leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

TomTom GO 720

Jun
5
2007

Part serious navigation system, part fun entertainment, the TomTom 720 is a GPS you can personalize to match your style. Don’t like the default voices? Record your own or record your kids our spouse’s. Don’t like the map colors? Switch between many of the color schemes available. Want to change the “blue wedge” that represents you on the map? Change to a different vehicle icon or build your own.

But don’t take all of the fun to mean this isn’t a serious navigation system. The 720 can plan a trip with several destinations all wrapped up in one route, it can be connected to an optional traffic receiver that gets live traffic updates, and if you come across an error in the mapping database you can make map corrections and share those changes with other TomTom users.

606 Responses


  1. Activate my promotion code is a button in the Home software. It takes me to a TT website for Plus Services. Where I can enter the code from a card that came with the tt720. But I just read the card it’s for Latest Map Guarantee and TomTom Map Share, which I already have. I guest this does not apply. Thanks Anyway. Do they still plan on making the RDS-TMC Reciever available for the 720 soon?

    Wayne - August 27th, 2007
  2. I haven’t heard otherwise regarding RDS-TMC.

    Tim - August 27th, 2007
  3. Just thought I would throw this up here this is the response I got from TT customer support on problems with the microphone in my go 720;

    Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support regarding the poor sound quality when using the hands-free calling feature of your GO 720. To fix the issue you can try a soft reset by following the steps on http://www.tomtom.com/7134. Also make sure that the unit is fully charged. We have discovered that the lower the battery charge, the worse the sound and microphone quality. We are working on a more permanent fix for this issue, but that should help for now.

    So given they are working on a “FIX” for the sound and mic problems I am not the only one having them and it is an issue for other people hopefuly they fix it soon! Not to scare anyone off from the 720 this is the ONLY problem I have had and love my 720 even with mic problems.

    Jeremy - August 27th, 2007
  4. I’m going to disable comments on this post, because this page is getting too large. However that doesn’t mean the end of discussion for this article! We have lots of conversations taking place in the forums regarding the 720 including topics on the fm transmitter, cases, MP3 on SD cards, availability, Bluetooth, MapShare, etc. Please add to the conversation there. I will update this post with any new 720 information, but will close general commenting now.

    Tim - August 27th, 2007
  5. Great forum. I looked at some of the customer reviews on Amazon.co.uk & Amazon.fr – pretty bad concerning DOA units or failures after just a short time. Typically 2-2.5 stars after up to 26 reviews!! It has left me a bit confused as to whether or not to buy the TT GO720T. The TT tech support got quite a slamming as well!!
    In general this was not the case in reading this forum. It is hard to believe that we are talking about the same product or Tech Support team!!

    Peter - November 7th, 2007
  6. Hi Peter – I’m not sure how TT does support in the UK and France, but I know the USA support is subcontracted out to a USA based support provider. My experience with the USA support has been quite good overall. So we probably are not talking about the same tech support team. :)

    Tim - November 7th, 2007
  7. Have TomTom think about this? How about developibng a navigator as an air plane black box. It is good idea to have especially video camera installed and its capacity holds serveral hours of recording with one button ‘do not erase the image current’ It can prevent steet crimes, prevent car accident disputs etc. Is it good idea?

    Oliver - November 20th, 2007
  8. Hi Tim (and everyone at this forum),

    I’m seriously considering this GPS and I wonder if I can get answers to the following:

    1. Does the unit have a stereo earphone socket? I prefer to route audio to the car radio via the radio’s Aux input rather than an FM radio link.
    2. Scaling (zooming) Is this manually controllable? I haven’t seen any screen shots that indicate “touch” areas that allow this.
    3. Latitude/longitude (Or UTM) outputs via the USB port that would allow the use of a computer running mapping/navigation software. OziExploer in my case.

    It may be that this information is available at the TomTom site, but I haven’t been able to find it.

    Thanks for reading.

    Alan Downing - November 20th, 2007
  9. Alan (1) Yes. (2) Yes, although it will go back to the default setting after a few seconds. (3) Some programs can read it, others cannot. You would need to check with OziExplorer.

    Tim - November 20th, 2007
  10. Hi,
    My main reason for purchasing a Go 720 is vehicle navigation but I am also interested in geocaching. Can the 720 be used for geocaching?
    Thanks,

    John - November 23rd, 2007
  11. John, you could use it for geocaching, but it wouldn’t be as helpful as devices designed for the task and it isn’t designed to be used outdoors.

    Tim - November 23rd, 2007
  12. I have a blackberry 8820 do you know if it will work with the bluetooth for the Tom Tom 720. It is not listed as one of there compatatable phones, but the phone is quite new. Do you know if people have used it succesfully, or if there are any tricks to make it compatatble?

    Kate - November 23rd, 2007
  13. Hi everybody!

    Well, I did purchase the Go 720, however I did returned. I’m new on GPS, I did so many research before, specially in this web site.

    Why I returned? Because he sent me to a bridge and them at the middle of the bridge, he asks me to make a left turn, hehehehe. My house, he always missed for about 50 meters, it is too much and because it’s one way, if some used it to go at my place for the first time, will need to make a big turn all way around it.

    I leave in Montreal (Quebec), is this a problem because of the Tele Atlas inaccuracy in North America, it is because I didn’t up-date (I thought it wasn’t necessary, once it’s a brand new model) or it’s a defective unity? I love all features, the way they made, it just amazing and would never return it if I didn’t have these problems. I probably can say that, if wasn’t for the navigation, it is the best in the market as the way they put all together.

    I also like to make some suggestion to this good web site, could you fellows put in all review how many POI’s each unity has? Well, I’ve been in LA area last month, and I found very important and useful to have a lot of them. Before buy any GPS now, I would make sure they have a lot of them. Could you also have a hand’s on of the devices? Because of my problem with the Go 720, I made a lot of test drive in my friends GPS’s and so on, and I didn’t decide yet.

    Carlos - November 25th, 2007
  14. Carlos, many manufacturers no longer confirm exactly how many POIs they have installed, instead resorting to saying things like “millions”. Since they won’t confirm a number, we don’t have figures we can trust to pass along. :(

    Tim - November 25th, 2007
  15. Tim,

    I really aprecciate your job, thank you!!

    However, I don’t know how you can be so good with so many people to answer, you really do a miracle, hehehehe!

    Keep up the good work and God bless you!

    Carlos - November 25th, 2007
  16. Does the 720 have an option to remove all parkways or other types of roads? I recently used another model and each time I editted destination to remove the parkway, the device recalced and sent me to the same Pakway, but next entrance..

    tks

    Bill G - November 25th, 2007
  17. Carlos – Thanks!

    Bill G – You can set a preference to avoid highways, but not specifically parkways. After creating a route that goes over a parkway you can exclude that street and it won’t put you right back on at the next entrance, but you need to exclude it manually.

    Tim - November 25th, 2007
  18. I have read a plethora of reviews on the TomTom Go 720. I am 90% sure it is the right system for me. I have one concern, I keep reading the options listed are for UK not USA. Especially, TTS and Voice Rec. Is this true? If so, is this something that could be rectified with a downloadable update? This is my first GPS so I am just not sure how that works. Thank you.

    Tina - November 25th, 2007
  19. Tina – In the USA the following applies. Text to speech is on the 720 and 920. Voice Recognition is not on the 720 and is only on the 920.

    Tim - November 25th, 2007
  20. Thank you, Tim. The TTS is more important to me. Out of curiosity, does this mean that if you have a Bluetooth capable phone – such as a Motorola V3 Razr – that you cannot do “Call Home” and have it dial? Thank you for your help.

    Tina - November 25th, 2007
  21. You cannot “speak” to the 720 if that is what you mean.

    Tim - November 25th, 2007
  22. does the 920 recognize voice commands to the phone for handsfree if your phone supports it

    amy - November 25th, 2007
  23. Amy – I don’t believe so.

    Tim - November 26th, 2007
  24. Get IQ Routes on TomTom 720 920

    Tim - June 27th, 2008
  25. I will keep my story very short. I purchased the Garmin Nuvi 680 long ago, was cute but couldn’t stand that the updates were well “outdated” and the thing just kept getting lost cause the new roads I was near was not on the so called updated map. At that time, more than a year ago I was very skeptical about the Tom Tom Go 720 but I got a refund for the Nuvi, and took a chance. I had even posted a negative review on here for the Go 720 without even trying it out myself. Boy was I in for a good surprise. Right out of the box, i loved it. Not only did it have the best map structure I”ve seen and not just “cute” like on the Nuvi’s,, it actually knew where it was going. It completely made me fall in love the day, (and note that this actually happened when I got this), two weeks after purchasing this, there was a bypas over a bridge to go onto the highway, and there was a day I came from work; the day before I did the MAPSHARE UPDATES AND, and the next day it was ironic, since I didn’t notice the new road construction had actually opened up the new exit from the Bridge. I had set the Go 720 to go “home”, and instead of having me turn left as usual, I noticed it told me “turn right in such and such yards etc or whatever”, my eyes went wide opened, and couldn’t believe it. The day that exit opened, my GPS knew it was there. “AMAZING”. And I swear I will not use any other ever again. Nothing matches that. Now there’s the I.Q,, I have to now decide do I want the new version, or wait to see if they will include the I.Q in current Go 720′s in the future.

    Larry - June 27th, 2008
  26. Note:

    One drawback of all TomTom’s is the will not tell you what side of the road your destination is on.

    Most (not all) GPS units will state “You have arrived you destination is on the left”.

    TomTom’s do not do this.

    This is a major drawback if you are in a heavily popuplate area such as a city or a commercial area because a lot of times in these area address are not prominently displayed.

    So you will find your self searching for the addresses once you arrive at you destination to actually find where you are going.

    This feature also comes in handy when traveling on a multiple lane road because you may have to change lanes to get to your destination.

    Jeff - July 7th, 2008
  27. Jeff, while the TomTom will not verbally announce left/right, it will show you on the map most of the time.

    Tim - July 7th, 2008
  28. The complaint I have is the 720 will calculate a primary route using the “fastest” route. If I want the short route, what can I do to change the preference?

    David Van Loh - July 8th, 2008
  29. David – Menu -> Change Preferences -> Planning Preferences.

    Tim - July 9th, 2008
  30. Hi Tim,

    You might remember me, I’m still undecided between a nuvi 260 (I like the large POI, more free space, SD card slot, restaurants by cuisine type, speaker) and tomtom 130s (like the speed limit display, mapshare, speaker, price), they seem to be lacking something for me. I’ll most likely return my magellan 3225(I like everything except for the inaccurate re-routing, not loud enough speaker, not much map or updates available for future use). Now I stumbled on Tomtom Go 720 and nuvi 255. With your help, I’m hoping that I can finally settle on one of them.

    Questions on the Tomtom Go 720
    1. Would you know if there are frequent cases of not being able to find a POI in this unit? I’ve seen a few reviews on the XL where the only issue was not being able to find a POI.

    2. What’s the size of the original POI in MB that came with the unit?

    3. Are you aware of any issues computing arrival time, I’ve seen reviews where the arrival time was always over estimated.

    More power!

    Glenn - July 18th, 2008
  31. 1) Most GPS devices only include about 5-25% of all known POIs, and the 720 is no exception to that rule. So yes– there will be many POIs not included.

    2) I really don’t know… why would you need to know? Each company uses different compression technologies so the file size wouldn’t really compare to the POI file size from a different manufacturer. The 720 will have a few more than the XL series, but not quite as many as the 900 series.

    3) The older TomTom devices tend to be conservative. The newer devices like the 730 and GO 930 have the new IQ Routes feature (see that linked page for info) that makes it much more accurate.

    Tim - July 18th, 2008
  32. Thanks Tim!

    1. I agree with you. I just want to get at least 5 million or so in a GPS.

    2. I just want to make a rough estimate of the no. of POIs in the 720 since the 130s has about 68.6MB and if .5 MB is about 10,000 POIs (which I think is pretty accurate) that means the 130s has about 1.3M POIs only.

    From your response to my other query in the 130s

    comment #90
    ———————–
    The original POI file size is 68.6 MB. My 130s has about 18 MB of free space on it. I wouldn’t read much into the size of the original POI file as it likely uses a different format than custom POI files do. I’ve got a custom POI file with 10,000 locations that takes up about 0.5 MB of space. So you could roughly estimate that 100,000 POI locations would take up 5 MB of space. So I could fit probably fit another 400,000 POIs on the device… If I could think of that many.

    Tim – June 30th, 2008
    ——————

    3. Would the IQroutes work in Canada? I might try your tips on how to get IQroutes work with the 720.

    4. Tim, can you change speed limits on the 720? I noticed it can be done in the 130s. I played with a 720 display earlier and it didn’t allow changing speed limits, perhaps it just needs a software update.

    5. if you have any tips, these are the GPS features I’m looking for:

    - loud/clear speaker
    - fast and accurate re-routing
    - at least 5million POIs
    - free space at least 100 to 200 MB or SD card slot for future updates
    - shows speed limit
    - preferably pocketable

    Thanks!

    Glenn - July 20th, 2008
  33. i have a 720 tomtom home gps. as i was driving along,the word stalker came on ,is it in my machine

    ron - July 20th, 2008
  34. 3) Yes.
    4) Yes, with a firmware update.

    Tim - July 20th, 2008
  35. can the tomtom 720 be uesd on a boat at the lake, pin pointing fishing spots and directions back to the landing docks

    tony - July 22nd, 2008
  36. Tony – Not really. You can mark spots and see them on the map, but it won’t really provide directions “off-road” and it isn’t water resistant nor waterproof.

    Tim - July 22nd, 2008
  37. Tim, you are the greatest!! I have a 2 year old Magellan that just clunked out on me (6000T). Since your first posting on the TT720 in 2007 have they added anything new in the later editions? Should or can I have the Magellan serviced?

    Bette - July 22nd, 2008
  38. Added anything else to the 730 itself or added additional models? They’ve added a few new features to the 720, and the TomTom 730 will likely replace the 720 over time.

    Tim - July 22nd, 2008
  39. So,

    I can not find how to change the compass setting on my 720. The instructions say you can and stuff on the web about the 720 mention this but I can not find this. Anyone else with this problem?

    david Long - July 24th, 2008
  40. Can I use the bluetooth remote and hook to mobile phone via bluetooth at the same time?

    David Long - July 24th, 2008
  41. Menu -> Change Preferences -> status bar preferences -> then you have options for ‘direction’ and ‘compass’.

    Yes, you can use both at th esame time.

    Tim - July 24th, 2008
  42. Hi Tim,

    Thanks I did find that, but in the manual and elswhere on the internet it says that you can change the “display” of the compass. I can not seem to find that. thanks for the info on remote and phone. I have read alot of nice things about the remote.

    David Long - July 24th, 2008
  43. Compass has changed a bit in later firmware versions, the manual still reflects the old style.

    Tim - July 24th, 2008
  44. Ok, Here is a good one. Some times it keeps turning itself back on. Just used it and it turned itself on 4 or5 times. I put it in the cradle and it finally stopped. Weird or is there something I am missing

    David Long - July 24th, 2008
  45. Some of the recent firmware updates changed the behavior of the power button slightly. You no longer need to hold it as long to turn it on and off. So that could be part of the issue and it has happened to others. If it continues you can also try a pin reset– turn it off, press the reset switch, then turn it back on. That can also help with power issues.

    Tim - July 24th, 2008
  46. Thanks!

    David Long - July 25th, 2008
  47. What a piece of junk. 15,000 kms around Southern Europe has proved the 720 next to useless. My wife and I gave up and got out the maps.

    TomTom software is clunky, unfinished a la Microsoft. It crashes on updates, it locks if it needs a cross street, it resets itself randomly.

    Look for mine on eBay

    Anthony Davoren - August 3rd, 2008
  48. We just came back from vacation trip to the northern part of Michigan, southern part of North Carolina, the state of West Virgina, Virginia, and Kentucky with the TT720 in use. All I can say is TT720 has saved me and my family from getting lost in the woods and mountains so many times that I would never travel without it again. So in my case, TT720 has been great in showing directions. Way better than VZ Navigator in my phone.

    Robin - August 13th, 2008
  49. Can the 720 show elevation and if so how do I turn it on?

    Joe - August 14th, 2008
  50. There is no elevation display on the 720. I’ve heard of some third party programs that will display it, but that probably wouldn’t be convenient enough.

    Tim - August 14th, 2008
  51. I have a TomTom 720 and while the unit works fine, the directions I receive SUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! For instance this morning I was traveling from my home to a Doctor’s office I had never visited in a neighboring city. Following TomTom when I got to the city I found my self being directed to exit the freeway and following a series of turn left, turn right etc. until I was on a street under construction. Finally, I arrived at my destination, concluded my business, and when I left, I found that I was about 100 meters from a different freeway exit. OMG how stupid tomtom is. My lesson is BUY AN AMERICAN PRODUCT, MADE IN AMERICA IF YOU WANT GOOD DIRECTIONS.

    Ron - August 22nd, 2008
  52. I don’t know of any GPS devices made in America. :)

    Tim - August 22nd, 2008
  53. Has anyone had luck get the 720 to work with a PDA phone? I have a sprint mogul and so far no luck with data, phone and phonebook were no problem

    Rick - August 24th, 2008
  54. Go 720 software update removes voice recognition from the unit, DO NOT PURCHASE, the customer service are jerks,rude, and don’t give a crap.

    Greg - August 26th, 2008
  55. The 720 update didn’t remove voice recognition from my device. Drop by our TomTom forums, I’m sure someone can help get it back running for you.

    Tim - August 26th, 2008
  56. Regarding Routing … Can I give the TomTom 720 a list of destinations and ask TomTom to arrange them in the best order?

    Mark - August 27th, 2008
  57. Mark – No, you must manually reorder them yourself.

    Tim - August 27th, 2008
  58. Tim – I’m thinking about buying my 1st GPS – either the TomTom 720 or Garmin 750. Do either have WAAS? Someone posted a serious problem with their Nuvi 760 in Austin – being unable to distinguish between the freeway and the frontage road. I live in Austin. Thanks,

    Mark - August 27th, 2008
  59. WAAS is disabled on those devices, even though both would support it hardware-wise. WAAS really wouldn’t provide any advantages, and has the disadvantage of sucking down battery life. If the GPS isn’t reporting you on the correct street, the quality of the signal isn’t the issue– the map is. WAAS wouldn’t make a difference.

    Tim - August 27th, 2008
  60. I used the 720 to travel from New Hampshire to New Mexico this summer. Fantastic. I had no trouble navigating through and in cities and back roads. New routes were calculated very quickly if I went off track. Finding hotels and restaurants and calling ahead for reservations was a snap. I love this thing! I didn’t come across any dead spots. Only thing I’d hope for is a ten hour battery so I can get rid of the power cord when driving all day.

    Geoff - August 27th, 2008
  61. My wife just gave me a TomTom GO 720 as a gift. I expressed interest in a GPS for the car, but hadn’t done any research myself nor have I ever owned a navigation system. After reading this review, it looks like she did her homework. I can’t wait to take it for a spin!

    Lee - September 8th, 2008
  62. I am purchasing a refurbished TT Go 720. Will I have the one year free updates?

    Cecil Hester - September 14th, 2008
  63. Just wondering if the POIs for restaurants can be listed by cuisine type? I noticed that some of the Garmin ones are able to do that, but not sure if the TT720 can? Or are Garmins the only ones that can? Trying to get my 1st GPS, so would appreciate any advice. Cheers!

    Don - September 18th, 2008
  64. Sometimes the cuisine will be in the title, but no, there are not restaurant sub-categories.

    Tim - September 18th, 2008
  65. Tim,

    I am buying a GPS for the first time and looking for 4.3 inch wide screen and TTS option. I am not so crazyy for other features. Just want that the route calculation/finding POI’s/Locations should be faster and can plan trips with 2-3 stop overs. Which one I should go for? I went to the stores and found that garmin interface is the most friendly. Based on my needs which one I should go for?

    Nihar - September 22nd, 2008
  66. If you want a Garmin with a widescreen and TTS, I’d look at the Garmin Nuvi 255w.

    Tim - September 22nd, 2008
  67. Tim,

    But isnt Garmin 260w and advanced model than garmin 255w? I was just curious on your pick for 255w? also any model in tom-tom/magellan I should go for based on my needs?

    Nihar - September 22nd, 2008
  68. No, the 255w is more recent and has more features than the 260w.

    Tim - September 22nd, 2008
  69. I read reviews that the voice from 255w gps is very unclear and sounds robotic and mispronouce the names….your thoughts on this? or you think it is not that of a problem?

    Nihar - September 22nd, 2008
  70. I am wondering why the price of TomTom GO 720 ranging from $199.99 to $450.99. What’s the difference for each price ?

    Webber - September 30th, 2008
  71. No difference, just different stores offering different prices. Some are being very price aggressive, others are a bit behind the times with the price.

    Tim - September 30th, 2008
  72. Hi, We just purchased a go 720… love everything except for one BIG thing. DH wanted to use it to route his appointment and many are in rural communities. When typing in the street, he gets a message that no addresses are available. It then asks cross street… well if we knew that, then he wouldn’t need the gps. Any suggestions? TX

    Tracey - October 1st, 2008
  73. Not all streets are mapped with numbers in the map database. You can report the issue to mapinsight.teleatlas.com

    Tim - October 1st, 2008
  74. Is there a way for the 720 to use counties instead of cities i work for a county emergency agencey and we use our gps and was wondering if this is possible to do with the tt 720 or any other gps out there the reason is there are so many different cities in one area its hard to know wich one to pick when tring to find a street i have three cities in my coverage area for instance just trying to save a lil time trying to find a street thanks

    jason - October 2nd, 2008
  75. I don’t believe so Jason.

    Tim - October 3rd, 2008
  76. Hi,
    I am considering the XL-S or 720 ($35 more). Can someone comment if the 720 sacrifices anything over the XL-S. I am mostly interested in the FM so I can pley tunes and directions over the car radio. How well does this work? Also, I am concerned about reports (not here) from some reviewers of inaccuracy with both units. Any advice and commentary on both of these units to help my decision would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Rob - October 4th, 2008
  77. The XL-S doesn’t have anything the 720 does not have. FM transmitters are hit and miss. Sometimes people live in areas with few open stations which can make it difficult. Also the antenna type and antenna location in your car can make a difference. For example sometimes the antenna is imprinted on the back window which can make reception more difficult.

    As to accuracy, you will find errors with any GPS you purchase. Given that the overall accuracy is good, if you find an area with an error, chances are if you look at a device from a different map vendor it probably won’t contain that same error— but statistically that doesn’t mean that overall it contains less errors… just different errors.

    Tim - October 4th, 2008
  78. Tim,
    When it comes down to it, what real risk and difference is there between the new and the refurbished GPS models if they are done by the original manufacturer? Also is it ever a good idea to buy the extended warranty for new and refurbished?
    Nathan

    Nathan - October 4th, 2008
  79. We have an article on Refurbished GPS Devices.

    Tim - October 4th, 2008
  80. Tim-How do I find restaurants on TT720 in a town that I am in when I do not know their location. POI appears to be rather cumbersome

    John - October 9th, 2008
  81. John – Navigate to -> Point of Interest -> POI Near you -> Restaurant.

    Tim - October 9th, 2008
  82. I can,t work anything with the SD card, in my TT 720, y have all of it in the card. suport is off never answer.

    Jose Perez - October 12th, 2008
  83. I read the discussion on refurbs but I was not able to decide based on the discussion. Can someone comment on whether this would be a smart option on a TT 720? Seems I can get TomTom map updates just the same as a new one. That is my biggest concern but any advice specific to this device is appreciated.

    Rob - October 12th, 2008
  84. After reading about the review and comments on this page, I decided to return the XL330S purchased a week ago and upgraded to the 720. The difference in the speed of signal acquisition and route recalculation is very noticeable. Thanks for all the tips an info.

    Tim, do you know if the Traffic feature works in Canada?

    Viola - October 13th, 2008
  85. It works/is offered in a few Canada cities. I don’t know about the quality of the service there though.

    Tim - October 13th, 2008
  86. I just bought a refurbished unit yesterday, ande read your updated article new vs. refurbished today.. How can I determine the age of the maps on my unit when I get it?

    John - October 17th, 2008
  87. John, see the fourth post in this thread that will show you how to find out your current map version.

    Tim - October 17th, 2008
  88. Update on the 720 refurb. I called TomTom and they informed me that they are now covering this for 1 year. Latest map guarantee also included.

    Rob - October 19th, 2008
  89. Are screen protectors a good idea, or a gimmick?

    Rob - October 19th, 2008
  90. Rob, there are some good threads in our forums debating screen protectors.

    Tim - October 19th, 2008
  91. I got a 720 refurb today. It let me set a destination by speaking, rather than typing, the city and street names. Nice unit.

    John - October 28th, 2008
  92. Hi can you tell me if the TT720 will support other mapping format like oziexplorer or just TT maps. Thanks

    Andrew - October 28th, 2008
  93. Andrew you might want to ask around our forums for info anyone might have on third party mapping for TomTom– I’m not aware of any.

    Tim - October 28th, 2008
  94. Thanks for the fast reply, will ask around.Andrew

    Andrew - October 28th, 2008
  95. I plan to buy a GPS to use in a motor home –38 feet. Do any of them give info about RV accessibility?

    Joan - October 31st, 2008
  96. No, things like height and length restrictions and avoidances are not in consumer level navigation systems.

    Tim - October 31st, 2008
  97. I just bought the 720 but haven’t actually received it yet. Can you recommend accessories I might need? What about the traffic receiver? I have a Blackberry 8830. Is it any good with the 720? Thanks.

    Mike - November 7th, 2008
  98. The most common accessory is a friction (bean bag) type mount, but most people will get along fine with the included mount. The BB 8830 isn’t listed as being compatible, but that doesn’t mean it won’t work.

    Tim - November 7th, 2008
  99. When I select “Operate my device” function through TomTom home it says” “This function is not yet supported for your TomTom device or operating system”

    Does it mean that it may be available soon or can I use it by changing my operating system? I really want to have this function. Please help.

    Caner - November 8th, 2008
  100. Caner, check to make sure you are running the latest version of TomTom HOME. As far as I know it is working on PowerPC macs, Intel Macs, as well as PCs right now.

    Tim - November 8th, 2008



content bottomleft content bottomright