leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

TomTom Eclipse AVN2210p

Jun
19
2007

I recently wrote an article called Death of the PND where I stated most of the things I don’t like about portable navigation devices. The suction cup mount is ugly, cords hang everywhere, and the devices don’t interact with your car in a “smart way”. In dash-systems also have less than desirable features– many don’t […]

205 Responses


  1. The “radio name” probably refers to the station name sent over RDS, which is prevalent in Europe. Can’t think of any FM stations here in the UK which don’t broadcast RDS.

    David - June 20th, 2007
  2. Yes, I believe you are correct David. When I am I don’t think I’ll get any of that RDS lovin’.

    Tim - June 20th, 2007
  3. Right now, Eclipse is offering a free travel kit (which includes an additional vehicle mount) when you get this unit. Not too bad.

    Spencer - June 20th, 2007
  4. What about controlling a cd changer? I don’t want a dead cd changer in my glovebox.

    Zach - June 20th, 2007
  5. Spencer – Yes, I did see that. I also saw in the fine print “quantities limited, first come first serve”. I wonder how many are actually available.

    Zach, there are aux ports on the back of the AVN2210p that perhaps you could use to connect to it? Although I’m not sure how you would then interact with it. Personally with an iPod connector I wouldn’t need a CD changer, but for others connecting a changer would be useful.

    Tim - June 20th, 2007
  6. Nice review. I just installed this unit in my car, and have a few additional observations. Overall, very nice integration. However, 2 serious issues do detract from this unit.

    1) Bluetooth works fine with my Motorola V3c Razr, but this unit insists on repairing with the phone (including needed a confirmation and pin entry) each time it powers off. Now, before you say you forgot to set your phone on automatic recieve, it is! This phone works flawlessly with 3 other bluetooth setups (including the Garmin Zumo 550), but apparently the Tomtom needs a repairing ritual everytime it powers off. We repeated this at the Verizon store with a V3m, 2 LG, and 2 Samsung phones. All required repairing on power-off, despite being set to automatically pair. This is a serious defect which must be corrected in future software updates.

    2) The Tomtom itself has reset about a dozen times during the last few days. This happens either when you redock the unit, or plug an ipod in via the USB cable. You lose all settings and have to go through the setup routine each time it reboots. Very annoying. BTW, the ipod works fine via the USB cable but… It must resync and acquire song titles after each power up. This process takes about 5 mintues on an 8Gb iPod Nano. For short trips around town, this basically renders the ipod functionality via USB unusable. One other issue: the “eject” button in USB mode is large, dead center, and right next to the “search” button. If you accidently hit eject, it 1) reboots the Tomtom (see above), and 2) requires you to download all song titles AGAIN. Poor interface design; this “nuclear” button should not be front and center on the main screen (or should at least require a confirmation page…)

    Again, very nice idea and integration, but some serious firmware bugs for us first-adopters. I’ve sent Tomtom a note with these bugs, and hopefully, a firmware upgrade will fix these problems.

    Joe M.

    Joe M - July 4th, 2007
  7. Hi Joe, thanks for the comments! Since I doubt this will be a super popular device I’m glad to get opinions from other people who have purchased and installed this device. Regarding your comments:

    1) I haven’t experienced that myself. I’ve paired three phones, including a V3c Razr on Verizon, a Treo 650 on Verizon, and the iPhone on AT&T, but none of them exhibited that behavior. All were recognized and reconnected without me touching the phone.

    2) I’ve experienced a couple of resets, but none as drastic as what you are describing. None of the resets I’ve seen caused any data/settings loss. Perhaps the issue you are experiencing is also causing you to need to pair your phones again. I’ve never experienced a reset when ejecting a USB drive with music on it. The eject button seems to be working fine for me.

    I never thought about connecting my iPods via USB. Clever idea. I’m still waiting for them to start shipping the official iPod connection cable.

    Did TomTom respond with any suggestions to the problems you are experiencing?

    Tim - July 4th, 2007
  8. Good to hear yours is working. We should compare software version; my Tomtom Duo is running

    App 6.550 (7818/070315) OS:2523
    GPS v1.21, Boot 5.26

    See if I can track down if this is software version bug or specific to my unit.

    Thanks again,

    Joe M.

    Joe M - July 5th, 2007
  9. I’m running the same versions here. I do recall it downloading a Bluetooth Database Update the last time I connected it to TomTom HOME, so perhaps if you haven’t done that it might fix some of the phone issues.?.

    Tim - July 5th, 2007
  10. Tim,

    Success! Based on your indication that the unit paired fine, I found a “clear flash” utility on the Tomtom website

    http://www.tomtom.com/support/solution.php?GID=1&PID=1678&SID=0&CID=95&Language=4&FID=2150

    I downloaded an ran this against the Tomtom Duo, it indeed reflashed the firmware, and viola! It’s working great now, pairs just fine with my Motorola V3c after a power cycle. Also, I haven’t had a reset yet since this procedure.

    So, for those reading and following the thread, the clear flash utility seems to do the trick!

    Thanks again, I never would have pursued this fix without your comments and review.

    Joe M.

    Joe M - July 5th, 2007
  11. Great! I’ve used that utility a few times in the past to fix more major issues, but I didn’t think of it in your scenario. Glad to hear it is working better.

    Tim - July 5th, 2007
  12. I should add one more comment to this thread:

    When my Tomtom Duo was having problems with re-pairing on power down, it would query my phone for a PIN number 4 times during the setup phase.

    Once I reflashed the Duo, it only queried the phone once during setup.

    So, you’ll know if you have an issue based on the number of times you’re asked to enter the Bluetooth PIN number on the phone during setup. Hopefully, only once :)

    Joe M - July 5th, 2007
  13. Appreciate the great review and follow-up comments.

    Few Questions:

    1) Is there an available face plate to be purchased. My whole center console is black, I do not want a silver frame in the middle of my console. So I would like to modify to a black frame.

    2) Is it possible to connect Eclipse to my existing stearing wheel controls for volume, station change, and next track? I hate the idea of possibly having to give this up.

    3) The reviewer was much more flexible than I would be, I would be annoyed if it stuck out of the dash and 1 1/2″. What are the real dimensions of the unit? Most web sites I have gone to simply say 2 DIM, but how deep.

    Also, agree with the reviewer wish they could have reduced the control buttons to make room for a 4″ or even better 4.5″ screen!

    In advance, many thanks.

    Onz - July 8th, 2007
  14. 1) Not that I know of. It would probably be easy to tape/paint over.

    2) There is a steering wheel connection cable in the harness. I was unable to test it in my car since it doesn’t have steering wheel controls.

    3) It doesn’t stick out 1&1/2 inches, it sticks out 1/2 inch. Also this might be due to the fact that my open slot isn’t the type where you can just slide one device out and slide another in. It is bolted from the side in my car so the depth of the device wasn’t an issue, but rather where it was bolted in. I could also have made another mounting hole to make it flush.

    Tim - July 9th, 2007
  15. Ah, thanks for the feedback again. Sorry for misunderstanding how far it stuck out of dash.

    Great to hear it has stearing wheel controls.

    I checked TomTom website and they have alternate face plates for some other models, perhaps they will develop one for the DUO.

    Also, just thought of this question, is there any internal memory to store MP3′s? I like being able to use the flash USB drive, but not such a fan of having that stick out of the dash all the time.

    Overall I really like the idea of this design.

    Onz - July 9th, 2007
  16. There is about 40 MB of free space on the DUO’s SD card slot, but no internal memory of its own. I don’t believe it can read MP3 files from its own SD card anyway… but I haven’t tried. I agree that the USB drive sticking out looks funny, a USB extension cable might help a little…. but I’m really waiting for the iPod connection cable to become available.

    Tim - July 9th, 2007
  17. I’m curious did anyone actually receive the “free travel kit”?

    Tim - September 6th, 2007
  18. I’m assuming the phone you tested bluetooth phone conversations is the Treo 650. Well, wha’d'ya know? I also have a Treo 650. Since voice calls seem to work even though they’re specifically documented to not, I’m wondering if other non-functioning features work. Specifically, do incoming SMS messages appear on the screen?

    Jeff - September 19th, 2007
  19. Jeff – despite getting it to pair, voice quality for people on the other end when paired with my Treo wasn’t very good. SMS isn’t supported on the DUO/T 650 combination, probably because the Treo doesn’t store SMS on the SIM.

    Tim - September 19th, 2007
  20. I really want to keep this unit but there are so many flaws. Maybe somebody has some fixes. The biggest is that phone calls out can not be clearly heard. The mike seems inadequate or needs noise canceling circuitry. Anyone have a workaround for the poor outgoing sound quality? Also, FM is miserable. Why? It is properly installed to the antenna and blue wire but still,very low qual FM. Any similar experience, or is my unit bad? Thanks…

    charlie - September 21st, 2007
  21. I have had voice quality issues over Bluetooth phone connections with some phones, but other phones seem to work reasonably. I haven’t had any trouble with FM though. I get at least as good reception with it as I did with my factory installed stereo, if not better.

    Tim - September 21st, 2007
  22. For any TomTom Eclipse owners out there… I noticed there was a software update in the last couple of days for version 6.552 labeled “TomTom Eclipse and Toyota”. After installing the update, my DUO will no longer boot. Hopefully other people have had better results, but if you haven’t installed it yet… you might want to hold off. If you have installed it and had successful results, I’d like to hear about that as well.

    Tim - September 21st, 2007
  23. Okay, I did a bit of testing and here is what I’ve found with the 6.552 update. Every time I perform the update on a Mac, the update fails. It works every time, however, from a PC. I still haven’t found a list of what has changed, but the DUO now doesn’t seem to shut down properly when the car is turned off. I haven’t seen any other changes yet.

    Tim - September 22nd, 2007
  24. I am seriously considering getting one of these, so I went to CircuitCity to play with one and found a few issues, that make it nearly unlivable for using with USB devices.

    1. Everytime you insert the USB device with MP3s on it, or turn on the unit, while a USB device is attached it rescans (as mentioned above), so an 8GB USB drive is gonna take 5 minutes.

    2. It couldn’t see my MP3 player as a USB flash drive (I have a Sansa e280). So I instead had to fall back to a regular USB flash drive. That being said the Sansa appears as a regular USB mass storage device to everything else. Does this mean that the AVN2210p is very finicky with the USB drives it supports?

    I am curious have any of the later firmware releases addressed these issues? Do you have any experiance with these issues?

    (I emailed their tech support but the response failed to answer my questions.)

    David T. - October 12th, 2007
  25. David – Yes, the long scan time for USB devices is very frustrating. What I’ve done as a workaround is to get a small 256 MB USB drive, and then create a smart playlist in iTunes that fills that drive with random music. I don’t often take long trips that would outlast 256 MB worth of music.

    I know some MP3 players are recognized as USB drives. I’ve been using an iPod Shuffle that works okay in that manner, though it does try to open and play files on the drive that are not music, recognizes they are not music, and then skips to the next track.

    I don’t believe any of the firmware updates have made changes to the USB/MP3 functionality… at least none that were visible to me.

    Tim - October 12th, 2007
  26. For those still waiting for the iPC-107p (iPod Connect Cable) Eclipse says it should be available “mid November” and a few retailers have an expected date of November 9. Crossing fingers….

    Tim - October 17th, 2007
  27. Hi Tim,
    After reading your review, I’m thinking about getting the unit, looks so nice ! By any chance, do you know if this unit works with the news SDHC cards (4/6/8GB)?
    Thanks and keep going !

    Miguel S. - October 17th, 2007
  28. I don’t believe it supports SDHC cards.

    Tim - October 18th, 2007
  29. So Tim, on that note, from my understanding this unit can’t play music when it is on an SD card, right?

    I have been trying to get a response from Eclipse to see if they will fix the issue regarding re-scanning the USB drive each time you start the player. So far 3 emails sent and the response from their tech support team is lack luster. (I got one response which didn’t address my issue.)

    I am really frustrated because this seems like a good device, but a few little software issues here and there make it less usable.

    David T. - October 18th, 2007
  30. Correct, it will play music from the radio, CD, USB drive, Sirius radio with hookup, or an iPod with hookup, but not from the SD card.

    Tim - October 18th, 2007
  31. I just got a response on my query regarding the fact that the USB port is re-scanned each time the head unit is booted. (Meaning you can’t really use a large USB drive with this unit.)

    “David,

    Thanks for your inquiry.

    The USB port works the way it was speced to, reads the music each time the USB is inserted. This is not considered to be a bug.

    Tech Support”

    I consider that to be unfortunate. It would seem counter-intuitive. I bet most people who buy this unit won’t be all to happy when they plug their 2GB USB flash drive into it and have to wait a few minutes before they can play their music.

    David T - October 18th, 2007
  32. I agree with them that technically it isn’t a bug, but I agree with you that it is largely unfortunate the issue is there.

    I noticed in the manual it says “To read the files in the USB memory, it may take up 15 seconds.” (Yes, even the typo missing the word “to”.) If only that was the case and it only took 15 seconds.

    Tim - October 18th, 2007
  33. Thanks for the update on the iPod cable. Still waiting like everyone else…

    BTW, not a single reset in 4 months with this unit, so it appears stable after I reflashed the Tomtom Duo. I’m also pleased with the interface design, you get used to it fairly quickly, and the Sirius integration is pretty good.

    Joe M - October 20th, 2007
  34. A couple of notes for everyone. (1) I’ve been experimenting with the USB MP3 player thing a little more. I’ve found greater stability and faster scanning if I make sure there are zero other files on the drive except for the MP3 files. This includes hidden system files your operating system might add. Once I clear out all of the hidden system files and any other non-MP3 files the scan goes quicker…. By no means lightning fast… but it does go quicker and I see fewer “unexpected playback” type errors.

    2) After installing the 6.552 application update, my TomTom turns itself back on about 30-45 seconds after the car has been turned off…. almost every time I turn of the car. When I turn of the car it appears to shut down normally, then about 30-45 seconds later decides to boot up again. Anyone else experience that?

    Tim - October 22nd, 2007
  35. Hi Tim,

    Sorry to hear about your issue with the update. Hopefully you’ll have some success getting them to fix it.

    On a different note, have you ever tried installing any 3rd party applications on your TomTom like the ones found found here:

    http://gps.dg4sfw.de/

    I have a TomTom One and I have a couple that guys apps on there. They seem to work well enough (The Calculator and FuelControl apps)

    (I have this dream that if third party apps work then perhaps I can get one of the third party mp3 players on it to work around the sillyness with the mp3 player)

    David T. - October 22nd, 2007
  36. I haven’t installed any of those third party apps. One of these days I’ll get around to checking it out.

    Tim - October 22nd, 2007
  37. Tim,

    I have the same issue with the unit turning back on after the car is turned off. When talking to Eclipse they are suggesting a replacement SD card. I also had the dreaded “Red Cross” stall after updating but have somehow managed to fix that!?! Not sure how though.
    I’ll keep you posted on their solution.

    Some have mentioned problems when using a Mac (which I use), anyone else experienced this?

    Sean - October 23rd, 2007
  38. Yea, I know all about the red cross/x after updating issue. Been there, fixed that. :) Although I’m not glad to hear you too have the spontaneous restart issue I’m at least glad there is confirmation so hopefully there can be a fix. I’m thinking of reflashing the memory and then reinstalling from a PC. I also have a meeting with Eclipse next week and if I remember I’ll try to ask about the issue.

    Tim - October 23rd, 2007
  39. Tim,

    Please pester them to fix the USB issue with scanning.

    (I know I am a pain in the butt … :P )

    David T - October 24th, 2007
  40. The people I’m meeting with are sales/PR people so I doubt I will get much info from them. But hopefully they can point me to a technical contact. I’ll certainly try to ask about the USB scanning thing.

    I’ve been thinking about it though. I’m not an expert on the various types of file systems, but I wonder if it just isn’t possible to tell if the files on a USB device have changed since the last time it was connected without “scanning it”. Perhaps if they didn’t scan it and just assumed the files were the same it wouldn’t pick up any changes you might have made. But I’ll try to find out regardless.

    Tim - October 24th, 2007
  41. In talking to Eclipse support… a tech told me that the “Toyota” update is for European users only. TTHome recc that I update with it when I initially connected the unit and that is when the trouble began.
    Not sure how to remove it. How do you do the “Clear Flash” thing? I’ve seen the download but not sure how to carry it out.

    Sean - October 24th, 2007
  42. Sean, are you talking about the 6.552 update?

    Tim - October 24th, 2007
  43. I believe so Tim. I read earlier that it helped the unit run smoother so when TTHome recc the update I did it. I called Eclipse support after it wouldn’t turn off and that is when the tech told me it was for use in Europe. Not sure about this, just relaying what I was told.

    BTW I’ve noticed that after redocking, charging etc. to my Mac that the unit will work as expected… but my 8 gig thumb drive will cause it to stall, restart and then the probs start again. I removed all non MP3 files tonight (from the thumb drive) and will see if that makes a difference tomorrow.

    Sean - October 26th, 2007
  44. Clearing the 6.552 application is certainly possible with the clear flash tool, or just manually from within TomTom HOME. The tricky part would be obtaining the files from the previous application unless you kept a backup copy. TomTom HOME will just continue to download the new version.

    Tim - October 26th, 2007
  45. I confirmed today that the 6.552 update isn’t designed to be installed with the North American version of the AVN2210p. It is designed for European devices as earlier people reported. Eclipse says if you contact their support department you can mail them your SD card, they can downgrade it, and send it back. I’m not sure why they just can’t push something out to TomTom HOME.

    They have also released a slight revision to the device. The “AVN2201p mkII is identifiable by blue lighting. In addition to the different color lighting, the only other big difference is that Bluetooth has been improved to “no longer cut out” periodically. Other than that, it is identical I’m told.

    Something else I didn’t know that I’ve been told is that the TomTom iPod connect cable will work with the AVN2210p as an alternative to the (still not yet out) IPC-107p. However there are a couple of differences. The TomTom iPod connect cable comes with an additional, unnecessary audio cable and it won’t charge the iPod. The IPC-107p cable will charge the iPod.

    Tim - October 30th, 2007
  46. About the TomTom iPod connect cable, does it connect into the same slot on the back of the unit or elsewhere? I really just need the aux input for another mp3 player, but have been having trouble finding the aux105 for a non-outrageous price.

    Rob - October 30th, 2007
  47. It connects in the back, but i can’t say for sure off the top of my head which slot.

    Tim - October 30th, 2007
  48. I know I am a pain, but did they say anything about the MP3/USB issue when you talked to them recently?

    Davd T. - October 31st, 2007
  49. After having installed my unit last night I see where that cable would go. Not too impressed with the unit so far and it seems mine already upgraded itself to the 6.552 right off the bat. I really with this thing was at least flush with the dash as the glare from the right side is horrible during the day – they need to sell a little popout “cover” to block the light.

    Rob - October 31st, 2007
  50. David, I did ask them about it. They acknowledged the issue when you have lots of music on the drive. However it doesn’t sound like something they are going to address with this version of the device. They did say they would take a closer look at it, so perhaps they will surprise us.

    They did say that there will be a software update coming out in another month or so– I suspect NavCore 7. I actually hacked my device to run NavCore 7, although with my hack you don’t get the CD/MP3/on-screen radio options.

    Tim - October 31st, 2007
  51. How difficult was the 7 “hack”? I thought for some reason I saw that the radio did RDS, but it seems that wasn’t the case. A little upgrade to the multimedia aspect of this would really go a long way.

    Rob - November 1st, 2007
  52. Rob, it took awhile to figure out how to make it happen, but actually doing it was quite easy. You do loose the on-screen radio, USB, and CD controls though, so it really isn’t worth it.

    Tim - November 1st, 2007
  53. Just because I am bored at work I might give it a shot. Any idea what this thing would be considered in terms of Tomtom One versions? I can’t believe how fast doing everything from a SD reader is compared to using the Tomtom. Making a backup took less than 5 minutes compared to the 20 when hooked to the Tomtom. I have found this whole nav thing a little addictive now.

    Rob - November 1st, 2007
  54. Rob, functionality-wise it is more similar to the 510 than anything in the ONE series.

    Tim - November 2nd, 2007
  55. I really like how the Nav 7 is and hope we get an upgrade to this version. TTS works pretty good with the unit, but like you said the whole losing radio controls does stink. Something to look forward to I guess.

    Rob - November 3rd, 2007
  56. Rob, are you saying you got TTS working on your device?

    Tim - November 3rd, 2007
  57. Yes, it works as a standalone. Last time I tried anything I couldn’t get the sound to play once in the car dock and the unit kept resetting, but haven’t tried this time. Makes it a pita to test things having to run out to the car each time =]

    Rob - November 3rd, 2007
  58. Under version 6 or 7? Which voice? How did you install it?

    Tim - November 3rd, 2007
  59. Under 7. Using any of the voices, but only US/UK are of any use. The problem of course is that like I said, put it in the car and it does nothing. It won’t turn on or really even function when docked. It still comes up as a Tomtom Duo, but it is basically only good for a portable like this. Fingers crossed for a future release of custom firmware running 7 though

    Rob - November 3rd, 2007
  60. Hi Tim

    I’m living in Europe and I recently purchased an Eclipse 2210p. I had contacted Eclipse in advance of my purchase about the availability of a European model. They informed me that there would be no European model!!! I found out after my purchase that the 2227p was available.

    Antway – my query. Have you any idea if the radio on the 2210p can be modified/changed/upgraded to work properly in Europe. It does work at the moment but with 2 problems i.e. 1. The frequency step is wrong @ 0.2 Mhz instead of 50 Khz 2. No RDS.

    Both units look itentical and I believe that both the same electronics inside. It would not make commercial sense to manufacture 2 different models when a simple software tweak or firmware change could change the step. The RDS could be more complicated but I can live without that.

    I have emailed Eclipse about the problems but they have been unhelpful in a helpful way i.e. Eclipse US told me to contact Eclipse Europe and Eclipse Europe told me to contact Eclipse US!!

    Thanks for your help.

    Bill - November 4th, 2007
  61. Bill – Did you purchase it in Europe or North America? Just curious.

    Anyway, your questions are questions I’ve had too, and so far have been unable to get a firm answer on. However I might have more news next week.

    I don’t know if the radio can be changed. I suspect it cannot be changed. You can take the DUO out of the AVN2210p and the radio still works the same way, so it is getting much of the radio programming from its own software rather than relying on the DUO. What also confirms that is the debacle some of us in North America are in with the 6.552 update that TomTom pushed out that we have since discovered is only for the European model. Even with that update applied our radio behavior doesn’t change.

    As to RDS, I suspect there is a hardware difference there. When tuned into radio stations that offer RDS here in North America (which are few comparatively) we don’t see the station name, etc updated on the radio display like the European version. So either the North American version might not have any RDS equipment in it (which is possible) or it is just “different” enough from European RDS to not work properly.

    Tim - November 4th, 2007
  62. Hi Tim

    I purchased the unit from an American eBay Seller. To be honest, I didn’t realise the differences between the two radio systems. If I had known about the 2227p then I would obviously have bought that particular model.

    I would imagine that the radio tuner is on board the PCB in the main unit. The DUO just seems to be a display for the radio. While the RDS function may be a seperate module/chip, I would have thought the frequency step may be a software/firmware setting. Some of the other Eclipse head units can be updated with a CD or DVD so I was hoping that the 2210p frequency step could be altered in a similar fashion. I would even be willing to change the tuner if I could get my hands on a European one.

    Thanks for your help.

    Bill - November 4th, 2007
  63. Tim, Bill

    Your comments regarding the frequency steps are of interest to me as well.

    I bought the AVN2210p as opposed to the European model based purely on the price differential. I am in the UK.

    I would be keen to see if there is a solution as it would make the system perfect for me.

    I have also fallen foul of the 6.552 upgrade with the result that my TOMTOM now re-boots everytime I switch the ignition off.

    TOMTOM tech support are being somewhat less than helpful in providing me with a downgraded operating system.

    This thread has been a life-saver for me. At least I know the hardware isn’t at fault so saving me the nause of having to return the unit ‘over the pond’

    Paul - November 5th, 2007
  64. I am not sure about the legal aspect of it, but I still have the original 6.550 if anyone wants to downgrade back to that version.

    Rob - November 5th, 2007
  65. Hi Rob

    I would certainly be pleased to have a copy.Would you be able to attach it to an e-mail or FTP it please?

    Here is the answer I received from TOMTOM Europe:-

    “Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support

    There isn’t a bug in the software that causes it to reboot. As you have reinstalled the aplication completely and it is still behaving the same way then you need to contac5t Fujitsu for support as it sounds like a hardware problem with the unit. We cannot assist you in any further with this issue.

    With Best Regards”

    Helpful, yes?? As ususal, it’s everbodies fault except TOMTOM

    Paul - November 5th, 2007
  66. Of course we know that it never happened with 6.550, it always happens with 6.552 which means that it isn’t a hardware issue.

    Tim - November 5th, 2007
  67. I saw this unit the other day in Circuit City, and completely fell in love with it. It seems to do everything I need (MP3, navigation, satellite radio, BT hands-free), and has a really lovely form factor. The news that NavCore 7 may be coming is fantastic – I think that would push me over the edge into buying it.

    DMZ - November 5th, 2007
  68. I’m still on the fence about mine, if it wasn’t for the cheap price it was selling for on cardomain I never would have jumped. I can say after using it that I wish tomtom would make their own in dash solution as I love having it integrated. Now the mkii version… I do love me some blue lights.

    Rob - November 5th, 2007
  69. I like the blue lights as well… and they say they have improved Bluetooth as well which would be helpful.

    Tim - November 5th, 2007
  70. Rob

    How can I get a copy of your backed up Version 6.550 please?

    I want to install it now not just to get my system working properly but to prove a point to the European TOMTOM techies.

    Paul - November 5th, 2007
  71. Paul, I dropped you an email.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  72. I have been wanting to purchase this for a while as well, saw the MKII at the Car Convention in Vegas (happened to be there on vacation). They showed me the Ipod connection cable and the XM Radio unit – said both were ready to ship this week. My one question I still can;t find an answer to is will my Verizon Treo 700p or even 650 connect via bluetooth hands-free. When i called tech support on the non-MKII they said no CDMA phones. The guys at the booth said they think they fixed it in the MKII but they couldn’t show me as it did not have the new OS. I need a straight answer, will this work with a Verizon Treo 700p? Also any release date and price on the MKII?

    Dan Moskovitz - November 6th, 2007
  73. Thank you Tim

    I’ll read it when I get home.

    Regardless of that though, I seem to have solved the problem by copying my 1GB card onto a new 2GB card.

    I’m wondering if TOMTOM tries to write a temporary file to the SC card when you shut down and maybe there was just enough room previously but maybe V6.552 of the software is just a little too big?

    I’m just guessing of course but changing to a card with more space has certainly solved the problem for me and it is definitely still version 6.552.

    However, TOMTOM’s service stinks. Having had no reasonable reply on-line, I phoned them and their solution to that is to put the phone down on the customer if you disagree with them.

    I had heard these rumours about their sercie before but now I’m beginning to see that they might be true.

    Anyway, one problem solved thanks mostly to the input from you guys.

    All I need now is to be able to change the frequency steps :)

    Paul - November 6th, 2007
  74. Dan – According to the charts the 650 specifically isn’t compatible for hands free calling. They don’t show results for the 700p. Info on the mkII isn’t out yet.

    Pual – That is interesting to hear. I might have to go SD card shopping today. Aside from this issue, I’ve found their USA support to be quite good, and much improved in the past year or so.

    All – Did anyone ever have shutdown issues with 6.550? For example the DUO not shutting down at all when the car was turned off?

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  75. I tested 6.552 on my 2GB card right from the start and it still gave me the reboot issue. I have gone back to it a few times in testing, but there just doesn’t seem to be anything of benefit on it.

    It seems they didn’t change much for the mkii, at least not in manuals. One of them has an extra page, but it seems they just took the pdf’s from the first version and edited them with mkii pictures.

    I’ve never had shutdown issues with 6.550 and the only other time I have had shutdown issues is with 6.552 and with using any version of 7 and trying to dock in the car – which just causes reboots endlessly.

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  76. 6.553 is now available. Going to install and see

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  77. Nice, I’m checking it out myself. Maybe the call I made yesterday worked. ;)

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  78. Installed update. Restarted DUO. Turned off the DUO. Installed it in my car, turned car on, everything booted as normal. Turned off car, DUO shut down. Waited 30 seconds, DUO started right back up. :(

    Decided to “try again”. Shut off DUO, installed in car. Turned car on. Duo started. Turned car off. DUO turned off and stayed off! :)

    Decided to try a third time. Back to spontaneous restarts. Now I get a spontaneous restart every time, just like with 6.552.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  79. Almost same thing happened to me Tim – first time it came back on. I tried 5 more times and each time it stayed off. This is all on a 2gb card, haven’t tried the 1gb yet. Of course ever since I started messing with this stuff my bluetooth doesn’t work anymore unless i restart my phone each time and even then it connects once and no functions work(Worked great with 7).

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  80. Sounds like you had better results than I did. I might try the clear flash tool and then install 6.553

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  81. Oh my word.

    So it seems there is a problem even with a 2 GB card? There goes my theory – yet it solved me problem.

    I’ve never had a problem with bluetooth either. Works exactly as it is supposed to.

    Sorry guys – I thought really it was solved :(

    Paul - November 6th, 2007
  82. I only had the reboot once with the 2gb, hasn’t happened again in 10+ reboots. 1GB card is working fine as well without reboots. I haven’t tested anything in the car, but it seems stable so far. If I can’t get the bluetooth to work again though it is gone.

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  83. Oh, I thought you were testing in the car. I didn’t have reboot issues with any version outside of the car, just when it was docked.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  84. Tim

    My DUO was having the same problem standalone.

    Switch it off at the power switch on the to and it would immediately re-boot.

    Only way to switch it off was to press the reset button.

    THanks for the info you provided :)

    Paul - November 6th, 2007
  85. The only car reboot issues I had is with firmwares for other models. The 6.552 reboot thing happened when turning the car off and removing the unit or just when using the unit. As Paul said, only way to stay off was the reset.

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  86. Wow, and here I was thinking we were all talking about the same thing. I guess I couldn’t have been more wrong. Here is where I was/am at:

    6.550 Docked : DUO would not shut off when I turned the ignition off.
    6.550 Un-Docked: No power issues.

    6.552 Docked: DUO would shut itself off when I turned the ignition off, but would turn itself on again 30-60 seconds later. I’d pull it out, turn it off by the button on top, and it would stay off.
    6.552 Un-Docked: No issues.

    6.553 Docked: Turns off with the car ignition as it should, but turns itself back on after 30-60 seconds. Same as 6.552.
    6.553 Un-Docked: No power issues.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  87. Tim

    I suspect it is all linked somehow.

    To tabulate my findings as per yours:-

    6.550 – No problems at all

    6.552 – Docked – Re-boot approx 30 seconds after ignition off
    6.552 – Undocked – immediate re-boot on switch off – only able to switch off bu resetting.

    Problems all solved by copying files from 1gb card to 2gb card.

    Unwilling to try 6.553 as my system is working properly at long last ;)

    FYI, I tried copying the files to another (known good) 1gb card and the same fault showed up.

    Here’s another piece of info to add:-

    My phone squeaks when it loses bluetooth connection. BUT, when the DUO was docked and apparently shut down for a time after ignition off, the phone didn’t squeak.

    Now it squeaks immediately the DUO shuts down after ignition off.

    So it appears that, although the DUO goes black, it hasn’t fully shut down.

    Very odd.

    OH – TOMTOM Europe told me there isn’t a 6.553 version and there isn’t likely to be in the foreseeable future. :(

    Paul - November 6th, 2007
  88. Paul, Rob: I think I might have figured something out about the rebooting issues. But how would you feel about moving this conversation over to the Discussion Forums for now? At least until some issues are solved. I feel bad for the people that have subscribed to updates to this post who may want to know of the solution (and we’ll update here) but might not want to be notified by email every time we update.

    I’ve started a thread with my most recent findings over here.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  89. I swear your registration confirmation thing hates me, they were all too hard to read so I have to wait until later to try again. For now though, I used 1.6 of home.

    With 6.550, did you let the Duo sit for a minute after the car was off? Mine takes 30 seconds or more to shut down.

    Rob - November 6th, 2007
  90. Yes, it never shut down on its own with 6.550. I forgot to mention though that with 6.550 if I held the ‘screen’ button down on the AVN2210p for a couple of seconds, the DUO screen would go black (as it is supposed to) and THEN if I turned off the ignition it would shut down normally.

    (I can register you if you want.)

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  91. For those who have the unit, and the Sirius adapter, what is displayed on the Eclipse’s display (the small text area, NOT the Tom Tom’s screen) while you’re listening to Sirius? I’m just curious. Thanks! =)

    Jeff - November 6th, 2007
  92. Hey All, I am scheduled to have this professioanlly installed on Friday and I hate to say it but I am so confused. Is this worth the extra money or am I better off to wait until all the bugs/problems are worked out?

    Pat - November 6th, 2007
  93. Pat – It seems that provided you stay on the 6.550 software (for now) that it is working okay for most people with that version.

    Tim - November 6th, 2007
  94. I got a call today that TomTom Support now has a link they can send you to download the “official” 6.550 software if you want to revert back. You will need to call support, tell them you want to downgrade, and from what I’ve been told they should be able to give you a link to download the older software.

    Tim - November 8th, 2007
  95. Hey Tim, I was playing with unit [snip] and I noticed that when I zoomed out it would zoom back in a few seconds later, is there anyway to keep the map zoomed out? Couldn’t figure it out if there is.

    Chris - November 14th, 2007
  96. No, it will automatically zoom back in. You might want to try the 2D view.

    Tim - November 14th, 2007
  97. I am the new owner of the Toyota Urban Runner which has this TomTom nav system factory installed in the dash. Love it, except I would like to be able to use it with my iPod and NO ONE seems to know how to do that. Where do I get this mystery “optional iPod connection cable”. I am hoping it really doesn’t plug into the back of the system b/c I don’t know if that is possible with the factory installed version. Help?

    Stacie - May 7th, 2008
  98. You can find the cable here. Yes, it does connect into the back of the system.

    Tim - May 7th, 2008
  99. Just bought an AVN2210p from eBay and got it installed. Navigation & USB support work great. But I have two issues.
    Firstly the radio only has stepping of 200 kHz, not 100 kHz that would be needed in Europe. (ei. 99.1, 99.3, 99.5… vs. 99.1, 99.2, 99.3, 99.4…). Does anyone know how to change that? Most radios let you select this, some even support 50 kHz stepping.
    Second isssue is with Bluetooth. I can pair my Nokia N80 (on supported list) great, even get data working. BUT when call comes in I cannot hear anything. The other end hears me, but the sound is picked up by the phones mic, NOT by Eclipse. Any ideas on this one?
    Thanks in advance!

    Tuukka - May 8th, 2008
  100. Tuukka – Sounds like you purchased the North American version of the TomTom Eclipse and not the European version. We’ve talked about this before in the forums and it doesn’t appear you can change it.

    Tim - May 8th, 2008



content bottomleft content bottomright