route calc improvements and if that mysterious U-turn issue has been resolved.

    Hope this helps someone.


    Robert S - February 5th, 2009
  23. I just purchased the 2100max and it seems to be a little
    slow at the intersections of streets. Is this due to not having the newest freshmap or what? thanks

    roy - February 7th, 2009
    • Roy – make sure you get the latest software. I have Freshmaps and the update last Nov dramatically improved the unit’s performance and GUI. Make sure you get the latest software update.

      benjamin - February 8th, 2009
      • I’ll second that Benjamin. There is definite, marked improvement from the my original 2100 max and the Q1 2009 upgrade which included the upgrade to Mobile Navigator 7.3 (from MN6). ESPECIALLY route calcs and entering address data. I love the new UI as well.

        Robert S - February 8th, 2009
      • thanks for the info, I have ordered it today. So far I am enjoying the little gadget. It has told me to turn right when I need to turn left each time I go home from town, but I know the way so it matters not. I do this to get used to using it.

        roy - February 8th, 2009
        • How do you have your routs set up? Fastest, Optimum, Or Shortest distance? That left turn you keep avoiding because you KNOW how to get home may actually get you home sooner.You should try it out when you have some time to kill. You can also change the rout calculations as mentioned above to see if it gives you the rout you normally travel. I was hesitant to try a rout my 2100 was suggesting then one day I finally tried the rout and saved 5min. on my daily trip. Have fun with it and try new routs.

          Dennis - February 9th, 2009
        • It wouldn’t work, the right turn it tells me to take is across from the left turn that I need to make to get home, so if i listen to the gps I will be going away from home.
          A few years ago, I looked my address up on the internet and it gave me the same thing. According to the internet map, I was down the road in the wrong direction.
          thanks anywho for the tip. I will try setting the calculations to something else and see what happens though.

          roy - February 9th, 2009
    • It wouldn’t be due to the map version, no.

      Tim - February 9th, 2009
    • Roy,
      What do exactly do you mean “slow at intersections”? do you mean as you navigate through an intersection, the unit doesn’t show your turn onto a street when you make the turn?
      I’ll find some intersections and see what my unit with the latest map and Mobile Nav upgrade does. I’m in Houston at the moment so intersections are quite abundant.
      I do know that the Q12009 update from a software perspective is well worth the money..

      Robert S - February 9th, 2009
      • One time at higher speed it seems a little slow on when to turn. I was already past the intersection when it said to turn. I will keep an eye on this and see what happens.

        roy - February 9th, 2009
        • At the point you enter an intersection you should have already recived at least one warning on when to turn. I would think you would want to already be looking for a street sign and not at your GPS. If you have not done the map update yet you should. it definetly does wonders to correct alot of the earlier issues.

          Dennis - February 9th, 2009
    • Well, have had the 2100 max for about a week and am finding out how much I don’t know about these things, but I am truly enjoying this gadget. It is helping me get around even in a small town in areas that I normally have no idea of where I am going. In the big city, I expect to see a begger difference and more helpful. I must go to Pitt. PA at times and there it will come in handy. WHen I get the freshmap installed, I will let you all know what differences that it makes.Thanks to all who have tried to help me.

      roy - February 16th, 2009
    • I just installed the 1st quarter maps and does it make a difference to the 2100 max. I did notice that I now live where I am supposed to, but there is a little mistake on where another business is located close to where I live. It just seems to be better and am more convinced as I learn how to use this gadget, the more I will be satisfied with.
      thanks for all who trid to help. By the way, the fonts are larger in about three areas. That is nice.

      roy - February 18th, 2009
  24. Have had the 2100 max for about a month, and am delighted with it. I replaced a Tom Tom One XLS which was replaced by Tom Tom four times without solving the voice problem. While I thought the Tom Tom was a very good unit, the 2100 max is far superior both in display and voice directions. The Reality View and Lane Assistant are outstanding.

    I wish that it had more POIs (yes, I bought the Zagat add-on,) but it is still wasy to enter data. I have no trouble using the keypad, and I do have large hands.

    Having free traffic, and inexpensive map updates (Tom Tom was $100 for a single update) is just icing on the cake.

    Just one cavil. I really wish it had automatic day/night display switching.

    You won’t be disappointed with this unit.

    Steve - February 16th, 2009
    • Do the 1Q 2009 update for Automatic day/night display


      Gary - February 16th, 2009
      • Thank you. I just went to the options page and found the automatic setting. I am now totally delighted with this unit.

        Steve - February 16th, 2009
      • Thanks Gary! I went through the options, but must have missed that one. Nice feature by Navigon. The more I use my unit with the Q12009 update, the more please I am. I know it’s still not a perfect unit, but thanks to this website, we don’t have to live under the illusion that there is such a thing as a perfect GPS. All I know is I’m very happy with my PND. The biggest improvement for me was in the address entering. It used to be sort of time consuming, but now it’s much more responsive. Oh yeah, I went out to my truck last night, just to see the automatice day/night adjustment. Worked like a champ! Thanks again for the tip!

        I also just realized there is now a Route Planning utility in the Q12009. Holy Cow!!! :) I’m loving this!

        Robert S - February 18th, 2009
      • Gary,
        My unit didn’t switch to night mode automatically even though it is set to automatic. Any ideas? BTW I know that the switch is time dependent, but this was 7:30pm EST.

        Steve - February 18th, 2009
        • Steve – yes, it is a time dependent setting and offset by the timezone. I believe the timezone is autodetected depending on the GPS location. You can open the ApplicationSettings.xml file and check out the sections:




          I have not tried it but you can try playing around with the sunset delay. I do not know if the values are in seconds or minutes.

          Good Luck

          benjamin - February 18th, 2009
          • Looks like the xml tags do not translate well. 2nd attempt:
            AutoDetection 1 /AutoDetection
            SetOnFirstGPS 1 /SetOnFirstGPS

            SunRiseDelay 0/SunRiseDelay
            SunSetDelay 3600 /SunSetDelay

            benjamin - February 18th, 2009
  25. To further improve map accuracy, please report it using the link to navteq website http://mapreporter.navteq.com/dur-web-external/

    Benjamin - February 18th, 2009
  26. I bought a Navigon 2200T for [deleted] and it is a nightmare. Doesn’t lock a satellite signal indoors ever ( it did once but that’s about it!). Outdoors it takes atleast 20 minutes and sometimes it doesn’t get a signal and dies with just the battery.

    It is interesting to see no major complaints about satellite acquisition issues on Navigon 2100 Max. I may exchange 2200T for 2100 Max with a price match…

    Please suggest if I should abandon Navigon for good or keep the options open.

    Kiran - March 13th, 2009
    • I haven’t had hands on the 2200/T, but I use the heck out of my 2100 max and I am honestly very pleased with it. I’m pretty much a techie/geek so I know crappy technology when I see it and I also know good technology. The latest update provided some very much needed User Interface improvements as well as routing improvements (although it, like ALL GPS’s are not perfect). The graphics are great, the traffice is also very good. The one thing it doesn’t have that I wish it did was bluetooth. You get information on POI’s with phone numbers, but can’t call from the unit. I knew that however when I purchased it so no surprises. I think we all take a risk when buying electronics. I’ve had bad luck with great namebrands and good luck with not so popular namebrands, but for my opinion, the Navigon 2100 max is a great GPS and I would, given the opportunity would buy it again without hesitation.
      pHope this helps – sorry for the crappy typing – I’m in a cast!


      Robert - March 23rd, 2009
  27. after updating on navigon fresh we had a fatal applicationwe error.on contacting support we had to send the unit back to germany.the sole reason for getting this product is we are going on a 3 month tour of europe and this one had greece included.we have had very poor service from support ie.3days to reply to emails, phones calls not returned, and now a week before our vacation we are told the repair will take 3weeks. we have offered to pay for a 24hr courier service but this has been refused. when it worked it was very good but when it goes wrong forget it

    Ann - March 17th, 2009
  28. Yes, it does come with lifetime traffic, the only thing you have to do is activate it on line,easy and quick….

    Robert - March 22nd, 2009
  29. I just have to respond to some of the reviews. I have noticed the whatever the product, Garmin, Magelleon or Navigon a lot of you folks do not like them. It seems as though most everyone who writes a review receives a defective unit. If so deal with customer service. I have and not found any problems with any service reps. Do not be on a one crusade to tell everyone not to buy a certain product, if you think that the product is that bad, go and shut them down so no one will be able to buy such a bad product.

    I own a Garmin, a Magelleon and just received a refurbished Navagon. They all have their faults and good points,I buy the lower end of the units since I do not need all the extras MP3 etc. I used to drive between 80-90,000 miles per year, western U.S. and into Canada. I have have had no problem with any unit. Here is what I look for:

    Multiple destinations: can i plan a route with many stops?

    Instant location: can I get precise location to tell a service truck exactly where I am?

    Text to speech: Not important, since a street sign will most likely be on the other side of the street or covered up by trees or missing. Will the GPS give a turn in feet instead of 10ths of a mile.

    Right or Left: Will it give you info to be in certain lane when on a surface street to enter a freeway. Will it notify you if the destination is on the right or left.

    Traffic: not important, you can use the local radio stations for free if in a metro city. I like XM radio the best. I do go into San Francisco and Los Angeles and the radio works for me.

    Screen display: I like the Navigon the best.

    Voice: none of them are any good. The pronunciation is funny keeps me laughing, no big deal.

    You must remember, the GPS is only good for 80% and you must use common sense the other 20%. All of theme have tried to take me down some roads it should not have.

    Maps: Even if some of mine are outdated, I have never had a problem, I usually go to well established destinations and I may not update for quite a while if ever. Those of you that complain about outdated maps, go work for the map making companies and make sure you get every change in the U.S. that happens.

    So if your GPS from xyz co. is not good, for you that is, buy one from abc co., and I am sure a lot people will not like that one either, nobody is happy. Buy what you can afford and live with it.

    Marty - April 9th, 2009
  30. I agree with you Marty. The whole “DO NOT BUY THE 2100 Max!!!” is just a little too dramatic and ignorant for me. Nothing or no one is perfect. We just do the best we can – we buy products that best fit our needs and hopefully are happy. If not, like you said, take it back and get another product. I suppose that there are people who could purchase 40 bazillion PND’s and never be happy. I know people like that – it’s a sad state of affairs.
    My 2100 max has steered me down a wrong road or two, but I thank God he gave me a little common sense to figure that out. Also when I look in the mirror and think about all my mistakes I’ve made, it makes me a little more forgiving when stuff I own doesn’t work the way I want it to. I can imagine my dad said that about me more than a few time. :)
    Thanks for your post & take care!

    Robert S - April 9th, 2009
  31. Not everybody in the world likes the same things. That’s why there’s Garmin, Navigon, etc. (Chacun a son gout.)Perfection is almost impossible to achieve. If it meets your needs, then it’s perfect for you.

    My 2100 max has gotten me around in an area I’m unfamiliar with and gotten me past traffic tie-ups nicely. It meets MY needs, so I’ll continue to suggest that others might like it too.

    Ranting and raving that something is a piece of junk solves nothing. Far better to itemize the items that are not to your liking, and explain why. It might be instructive to another potential purchaser.

    Better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.

    Steve - April 9th, 2009
  32. Whoala. I’ve returned Garmin nuvi 760 for a Navigon 2100 max 6 months ago. Now planning to buy one of those new Navigon GPS future model for myself and my old one goes to my uncle. USE NAVIGON GPS!

    Leo - April 17th, 2009
  33. Bought the 2100Max due to reviews here – and comparing the Garmin and other GPS units to Navigon. That said, bought the unit refurbished and it seems like new.

    Worked out of the box. I’m new to GPS – learned how to use it on the fly.

    Note: input addresses as your computer would.
    2nd Street has no space between the “2” and the “nd.”

    Search Destination takes time to make the map more distant.

    Recalculating routes is fast. And works well.

    Routes calculated are not always what I take – for work I often need to take scenic routes vs industrial routes – which may be slightly quicker.

    Charging is fast. Navigation looks great!!

    The Navigon needs a well written “story-board” outline on how to use it. Thinking of writing this after I get to know it better.

    Bought 2 yr FreshMaps – waiting for delivery. I have 6.5.2 software and I see FreshMaps gives you 7.3.

    Tech service answered and were very helpful.

    Overall: glad I bought a great GPS!!!!

    Brewer - May 9th, 2009
  34. Wonder when the 2nd quarter Map updates will be out?
    Called them a few times and they would say a few weeks.


    Gary - May 9th, 2009
  35. Had pblms downloading FreshMaps to Navigon 2100 Max. Figured out a painless quick way to do this!!!

    How I installed FreshMaps/Software install:

    OS: WIN XPPro / SP3
    Epson Stylus Photo R340 Printer (USB)w/SD card reader
    GPS: Navigon 2100 Max

    – Logged into MyNavigon Account
    – Activated GPS and FreshMaps
    – Downloaded FreshMaps for Mac / Other OS as ZIP File
    – Unzipped file on PC Harddrive

    – Removed SD Card for Navigon GPS
    – Inserted SD Card in Epson Stylus Photo R340 Card reader
    – Copied contents of SD card as backup to harddriv of PC
    – Formatted SD Card
    – Copied unzipped FreshMaps w/Software install to SD Card
    – Removed SD Card from Epson SD card reader
    – Inserted SD Card in Navigon 1200 Max

    Result: A+

    Navigon 2100 Max = Great GPS!!!

    Brewer - May 11th, 2009
  36. Note: Epson Stylus Photo R340 Printer (USB)w/SD card reader is connected to my computer as a removable harddrive device.

    For this reason, I can add, delete files on SD cards inserted into the Epson SD reader.

    Brewer - May 11th, 2009
  37. Day / night Switching
    Just press the creen and hit the Day / night icon.

    BTW I like the idea of controlling when I want the screen to change from day to night. It’s a little effort. So what? This unit has 007 / James Bond written all over it!!!

    For 3D – I turn off all street names and POI. Clutters the screen. Keep street names for 2D.

    Search Destination is better. Zoom out works well. This indicates my 2100 Max device is ok and that I had a software pblm before (had trouble zooming w/ earlier software).

    Bottom Line: Navigon 2100 Max has an intelligent / cool device factor: their USA marketing should reflect this!!
    Having this GPS in an upcoming james Bond / Bourne Identity film will help give it a boost for sure.

    I put it to the left of the steering wheel on the windshield. Looks like a F20 fighter pilot standing still.
    Works that way as well.

    Brewer - May 11th, 2009
  38. Note: Navigon announced its withdrawal from the North American personal navigation market device (PND) citing, “difficult economic environment and aggressive pricing.” However, they will keep their office open to fulfill all obligations such as map updates and care for existing PND customers.

    Might have to get a NUVI

    Gary - May 12th, 2009
  39. Yap. German Navigon left since 3rd of May.-Thanks to chineese imports. Now we stuck with crap devices made and from China. Now BRITISH and the others are getting BETTER pmd devices than us here in North America. Check them out…

    GEORGE - May 12th, 2009
  40. My Navigon 2100max was my first gps. Too bad this gps does not work in my 08 highlandar for some odd reasons. It takes anywhere from 20-30 minutes to acquires satellites, but it works just fine in my 01 avalon. The turn direction is very clear as it tells you where and when exactly to turn. Also, the lane assistance is awesome. It comes on automatically goes off automatically. The only thing I wish it has it more POS’s. Although that might be fixed now with the 2009 update.

    Anyhow, I recently bought a garmin 775t to use in my 08 highlander. The garmin 775t works just fine in my highlander, and of course with a lot more POSs but when it comes to directions, lane assistance, interface and streets pronouciation, the garmin 775t does not even come close to the Navigon 2100max.

    Neng - May 13th, 2009
  41. Just got the 2009 2Q map updates for the 2100max

    Will have to check it out this weekend


    Gary - May 22nd, 2009
  42. I will not recommend this unit to anyone.I pay 300 dollars and only work for 8 months!. I sent it back to repair and they said there is NOTHING WRONG!. It a peace of junk…
    DON’T BUY IT!!!!

    Hernan - May 23rd, 2009
    • I actually have the opposite experience, overall. I bought a Navigon 2100 when it first came out. I paid full retail price for it, and had to pay separately to activate the traffic and the Zagat guide. But even after spending that much for it, it was worth the money. The competition doesn’t offer anything like 2 years worth of quarterly map upgrades for one low price, and most units in the Navigon’s price range didn’t even have traffic capabilities at all, when I bought it.

      I bought a 2nd., refurbished, 2100max, last month, because my first 2100 has been so useful. (I have a second vehicle, so now I don’t have to juggle it between cars all the time.) It, too, has been well worth the $90 or so I paid for it.

      People claiming their unit “broke” often just needed to do a hard reset on it (usually done by sticking a straightened paper clip into a little hole in the back of the unit). Like many inexpensive GPS units, Navigons run an embedded Windows operating system, and Windows DOES crash every so often.

      Tom W - May 24th, 2009
  43. I have the 7200 and the 2100 max. The 7200 got the Q2 09 update first which updated without issues. The 2100 max update did not go smooth. I got boot up error every time. I did the upgrade twice (after restoring from backup) and same result with even two different SD cards. I eventually emptied one SD card and loaded the Q2 09 from scratch. That process solved my issue. I did lose my settings and previous history. Comparing the maps and POI on with my 7200, I noticed that the 2100 max still has some Q1 maps. The 2100 max even shows a choice of selecting Q1 or Q2 maps. Since I have the 7200, I just completely replaced the map and poi folders on the 2100 with the ones I have on the 7200. Now the 2100 max only shows Q2 maps

    Benjamin - May 24th, 2009
  44. Mine went fine but I still have the same problems as I did for the 2009 1Q maps. Wonder if they are going to upgrade the software?
    I noticed my Auto Day/Night function stopped working.
    It stays at the last setting, unless you manually change it


    Gary - May 24th, 2009
  45. Can somebody please help me. I am going to Florida on the 18th August 2009. I have a Navigon 2100 Max, which I am very pleased with so far in the UK.
    I am trying to take this with me but need to find a supply for SD Card containing North America that I can slot into my unit.
    The Navigon Website does not even give me the opportunity to download onto a fresh blank SD card.

    I have found a supply of Garmin SD USA cards but would they work in my Navigon unit???

    Time is short, please help!!!

    Thanks Ian

    Ian - August 9th, 2009
    • Garmin maps are not likely to work in your Navigon. How soon are you out from your trip to the states?

      Robert - August 12th, 2009
      • Fly to Orlando on 19th Aug and return to th UK 2 weeks later

        Ian - August 13th, 2009
        • were you able to find the SD card?

          Trey - October 6th, 2009
  46. I purchased the 2100 max about 18 months ago. Works great, like all features.
    BUT call their support number and get a recording and a solution that says go to website. Website states that all email requests for service will be answered in 48 hrs.
    I get the same email from them that I send in two weeks. Have done this twice now. They say fill out form. No form twice.

    Art - September 18th, 2009
    • Art, I assume you know that Navigon has pulled out of the PND business in North America?

      Tim - September 18th, 2009
      • Thanks Tim, I did not know that

        Art - September 18th, 2009
  47. OMG! My Navigon died on me yesterday. Had to use my iPhone to get back home, missed few exits, horrible experience.

    Any idea how to totally get to factory settings? I once tried those hacks but then reverted back to official software. It some times totally dies, it doesn’t wake even while charging. The only resort is the reset button and to press it you need a paperclip which you obviously don’t carry one in the car at all times! I am considering selling it and buying iPhone App (Navigon or TomTom). I got the map updates too, such a waste of money, not a reliable GPS :(

    Kiran - September 18th, 2009
  48. I purchased the Navogon 2100 Max in August and the darn thing worked until I discovered I could update my device online. As soon as I updated the device, the darn thing locked me out of the device. I’ve called the 800 number I’m sure 10 times and can only speak with a computer that gives you nothing but redundant and useless information as to what to do in order to get the device working and or repaired. I’ve sent five e-mails to http://support.navigonusa.com/support/index.php/email with no response even though I was promised a response within 24 hours. I’ve also called the 800-800-8300 and requested assistance and still got the run around.

    Trust me! This Navigon 2100 Max is a piece of JUNK and should be avoided by all means. DO PURCHASE IT! If it breaks you may not get your money back.

    If anyone out there has had any success, please let me know; I haven’t.

    Ray - November 20th, 2009
    • Send a note to Egon.Minar@navigon.com
      He is the CEO

      Just wondering, why would buy one at at all? The Company left the US Market and no support at all?


      Gary - December 20th, 2009
      • When I purchased the Navagon they had support in the US and I used it and was happy with their support. I never had a problem entering an address but this S W loop 410 address would never let me go to the next step.

        Ron - December 20th, 2009
  49. Have a problem knowing how to put in some destinations. I was trying to put in an address on a road called S E Loop 410 and could not figure out the proper way to get the Navigon 2100 to accept it. Called their support number and like others have said that was no help.

    Ron - December 19th, 2009
  50. Just enter Loop 410. The system will ask you to choose the street direction. You never enter street direction with Navigon. The system will give you the choice.

    Steve - December 20th, 2009
    • Thanks Steve,
      I entered the loop 410 and it worked. I was trying to do the SE first and it didn’t know what to do. Thanks again for your help.

      Ron - December 20th, 2009
  51. I recently download Q3 2009 map update through Navigon FRESH with no problem at all. New roads in new community? no problem now!

    George - December 22nd, 2009
  52. I see the 4th Q 2009 maps are going to need a 4GB SD card.
    I the only one I can find is the SDHC one. Had anyone try to use this card?


    Gary - April 13th, 2010
  53. does anyone know if i can import, say 25-35 addresses into a navigon 2100 max from an excel file; if so, how? … and will the gps unit optimize the route? thanks.

    joy - May 3rd, 2010
    • Joy,

      You cannot enter in addresses via an external file that I am aware of. There could be some kind of hack, but I haven’t heard of it. There are other units that can “import” addresses, but our Navigon isn’t one of them.

      Robert - May 4th, 2010
      • Thanks, Robert. I appreciate you taking the time to reply.

        joy - May 4th, 2010
    • I don’t know where I found it, but I have a program called Navigon Sync. It will import contacts from Outlook.

      Steve Malcom - July 29th, 2010
      • Thanks, Steve- I’ll look around for it!

        joy - July 30th, 2010
        • If you get me your e-mail address, I can send it to you if you can’t find it.

          Steve Malcom - July 30th, 2010
          • I found it, but it said it was for these models only: 5100max, 7200T, 7200TSD, or 8100T… and it was for contacts only. I would like to import an excel document of several addresses.

            joy - July 30th, 2010
          • hey can someone tell me if someone steal ur car with a gps in it can it be located by signal

            audley - March 7th, 2011
      • Hey Steve,

        Which Navigon model did you use the Navigon Sync app with? I’m inclined to think it is designed to work with BT models and thereby make use of the phone numbers .

        Robert - July 31st, 2010
        • I used it with my 2100max. I live in USA.

          Steve Malcom - July 31st, 2010
  54. I can’t successfully download the 2Q2010 Freshmaps for my 2100 Max.( 4Gb card) Tried it several times, but after the download I get the “hash value don’t agree” message..Navigon support doesn’t answer my question.
    Any suggestions?

    Hans - July 29th, 2010
    • I tried the Freshmap and downloaded it as a zip file, both ways worked ok. Did u try the download and unzip it directly to the SD card?

      Gary - July 30th, 2010
      • Gary, I am using the Navigon Fresh software to download the 2Q2010 maps directly to my SD card. I don’t see any option to choose for zipped file.

        hans - July 30th, 2010
        • After you login go to Navigon Fresh maps under My products
          Pick the other OS option..you will next to pick a download tool and save. I unziped it directly to a SD card. You will not save you old settings.

          Gary - July 30th, 2010
          • Gary, thank you so much for your advise and time spend with me on this topic. I followed your suggestion ( didn’t even know it existed) and it works fine! Thanks again

            Hans - July 30th, 2010
  55. By the way, doing it this way, you can use the 2GB SD card.


    Gary - July 30th, 2010
    • To be honest I have never been able to successfully use the update tool from Navigon since I purchased my device 2 years ago. Updating the way you mentioned is pretty much foolproof and may even be faster depending on write speed of your card. For the backup I just make sure all files are displayed and zip them to my hard drive or an external usig 7-Zip.
      Good tip though Gary

      Robert - July 31st, 2010
  56. Is there any one out there who knows how to restore original info on sd card for navignon max. I was trying to update maps and card was completly erased. Support does not exist. HELP

    Mary - August 11th, 2010
    • Mary: If you download the Mac version of the latest maps for your device, it should be a compressed file containing everything that goes on the SD card. So you can extract that to your empty SD card, and should be back up and running.

      (Navigon never bothered to write a Mac compatible application for updating their maps — so they just zipped up the entire contents of the SD card with latest map data and let Mac users manually extract it all to a card.)

      Tom W - August 11th, 2010
  57. Sorry Tom I do not have a Mac. I have windows XP. I am not that familiar with how to get the info on the sd card. Nothing recognizes the card. I have worked with flash drives and transferred photos on sd card, and never had a problem. I have never worked with zip files.

    Mary - August 11th, 2010
  58. Here is how u do it.

    After you login go to Navigon Fresh maps under My products
    Pick the other OS option..you will next to pick a download tool and save. I unziped it directly to a SD card. You will not save you old settings.


    gary - August 11th, 2010
  59. I just purchased Navigon FreshMaps and updated my one-year old Navigon 2100 Max with the Q3 2010 Maps. Prior to upgrading the maps, I had real-time Lifetime Traffic on my GPS. With the new upgrade, I tried to input the activation/unlock code from the original Lifetime Traffic into the GPS. The machine kept on giving me an “Incomplete Input” error message. What am I doing wrong? Is th Lifetime Traffic automatically included with the Q3 2010 map update? Thank you for any help you can provide.

    Joel - December 22nd, 2010
    • the Q3 2010 update did not work for me as it crashed the unit as soon as I turn it on. I hope you did a backup. restore from
      backup and see if you get that fixes your issue. the traffic should not go away after the upgrade unless somehow the update that got was for a model that does not come with it. honestly I am very surprised that you were able to buy this unit as Navigon pulled out of the US with the exception of the IPhone app.

      Benjamin - December 22nd, 2010
      • Ben, the update did not crash. The GPS is working properly and faster. I replaced the 2GB SD Card that came with the GPS with a new 4GB SDHC Card and downloaded the Q32010 Update onto that new card.

        I purchased this GPS a little over a year ago but never updated the maps. I purchased the FreshMaps update from Ebay. So far, this unit has been phenomenal and I have yet to have issues with it. I will drive around today and see if the Lifetime Traffic is still on the system.

        If anyone else is having this issue about the Lifetime Traffic, please let me know. Thank you.

        Joel - December 22nd, 2010
        • I still use it (been 2 years with this unit) with FreshMaps+LiveTraffic. Live Traffic works good (not sure if it is great), but it definitely warns every now and then. GPS units these days are a lot cheaper (better ones than this unit). Hope you didn’t spend a lot on FreshMaps cos’ there are gps units with lifetime traffic and maps for $100 this holiday season!

          Happy holidays!

          Kiran - December 22nd, 2010
        • Guys, all is well on my end. FreshMaps and Traffic Update are all working on my Navigon 2100 Max. I also just applied the Q4 2010 Update and it is working fine. No crashes whatsoever. Thank you for trying to help.

          Just a quick note, I have used Garmin, TomTom, and Magellan, and I think the the Navigon system and layout are better than those three. Just a comment from someone who have tried all four GPS units. Thanks.

          Joel - January 4th, 2011
  60. Just tried 4Q 2010 update and seems to work ok

    Gary - January 3rd, 2011
    • I got one of my 8 gig SD (4 gig will work) and downloaded the zip file and unzipped it to the SD card. I then swapped the old 2 gig card with the new 8 gig SD with the Q4 2010 maps. All is well with this old unit. Traffic is still working.

      Benjamin - January 3rd, 2011
      • Found out you can use the old 2 GB card also. Cannot do the freshmaps update, but can unzip directly to the card

        Gary - January 4th, 2011
  61. I’ve bout Navigon 2100
    but I lost the card on which louded with it’s programme
    So, can I re loud the software of Navigon 2100 again from anywhere, pls inform me .
    thank you very much

    Gamal Leithy - November 4th, 2011
    • If you’re interested, I believe I still have an original SD card with the Navigon software on it. (I owned one of these and it was stolen out of my truck, but I had already made a backup of its software onto a spare SD card and the spare was in it when they stole it.)

      Email me privately (kingtj@swbell.net) and I’ll be happy to work something out to sell it to you, if you can pay via PayPal.


      Tom Wyrick - November 4th, 2011
    • Yes. You can restore from backup to a blank SD card.

      Benjo - November 4th, 2011
  62. Wonder is he is talking about the 2100, it is differant than the 2100 MAX. I think the 2100 is made for Europe
    and the 2100 MAX software will not work


    Gary - November 4th, 2011

content bottomleft content bottomright