leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Navigon Mobile Navigator for iPhone

Jul
21
2009

While Navigon has exited the North America market as far as PND devices are concerned, they are not completely closing up shop with respect to other types of Navigation. Available now you can pickup the Navigon iPhone app and get most of the Navigon experience you’re familiar with, on your iPhone. We’ve taken a few trips with the iPhone using it in Maine, Los Angeles, and points between to give the app a workout. And for the most part we are pretty impressed.

Pricing, Maps

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphoneAs of press time, the app is on sale for $69 however this is a special price for the initial release and the price will go up to $99 on August 15. Currently, this price doesn’t include any map updates, nor traffic reporting although you can lookup local fuel prices. (Traffic will reportedly come soon.) However it is reasonable to expect other live services might become available in the future for an additional cost. There is no word yet on how much map updates might cost or exactly how the map update process will work.

Navigon puts the maps “on-board” the device. This has benefits and drawbacks. The drawbacks are that they are not automatically updated and more importantly this makes for one huge app weighing in at around 1.2 GB in size. Some people might not want an app that big on their phone and it doesn’t lend well to more spontaneous purchases.

On the plus side you don’t need to have network coverage for the app to work. Stick yourself out in the boonies and the app will be just as happy as sitting within sight of a network tower. The app is also a bit friendlier on battery power when compared to competitive apps that transfer maps gradually over the network. The “map refresh rate” is also faster than the AT&T Navigator application possibly due to the speed of on-board maps.

Entering a Destination

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphone-destinationWe were very happy to see integration with the Contacts app on the iPhone. After pulling up the Navigon MobileNavigator app you can access your contacts and the addresses within those contacts, then select one as a destination. This is pretty slick most of the time and a huge timesaver for people who frequently drive to locations already in their Address Book. It doesn’t work perfectly all of the time though. I have a few addresses in my contacts list that combine Post Office addressing with physical addressing like this:

John Doe
POI Box 456
1234 Main St.
Anytown, State, USA

The application seemed to have a difficult time parsing those addresses and I had to enter a few by hand. We also sorely missed the TeleNav feature (AT&T Navigator) where you can go to a website and enter destinations on your computer beforehand. That type of feature isn’t as big of a deal for the iPhone as it is for typical PNDs since most people keep their phone on their person when they might keep their PND in their car.

You can also pick from a variety of POI categories including restaurants broken down by food type. No store ratings are available, however the POI database is fairly complete. The POIs are displayed on the map as you drive along, and many of the bigger chains like Best Buy have branded POI icons.

If you are in a hurry, you might want to pull up the app before you get in the car as the application takes 30 seconds or so to launch, then typically a bit more time to fix onto the GPS signal.

Navigation

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphone-zoomNavigation on the Navigon app is really slick. The interface has a fast refresh rate and the voice is just about as understandable as it could be given the iPhone’s weak speaker. Note it won’t be nearly as loud nor as clear as a PND, however it is much better than the AT&T Navigator app when it comes to voice quality. You do not get text to speech which is a bummer, however at least the voice is reasonably easy to understand.

About the only significant fault we could find with the navigation guidance on the Navigon iPhone app is that it doesn’t zoom in close enough on intersections as you approach them. Even when you are a few hundred feet away the intersection detail is very tiny and sometimes difficult to interpret– even for myself with near perfect vision. But the “next turn arrow” makes up for a little bit of that fault since it is large and easy to read.

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphone-reality-viewYou also get a few of the interface features familiar to Navigon owners like big signposts and Reality View. Reality View works really well, and frankly works even better in portrait view where the information seems to fit on the screen better. You can flip-flop the orientation of the iPhone and the app will automatically adjust between portrait and landscape views, however don’t expect it to rotate as fast as the Photos app. Sometimes it took up to 30 seconds for the display to re-orient after rotation.

While perhaps we should have expected it, seeing a nearly full database of speed limit information was really nice to have as well. You can customize speed limit warnings for both highways and more local roads. We did somewhat miss the “progress bar” used to graphically indicate just how close to a turn you are when it can be difficult to judge just how far away 400 feet is.

Customization

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphone-preferencesNavigon Mobile Navigator also offers many of the customizations Navigon owners have grown to love over the years. You can specify the route profile, set preferences for toll roads, highways, HOV lanes, ferries, etc. You can also specify you need a detour and set the distance you need to detour around.

I’m glad Navigon didn’t take a “cram everything on the screen” approach like they did with their PND line. On their PNDs this made many of the fields difficult to read as the font size needed to be so small and most of the information was superfluous to navigation. Not so on the MobileNavigator app which includes just the right amount of information at a reasonable font size.

Other typical PND functions such as day and night modes as well as being able to switch from 2D to 3D mode are also available.

The Final Fix

navigon-mobile-navigator-iphone-speed-limitNavigon did a fantastic job with their first release of a navigation app for the iPhone. They took the best of their interface from their PND line, stripped out what wasn’t important, and put it in a very nice iPhone package. They took advantage of iPhone features like the Contacts application for quick access to addresses as well as being able to use the app in either portrait or landscape modes. While there are a few “would be nice” additions like traffic– we expect some sort of solution will come with time.

If your iPhone is already tight on space the 1.2 GB app might be too much to swallow and it does seem unfortunate to have so much mapping data when 95% of it won’t likely be used. However on-board mapping gives big advantages for the speed of the app and fast screen updates.

108 Responses


  1. i am buy a MobileNavigator Navigon iPhone App

    Manuel Pires - June 21st, 2009
    • Everyone is scrambling to go home to install 1.1 North America. I left a flaming review on 1.0. To me it was worthless. NOW with 1.1 however, things seem different. I get a GPS signal rapidly, and it accepts to navigate, not just to simulate it. Wow! That was my biggest gripe. What’s a GPS that is unable to get a signal? A paperweight. Version 1.1 looks nice and reacts rapidly. Hint: Reboot the phone and run only this software. I tried on a day-long-on iPhone and it shut down and it was pathetically slow. After the shutdown all things changed. For me. Try….it looks promising, and in all fairness I will leave another review once it spared me get lost a few times. Cheers!

      hans krause - August 14th, 2009
  2. I tested it today and o boy did it suck :( but I’m sure it is because of Iphone’s (3G) wussy gps module. TomTom will have to do magic in order to operate normal without their in-car kit.

    ezisxl - June 25th, 2009
    • I use it, and it works brilliantly. Get gps lock immediately, and have not lost it once. Problems are 4 digit postcodes only, and the fact that u lose guidance if you recieve a call, which is a general problem with using a phone as a gps device.

      Graphically superior to the tomtom that I have. Let’s hope we get an update which allows full post code search, and maybe even control iPod and accept/reject calls in app.

      Humayun - June 27th, 2009
      • i have a i phone 3g not 3gs ive just bought navigon mobile i cant get mine to connect to gps can u tell me ho u did i……………….it just goes into demo mode all the time can u please explain wot i doing wrong……….please contact me back asap

        dean - July 21st, 2009
        • I’d try rebooting your phone, then stay in one place until it gets a GPS signal.

          Tim - July 21st, 2009
  3. it’s on my iphone. I think the Navigon is better then iGo my way. here is two videos from iGo my way navigation software, it’s a RC version. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1y-VxzI40F0&feature=player_embedded

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPXcYVwvkQo&feature=player_embedded

    kese_23 - June 29th, 2009
  4. Now that the Navigon app is released for the USA, I’ve updated this post with our full review.

    Tim - July 22nd, 2009
    • It looks pretty slick, except that I cannot get it to work: problem with picking up a GPS signal (odd, given that other app’s have no problem finding the GPS signal). I’ve tried rebooting several times. Anyone else encountering this problem and, if so, any work-arounds?

      Stuart - July 22nd, 2009
      • Try turning off location services in Settings>General then launch the app again. It will ask to user your location.

        peteo - July 23rd, 2009
      • I think the issue is that the app requires a GPS signal of a certain quality and accuracy before it will create a route, while other applications will settle for a “best guess” or a more limited accuracy that might not start you on the correct street.

        Tim - July 23rd, 2009
    • I try to use NAVIGON for Europe and I encounter the same problem. From my point of view the program is unusable!!
      I try to get refund from iTunes but is impossible because pass more than 60 day from purchasing.
      I think that the problem is the week GPS signal provide by iPhone. Tom Tom came in next month with a car kit which contain a additional GPS.
      I try to connect an external GPS via Bluetooth, but the iPhone not permit such connection.

      Harry Solomon - September 5th, 2009
  5. Can you play music while the GPS routing is functioning?

    Jim - July 26th, 2009
    • Jim- Yes, you can play music. Although the speaker on the iPhone is so pitiful for music you probably wouldn’t want to unless you have some sort of external speaker setup through a patch cable or FM transmitter.

      Tim - July 27th, 2009
  6. After using it for a few days, I will say that it works quite well!

    The biggest complaints I have so far are:

    1) startup time: It takes a fair amount of time to load, so if someone happens to call while you’re driving, you’ve got to figure it’s going to take around 30 seconds or so to get back to navigating, even if you don’t answer the call…

    2) Searching POI: Maybe I missed it, but I didn’t see a way to simply type in the business name I was looking for… I had to drill down to the category or sub category first, which is tedious….

    Adding traffic will be a big deal, and text to speech, but otherwise it’s a very usable product, and certainly much better than relying on just Google Maps!

    Carl - July 26th, 2009
  7. I recently purchased this app and although it looks great it will not pick up a signal. I have rebooted several times and have let my iPhone sit with the app open for as long as 1/2 hour and still no reception! This app is in need of an update asap. As it stands the free maps application that came with the phone blows this 1 away …. lol

    Dan - July 26th, 2009
    • You have to make sure you are outside and have an unobstructed view of the sky to get a good lock on your signal. I’ve been using the ATT Navigator program for close to a month and if it was cheaper I’d keep it. It is adequate and has nice integration with respect to traffic updates. I just downloaded Navigon and I can’t comment on it yet as I get the red band across the top and that is to be expected since I am inside my house. If I’m able to, I’ll update my review tomorrow. As an aside, I DO have a NAV unit built into my car but the reason I wanted this is sometimes I like to have a backup as my car unit sometimes sends me on a crazy route. Secondly, it’s nice to have when I go away on vacation or if I am using my parent’s car.

      David - July 27th, 2009
    • Dan, the application is just tapping into the built-in GPS… aside from lowering the accuracy level they are willing to tolerate (which presents other issues) there isn’t much they could change in the software to get a better signal. It sounds like there could be something wrong with your phone if it had an unobstructed sky view for that long without reception. Navigon does offer this suggestion for people with reception issues that might help.

      Tim - July 27th, 2009
  8. I have tested the application and it works pretty well. Never had any problems with fixing the GPS signal whatsoever. About the size of the application that is easy to fix. If you are using windows just rename the .ipa file to .zip, extract the maps you don’t need (they are separated by state) and then install it. I took out all the Canada maps and it brought it down in size by a big chunk. So far I am very pleased.

    Tony - July 29th, 2009
  9. ***** Five Stars to NAVIGON !!!!!

    Navigon for iPhone absolutely rocks!! Compared to anything I’ve seen so far, NAVIGON has done an amazing job. Voice is clear, prompts are at the right time, signs and Reality view is the most amazing piece of this software. Any moron can follow directions with this. For $70 its a good deal. At least they offered a special on release day. Tomtom is taking months to release….

    Pros:
    Very accurate
    Great clear maps
    Amazing graphics
    Loads fast
    Doesn’t crash or freeze
    animation and rendering is really smooth.
    Better than any GPS I have purchased so far.

    Cons:
    Takes time to start at first.
    No real time traffic yet. (People would pay for extra features)
    Can’t buy custom voices (male, female, personalities, sexy etc) (People would pay for extra features like this)
    Custom cursor (Car, SUV, pointer etc icon)
    Takes a while to install, the app is HUGE.

    Steven - July 30th, 2009
    • SHILL

      I bought this and it’s an unmitigated piece of crap. It crashes a lot, and can’t ever get a signal. This despite having wasted four hours of my life erasing my iphone and restoring it from backup, as instructed on the navigon website. I am looking into getting reimbursed for this pathetic joke of an “application.”

      simon - August 20th, 2009
      • So almost 1,000 people have reviewed the Navigon app (986 as of this writing) and those thousand reviews had an average rating of four out of five starts. The Apple App Store restricts ratings to those people that have purchased the app. So are they all shills too?

        Tim - August 20th, 2009
      • I won’t dispute that YOU may be having problems with the app, but it works perfectly for me. I’ve already posted a couple of comments on this review as well as in the forums on my experiences. I work in a hospital and yesterday I was showing the app to a coworker in the building and I usually have a difficult time getting a signal for the Google maps gps function so I really didn’t expect to get any position reading from the Navigon. But after a minute or two the position arrow popped right right in. The map showed the onscreen icon for a hospital and my exact position there. I don’t think my TomTom 930 would have picked me up there. And believe me there was no clear view to the sky!! This is an excellent app, not perfect but well worth the investment. Your problems could be related to your specific phone.

        John - August 21st, 2009
  10. are all you people runnimg this on a 3g or 3gs phone? iam wondering how it works on a 3g phone because thats what i have

    bill - August 5th, 2009
    • For this review I did my testing on a 3G, not 3Gs.

      Tim - August 5th, 2009
  11. I have a 3g and it works fine as long as you have an unobstructed view of the sky. Same limitations as a standalone gps and my Garmin has a fold out external antenna that adds to sensitivity. The maps are old. Can’t find my address in the app and my street is incorrectly named. On the Navteq site it’s right on and google maps is correct also. My old Garmin also has it as correct. Keep in mind that the best GPS is no better than the maps it uses and while Navteq is best for US customers, Navigon appears to not be current on theirs. Since the app was just release I think that is inexcusable for a $70 app.

    George - August 6th, 2009
  12. Just got this. Any ideas why I do not hear voice commands? Interestingly enough I hear them if I play music with the iphone (the voice commands play while music is playing, so they are hard to understand). But the voice commands do not play when no music is playing. I have a 8Gb 3G (not3GS) Iphone. The GPS coverage is OK. Does this use true GPS satellites, or is it doing cell tower triagulation to emulate GPS?

    Rob - August 6th, 2009
    • It will use cell tower triangulation to provide a hint of where you are (if in coverage) and that info gets considered when trying to use the “true” GPS satellites. So it does use true GPS satellites with the assistance of cell tower triangulation to speed things up.

      As to the voice/sound.. I’m not sure. Is the phone in vibrate mode? (I don’t remember if that makes a difference or not.)

      Tim - August 6th, 2009
      • yup, it was on vibrate. I turned off vibrate and it talks to me!

        rob - August 7th, 2009
  13. I’ve been relatively happy with the app, except that I cannot get the ‘time to destination’ to work accurately. It seems to always read out as 4:34 or something in that vicinity. What’s odd is that it estimates the speed the vehicle is going at fairly accurately, and also does a reasonable job of estimating mileage to destination. So it would only stand to reason that the time to destination should work as well. Anyone else had this problem, and if so any resolution?

    Stuart - August 7th, 2009
    • Are you sure you are not looking at the estimated time at arrival? That would always appear to read about the same time. The device doesn’t consider your current speed in calculating a time to destination. (Or time at destination.) Instead it just looks at the road ahead of you and the estimated speed of those roads.

      Tim - August 7th, 2009
      • Thanks, Tim. I think that’s it. I’m accustomed to my Acura’s navigation system, which displays the estimated time of travel, not the estimated time of day that you arrive. Boy, do I feel stupid!

        Stuart - August 7th, 2009
        • Don’t feel stupid… I’ve fallen for that one a few times too. If you tap on that time it will flip between different values and I think estimated time remaining is one of them.

          Tim - August 7th, 2009
  14. Navigon for the iphone is not better than the standard maps program.

    These are my complaints.
    It takes forever to load.
    POI Database is very limited.
    Even when it has a gps lock the its very slow. If you miss a turn it may take 30 sec to a minute to recalculate. That’s not acceptable. I have an iphone 3g not the s model.

    Isham - August 8th, 2009
  15. Hi Tim,
    Have you got the chance to test the iGO My Way?
    How does it compare with the Navigon Mobile Navigator?
    Any idea on the release date of TomTom?
    Any news about the Price?
    Man so many questions.
    Thanks.

    Frank - August 10th, 2009
    • Frank: I haven’t yet posted a review of the iGo software. I expect we are getting pretty close to a release from TomTom. As to the price, check out what I said in this thread.

      Tim - August 11th, 2009
  16. I would skip the Navigon iPhone product, there’s probably a high probablitly they’ll choose not to continue to support the product once they get enough money… and then just return their european market never to be heard from again. Stick with the Major players if you want a longterm investment, skip the fly by night Navigons of the world…

    Jay - August 11th, 2009
  17. Has anyone found that (or could someone here test if) Navigon is fully functional when the iPhone is in Airplane Mode with Wifi switched back on?

    I’m trying to determine this before buying, because if it doesn’t fully work then data roaming would be needed when traveling outside one’s home country, thereby running up a potentially massive bill… which would be somewhat ridiculous for an app that is supposed to assist you in finding your way in unfamiliar territory.

    Neil - August 13th, 2009
    • http://www.navigon.com/site/us/en/products/navigation_software/iphone

      “Turn your iPhone into a first-rate navigation system with MobileNavigator. Try the feature for yourself and enjoy the excellent user control and superior design that allow simple and intuitive operating. The application includes the latest map material from the market leader NAVTEQ and can be used without an Internet connection, which is of enormous benefit abroad, for example, as no extra charges are incurred. With MobileNavigator you can turn your iPhone into an equally handy and convenient route guidance system.”

      ray - September 13th, 2009
  18. It looks like a software update for the Navigon iPhone app is due to hit the App Store within a couple of hours.

    Tim - August 13th, 2009
  19. I downloaded the app when the update came out. I’ve been able to get a GPS signal even in my house while near a window. All in all counting the activation of the app and signal lock this takes no longer and may be faster than activating my TomTom device. So there are no drawbacks there. It calculates a route quite quickly and surprisingly is faster than the TT at rerouting when I deliberately didn’t take the turn it wanted me to or took the wrong turn. The voice directions are quite loud and easily heard – it’s quite chatty making sure you don’t take the wrong exit as well as informing you of an immediate turn after the upcoming turn.

    It only crashed on me once while doing a POI search. It does take a lot of power, even with my phone attached to the car charger I noticed my battery percentage indicator dropped 1 or 2 percent. The only drawbacks I’ve noted are that the street names – side and parallel ones – are difficult to read due to small fonts and poor contrast. Voice direction mitigates this quite a bit. Occasionally when making a turn the vehicle icon will spin until it determines your actual direction of travel. This is momentary and the voice direction is very quick at getting you to the next turn. As far as the POI look up I had to initially find the establishment on Google maps, copy the address from there and then paste it or type it into the address field. But I’ve had to do this a few times with my TomTom so this isn’t a major issue.

    Essentially this works very well for me but I see it as a complement to my TT not a replacement. My phone is always with me so if I’m out and find I need help getting to some unfamiliar location I will have this to get me there. However if I’m traveling on a planned trip or know ahead of time that I’ll need navigation assistance I will take my TT. For those who will use this as their only navigation device they will encounter issues that do not bother me. I believe this would be the case with any of these navigation apps. The biggest complaint I’ve found is the legibility of the street names and some on screen info. If this were to be my only navigation device I might check out some of the other apps because of that.

    John - August 17th, 2009
    • I wanted to update my comment above. I used the Navigon app for a while now and like it more and more. I compare it to my Tomtom Go devices that I’ve used for quite a while -currently using a 930. On my 3GS phone the app launches and gets a satellite signal in about the same time that it takes to activate my TT and get a signal, if I haven’t connected my device to my computer in a while to download the Quickfix update the TT is definitely slower. Rerouting on the Navigon app is faster than my TT, and without TTS the voice prompts are actually more timely. I’m beginning to rethink how important TTS actually is to me. In urban areas many street signs are difficult to see or even find occasionally, so a timely “turn now” may be more useful. I’m actually rethinking whether this could be my sole navigation device

      John - August 19th, 2009
  20. Problem isn’t I phone it’s Navigon. They have disserted their entire USA GPS base. They don’t provide us any map updates and support is very spotty. You cannot rely on Navigon. I have a Navigon GPS unit with their latest maps and find a lot of errors on the maps. I am shocked that Apple allowed Navigon to sell this service in the USA.LINCOLN

    Ed - August 24th, 2009
  21. In trying to contact Navigon with pre-sale questions about their app, it took a number of tries to get a response and there was a long (unacceptable) delay. And in addition to that, their single answer to my clear & specific questions was vague and useless. I won’t be buying their app with that kind of support behind it.

    Neil - August 24th, 2009
  22. Navigon submitted an upgrade for there north america application on like the 20th of august, it includes txt to speech and other asked for upgrades

    John - August 26th, 2009
  23. Hey guys good news, I just read on Navigon’s facebook page that they are working on a car kit as well, and they will be implementing traffic info in an update passed 1.2.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/NAVIGON/51924150929?v=wall&viewas=0#/pages/NAVIGON/51924150929?v=wall&viewas=0

    NAVIGON@Harald: we are working on a kir kit for the iPhone…more information will follow
    @James: TMC and full UK postcode will follow in a next update..and donĀ“t forget: summer is still here ;-)

    this is from the navigon rep, I pasted what he said

    John - September 2nd, 2009
  24. Here is a pic of the Navigon iPhone mount, to be released in October. It will come with a charger– but it doesn’t look like it will have a speaker, Bluetooth, or GPS chip. (Though not confirmed.)

    Pic:
    http://img.gpsreview.net/wp-content/uploads/navigon-iphone-mount.jpg

    Tim - September 4th, 2009
  25. Just got the new update for Navigon with Text to Speach, it works great. I love this app, and it just keeps getting better.

    Dan - September 10th, 2009
  26. The new Navigon 1.20 update adds some really nice features. My only complaints with the app is the horrible POI interface where you need to know the exact city. The Tom Tom application has a much better POI system.

    The other is the routing. On the Tom Tom you can block a specific road or section of the trip. The Navigon only allows a crude X mile blocking that doesn’t work as well.

    I do like Navigon’s lane assist, reality view, text to speech, and iPod controls. IMO the POI and blocking on the Tom Tom still make it a tossup though.

    John - September 11th, 2009
  27. I got the update as well. It was larger than the first app, took about 40 minutes to download. Haven’t used all the features but I noticed with TTS/spoken street names on the voice is different, still female but different. Also with this turned on the voice’s volume is lower. I tried it both ways and I believe I prefer it as it was. So for now I’m using it with TTS off.

    John P - September 11th, 2009
  28. I have a couple of questions.
    Does this app do km as well as miles?
    Does it speak km as well?
    On one of my GPS units it spoke the directions in feet and miles
    but displayed km.
    Does it allow you to enter the street first or search all?
    Or do you have to put the city first ?
    Having to put the city first is a problem in some small towns,
    if you are not sure where you are going.
    Are the map updates free? If not how much?

    Phil - October 3rd, 2009
  29. Yes, it does KM as well as Miles
    For street you have to select the state and city first, then the street you want, you can’t type in an address first and then select the one you want.
    Maps are not updated besides the full application update itself.

    Steve Jordi - October 27th, 2009
  30. Does anyone knwo whether it’s possible to disable that horrible “feature” they introduced with 1.2 that thickens the street drawing when you slow down?

    I was driving with four lanes at my left and when I slowed down, those four lanes merged together to draw an ugly fat huge lane without details.
    Worked perfectly under 1.1. What did they have in mind with 1.2

    Steve Jordi - October 27th, 2009
  31. updates

    arthur - November 1st, 2009
  32. it’s great!!!
    but its POI is….poorly!!!
    and there is no way to add custom POI now (ver 1.3)

    nhan - November 18th, 2009
  33. I just downloaded this app to my iTunes, is it ok to install it in more than one iPhone??, I have two iPhones (My wife’s and mine), do I have pay twice and install separately??.

    Jeff Thomas - December 31st, 2009
    • as far as I can tell, Jeff, as long as both of your iPhones are working off the same iTunes library, you can install it on both phones. At least it seems to have worked fine for me.

      Stuart - December 31st, 2009
      • I have used my Navigon iPhone app for a few weeks now and have been very impressed. Originally I would look at the picture and watch it change as I drove along. Now I find that I only look at it if I have to as I go by the turn by turn voice and play my iTunes music instead. Nicely the music dims down automatically to allow the turn by turn voice to talk, and then the music comes back. Pretty slick. I have not had problems synching with GPS at all. In fact, I just put my iPhone on the car seat next to me and have the songs and turn by turn voice come through the car speakers using my FM charger adaptor. The one question I have is I do not understand the option called “blocks” that you can specify a distance for. I do not understand what that does and there are not instructions.

        Bob - January 25th, 2010
        • Think of “block” like “roadblock”. If there is something shutting down a section of road you can use it to route around by estimating the distance of the block.

          Tim - January 25th, 2010
  34. I am considering this app for use on my bicycle. I have watched the dutch version on youtube several times and it looks pretty slick. Has anyone else used it like this, how does the battery hold up? I have a 3gs and the map/gps app that comes with the phone seems to work very well but I like the idea of voice prompts.

    Greg - February 21st, 2010
  35. I have an iphone 3gs.Can anyone knows how can i hear the voice commands of navigon in my bluetooth device(clip ultra)when i ride my motorbike? when i press the main button on my paired bluetooth device the iphone enables the voice control command.

    kostas - March 13th, 2010
    • I can also confirm that I would love voice commands via the bluetooth. I have a Porsche cabriolet and the environment requires a bluetooth voice command.

      Paul - March 15th, 2010
  36. I can hear voice commands on my bluetooth headset.
    try turning the bluetooth on and off again. or go into the GPS settings and enable it.

    phil - March 15th, 2010
    • Nope. Still does not work for me. Do you have a stereo bluetooth?

      Paul - March 15th, 2010
      • I have both, and it works fine with both.
        I have Jabra BT8040
        and stereo is Motorola S9-HD

        phil - March 16th, 2010
        • Yes, that explains it. Both devices at A2DP (Advanced Audio Distribution Profile) sometimes known as stereo audio streaming. Although your Jabra headset is mono, it is one of the few bluetooth devices to support this particular profile which was designed for stereo speakers and headsets. With the introduction of iPhone v3.0, Apple put in support for A2DP to allow streaming of the audio to speakers and headsets and thus it is the iPhone OS that is performing the bluetooth and not the Navigon application. My preference was to use a Motorola CrystalTalk headset which eliminates wind noise when using the phone (great with the top down and road noise). But alas it does not support A2DP. :-(. Thanks for the information.

          Paul - March 16th, 2010
  37. my bluetooth is not stereo.when you say gps settings you mean the iphone gps settings or navigon? cause i cant find a tab in iphone settings abou gps.

    kostas - March 16th, 2010
    • sorry, the GPS NAVIGON settings.im sure there was an option for switch between spkr and bluetooth, but now I cant find it.
      under options general near volume.maybe I am loosing it.

      phil - March 16th, 2010
      • ok so I am not loosing it. when I connect to my Motorola S9-HD
        it does show up in the settings.

        phil - March 29th, 2010
  38. I got navigon for iPhone just before Christmas on sale.
    I have a few GPS devices, I had a magellan a few years ago and sold it, I now have a Jensen,tom tom and a garmin nuvi 250.
    I use the garmin as my main GPS.
    I would recommend the navigon for iphone if you do not want to buy a GPS unit,
    I would not recommend it for a professional driver like me, I drive a limo.
    simply because it cuts out when you get a phone call, and takes 15-20 seconds to return to working. if you can put up with this, then OK, but I can not.
    it is a great back up for me, and lets face it, too kool.
    I did not need this on my iPhone, I just had to have it as a kool gadget.
    I do like how you can search POI with the inter grated google function,
    it is super fast with my 3g. ten times faster than my garmin.
    I like the text to speech and the lane assist.
    I also like the fact that I can hear the instructions thru my blootooth headset.
    wait till it goes on sale, I love it, I do use it as my main GPS device in my personal car,
    but just no good for the limo, only use as a back up.
    I give it 4 out of five stars only because it takes too long to reboot after a phone call.

    phil - March 16th, 2010
  39. I have a Pioneer DEH-P7100BT In-dash receiver and was wondering if anyone has had any experience as to whether or not the turn-by-turn comes through the receiver or does it only use the iPhone speaker? Thanks

    Brian - March 29th, 2010
  40. Crap App! This app is terrible. It never picks up a signal (even when Google Maps can show me exactly where I’m at). The couple of times I’ve actually used it for directions it’s taken me to the wrong place (thank goodness I had Google Maps to get me there). The POI database is rather pathetic as well, unless it’s a major chain it’s not likely to be in the navigon POI database. I’m not impressed with this app at all.

    John - April 16th, 2010
    • You may have a problem with your phone. I have a 3GS and this app works almost flawlessly for me. I’m in Baltimore and it even picks me up in the tunnels here, probably because of the strong 3G cell signal there. With the new 1.5 update the lane guidance/reality view gives you a picture of the tunnel including overhead lights as you go through it. All in all it’s the best gps I’ve used.

      John P - April 16th, 2010
  41. We are planning a trip to Italy, Spain, France and London.
    Has anyone used Navigon in a “walking mode” in any of the big cities in these countries?
    If so, please advise if help us getting around the major cities in these countries?

    Also I’d be interested in comments about the quality of their POI data base.

    Thanks, Den

    DennyZ - April 19th, 2010
  42. Hello All.

    I have the latest Navigon MobileNavigator update v1.5.1 for my iPhone 3GS running the latest OS (v 3.1.3). I also purchased the 3D Panoramic View. I downloaded it as recommended via Wi-Fi. Even though it downloaded to the iPhone. it never really showed that it finished and my iPhone stayed on continuously. When I tried the application with 3D View enabled it showed nothing in 3D. Everything was flat and the streets were skewed. The skyline was different than the regular one. I have tried to re-install and re-download but no change.

    Anyone have any ideas to make this 3D Panoramic View work properly??

    Much Appreciated,

    Dan

    Dan - April 20th, 2010
    • hi dan

      have the exact same problem with the exact same setup. have you found a solution?
      thx!!!
      dom

      dom - June 29th, 2010
    • hi – interesting. the following solved my problem: instead of trying to re-activate my purchase (with never disappearing sand clock) i said “de-install”. this only took a few seconds, didn’t de-sintall, ut solved the problem. so no i can see all in nice 3D after i had told my iphone to de-install.

      dom - June 29th, 2010
  43. My navigon is unable to pick up the GPS, was working until 2 updates previous. When activating the nav it requests location services to be turned on, with one of the above questions the replay was to go to services and turn it off. Neither method helps. Do get simulation though. Every time.
    My GS maps has no problem, but it came with the phone, Navigon was purchased for quite an amount, when it was working it was nice, now its just taking up memory.
    Resolution please.

    Garry - April 23rd, 2010
    • I’d contact Navigon, Gary.

      Tim - April 23rd, 2010
    • sorry to say this, but you may have to reset your iphone, I had the same problem.

      phil - April 23rd, 2010
      • Completely restored the iphone, not happy, is right.
        Didn’t help.
        removed the navigon from the iphone and computer then downloaded again, nothing happening there either.
        soft reset again on the iphon. the only thing consistant is the Simulation and GPS inadiquite.
        The maps program on my iphone works just fine with the GPS.
        Don’t think it’s an issue with the iphone.
        I have requested suggestions from navigon. No reply yet, different time zone I guess. I really hope if there are issues with these Navigon updates they’re up front with it.

        garry harrison - April 25th, 2010
        • Problem resolved.
          The GPS wasn’t working well with any software interfaces.
          Navigon, Maps, and Tracker.
          Replaced Iphone 3GS, under warranty, and all my problems went away.
          Still disappointed not hearing from Navigon though.
          symtom of phone problem was the GPS accuracy and inability to follow motion.

          GARRY - May 3rd, 2010
  44. I have been using Navigon with iPhone G3s for the past couple month. In general the GPS gave me good guidance to my trips.

    But today I had the worst nightmare like experience with the Navigation system. I wanted to visit my friend about 10 miles or so away. I activated Navigon and tried to enter the address of the person’s residence. After I entered the name of State and the city, I realized that the street name where he lives can not be entered. The message on the screen was “No result found”. I even tried to enter connecting roads or main thoroughfares, but none of the names of the roads were accepted even though these names were on the map of the area. The section of the city has been in existence for many many decades. At last I gave up to use the Navigon and made my trip old fashioned way, reading map turn by turn.

    I will give you my address and friends. Please try to enter the address to activate the Navigon Mobile Navigator. Please let me the result .

    3513 Plyers Mill CT., Kensington, MD 20895. Destination 13500 Keats Terrace, Rockville, MD 20855.

    My guess is that the Navigon GPS system ommitted out not only the address in question but also quite large area or segment of the city. Please make sure your Navigon works as intended.

    Kyung-koo - June 15th, 2010
  45. Hi, I bought my Navigon software in Canada. Could anyone tell me if I can use the Navigon in the US without incurring roaming or data charges?

    Thanks

    Larry - June 17th, 2010
    • Hi gps does not cost through the carrier so you should not see a charge. Turn off data roaming on the iPhone. I was just in Canada and had no problems using iPhone and navigon without data

      Russ Blaisdell - June 27th, 2010
  46. Have been using Navigon (Europe) on the iPhone since months – much to my satisfaction. Since 1.5.0 it got much more stable, was not losing GPS signal, quite fine. 1.5.1 was a step back, but still all right.
    A real catastrophy is 1.6.0 – trying to run it on an iPhone 3gs with OS 4.0, it keeps crashing. Now the point – the problem is that whenever you define an address or any target, it starts looking for interesting points in the vicinity – which runs over the data connection (!!) and lets the gadget crash. Just disable mobile data on the iPhone, and it runs perfectly.
    Crazy, but true…

    Tom - July 15th, 2010
  47. Hi, can anyone tell me where I could by maps of Canada and the US that work in the Navigon version 1.4.0 (Europe) on my iPhone 3G? Pekka (Finland)

    Pekka Hirvonen - July 15th, 2010
  48. I don’t think it is possible to add maps. The North American app is on sale here in the US for 45% off their regular price. See if it is on sale in your area.

    ray - July 15th, 2010
  49. i have updated the app to v1.6 i have two issues tho 1, in airplane mode the gps never finds a signal and the other when i first open the app it shows a screen that list the weather and parking and gas stations and such this screen seems to use either edge or 3g how do i stop this from happening thanks

    bill - July 24th, 2010
  50. Does Navigon require a cell signal to work? I presume it’s like the Tom Tom app which has the complete map set preloaded and that it will work even without cell service?

    Also, the POI database seems weak. Only about 2 million POI’s compared to Garmin which boasts 6 million. Come guys, it’s catch up time!

    Paul O’Rama - August 9th, 2010
    • @ Paul – the Navigon maps are local so no need for a cell or data connection. It relies on the built-in GPS.

      Re: POI’s – I’d rather have the free space than useless, outdated POI’s for places I’ll never visit on my mobile device. Further, the data is constantly changing/dynamic and phones can incorporate google or any other online source quicker with a data connection. It’s a lot more efficient and accurate. Though, I’d keep some POI’s like rest stops, museums, libraries, etc….but I’d be fine if mobile apps forever did away with the vast majority of POI’s like restaurants, shops, etc…

      Mark - August 10th, 2010
      • Thanks for the info

        Paul O’Rama - August 13th, 2010
  51. Do I have to allow the app to use my current location to work? It seems I would have to but I ask because I don’t see the iPhone current location arrow indicator on any of the screen shots and wonder if this is to prolong battery life?

    Larry - August 15th, 2010
  52. Nevermind. I downloaded the app and see you have to have Location Services on to get a GPS signal.

    Larry - August 15th, 2010
    • Correct, versions of iOS prior to 4 don’t show the location indicator, thus screenshots taken while running iOS < 4 won't show the location indicator. Location Services are required to be turned on for the app to obtain your location.

      Tim - August 15th, 2010
  53. Anyone know how to turn off Navigon after you’ve used it without turning the phone off? I haven’t found an on/off/exit for the app and that it drains my battery and runs hot even after I leave the opp (press on home). Googled and found nothing on this subject.

    Charles - September 6th, 2010
    • Double push the home button, you should see the Navigon app in the tray on the bottom. Hold your finger over an icon until they start to wiggle then you can close the Navigon app.

      Mark - September 6th, 2010
    • If the location indicator – the arrow by the battery symbol at the top of the screen goes out when you exit the app, the app is off and is not the one draining your battery. If the location arrow stays on after you exit then it must still be running and closing it from the tray as Mark suggested should close it. However sometimes doing a reboot – holding down the sleep/wake and home buttons until the Apple logo comes up – is necessary to shut a stubborn app down and make it behave.

      John P - September 6th, 2010
  54. Thanks Mark. Tried it and Navigon does not appear in ray. Every other app but.

    Thanks John, for the arrow info. It appears that when I leave the ap by simply hitting the home button, the arraow remain on. It only when I cancer the trip that it goes out. Never knew I had to…duh! Anyway, why isn’t any of this mentioned anywhere in the manual? or did i miss it as it would appear that I’m the only one who doesn’t know how to shutdown from the lack of available info on my Google search.

    Thanks again!!!

    Charles - September 6th, 2010
  55. Is there a way to turn off voice commands other then turning down the volume? I have my iphone 4 connected to my car sound system through an auxiliary connector and listening to wonderRadio. If I turn down the sound of the voice on Navigon, it also turns down the sound for the iphone/WonderRadio application.

    Thanks -Keith

    Keith - September 22nd, 2010
  56. Using 3GS with iOS 4.1 and Navigon 1.6 since July 2010; I like many of the Navigon features, but have lots of problems with getting satellite reception, and winding up at inaccurate destinations, so I no longer tust my iPhone Navigon. Any suggestions to optimize satellite reception? When/how are resident maps updated, if ever? Am I just expecting too much of a cell phone-based GPS navigator vs. single-function navigation devices?

    Hank - October 17th, 2010
  57. Navigon gps on iPhone 4
    I have been using the Navigon gps program on the iPhone 4 for 3 months with out a problem until last week. The problem I am having is there are no spoken street names any more. This feature was working but all of a sudden stopped. I went into the options and made sure the volume was on. The iPhone when playing music works fine. I am wondering what I did?
    __________________

    Bill - November 21st, 2010
  58. In the Netherlands NAVIGON is offered for free by T-Mobile iPhone users. That’s cool. I believe it works pretty well, although it looses GPS signal easily, especially when you use another app that uses GPS. I’ve got it hooked to my car-audio and listen music in the meanwhile. What I like is that the music is neatly faded when driving instructions are spoken. However, when you set the NAVIGON sound level to 0, it also doesn’t fade the music anymore. Very good! For a free navigation product, I believe its worth every cent…

    Paul - November 30th, 2010
  59. I like the app for all the reasons mentioned. But!!! 1.6GB to download for an update? How long does it take the average user to complete an update? With high speed cable connection this update took about 2 hours. (unfortunately you cannot download the update directly to the iphone). The app has nice features but not worth the wait in my opinion. I have never waited more than several minutes to download an update for an application. I took this app off of my 3G because it caused problems but I will try it on the iphone 4 to see if there are any issues.

    Jay - December 31st, 2010
  60. I just bougth navigon for my iphone but it is scrambling i lost the signal while i am driving bytheway I do not have internet if it is going to the reason

    sereke - February 2nd, 2011
  61. Using Navigon app on Iphone 4. How do you get rid of the “caution” voice when you go over the speedlimit?

    james mcmanamy - July 11th, 2011
  62. I’m taking my iPad2 and my iPhone 4 (both ATT) to Scotland and Ireland. Can I use my Navigon Europe maps with out incurring data or roaming charges? Which would be better to use, iPad or iPhone? Will I need a different sim card?

    s. Cox - July 20th, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright