leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Sony NAV-U NV-U50, NV-U70

Dec
13
2005

Sony is still trying to push into the GPS market with a new line of GPS receivers called Sony Nav-U. The Previous GPS system by Sony produced poor results. The new GPS receiver comes with a 3.5 inch touch screen display and a wide (80°) viewing angle.

The NV-U50 will feature maps of the UK, Ireland, and Farnce down to Paris. The NV-U50T also features traffic updates integrated into the GPS receiver.

The NV-U70 comes with traffic support as a standard option and includes a 1GB flash drive to store most of the Europe mapping data on the device. Both new GPS navigation devices use NAVTEQ data and should be available just after the new year.

85 Responses


  1. Pros: Great display. Displayed speed verses car speedometer accurate. Re-calculates routes fast. Easy interface to learn.

    Cons: No map updates from Sony and according to the Customer Service Reps I’ve spoken with Sony does not intent to update the road maps. Even worst, on the website Sony has a link that misleads you into believing there are updates and there are none. My town had road construction that was completed about 2 years ago. I brought my NV-U70 about 3 months ago. A freind of mine brought an IWay 350c a month after I purchased my GPS unit. His have the updated roads.

    Recommendation: Make sure the manufacturer has or intend to offer map updates for the unit that you buy. Sony has a potentially great GPS in the NV-U70, but if they will not offer an update for roads, it is hard to recommend their GPS units to anyone. I mean, if the road you are traveling does not exist on the unit you’re depending on to give you directions, that makes it a waste of $400 – $500.

    Milt B - September 4th, 2006
  2. I fully agree the Sony NV-U70, could be a really good GPS, but without updates it is kinda useless. I have had mine for 6 month’s and found it problematic especially when it get’s warm it may send you in circles. If I try to save a waypoint on the fly and attemtp to go back to that spot at a later date, it has twice been off by miles.

    In my opinion the Garmin cannot be beat! Can you say EBAY??

    John - November 7th, 2006
    • There is an update CD online to buy, in order to update your device from PC only i guess. I’ve foubd it cause i’m bidding on a GPS NV-U50 on ebay from Italy. :-)
      Hope is helpfull.

      http://bit.ly/cAoyLT

      Nicola - January 14th, 2010
  3. I bought the Sony NV-U70, and spent $480.00.The
    price was not an issue because I felt I was getting a great GPS.But as I start using it I found out the roads that have being built are added and the last 2yrs are not able to be found. And being and Realastate this makes my $480.00 GPS useless.I spoke with the taech at Sony and yes they do have a misleading web site that make buyers think Sony has the plans of adding updates. They even send a USB port cable with the package to upload updates that they have no plans to add.So my advice is stay away from the Sony GPS until Sony respect it’s consumers and provide a much better product.If I could return my GPS I really would.I hope someone from Sony read this and maybe relize that consumers feel ripped off on there product.

    JAY - December 17th, 2006
  4. I am trying to update the maps in my Sony NV-U70
    Can you tell me where and how!
    I am compltely lost.

    JP Mura

    Mura - March 5th, 2007
  5. Mura, I don’t believe Sony has released any map updates for the NV-U70.

    Tim - March 5th, 2007
  6. JP, Tim is right. In fact when I spoke with the tech rep at Sony, it seems that Sony has no plans on doing any updates on this product. I hope more people see this tread and avoid this unit or any of Sony’s GPS units.

    Milt B - March 5th, 2007
  7. When I bought my GPS Unit, I too, was under the impression that updates would be available. Being a limo driver on the weekends, I depend on accurate road directions. For the most part the NV-U70 is a fairly reliable unit but I recently saw a message that came up after I hit the “agree” button at start up. It said that my maps are at least 12 months old and that I should “purchase” an update? First of all, Trying to find an update is apparently a futile attempt and second, why would this be a “puchase”? I know that some of you talked to a “Sony tech” but was this actually at Sony or was this a tech at a local store? Is it possible to get ahold of someone at a higher level in Sony to get updates initiated. Spending $400-$500 on a GPS device would certainly warrant the need for an update at the very least an annual occurance.

    Justin Z. - March 19th, 2007
  8. Regarding the need to “purchase” map updates, I think it is acceptable for companies to charge for map updates. A mapping company’s purpose is to constantly update their data. This comes at a huge cost in labor. As a result they charge GPS manufacturers for data updates. This is reasonable. The GPS manufacturer can’t really eat that charge, so they pass it on to the consumer if they want to upgrade their product. I think this is acceptable.

    As to at least offering the update, I agree, Sony should at least make map updates available. This is why I often try to steer people away from companies that are new at producing GPS devices. If the company decides the market isn’t profitable they will stop making devices and stop (or never start) providing updates. Sony has given indications they might pull out of the GPS market in the USA which, unfortunately is not a good sign for people who have purchased their GPS devices. Hopefully Sony will turn things around with their GPS devices, but right now the signs are not pointing that way.

    Tim - March 19th, 2007
  9. I wasn’t aware of the process companies use to update thier maps. Curious though, by your explanation, this is a third party vendor and not actually the supplier (of the device). So, wouldn’t it make sence to have Sony at least offer a website (or something)to let users update their maps. I mean, if Sony wants out, why couldn’t we still do updates if this is a third party? I do realize that Sony would like to make money too by offering ud’s but if all sign are pointing south, why not?

    Justin Z. - March 19th, 2007
  10. Hi Justin. That would work with one exception. The mapping companies supply GPS companies with the raw data. The GPS companies then take that raw data and convert it into their own proprietary formats. Therefore in order to make the data work with Sony devices, it would need to be converted into Sony’s proprietary format. So the bottom line is that Sony would need to purchase the data, convert it into a format their devices can understand, and offer it for distribution.

    Tim - March 19th, 2007
  11. Really really disappointed with the fact your cant update the mapping system. Even know a guy on the inside of Sony and theres a no-go the the updates. Already persuaded a potential buyer of the NAV-U50 in a Sony Store not to purchase it as a result of the mapping updates. …and will continue to do so. Simply a waste of money.

    Oliver - March 21st, 2007
  12. Update: In Nov 2006 the unit I purchased had a problem with the memory. I had to send it to the Sony repair center that handles this. A month or so later I received the unit back as “FIXED”. It did not work as well as it did prior to the memory problem. System bootup was much slower and the unit had trouble holding the time after being “FIXED”.

    NOW!, today (21 March 07). The same problem that was “FIXED”(“unable to start nav-u.exe” and the “exception error” with memory address location) is “BACK”. I called tech support, and 1. They told me that the warranty for the repair and the unit has expired so I will have to PAY “whatever” the repair will cost once the repair shop figures out what they didn’t “FIX” when it was under warranty, and 2. They will immediately send me and email with my job order numbers so I can send the unit back for repair. That was about 7 hours ago and they haven’t as of yet. Imagine that!!!
    Summation: DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT OR ANY SONY GPS AND THINK TWICE ABOUT SONY ELECTRONICS IN GENERAL DUE TO THEIR WARRANTY POLICY!!!
    Why? 1. NO MAP UPDATES OR PLANS TO DO SO. This makes the unit PURELY USELESS in the first place. That speaks for itself.
    2. REPAIR TECHS APPEARENTLY ARE NOT COMPETENT ENOUGH TO PROPERLY FIX THE UNIT. If it was a different error I would understand. A $450.00 GPS purchase should not have this problem which results in the customer having to pay for the repair shops technical incompetence.
    I am going to junk this thing and purchase a real GPS unit from of course any vender but Sony (after more research).
    DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT, READ THE FULL THREAD.
    “fore warned in fore armed!!!”.

    Milt B. - March 21st, 2007
  13. Well, there is some good news for Sony GPS owners. I’ve just received the following information from Sony regarding map updates. For those of you receiving this message:

    The map data you are using is older than 12 months. As the road network is subject to annual changes of about 15%, we recommend purchasing the most recent version.

    Sony now says that there will be map upgrades available for purchase in June:

    A Map update will be available for purchase in June through the Sony Style store and select retailers.

    Tim - April 3rd, 2007
  14. Well how about that, it seems that they have come to their senses. Lets just hope that this is an ongoing venture rather than just a one time pacifier. Lets also hope that a “Sony” update won’t cost as much as the device itself. I know it probably won’t but Sony does have a way of charging a little more than the other vendors.

    Justin Z. - April 3rd, 2007
  15. Hey, Milt B. I think I got the same problem with my nav-u70. When I start the device I get an error message saying that the nav-u.exe has encounter un error. It looks like a memory address problem. Have you found a way to resolve this issue?

    Martin V. - April 10th, 2007
  16. Hello Marvin V,
    Unfortunately, the only thing to do is to send it back to Sony. You may take note, they received it about 5 days after I sent it to them for repair. It actually took a bit more than 6 weeks for Sony to ship the unit to me after I prompted them by inquiring about the status of repair. It seems as if they fixed the unit but wasn’t concerned about shipping it back to me until I asked for it.

    With that said, I didn’t want to go through that again when the SAME error resurfaced and the Customer Service Rep told me that I have to PAY to get it fixed this time. So, Tuesday 02 April
    I opened the Nav-U70 up, tore it apart out of curiosity and threw it in the trash.

    I’ve ordered a new unit (different manufacturer of course!!!) and should receive it tomorrow.

    Sorry I can’t be of more help. I will NEVER buy another GPS unit from Sony or recommend it to anyone. I hope more people read this before they waste $375 – $475 on this poorly manufactured and horrifically supported unit. I think Sony know they built an UNSAT product and they are working on getting it out of their inventory by selling it to unsuspecting consumers. I understand from Tim’s 03 April post, Sony plans to offer map updates in June. I bet it ain’t gonna be CHEAP!!!.

    Recommendation: If your unit is still under warrenty, have Sony’s repair shop fix it as they should. Check the status of your repair because they don’t seem to want to give this unit and the customer the “proper concern”.

    Next when you get it back, give it as a gift to someone you told to “Get Lost!”, then buy a new one from another manufacturer! (hahaha).

    Sorry, but that’s all I got. good luck.

    Milt B.

    Milt B - April 10th, 2007
  17. Map updates will be available for the European market within the nearby feature. More info see http://www.navu.sony-europe.com

    Jorgen - April 22nd, 2007
  18. dont buy the sony nav u 50 t.the good news about the maps is incorrect i downloaded the new maps for 42 pounds and they corruped my device.now sony wants me to pay 180 pounds to fix my system.i have also lost the 42 pounds by buying the map.the service team were no help at all just kept talking about legalities,they said because my system was over a year old they could do nothing.but its ok to them that my device has broken due to their maps.the web site you would reieve a vertification key,im still waiting on it ,but its too late now 2 days later as my device is corrupted.please if there is someone there who could help me to get justice from sony,please let me know how to do it.at s.enigma@ntlworld.com

    sonya hanna - May 1st, 2007
  19. Interesting reading these posts.
    Halfords Dublin have the U50 on sale at 150 euros which is cheap, I think I now know why.
    I will have a word with them in the morning and see what their input is. Given these posts I would wonder why they are selling them unless the UK/Ireland maps are recent. But £42 = Euro 63 seems a lot just to update if the updates ever come out.

    Dave B - May 4th, 2007
  20. I am really starting to hate sony!! They are so full of @#$% that it’s not funny. The nav u 70 is a joke!! They should be sued for false advertising. Don’t buy this GPS it’s pure junk!!

    Chris s - June 18th, 2007
  21. Well, forget it! Its the middle of July 2007 and still no road updates as promised by Sony (June 2007). The “promise” is even gone in their website!

    Jun Andrade - July 15th, 2007
  22. just bought the u50.but my father in law was able to get updates from a company called navteq or navtec to update his and its worked out fine i belive.

    aaron k - July 15th, 2007
  23. Hey guys,

    Sony has the map updates on their website now, I found it on the Canadian site, http://www.sonystyle.ca/commerce/servlet/ProductDetailDisplay?storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&langId=-1&productId=1004232 . This does North America, but due to how “detailed” they made it, USA won’t fit entirely on to the unit, you have to do it in segments. Canada fits fine though. For those guessing the price, it is expensive for an update, they want $120 CAD for it.

    Oh well, never buying another Sony GPS.

    Regards,

    Justin H - August 8th, 2007
  24. aaron k, could you give more details on how your dad obtained the update from navteq?

    Greg - August 27th, 2007
  25. Well, I have just noticed that they have an update of the maps. http://www.navu.sony-europe.com
    Select your country and click on maps. That leads you to an online store, where you see that they ask you 119 Euros for the update! That’s clearly too expensive.

    Kagan - November 27th, 2007
  26. I completely agree with everyones frustration. Yeah, Sony did drop the ball there. But I cannot really be frustrated seems I only paid $126 (off eBay) for mine.

    I found the updates for you on the US store if you folks are interested. It is only $100.

    http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=8198552921665185951

    Good luck to you all.

    Timothy - January 19th, 2008
  27. Friends
    It is true the commercial politics of sony concerning the gps it was filthy
    In Portugal they announced the first update free and they only made it for the 50 for the model 70 as mine only past one and a half year is that was available and they had the courage of asking 100 Euros for the update…… LIARS….. from sony never again I buy anything

    rui casimiro fernandes - February 9th, 2008
  28. hi ive gotten a map package nvd-du3 from sony can any one tell me how old are the maps on this package

    cheers

    aaron k - February 25th, 2008
  29. oh just to let you know ive already contacted the nice people at sony and I know more about their products than the people working for the company.they didnt have a clue what i was talking about.very helpful NOT

    aaron k - February 25th, 2008
  30. All I have to say is the the sony nv-u70 is a P.O.S. if you know what I mean . if you have bought one take it back and get a garmin. I did.

    lorna - March 5th, 2008
  31. I bought the Sony Nav-u about two years ago. It’s bad enough the updates are being sold for $100 but to make things worse, some of the map info is wrong-in one case, disasterously so. I live in a rural area of Canada and the road my house is on ends at an intersection. The end is necessitated by the fact that the road could not continue as a large ravine and steep valley prevented the road builders from continuing-about 150 years ago, I might add. The Sony unit is not aware of the fact the road ends and any time I use it the unit "wonders" why I’m deviating from the travel plan. I figure it’s emblematic of the unit itself: Almost every day it recommends I drive my car off a 20 m. cliff. I think one day I’ll simply allow it to continue over the cliff while I’m turning my car and throwing the unit into the ravine.
    I’m so disappointed. Sony usually has a great product. This is a huge, expensive exception that is testing my consumer preference for Sony products.

    A Mead - March 26th, 2008
  32. I upgraded the maping on my NVU70 GPS from Sony for $129.00 Canadian only to find that the unit has slowed to the point of crawling. It took a full 25mins recently to calculate my return from Florida while I sat in the hotel parking lot. Is this unique to my unit? The unit also does not maintain the correct time.

    Donald Beyea - April 8th, 2008
  33. Donald,

    Same thing happened to me. I am sorry to hear you have had the same problem. I recently parted with mine and decided to give sony one more chance. Their brand new one isn’t so bad. Actually I really enjoy it. It is the U73T if you are interested.

    Tim

    Timothy - April 9th, 2008
  34. Hi Tim,

    Can you give a quick review on the U73T? I can’t find any detailed reviews/comments on this model. Thanks in advance.

    Tom - April 17th, 2008
  35. Does anyone have any real-world experience trying out the nv-u83

    I have tried every unit out there, and NONE of them can find my address.

    My area of my condo complex was built I was told in 2005/2006

    None of the maps on any of the units I tested recognize the street address etc. I put in

    Oh.. for the map update from Sony.. I just checked their website.. the cost is $49.99 now :)

    Eddie - April 30th, 2008
  36. dear eddie even the best maps dont have every street.all i can suggest is to search again using the zip/post code,failing that i would just add your home as a fav.or add your current postion as your home,if u have current position available on that unit.if nothing works i would try not to worry about it,as it although understandably frustrating it may not be that important
    take care

    dan - April 30th, 2008
  37. NV-U50, the worst gps in the world, no update, no support… nothing. My parents has only trow away their money buying this gps.

    Aquila Noctis - May 7th, 2008
  38. Here we are June 2008. I have a NAV U-70T and have decided Sony has the worst after sales technical service on earth. In the old days the Japanese had an honor code and would commit Bushido before showing such a lack of interest in their customers. If anyone can tell me WHY the computerS (2 Dells on XP and an HP on Vista) will NOT DETECT THE DEVICE (yes it is on mains power) please let me know. Thanks

    Peter - June 8th, 2008
  39. By MS Active sync from computer delete file Mounted Volume/my flash/sony/nav-u.exe (the folder SONY is hidden, you must set show hidden files in your comuter first). And then replace old navi file by exe file of total commander CE version ( download is free on site of developer) .You must rename the totalcmd.exe to nav-u.exe. Now after reboot is allowed everything, including executing any other navi software like tomtom, igo, navigon and many other (multimedia players). The oficial navi (old navigon) by sony is not so good in compare with new navi soft. .. enjoy.

    rorr - June 23rd, 2008
  40. OMG! Has anyone tried this (above comment) yet ? If this works i’ll be in heaven. Rorr, you may yet be a living genius!

    Greg - June 23rd, 2008
  41. Rorr,

    where is the developer website where I can find totalcmd.exe?
    Does it works also with Nav U50? Even if it has no memory card?

    Aquila Noctis - July 12th, 2008
  42. After going on a holiday with a friends Garman.. I am ready to toss my Nav-u 70 in the garbage..Sony should be posting a free software upgrade to make up for the crappie system they are putting out.. I can buy a Garman for not much more than the map upgrade…

    Keven - July 18th, 2008
  43. HI BOUGHT SONY NV-U70 WITH US MAPS TO USE ON HOLIDAY TRIED TO LOAD SONY UK MAP ITEM SHUT ITSELF DOWN NOT IMPRESSED!
    NOW HAVE A UNUSEABLE PRODUCT. I LIKE SONY ITEMS BUT WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS ONE BUY A GARMIN!

    IAIN COOK - August 16th, 2008
  44. I was just looking at some literature for the NV-U83T, and the feature list is pretty impressive, as is the price point. Of course, the key is, how is their execution? Does anyone have experience with this unit yet?

    Matt - August 19th, 2008
  45. Having bought a Sony NAV U 70 I suggest you buy ANYTHING other than a Sony. Their provision for maps is appalling and they do not have a coordinated customer service department, ie the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing. If it is Sony DON’T BUY IT. I cannot upload the maps any way at all.

    Peter - August 19th, 2008
  46. Well I have just loaded TC on my v-70 and IT WORKS (Post #40) So if I can load another GPS prog onto this device (with its limited 1gb of mem) it could make this device a winner in my book. Good Work rorr!!

    Greg - August 19th, 2008
  47. especially to ian cook.
    when i tried to download new map from the sony website,it corrupted my system navu 50 t.
    sony said they would charge the price of the navigator to fix the problem,luckily im smarter than the sony tech services.
    if your system is corrupt firstly connect it to your computer and install the new software update only,and forget the new map at this stage,this will fix your navigator,but there will be no map on it.disconnect your navigator, now if you have bought the map online save it to anywhere ie my documents.you will need your original installation cd here,place it in and go to back up cd,find the new map and this should copy back into your navigator.make sure the navigator is recognised by active sync,i used the old active sync from the original installation cd and not the one downloaded with the new map.
    it may also help to use another computer as active sync didnt work properly on my computer,this can happen if you have various spyware programs running like windows free version?? i forget its name giving you an error message.

    sonya - August 21st, 2008
  48. So I guess that means that no one has any hands on experience with the NV-U83T? I had wondered if maybe they’d fixed the issues with the 70, but I’m not sure I want to be the guinea pig to find out…

    Matt - August 27th, 2008
  49. I purchased the U83T two days ago and have been exploring its capabilities. First impressions are pretty good. It acquires quickly and the display is large, which I like. The address setup is a litle odd. It’s actually easier to find the address in the unit and then connect it to the PC to edit it. I hooked it into the mobile phone via bluetooth and it took a little work to get it right (getting the U83T and the motorola to pair) but it did finally sync up. I tried to get the phone address book and the U83T to sync up but that didn’t work. I haven’t tried the Traffic alert yet. Route planning works pretty well. The “real” manual is on the included CD. The nav-u tool (included), which is the software to talk with the U83T works but could use a little work. It’s definitely bare bones.

    I really wanted the NUVI 660 but they don’t offer that any longer. I considered the NUVI 260W but that unit did not have the traffic alert capability. Since I’ve never had Traffic Alert, I thought this would be a less expensive way to try it out. The U83T includes a 3 month free subscription. Traffic Alert antenna also included with the unit, as was a DC power cord, USB 2.0 cable and a nice slip case. So far, so good.

    Robert - September 7th, 2008
  50. We bought a Sony NV-U73T about 10 days ago and are about to return it because it is too confusing to follow the voice directions (American Engish trying to pronouce French names) for one of a few problems. Thus if a person is driving alone the voice is completly useless for our needs and dangerous to be reading what is on the screen.

    We just came back from a 3 day trip that was very confusing and thank goodness we had maps for where we wanted to go and a co-pilot to help the driver, because the unit dumped more than once far from our final desination…We can laugh about it now but in the heat of the moment not so…

    We need something that is user friendly to operate or rather idiot proof ;o))) and this unit certainly is not that.

    Cathern - September 20th, 2008
  51. i bought an NV-U73T and after 1 hr the succion base let go and the unit fell and the screen is now broken. I am pissed beyond limit. What a piece of …

    Don’t buy!

    Mal Bach - November 10th, 2008
  52. Just purchased and learned I can’t update my NV-U44. I tried through sony and navteq. I like the features, I guess it will be trash soon without updates. any suggestions

    Michael - November 26th, 2008
  53. I went to a Sony retail outlet last week and asked if they had the updated software for my U70-T. I was told Sony no longer sell SatNav units. This experience has left me so disappointed with Sony that I shall never buy a Sony ANYTHING. The after sales service is possibly the worst I have ever experienced. I shall keep the unit but recommend anyone there thinking of buying a SatNav buys a TomTom or a Garmin. Sony is beyond credibility.

    Peter - November 26th, 2008
  54. Hey Greg (#47), did you successfully setup other nav system software in your sony gps?
    Thank you!
    Jane

    Jing - December 24th, 2008
  55. Jing, I DID! I have IGO 8 running on my sony nav-U70! The sound is a bit screwy, but its a million times better then sony’s crap software. + 2008 maps so who can complain

    Greg - December 25th, 2008
    • Greg,

      I have a NV-U70 that I would like to install a more up-to-date system on, but I’m having problems and I wonder if you could give me a few pointers.

      When I tried to install Total Commander 2.51, it installed on my PC and said it would install on the device when it was connected. When I hooked up my Sony NV-U70, Total Commander said it was not a compatible device. I tried the Pocket PC and Windows CE versions, and both did the same.

      I’m fairly new to this so it’s probably something simple, and I’m sorry if it’s a dumb question, but can you help at all?

      Martin.

      Martin E - February 2nd, 2009
      • Yes, installing Total Commander through Active Sync will not work. You need to find the exe verison of TC (the WindowsCE ver should be the correct one) and just place that file on to the NavU as explained in post 40.

        Greg - February 2nd, 2009
  56. Thank you so much. Now I can decide to by a sony nav-u44 only for [deleted]. When the software or map is too old, I can just swap the system and setup my own one. The function of sony gps seems more than other same price ones. So thank you very much and have a good holiday!

    Jing - December 26th, 2008
  57. Hi i just bought me and my brother a sony nav-u NV-U94T. I admit i was an idiot for not reading over the reviews cause well i couldn’t find any for this product. My question is this are the maps loaded in it already? and what advice can somone give me bout loading in new maps? Any help would be appreciated thank you. oh and is it possible to use it in iraq or afghanistine?

    Michael - December 27th, 2008
  58. Hey GREG(#47), do you help me to setup other nav system software in my U70 sony gps?
    Thank you!

    rui casimiro fernandes - December 28th, 2008
  59. rui casimiro fernandes, check post #40

    Greg - December 28th, 2008
  60. Bought a Sony U73T for my husband for Christmas. We have been very pleased with it so far. The maps are good, sound is clear and even though we live in a very rural area of Ontario it has no trouble finding our location and small rural roads. Easy setup and editing of address book with or without computer.

    Susan - January 3rd, 2009
  61. Bought a NAV-U73T and it came with a 2007 maps. I also presently own a Garmin 250W. Comparing these GPS’s I would have to vote for the Sony. It’s very user friendly, accurate within tolerance, count down indicator for turns and bears, TTS, Way-points edit (editing directions or routes) and at a price of $89 it’s was a steal (refurb). The Garmin is also good especially for re-routing. It can re-route in a matter of couple of seconds instead of about 30 seconds-1 minute from the Sony unit. The Garmin is also accurate within tolerance but doesn’t have a countdown indicator for turns and bears, which is very helpful for city streets and highways that are very close to each other. The best part of Garmin is that you get a 1-time map update free. The next update cost around $60. The Sony unit doesn’t have the 2008 maps yet or if it’ll even be made available. The last time Sony offered map update it costs $70. Just like I said, I parked the Garmin and kept the Sony.

    Jiggz D - January 22nd, 2009
  62. I bought Sony Nav-u44 [deleted]. I bought it with the evil intention of giving it back after the holidays. But some how this little cheap guy has won my reluctant heart. It came with 2008 Map but there is no option of update. I believe I can update with NavTeq map if I can get hold of one.
    This one does not play songs but has a picture viewer dunno for what. Anyway I’m happy as long as it takes me places. I used it in New Jersey, NYC, San Antonio, and Houston without any major issues. One complaint I have is that whenever I have to go to La Guardia Airport from NJ, it takes me through the busy New York streets. Once I nearly missed my flight. Whichever setting I select, I am unable to get the alternate route without touching Manhattan.
    Another issue is that it misses some Jughandle turns (those of you not familiar with NJ, a jughandle turn is when you have to take a left turn from a highway, NJ actually makes you turn right and then take the cross road to turn left). But this issue is there with some GPS that costs 4 times mine. So I will live with it.
    Nav-u44 also has the lane view for important exits which is a good option. Touch screen response is fast and so is start up. So far it hasn’t lost it’s tracking as I had experienced with some other GPS (Navigon is the worst). Text-to-Speech is not bad at all. And it has the useful feature of showing the countdown to a turn which Garmin doesn’t have. Lets you take the correct turn every time.

    Jijo - January 30th, 2009
  63. Purchased the 83t on discount for almost nothing. Love the huge screen and it is a thousand times easier to select destinations while driving than a Garmin. I have to pull over with Garmin because of the terrible GUI and non QWERTY entry.

    The price of the map upgrade is disappointing, but I can live with old maps for a while. Find a cheap one and use it till its obsolete and you will still be dollars ahead of a similar sized Garmin.

    Chris - February 14th, 2009
  64. I bought the NAV-U44 from [deleted] last weekend.
    Upgraded the firmware to 1.1 version from my XP desktop. Came with 2008 maps preloaded. Works great. With no map upgrade, was a bit disappointing, but with that price, feel its okay.
    Screen is good, Voice prompts are also fine.
    As mentioned before, the count-down helps when my wife is driving by herself. Jughandles are a problem but it shows on screen correctly.
    One problem is that it will not accept an address like 900 Rte 44E. Also some of the Points-of-Interest are old – long since out of business. It cannot tell me that I should take the next entrance to a Mall to get to the store I selected as my destination.

    Not sure how I am gonna use the Pro-Duo port yet.

    This is my first one, so cannot compare to another one.
    I think I am going to keep it.

    Any other suggestions?

    THUMOR - March 9th, 2009
  65. hi ive been using sony nav u 70 for about 6 months and i lost it in the house somewhere and i found it after a week and now when i try to turn it on it dosent turn on and when i try to charge it the charging light dosent show any sign of charging it just blacked out and i paid about $ 500 for it .. i don t know what to do . i got ripped off by sony. not buying sony products from now i even i have problems with my psp…sony u s**k

    Mohammed - March 14th, 2009
    • hi mohammed, check the cable of the charger, pick up a small lamp or a led and conect to the jack oof the charger and see if lights on, but the best thing is to check whith a multimeeter

      rui casimiro - March 18th, 2009
    • I have never had any bad experience with Sony batteries. They seem to be better than most of them. Sorry for what happened to you. Is not it covered by warranty?

      Jijo - March 19th, 2009
  66. I am reading this. Sears were selling Sony nav-u for 79 dollars. I realized by reading feedback, user have problem with updates but does not tell me how difficult to load into Sony navy-u and the present cost to upload to Sony GPS.
    Could anyone assist me with this?

    gerald - March 18th, 2009
    • Your query wasn’t clear. For the price you quoted, it looks to be U44. In Nav-u44 there is no map update option. Anyway it comes with a 2008 map.

      Connecting to the computer, I could see the map file but don’t know if it can be updated with a new one. Never tried.

      First give your model number, then I can help you better.

      Jijo - March 19th, 2009
      • Do you know where to find new voices and how to install? I purchased a 2g the memory stick.

        Pete - March 20th, 2009
  67. I have a nv-u70 that is about a year and half old. I lost the usb and the at home charger. Where can I buy the replacement parts at? Also is there any map updates available?

    Mel - March 29th, 2009
  68. I purchased my Sony NV-U70 Nav-U for my van from the dealer. In Dec.2008, we were in Texas on our way back to Louisiana when the GPS stopped working for no apparent reason.It remained stuck with Loading displayed on the screen. Customer service was contacted and transfered to tech support. Applications were tried ;to no avail.I feel that I was ripped-off when reported to customer service my dilema and they offered no satisfaction.I was a loyal Sony customer,but I will not recommend the products- even if they are given it away for free.I am an elderly lady on a fixed income and I depend on the GPS system.

    DEE - June 16th, 2009
  69. I bought the nv-u83t and the maps are so out of date it is terrible. I paid five hundred and fifty bucks for the gps and now sony wants another hundred to bring the maps up to date. If you use it to get to newer communities anywhere in the usa or canada you will not find them. I will not recomend this product to anyone on the planet.

    pernell - June 20th, 2009
  70. i have a u73t works great have never lost satellite signal and i just got a new map update whats the problem ?

    eddie - August 23rd, 2009
  71. I just went to look at the map updates for the Nav-U and the sonystyle website says that they are out of stock.

    How can a computer file be out of stock? I don’t understand that at all.

    Bill - December 12th, 2009
  72. i have a sony nv-u44
    absolute piece of plasic garbage.they have no customer support no help no help…..as soon as 1yr warrent was up not even 10min later >>>>message on screen reads Sarting system failed.Press reset button….it did nothing…please contact one of our useless people who dont speak a lick of the english language?????

    NEVER BUYING A SONY PRODUCT AGAIN

    justin medway - March 31st, 2010
  73. Does anyone know how to add voices to the NV-U44.

    I bought a card, installed it but can’t figure out how to add or convert voice files.

    Peter - April 2nd, 2010
  74. Are there ANY updates for the Sony Nav U NV-83T model?? I was also looking to see if there are any voices you can download..no luck! :( HELP PLEEEASE!!!

    kel - May 21st, 2010
  75. I’ve been using my NAV-U 44 since 1988, still waiting for a reasonably priced map update – who can pay $99 for their DVD in an age of Open Streetmap? Has anyone successfully updated using other vendor’s software on the little -U 44? Except for its old data, it’s a great machine. But I really need new streets and points of interest, or a new GPS.

    Paul Suckow - May 24th, 2010
    • Doh! I meant 2008. Oops.

      Paul - May 24th, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright