leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

TomTom ONE 130s

May
8
2008

Powerful performance in a simple package. Perhaps the primary reason to pick the ONE 130s is the EasyPort mount. Currently unique to TomTom, this mount style makes it easy to take the GPS with you when you leave the car– mount included, and slip it into your pocket or purse. No other GPS + mount combination will fold into such as small size… no more excuses to leave the GPS in the car.

But don’t let these conveniences fool you into thinking this GPS is a slouch. While it doesn’t have as good of battery life as other devices in this class, the TomTom ONE 130s will speak street names in addition to directions, can be connected to an optional traffic receiver, and allows users to make and share map corrections with other TomTom users. If the innovative mount doesn’t appeal to you, consider the Garmin Nuvi 260. Or if your eyes would be happier with a widescreen, look at the TomTom XL 330s. Otherwise, the 130s will be a solid companion for your next trip.

455 Responses


  1. I am looking to purchase GPS for my parents in rural northern Michigan. Are there satelites everywhere, or will it be a waste to them?

    This sight is so helpful! Thanks Tim!!

    Shannon - November 6th, 2008
  2. The GPS satellites are not stationary like satellite TV satellites– they cover the entire globe equally.

    Tim - November 6th, 2008
  3. I have had the tomtom 130 for 3 mouths and I love it. But the battery dies in less then a week with the gpsis turned off. I have charger it with the computer and the car charger and the next time i when to use it the gps would not turn on. I had to hook it to the car charger and wait 5 min for it to turn on. Other then that it is great. I like how easy it is to update it on tomtom web site.

    Tim - November 9th, 2008
  4. I have a Tom Tom 130S and was wondering what the Battery life expectancy is, and what is best use of battery, charging and discharging?
    Thanks

    Neil - November 9th, 2008
  5. Hi,
    I am loking for system for my son. Do you have a preference between TomTom130, magellan Roadmate 1200 and the Nextar Q4? Thanks.

    denise - November 10th, 2008
  6. Neil, battery life is “up to” 3 hours. I typically get about 2.

    Denise, I’d probably put them in that order.

    Tim - November 10th, 2008
  7. Sorry I misled you on Battery life, I meant before the battery gave out totally, in life expectancy!

    Can one replace the battery with new one or is the GPS throwaway?

    Neil - November 11th, 2008
  8. 1,000 complete charge/discharge cycles is frequently cited to be about the norm. The battery is not replaceable.

    Tim - November 11th, 2008
  9. Given the tendency of the TomTom (in my experience) to lose power over a few days or so when not in use, the 1000 charge/discharge cycles might be reached fairly quickly – I hope not. I guess it can still be used when plugged in to the car kit.

    Justine - November 11th, 2008
  10. I tried looking through the questions to see if you had already answered this, but there was so many! =]
    I am considering the TomTom 130 for an upcoming road trip (which will take around 18 hours), as well as the fact that I am moving to a new state soon. I saw that you noted the battery life at just under 3 hours. Is it possible for me to plug the GPS into the car while I drive, to avoid having to pull over every couple of hours to recharge?
    Thank you for your help and great information!

    Alexandra - November 15th, 2008
    • This gps is great i have a licohn with a built in navigation system and the tom tom 130 puts it to shame.Highly recommended.

      wayne - July 22nd, 2010
  11. Alexandra, the 130s comes with a car charger and you can use the device and charge it at the same time in the car.

    Tim - November 15th, 2008
  12. is the a way to adjust the audio settings so that it does not announce every exit along the route as you drive along on the freeway?

    Larry - November 15th, 2008
  13. Larry it shouldn’t announce each exit unless the device wants you to take that exit. I’ve never heard of that behavior before.

    Tim - November 15th, 2008
  14. Hi Tim,

    I have a 330s that I bought recently. The device works fine but when I try to operate it from Tomtom Home it says that this feature is not available for the device or the operating system.
    Can you help?

    Tilak - November 17th, 2008
  15. Tilak, I’d contact TomTom support or ask in our forums.

    Tim - November 17th, 2008
  16. i am wanting to buy a gps for my husband for x-mas. I want to spend in the price range of $100 to $180 dollars. What is your opion on a good one to buy. We have never had one berfore? Thanks

    amanda - November 18th, 2008
  17. tim,
    new to GPS – buying as gift – looking at tomtom130 and Garmin Nuvi 200 but want text to speech – what do you knw about nextar Q4-04, X3-08,m3-03,X3-03, or Q3-12 – I couldn’tfind out much which led me to look at Garmin or TOMTOM – any suggestions for text to speech units for young (22) driver -mainly city driving

    henry - November 21st, 2008
  18. I bought a 130S a couple of weeks ago and love it. I finally realized that only a computer voice will give me street names, so I installed it. Also, I have given up mounting it on the windshield– it wouldn’t stay– and have it on the dash with the adhesive that came in the box. I wish it turned off by itself.
    Thanks to your reviews, I chose this model.

    anapaula - November 23rd, 2008
  19. In your opinion, is it worth it to buy the “replacement plans” or “service plans” that many stores offer with these products? Or do they hold up pretty well? I’m only going to be using a GPS in my car (debating between the TomTom 130 and Garmin 205). Would a replacement plan be a good investment? They are usually only for a year….
    Thanks for your help!

    Aley - November 25th, 2008
  20. I have a TomTom One 3rd edition. I wanted to try it for geocaching which requires entering waypoints or latitude & longitude. Is there a way to do that on this device? Where can I get instructions?

    Dennis - November 25th, 2008
  21. I figured out how to fix the problem with no tools at all. Yes the speaker cone is popped out and that is why it is quiet. Solution? Wrap your lips around the entire back panel and blow out gently until you hear a pop. That is it! It will be much louder. You might need a big mouth though lol. It worked for me.

    Justin - November 30th, 2008
  22. I came here to evesdrop. Someday I will know what to buy.

    toni - December 1st, 2008
  23. I have the TomTom 130s that I purchased back in May. In June I called their service department, because my suction mount was not holding in the lock position, and would slowly start to loosen off, and then the whole unit would pop off the dash. They were very good and sent me a whole new mount within a few days. Now it is happening again. Tim, have you heard of this happening? Is it a problem with the mount? Has anyone else experienced this? I really like the unit, but I’m frustrated with this problem. Thanks.

    Lisa - December 2nd, 2008
  24. Lisa, you might want to read How to make GPS Suction Cup Mounts Stick – Tips, Tricks & Mods. It is a problem with just about every suction cup out there. I haven’t heard a significant number of more complaints about the 130 series over other devices.

    Tim - December 2nd, 2008
  25. I had this problem on one of the mounts as well. The lock ring wouldn’t stay put. A replacement didn’t have this issue and still works fine.

    Geoff - December 2nd, 2008
  26. Thanks Tim. Next trip I will try rubbing alcohol on the dash disc and the suction cup. I’ll let you know what happens. Thanks again for your help.

    Lisa - December 2nd, 2008
  27. I couldn’t decide and bought a TomTom 130s and also a Garmin nuvi 260w. I haven’t opened either and need to return one. It’s for a sixteen year old girl (with no sense of direction) to drive around town. Which one should I keep?

    Cheryl - December 3rd, 2008
  28. If you keep the GPS unit plugged into the cigarette lighter as you drive, does the battery retain its charge? Also, if you have the GPS unit turned off, but plugged in, will it charge the GPS unit? accessory use the

    Paul - December 5th, 2008
  29. The battery does retain the charge while driving with it plugged in. If it is turned off, but plugged in, and power is being sent to the plug, it will also charge.

    Tim - December 5th, 2008
  30. Tim, do you by any chance have information on whether or not Tom Tom has addressed the volume problem with 130*/330*? It’s almost 2009 but people are still talking about this.

    Ron - December 7th, 2008
  31. Ron, TomTom addressed it quite a long time ago. I haven’t heard of many people recently receiving one of the impacted devices. It isn’t a software issue. You can actually fix it yourself quite easily in most cases with the technique outlined above.

    Tim - December 7th, 2008
  32. Tim, first, awesome site! (Thx _so_ much!)

    TomTom ONE 130 OS bug? (Same w/ TT ONE 3rd Ed.)
    When living in rural location, rural route street ‘numbers’ generally appear on map databases vaguely or incorrectly, so one wants to set “home” as “my location”, ie, as a LatLon, _not_ as a street address per se. (Command sequence: “Change Preferences” >> [2 of 5] “Change Home location” >> [2 of 2] to “My Location”).

    So one sets “home” as point where one physically is (opposed to entering specific street address), TomTom records location as Lat/Lon. If you ask TT where you are at that time, it will correctly show location on map, describing nearest streets w/ included text annotation (ie, clearly TT does know LatLon positions in map database). So far, so good.

    But, when somewhere else, if one subsequently tries to go _to_ your “home” location (still as LatLon you set), TT is stymied; it says, “No route found”. Likewise, if one tries to use 2nd screen command, “Prepare route A to B”, w/”home” as _destination_ (ie, “B”), TT still stymied. (Of course, if street address was entered as “home” location, there’s no problem at all.)

    However, if one tries to navigate _from_ “home” location (still set as LatLon), to somewhere else, no problem, TT finds route! Likewise, if one uses 2nd screen command, “Prepare route A to B”, with “home” as _start_ point (ie, “A”), then TT manages just fine as well.
    So, one can go from a LatLon (“home”) location to somewhere else, but TT doesn’t seem to be able to show you the way “home” when “home” is expressed as a LatLon!

    Since one is getting an asymmetric response from, if you will, a reciprocal command, this looks like a possible OS bug.
    Tried TechSuprt; they don’t seem to understand. (One can readily report map bugs from TT ONE via TT Home app [on one’s PC], but amount of text “allowed” for such corrections is limited… so not enough text to report a problem like this.) Comments /suggestions?

    Jeremy - December 7th, 2008
  33. Jeremy, Tech Support probably isn’t aware of the bug, however one of their Product Managers does because I walked them through it a couple of months ago. Here is a workaround. Instead of using ‘My Location’, go to ‘Latitude Longitude’ as the add type instead. So long as you are currently at the location you want to mark, the default lat/long will be your current location.

    For some reason using ‘Latitude Longitude’ instead of ‘My Location’ gets around the ‘No Route Found’ error.

    Tim - December 7th, 2008
  34. Tim,
    Awesome site since I am a newbie to the GPS world. I’ve bought a Garmin Nuvi 200 and also a TomTomOne 130 and can’t make up my mind, would you recommend one over the other? I see Garmin has 5 stars compared to the TomTom’s 4 stars. One thing I worry about is the lack of text to speech on the Garmin, meaning it does not talk you to your destination, is that correct? Appreciate any feedback, thanks!

    kim - December 7th, 2008
  35. Kim, the Nuvi 200 has voice prompts, but it does not have Text To Speech. See that link for the difference.

    Tim - December 7th, 2008
  36. Does the TomTom One 130 allow you to search for what’s nearby? Such as find the closest bank?

    Katie - December 16th, 2008
  37. Katie, yes.

    Tim - December 16th, 2008
  38. …I’m a VERY young newbie(still in high school)… and i’m getting the tomtom one 130s for Xmas… and i dont really have $ for updates… so would it be free to find banks and gas stations and stuff… and are the map updates free????

    Krisstal - December 17th, 2008
  39. You can find banks and gas stations, etc. That is free. Community shared map updates are free too, but the official map updates are an extra cost should you want one.

    Tim - December 17th, 2008
  40. Using favorites, XL 330-s shows a route through a city. But a prefferred route is known. Used TRAVEL VIA to specify desired route. Used POINT ON MAP to select desired direction. How can I tell gps the preffered route and store info in favorites ?
    Basic question “How can the FAVORITES routes be modified”.

    Don - December 21st, 2008
  41. Don, you can’t. Favorites are just individual locations, not routes. You can’t save a route. To save a route (multiple points, with vias) then you would need to upgrade to one of the TomTom models that has Itinerary Planning.

    Tim - December 21st, 2008
  42. I have more than one TomTom 130 S device. Is there a way to backup both without overwriting the backup of the other device?

    Paul - December 21st, 2008
  43. Ok well i got my new TomTom One 130-S Tim, and it WAS great… but my TomTom Home is’nt working at all… I even UNinstalled it and downloaded the one from the TomTom webstite… both times i got the same result: I cant do anything because something keeps poping up saying I have a certificate error! :( …. I am VERY frusterated… how do i get TomTom Home to work on Windows XP without saying i have a certificate error?

    Krisstal - December 21st, 2008
  44. Paul & Krisstal – Those are both questions probably directed at TomTom support or asked in our forums section.

    Tim - December 22nd, 2008
  45. I’m a new GPS owner. My TomTom One 130s doesn’t tell me street names. I have a computer voice activated and I’ve marked it to read street names aloud. Is there something else I need to do to make say the street names?

    Michelle - December 24th, 2008
    • i have the same problem let me know what the problem was

      tom - January 5th, 2009
  46. I am considering purchasing a TomTom One 130S or XL 330S. I am particularly interested in using the device on trips to the U.K. and Europe, as well as here in North America. I realize that I will have to buy U.K. and Europe maps, and the lack of SD card capability makes swapping maps very inconvenient. Will the text-to-speech feature work with U.K. and Europe maps (using English computer voice) installed on a TomTom unit made for the U.S./Canada market? Does either the One 130S or XL 330S have an advantage for the application I am interested in?
    Last summer I used a factory-installed GPS unit that came with the new Renault I rented for 3 weeks in France and Switzerland. That GPS device (I don’t know who makes it) was fantastic. Now I would never drive in Europe without a GPS. I know that TomTom originates in Holland, so it should be good for Europe and the U.K. An older TomTom “Europe” model got good reviews there; however it did have SD card capability for adding maps.

    Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks.

    Howard - December 24th, 2008
  47. ok,get ready for a laugh.I got a tomtom 130 for christmas plus a leather carrying case. It seems i can not remove the easy-mount so that my gps will fit into the case. I know that this is a silly question but how do you disconnect the easy-mount from the gps. Thank-you, Robert.

    robert - December 28th, 2008
    • Pull carefully and firmly. The circular plastic part will pop off from around the speaker.

      Tim - December 28th, 2008
  48. I know that you can search for things such as “bank” or “gas station” to find the closest one…but how do you search for a particular place if you do not have the address. I was faced with this dilemma the other day. I wanted to just type in the name of the company I was searching for, however I did not have the physical address. If there is a way…how do you search for a location by name?
    Thank you!!!!

    Aley - December 29th, 2008
    • I don’t have my 130s in front of me now to confirm this sequence, but it should be here:
      Menu –> Navigate to –> Point of Interest –> POI Near You –> Search POI.

      Tim - December 29th, 2008
      • Thank you! Ive found it now. :)

        aley - January 1st, 2009
  49. Hello again,
    I was wondering if there was a way to make an itinerary on my TomTom 130. What I am actually needing to do is choose a specific Interstate that I want to travel on during my trip. Everytime I try to plan a route — it skips me over that Interstate. I am trying to avoid the states that the “fastest” and “shortest” routes are taking me through due to weather.
    If you can help me with a way to make an itinerary (if it is possible on the 130), or how I can choose my route it would be greatly appreciated! I bought this hoping I wouldnt have to use an online site for my map! :)

    Thanks for your help!

    aley - January 6th, 2009
  50. As a first time owner/user, I was a little disappointed in the map quality. Three streets in my little subdivision mispelled, couldn’t find my office (on the map) because the street name was changed 10 years ago and the old name is reflected in the TomTom. A 230km highway trip yielded two missing interchanges on the TransCanada. The One 130 is an entry level unit for sure, I guess I was expecting more (for Christmas). Maybe I wasn’t as good as I thought.

    Steve - January 7th, 2009
  51. Purchased a 130S. Sounded like it had a sock in it. Brought it back for exchange. Same problem. Opened up two more packages at the returns desk, no luck. The speaker problem is widespread. This product is a dud.

    Dupre - January 7th, 2009
    • The issue doesn’t seem widespread based on the purchasers I’ve talked to, rather it is found in “batches”. If you find one bad one at a store you will probably find several, however I don’t think there are widespread issues in total.

      Tim - January 8th, 2009
  52. Hi all. I am interested in purchasing a GPS, but do not understand what value there is in having multiple waypoints (48 in the 130) when you can only use one in any route. Can you design a route without a destination and use all of the waypoints, and then save the route? For example if you were to travel across the country, and wanted to stop at multiple sights, how would you make up a route without a gps having mutipoint routing possible? Thanks for any input.

    Robert - January 16th, 2009
    • You can store multiple waypoints on the device (what TomTom calls favorites) as a convenience to quickly access frequently used places. You could store the locations of relatives there for example. Or I recently went on a trip and used it to store the locations of the airport, hotel, and office I was working at. I think you are referring to something different, “via” points. The ONE 130s can only accept one via in a route, other TomTom models can accept more.

      Tim - January 17th, 2009
  53. Thank you for your quick response Tim. It appears I should be looking at models capable of more than one via. By your response it seems that either the TT one xls, or 330s would be satisfactory. Any major difference between those two, or did I miss a better model having that capability (without breaking the family bank that is)? It seems it would be a useful capability for long cross country trips that we do twice a year, unless I misunderstand their purpose altogether. Thanks again.

    Robert - January 17th, 2009
    • The 330s is newer than the XL-S and effectively replaces it. It comes with a newer software application version and an updated mount design.

      Tim - January 17th, 2009
  54. Does the 130s have text to speech in Spanish? I want to give it as a gift to someone who does not know english. If not, want model/brand do you recommend for that?

    Ezequiel - February 15th, 2009
  55. Sorry, this may have been answered already but there is so much GREAT info on here I may have missed it. What is the difference between the TT 130 and the 130s? And how do they compare to the Nuvi 255W?

    Mike - February 18th, 2009
    • The only difference is the 130s has Text To Speech and the 130 just has voice prompts.

      Tim - February 18th, 2009
      • Thanks Tim, but how does the 130 compare to the Nuvi 255w

        mike moar - February 18th, 2009
    • The 130S can do Text To Speech, meaning it can speak street names and freeway signs. The 130 will just give you audible direction info…left, right, etc.

      Mike - February 18th, 2009
      • Thanks Tim. I got that part. Do you have any comments on the comparison to the nuvi 255w???

        Mike - February 18th, 2009
  56. Tim, I have three issues with my unit.
    1) When going on a long trip on the freeway it will direct me to take most exits and then get back on the freeway again until the next exit where the process repeats.
    2) On a trip from Salt Lake to Socorro, NM it picked a route that was about 5 hours longer than the route it should have picked. I asked it to pick another route and it picked one that was even further out of the way. I tried shortest distance, shortest time, etc and it didn’t matter. I finally ignored it’s route and started on the route I knew was shorter and it eventually rerouted to the correct route that I was already on. That totally blew my confidence in the unit. If I didn’t already know where I was going(thanks Mapquest) I would have spent 15 hours driving for a 10 hour trip!
    3) The estimated time of arrivals are always exceptionally long. Even if I drove the speed limit exactly or a little slower I would beat the ETA by a longshot. This isn’t easily seen on short trips, but if you go on a 8-10 hour run it will typically tell you the trip will take a 30-50% longer than it really does.

    I know you will probably have a hard time with a solution for #2&3 but hopefully there is a fix for #1 because it is really annoying.

    Paul - April 14th, 2009
  57. Just bought a Tomtom ONE 130s, haven’t hooked it up yet. It’s my first GPS so I have a couple of dumb questions:

    When I hook this unit up to my computer via USB, will that charge the unit?

    Also, should the unit be fully charged in order to use it for the first time, or can I just hook it up to my cigarette lighter and go?

    Thanks!

    Frank

    Frank - April 16th, 2009
    • Frank, 1) Yes, although charge rates are about half of what it would be in the car. 2) It is generally a good idea, but probably not critical.

      Tim - April 17th, 2009
  58. Hello, I’m sorry if this has been asked before but how do you mount it to the windshield? Do you have to buy something like a window mount or what have you. (I have not bought this gps yet but was thinking about it) I see in the picture that it screws into some sort of window mount thing. Sorry if this question is stupid.

    Jimmy - April 18th, 2009
    • Jimmy, all of the mount pieces are included in the box, you don’t need to purchase anything extra. It mounts by a suction cup.

      Tim - April 18th, 2009
      • I thank you for the answer. I shall run out a buy this little GPS system. If I can talk my wife into me getting it that is.

        Jimmy - April 19th, 2009
  59. What is the size of the POI library. Thanks,

    Anil - April 22nd, 2009
    • Anil, TomTom has not released that information as far as we know. Based on what I’ve experienced, I’d assume around 2-3 million.

      Tim - April 22nd, 2009
  60. I just bought a TomTom One 130S and someone told me that you could place a call through it if you have bluetooth on your cellphone. Can you explain me how to do that? Thanks!

    Jolene - April 25th, 2009
    • Jolene, the 130s does not support that function.

      Tim - April 25th, 2009
      • Wow, thanks for replying so quickly!
        Just another little question.! I used my GPS for the first time today and I noticed that when it tells us to turn in a certain distance, it says ” turn in 450 yards” instead of in meters. How can I change that?

        Jolene - April 25th, 2009
        • Jolene, if you are using a recorded (not TTS voice) then try the “units” menu under “change preferences”. Otherwise check the language setup you have. If you are using a USA voice it will typically say yards and Euro voices will typically use meters. You might need to try a few voices.

          Tim - April 27th, 2009
  61. I’ve own the 130S for over a year and there is one thing I can’t figure out. Sometimes I get, what looks like a lit candle inside a square colored red in the left top corner. What the heck is this ????

    bob - April 26th, 2009
    • tim any comment ?

      bob - May 6th, 2009
      • It doesn’t ring a bell with me. I’d ask Tomtom.

        Tim - May 6th, 2009
  62. tim – brilliant website, i found it a few days ago and it helped me decide on the 130s. so, because the mere mention of the words “tech support” send me halfway to coma-land, i figured i’d ask you first…

    i just brought home my second 130s after the first one had software problems. but i am having the same problems with this one, so, i guess i need some outside help.

    both times i plugged the gps into my computer and started up tomtom HOME. it told me i needed updates (application, free map, safety cameras), so (the first time) i let it do its thing. however, once it was done updating and i ejected the device from my computer, i got the big flashing red x. with my first device, i went online and followed instructions on uninstalling and reinstalling everything on the device save for the map. this made the gps functional again, but it uninstalled the computer voice (samantha) and i wasn’t able to download her again because there wasn’t enough space on the 1G hard drive. thinking that something must have gone wrong, seeing how that voice fit on there with the map before, i exchanged it at the store to try again.

    but the same exact thing is happening on the new 130s. i have not gone as far as to delete all the contents again, because i do not want to delete samantha again (the whole reason i spent the extra money on the 130s instead of the 130 was so that i could use the text-to-speech feature). the only thing i allowed tomtom HOME to update this time was the 7.522 application, cause i figured the map update was simply too big. but as soon as the app updated, the red x was flashing and my computer is telling me simultaneously that the samantha voice needs to be downloaded, and that it already IS on my device and that the item cannot be used with the current version of the application. also, the options for backing up/restoring, operating, and map sharing on HOME are greyed out, so i haven’t been able to back up any of my information.

    i went through the instructions for disabling spotlight to run on my device, and it helped free up some space (i have 29.3 MB free space with the map and the computer voice and all other factory-installed goodies on there), but my device is still flashing the big red x.

    it seems like there is something defective with the application…have you heard of this problem before? i was hoping to start my drive cross country in a day or two…help!!

    Emily - April 28th, 2009
  63. i have the tomtom130s does it tell you which lane to stay in on the freeway

    johnnie - May 6th, 2009
    • Johnnie – the 130s might say things like “keep left” but it does not have the Active Lane Guidance feature.

      Tim - May 6th, 2009
  64. tim –

    My wife and I are interested in purchasing a 130s, but are weary of getting entangled in a possible “money-pit” in regards to the map updates. In your opinion, how frequently would you recommend updating? Is this something that could be done infrequently? We are average travelers so I was thinking that we wouldn’t need to spend the money to update too often.

    Thanks!

    Scott - June 4th, 2009
    • Scott, “it depends”. Some people never update their maps… some do it four times per year. I’d suggest people do it at least once every two years, or simply purchase a new GPS. People doing extensive time-sensitive traveling, or in areas where there are lots of intersection changes will want to do it more often.

      Tim - June 5th, 2009
  65. Anyone having problems with their TOMTOM 130S “locking” up?

    I’ve had mine for about a year and about 3 months back it gives me hassles upon turning on or docking to my PC. I plug it in to the USB to try and charge it and when I try to turn it on and it doesn’t do anything. It just sits there.

    I doubt that the battery is that dead…I just used it about 2 weeks back.

    Today I put it in the USB port to charge it and 2 hours later nothing.

    Any help is appreciated.

    -Chris

    Chris - June 5th, 2009
    • Chris, are you on the latest application version? If you are, have you tried reinstalling the application (by deleting and installing again0?

      Tim - June 5th, 2009
  66. Hi,
    I recently rented a car with a GPS system. It was great(except for one incident of telling me where to go- not relevant here); nevertheless, I want to purchase one. Stupid questions–
    1. I was amazed at the amount of info it has. At first I thought it had this info via a satellite connection. However, in reading info on this site, it appears to be self-contained because of the mention of map updates. Correct?
    2. The system I had plugged into the cigarette lighter. However, when I unplugged it (to hide it) it kept right on talking (hmmm?). Does it need to be plugged in? Do I need to keep it charged up?

    Thanks for taking the time to answer.

    Ann

    Ann - June 14th, 2009
    • Ann –
      1) Correct, all of the information is “on board”.
      2) It doesn’t need to be plugged in to work, however if it isn’t plugged in it will run on the battery that will need to be recharged within a couple of hours.

      Tim - June 15th, 2009
      • Me again. Thx for the info. If all of the info is “on board” how did it know I passed up a street it previously told me to turn on :-0. It actually told me to do a U Turn as soon as possible. Yikes! (is there an elf sitting on my roof? :-) I’m so impressed. What system do you have?

        thx again,
        ann

        Ann - June 16th, 2009
        • The GPS “listens” to the satellites. The satellites broadcast the current time. By measuring the difference between the current time and the time the satellite sent the message, the GPS determines the distance from the GPS to the satellite. By knowing the distance to several satellites, the GPS can figure out where it is. Now that the GPS knows where it is, it can determine that you missed a turn based on where the internal map says you are and where it wanted you to go.

          Tim - June 16th, 2009
  67. Great site. I just recently exchanged a Garmin Nuvi 255 for a TomTom One 130s, and so far I’m happy with the switch — the main reason I switched over to the TomTom unit was because these units are able to block specific roads, unlike similarly priced Garmin unit, which can only block certain types of roads (e.g., toll roads and highways) as a global feature.

    Anyway, I am just curious if the TomTom unit is able to do a trip summary like the Garmin unit was able to do. I like to take the GPS unit out when I go jogging to see the distance I’ve traveled, and the Garmin unit did that with its “Trip Summary” feature. The sense I’m getting by reading reviews online is that the TomTom 130s is not capable of this feature, but though I’d try to see if someone on here knew if it did.

    Thanks,
    Mark

    Mark - June 18th, 2009
    • Mark, that is correct, the TomTom 130s doesn’t have a summary screen like that.

      Tim - June 18th, 2009
  68. I am traveling the the UK next week, so I bought the UK&Ireland map pack from TomTom. Backed up my unit, and had done lots of reading prep. when I do the update through Home, it shows the map ready to download, but says “This item cannot be installed on your device”. When I use their model locator and type in the first two digits for the serial it identifies the unit as a 130S, I have the package infront of me…its a 130..not the speech one. I bought and selected the map for the 130 non speech..could this be the problem? Thanks for any help you can provide

    Steve - June 21st, 2009
  69. I’m going to be taking a long river trip in my houseboat. Are there any GPS devices that would work for this purpose?
    Thank you!
    Joel

    Joel - June 22nd, 2009
  70. Doe any one know if TomTom 130, 130s, or one xl can be used while driving?

    William N - June 24th, 2009
    • They can all be used while driving. Not very safe to do so, but they can be operated.

      Tim - June 24th, 2009
      • I know not safe. I bought a new car with NAV but the NAV cannot be used while driving and it really bugs me.

        William N - June 24th, 2009
  71. Between the three TomTom 130, 130s, or one xl which one would you recommend.

    William N - June 24th, 2009
  72. Hello Tim thank you for all the great work you have been doing….. My question to you would be I just bought the 130s and I even follow the directions for the text to speech and well with the menu up for the speech preferences I am not able to choose the read aloud street names, the box is grey and well I guess that means I cannot use it, why would that happen if it says text to speech on the box and how could I correct that:)

    Estrella - June 28th, 2009
    • Estrella, I’m not sure. Perhaps contact TomTom support.

      Tim - June 29th, 2009
      • Hey tim well I called TOM TOM like you suggested and well the thing was he said I had to re install Samantha and then choose her….. that was the rookie move that I did in the first place, I didnt even choose samantha as a voice and that is why it never gave me the option text to speech….. so if you want text to speech choose a computer voice if you want the text to speech:)

        Estrella - June 29th, 2009
  73. I recently purchased the GPS130S from a relative who upgraded. The problem I am having is that she lived in Blatimore and I live in Charleston, SC. I can’t seem to find the way to change the city/state of origin to mine. Everytime I try to set a travel route, it has me coming from Baltimore. It’s driving me crazy. Needless to say, she couldn’t find the manual. I have tried EVERYTHING. Please HELP ME!! Thanks…..

    Beverly - July 1st, 2009
    • Beverly, if the GPS hasn’t found its location from the satellites, then it will route from the last known position. There is no function to change the default starting point, so you will just need to leave the device outside, stationary, where it has an unobstructed sky view until it finds its location.

      Tim - July 1st, 2009
      • Thank you so much Tim. I will definitely give that a try this weekend Will give you feedback on how it went. Really appreciate your help.

        Beverly - July 1st, 2009
  74. I have had a TomTom 130 GPS for one year. The one thing it is missing is current elevation. It has not been problem-free. Not long after it was purchased it lost its ability to capture satellites. I called TomTom and they were very helpful. The technician asked me to turn it off, and then hold the power button down for about 15 seconds to restart it, and that brought it back to life. It sounds like a reboot procedure. Then a couple of weeks ago, it became confused about my location, telling me I was out in a field instead of on the highway, and giving me directions to get back on the road. I checked the satellite status and discovered that although it could see 8 satellites, it only locked onto 3 of them. I did the 15-second reboot, and I have had to do that again once since. Then yesterday, it rebooted on its own while I was driving. I am considering re-installing the software on it, because it behaves as if it has become corrupted.

    Niels - July 9th, 2009
  75. Can anyone tell me if I can purchase the silver circular attachment that goes on the back of the 130s and where? I need a replacement for that, so that I can purchase a mount for it. Nothing seems to fit the back without this particular missing part. Thanks for the help.

    Beverly - July 10th, 2009
  76. I’ve never used a gps navigator but am now looking for one and considering the Tom Tom 130. One feature that is really important to me is while driving/traveling to be able to locate a place like a nearest favorite restautrant, or Starbucks (I have trouble staying alert/awake on the road without it)…what is this feature called in gps/navigator language, and do both the Tom Tom 130 and 130s have this feature?

    Josephus - July 16th, 2009
    • Looks like I found the answer in one of the previous posts…loooong list :).

      Josephus - July 16th, 2009
  77. So I am looking to buy a gps unit If it is refurbished will I be able to use the free download online to have up to date maps or would it be better to just buy a newer one, i can’t seem to figure it out. Thanks

    samantha - July 28th, 2009
    • TomTom’s policy is that refurbished devices don’t qualify for the latest map guarantee. However it doesn’t work out that way 100% of the time– often people are able to get it. But if you want to be assured you will qualify, buy new.

      Tim - July 28th, 2009
  78. This is my 8th gps unit and I only bought it for the MPH as the speedo in my old Toyota truck wore out. Much cheaper to put in the gps.

    David - July 31st, 2009
  79. My TomTom 130s seems to only know the speed limits on Interstate highways and not on ANY secondary roads or even divided highways. So if I ask for the fastest route from Albany, GA to Birmingham, AL it takes me 40 miles and almost one hour out of the way. But if I go to the TomTom web site and ask for the same route, it gives me the shorter and faster route. Why? My 130s seems to think that all roads go 35mph unless they are interstate Hwys. I’m talking legal speed limits here. I’ve tried resets, reloads, reboots, hard starts etc etc. It’s less than a year old so this problem should not be caused by out of date maps.

    Glenn - August 10th, 2009
    • Actually, it probably is because your maps are older. The newer TomTom maps as well as routes.tomtom.com use the newer TomTom IQ Routes which picks much better routes and has better time estimates. Although I can’t remember if those maps are compatible with the 130/s.

      Tim - August 10th, 2009
  80. I left my EasyPort mount in a rental car. Anyone know if TomTom uses a standard mount or if they have different EasyPort sizes for different models?

    Mike - September 3rd, 2009
  81. Hi, i purchased my tomtom one 130 from the amazon website, and on their site they said that this gps can play mp3s, store pictures, etc, but i have not been able to find how to do that. Is it really able to play mp3s?

    Nephi - October 31st, 2009
    • No, the 130 does not have a media player.

      Tim - October 31st, 2009
  82. Hi, I am looking to purchase a GPS for my husband and my father for christmas and am completely confused as to which unit would be best. I am looking for something with text-to-speech and lots of POI’s and capabilities for downloading new maps, and remembers favorites and is reliable. Also am looking at price points of $130 or less. I have looked at some nextar, magellan, tomtom and garmin. I have been told that tomtom and garmin are best. Any suggestions?

    Nicole - December 3rd, 2009
  83. I rec’d both a Tom Tom One 130S and a Garmin Nuvi 265WT. I have read up on both and am not sure which one to keep. Any recommendations for me? Thank you!

    Beth - December 26th, 2009
  84. Hello! I asked for a GPS for CHristmas, and I got 2! Tomtom130 ad a megellan 1212. Any preferences on which one to keep?!

    Darlene - January 2nd, 2010
  85. Help!!! How can I download the saved map on my computer hard drive back to my TomTom?

    Thanks In Advance

    RC - January 6th, 2010
  86. I tried using beach POI on our 130S and the first two selected lead us no ware. Guess they cannot be trusted and will have to use Google to find beaches first and Google maps to get an address.

    Patrick - January 16th, 2010
  87. Responce gets slow when enabling features.

    When I enable the speed and limit displays responce seems sluggish.

    Patrick - January 21st, 2010
  88. While the device seemed OK, the documentation and Mac desktop software are so bad I had to return it.

    When I first ran the desktop software, it told me there was a newer version of the maps available. I OK’ed the download, which eventually finished; then it tried to install the maps and froze. I let it sit for half an hour to make sure it was really frozen; it was. After that, I could neither reinstall the revised map nor restore the old one. The device now had no functionality.

    It turns out you can back up the map on the ONE, but they didn’t bother to mention this when offering to update. Bad instructions, software that freezes, and no recovery. Three strikes; I returned it.

    Gary - March 6th, 2010
  89. I’m looking to purchase a Tom Tom 130 really sometime this week and I want to get some information about before I purchase it or if I purchase it. Does the Tom Tom 130 have a speed limit indicator or warning when you go over the speed limit?? Also, does it have the option to avoid high ways and toll roads??

    Joshua - April 19th, 2010
  90. Thanks for all the info everyone. Im wondering if the Tomtom 130s can be mounted to the vent or somewhere other than the windshield. It’s illegal on the windshield in many states. Thanks!

    phil - April 26th, 2010
  91. Hey Phil,

    All of those fuctions are available on the Tom Tom One 130*S

    Jess - May 15th, 2010
  92. We are planning to purchase a Tom Tom on the road. Can it be used straight out of the box? If not, how long should I plan on it taking to update, load, etc. I have a laptop with me, and could try to find internet access if it won’t take forever. Thanks!

    Lori - May 23rd, 2010
    • It works out of the box– you don’t need to load anything right away.

      Tim - May 23rd, 2010
      • Thank You for the quick reply. Have a great day.

        Lori - May 23rd, 2010
  93. Hi Tim
    Let me tell you…this is one informative site :) I recemtly bought a 130S…got it on a bargain deal from Radio Shack. It doesn’t say the street names though…just says “Turn right after 100 ft” and then just “Turn right”. Is there any setting I need to adjust to have it mention the street name?
    Also, do you know how can I download the community shared maps?

    Thank you. Sam.

    Sam - June 23rd, 2010
  94. Does this have a feature to “avoid toll roads” ?

    Thanks so much!

    Sharonna - July 2nd, 2010
    • Yes, it does.

      Tim - July 2nd, 2010
  95. Can I use a 130s (off road) on a bicycle path and retrace my path? Save path in memory?

    Trevor - July 15th, 2010
  96. On my last few weekly connects to TomTom Home I didn’t get QuickGPSfix or Map Share updates. I did get a Safety Camera Update which seems to occur with each connect ie dosen’t go away after downloaded. My TomTom Home version is 2.7.5.2014 and these symtoms seemed to have occured with the last update.

    Patrick - August 7th, 2010
  97. Just comming home from a Canada trip and was very much let down with my TT130. It found no satelight at all. I had to rent one along with the car. I reset it, but did nothing. any idea’s ?

    bob - August 9th, 2010
  98. Has anyone had to replace the fuse that is inside the car charger that you plug in to the car? What model is it and where did you buy a replacement?

    Terry - November 20th, 2010
  99. HOW TO RESET A TOMTOM ONE,TURNS ON BUT NO MAP PLEASE HELP

    Rey - February 5th, 2011
    • Rey, what do you mean by “no map”. Is this an error message? Do you just not see a map on the display?

      Tim - February 7th, 2011
  100. I have the TomTom 130s.
    How do you get the icons into english. Speaks english but all the icons aren`t.
    Top row: Navigeer na… / Kry alternatief / Help me
    Second row: Voeg Gunsteling by / Verander voorkeure

    Stan - March 1st, 2011
    • Stan, see: Back to English with TomTom

      Tim - March 1st, 2011
      • ?Thank You for the quick reply. Have a great day.

        Stan - March 1st, 2011



content bottomleft content bottomright