leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

TomTom ONE XL-S

Oct
15
2007

TomTom is soon going to be offering a small bump to the existing ONE XL with the ONE XL-S. So what does the “s” mean? The only difference between the ONE XL and the ONE XL-S we have been able to identify is that the XL-S will come with text-to-speech. It will also come with NavCore version 7 installed with MapShare, however the ONE XL can be upgraded to version 7 with MapShare as well. Another nice bonus is that the XL-S will come with 64 Mb of RAM instead of 32Mb found on the older XL which should give this interface some speed improvements.

Expect the ONE XLS to hit store shelves in the next couple of weeks, at a price about $50 over the price of the ONE XL.

300 Responses


  1. Bluetooth data means the GPS can take advantage of an internet connection from a compatible phone to download things like weather and traffic over the internet to the phone and then down into the GPS.

    Tim - July 10th, 2008
  2. Thanks Tim – looks like an interesting feature.

    Wendell - July 12th, 2008
  3. I noticed on a compare site that the XL-S has software mapping and the 330-S doesn’t. Can anyone tell me what the advantages of that are?

    Jim - July 13th, 2008
  4. All I’m looking for is a GPS that has Widescreen, TTS, good mounting method, good sound, clear voice and $300ish or less. Suggestions? Tim, you do a great job!

    Mike - July 13th, 2008
  5. Jim – I have no idea what they could be talking about. There are very few differences between those two.

    Mike – The XL-S would be a good pick for that as well as the XL 330s.

    Tim - July 13th, 2008
  6. I may have missed it but is there truck specific routing available for the xl?

    mark - July 15th, 2008
  7. No, there is not.

    Tim - July 15th, 2008
  8. I have noticed a very large amount of “Factory Refurbished” GPS units for sale through many different vendors. It encompasses many different models and manufacturers, Garmin and Tom Tom mostly. The prices asked for these units are very attractive, are they worth it, or a bad deal? Why are there so many of these on the market?

    Walt - July 21st, 2008
  9. Walt, you can read our page on Refurbished GPS Devices for our thoughts on the subject.

    Tim - July 21st, 2008
  10. Tim – real quick, I work as an installer and would like to make my own little database of client’s addresses saved in their name. do you know how many favorites the XL/XL-S can store? . .and could it be expandable via SD card?

    Also would you recommend any others?

    Daniel - August 18th, 2008
  11. You can only store about 48-50 points as “favorites”, but you can store an unlimited amount as custom POIs and those are easier to make backups of.

    Tim - August 18th, 2008
  12. I bought a One XLS about 3 months ago and I am wondering about the battery. I have charged the GPS to a full charge and had it sit for about a week in the off position and when I go to turn it on, the battery is completely drained. Is this normal or does it seem like mine has a problem?

    Dave - August 31st, 2008
  13. Dave, that isn’t uncommon to see. Sometimes a PIN reset (turn device off, hit the reset switch, turn it back on, and then off again) will help with that issue.

    Tim - August 31st, 2008
  14. I am looking for a GPS that can be programmed to not travel roads w/overheads lower than 12’10”.
    I want to be able to use the GPS in my motorhome and car.
    I had 2 Magellan 1412 units which both stopped working in 2 weeks and didn’t have the height restriction.

    Neil - September 2nd, 2008
  15. Neil, at this point you really need a commercial product for something like that. You won’t find those types of restrictions in consumer type GPS devices like the Garmin, TomTom, Magellan models, etc.

    Tim - September 2nd, 2008
  16. I am looking at a TT xls gps for use in NJ and I am thinking about using it on my trip to Italy in October 2008. My question: is it possible to use an Italy mapping in the GPS without intalling it?

    thank you,
    rob

    rob - September 4th, 2008
  17. The XL-S does not come with a map of Italy installed, so if you wanted it you would need to purchase and install it.

    Tim - September 4th, 2008
  18. Let me rephrase the question: Do you have to install any additional maps gps or can the new maps (of Italy) be accessed like a flash card. I don’t want to install the maps then take then out after 2wks when I come home.

    thanks

    rob - September 4th, 2008
  19. You can put them on an SD card, but you will also need to load the application on the card as well and effectively boot off the SD card instead of booting from the internal memory.

    Tim - September 4th, 2008
  20. Tim – ok – so I’ve narrowed down my search for a GPS to the Tom Tom One XL-S or the Garmin nuvi 255w. Which would you choose and why???

    Tracy - September 17th, 2008
  21. That is a tough call…. hard to go wrong with either. Perhaps the biggest difference is that the XL-S has multi-destination routing.

    Tim - September 17th, 2008
  22. Tim-

    Reading through the comments, there are a lot of “Which is better?” questions, so I’m sorry to drive you crazy with another one, but here we go…

    This past Saturday, I received the Garmin 260w as a *very* early Christmas present from my dad. I am a college admission counselor and need a GPS to get to my high schools. We had originally gone into the store to get a TomTom ONE XL-S, but the young man told me to go with the Garmin because it was WAAS-enabled. I’ve since found out it is NOT WAAS-enabled, but that it doesn’t matter much anyway.

    What really irks me, though, is that the Garmin was $100 more than the TomTom. Being a responsible son, I don’t want to have my dad out a hundred extra bucks for a feature I don’t even get. The TomTom seems to have some better functionalities (the TT HOME interface, MapShare, Help Me!, multiple via points), but I’m also curious about the weather and traffic updates: are those only available with a compatible BlueTooth phone? But I guess the question really is this: is there something that the Garmin has over the TomTom that makes it worth the 100 extra clams that should keep me from exchanging it? Again, I know, a “Which is better?” question, but I just want to know if I’m really missing anything if I jump to the TomTom. So far, I’ve really liked the Garmin, but the TT has some attractive extras…

    Thank you very much!

    Rob - September 22nd, 2008
  23. The traffic and weather updates do come via a compatible Bluetooth phone, or you can get just the traffic updates by purchasing an optional traffic receiver accessory. The average current selling price for the 260w is $275 while the average selling price of the XL-S is $318. The XL 330s which effectively replaces the XL-S has a current average price of $287.

    Tim - September 22nd, 2008
  24. Thanks Tim for the quick response, but one more follow-up:

    The only difference I can see between the two (according to your comparison chart) is that the XL-S has bluetooth, while the XL 330s does NOT have bluetooth. Is there something else different between the two that makes the latter a replacement? This seems like a slight downgrade if anything.

    Thank you again!

    Rob - September 22nd, 2008
  25. More subtle things… but yes an improvement in the XL-330s. The 330s has the new easyport mount that I talk about in my review of the TomTom ONE 130s which is more similar to the 330s but without a widescreen. It also has a louder speaker, speed limit display/alerts.

    Tim - September 22nd, 2008
  26. Excellent… great review! I think I’m going to take the Garmin back for the XL 330s because at my local big box retailer, it’s about $75 cheaper (with the ONE XL-s being a little more than $100 cheaper). Aside from all of the extras, I like the TT more because it has via points (good for when I’m going to 4 different high schools in day). Last thoughts though, any reason I should keep the Garmin over the TomTom? One last thought, though: the XL330s hasn’t gotten as many positive reviews than either my Garmin 260w or the XL-s… is this just cause it’s newer, and thus has had less people try it out?

    Thank you so much for all of your help. It is much appreciated!

    Rob - September 22nd, 2008
  27. Yes, I’d say the newness is the reason for fewer reviews to date.

    Tim - September 24th, 2008
  28. WHAT IS MEANT BY “VIA”….
    I’M LOOKING TO BUY ANOTHER GPS, BUT CONFUSION REIGNS BETWEEN:
    NUVI 650
    TT XL S
    NUVI 760
    I AM A SENIOR AND REQUIRE SHARPNESS, BRIGHTNESS, GOOD SOUND, EASY PROGRAMING , EASY READOUT AND MINIMAL BREAKDOWNS. I SPEND MOST OF MY TIME IN SOUTH FL. AND THE NYC AREA.WOULD APPRECIATE YOUR GUIDENCE AND RECOMMENDATIONS RE:ABOVE UNITS, OR ANY OTHER YOU MIGHT FEEL WARRANTS CONSIDERATION. PRICE IS A FACTOR AS WELL. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP.

    FRED - September 30th, 2008
  29. See our article What is a Waypoint? for information about via points.

    Tim - September 30th, 2008
  30. when you first get a gps device does it matter whether it is a cloudy day when you first turn it on to get it ready

    jerry eason - October 8th, 2008
  31. No, local weather has virtually no impact on the GPS signal.

    Tim - October 8th, 2008
  32. Just got the Tomtom 1 xls and it too told me to turn left when I know it should have been a right hand turn. The Garmin did the same thing so it just might be that I an doing something wrong to program it. But, it brought me back home. With that in mind, what in the world am I doing wrong?
    I do not see how I could have done it wrong because it did just great coming home.
    The question is do these things make mistakes?
    Or is it that I am too dumb to program it?

    Jerry - October 9th, 2008
  33. Tim, I have a One XL-S and the manual I downloaded says I should be able to set an arrival time when using “Navigate to…”, then it will keep me informed if I’m on time. However, this option never shows up. Any idea why? I’ve got version 8.010.

    Howard - October 10th, 2008
  34. Check: Menu -> Change Preferences -> Status bar preferences, and make sure ‘Show leeway to arrival time’ is checked.

    Tim - October 10th, 2008
  35. WOW…you ARE quick. Thanks…that did it!

    Howard - October 10th, 2008
  36. will the usb cable that came with my tomtomonexls
    also charge the battery using my computer

    jerry eason - October 11th, 2008
  37. Yes, although it will take roughly twice as long to charge using that method.

    Tim - October 11th, 2008
  38. I am not electronic savy at all and would really like to purchase a TomTom gps unit but how do I choose between all the differnet ones. I only need it to get from point a to b and I would really like to have talking navigation where it tells me the road names I usually drive alone. Also POI are always great also.

    Kayla - October 14th, 2008
  39. Kayla, near the top left of our home page, just down from the top is a box that says ‘Find a GPS’. It lists the most common features people look for in a GPS. You can hover your mouse over each feature name to get an idea how it can help. You can then get a list of devices that match the features you are looking for, see prices, user ratings, and reviews. If you are looking for a TomTom that speaks street names, then one of these three is probably your best bet.

    Tim - October 14th, 2008
  40. I have a TomTom XL S and think it does a job. I ave been unable to get the SD card to show as a device in TOMTom home. I followed the instructions to initialize the card but no luck. Tomtom’s web site was no help either. Any suggestions.

    Mike - October 17th, 2008
  41. Mike, what are you trying to load on the card?

    Tim - October 17th, 2008
  42. maps, voices etc After I initialize it in TomTom home it will not show as a device in the device drop-down tab.

    Mike - October 19th, 2008
  43. Hi, I own a TomTom One that is 2 years old. I am looking to upgrade. One particular problem is that I need to make frequent trips to quebec canada. I can hardly input any quebec street names even in montreal that the device would recognise. I tried my friend’s Garmin, have the same problem. Do you know of any device that would not have this problem? Thanks

    julie - October 22nd, 2008
  44. Julie, can you give me an example address? I know a few people in Quebec that use TomTom and Garmin devices and I haven’t heard them complain about the issue.

    Tim - October 23rd, 2008
  45. I keep getting no maps found, called TomTom and they sent me one. I did the download and I still can not get it to load to the TomTom. Do I have a bad unit/ Should I take it back to where I got it? It work fine until we did the update. Had it two weeks and it only worked for a day. Please help

    bill - October 26th, 2008
  46. I have a TomTom XL S and think it does a great job. I ave been unable to get the SD card to show as a device in TomTom home.
    I followed the instructions to initialize the card but no luck. Tomtom’s web site was no help either. I appreciate any suggestions.

    Mike - October 27th, 2008
  47. What is the memory capabilities of the Garmin nuvi265T, Garmin 205W, and the TT One XL-S?

    Kay - November 11th, 2008
  48. I can’t get my card reader to recognize my TomTom sd card when I remove the card from my Palm Treo. I need the card reader to recognize the card so I can use it with TomTom Home. Their site talks about initializing the card by turning the device off and on, but that does not seem to work when the device is a PDA.

    Craig Matthews - November 21st, 2008
  49. Tim, incredibly informative site! I’m a PS newbie, looking to buy this year. What I haven’t seen asked is a comparison of the TT ONE XL-S and the TT XL 330S, why is the ONE priced on TT’s site $50 higher than the 330 when the 330 seems to have more bells and whistles like the home software? Which do you think is a better buy between these two? They’re both for automotive use, right? Can you just list the differences between them? Also, I’m sure this is a stupid question but nobody’s asked it – can the devices run off the auto charging cord or are you limited to running it off the internal battery, and then having to shut it down to charge? So, if I kept it plugged in it would work for a 12 hour drive? Thanks

    Dave - December 2nd, 2008
  50. Dave, the XL 330s is essentially a replacement for the older XL-S. It has a redesigned mount that is nice, plus an updated software interface. Yes, you can use the device and charge it in your car at the same time.

    Tim - December 2nd, 2008
  51. Does the One XLS have “TomTom Map Share™ technology”, “TomTom HOME software”, and “Help Me! menu”? The TomTom website does not list those features for this model; but does list them for the 330S.

    Dave - December 2nd, 2008
  52. Dave, it will either come with those or you can get them all through free software updates from TomTom.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2008
  53. I currently have a Chrysler with the Factory installed navigation that uses a disk. It is due for an update to the tune of $199. I am trying to decide if I am going to update it or buy a Tom Tom. For Tom Tom Question #1 – If you leave your home area on vacation, do you have to download other maps? Question #2 Do the maps contstantly update or does it stay the same until you update? Question #3 I see people posting that have had the Tom Tom for a couple of years and they are in the market for a new one. Does it need replaced that often, or just updated and why?
    Question #4 Chrysler GPS verses Tom Tom?

    Janell - December 3rd, 2008
  54. Janell, the ONE XL-S comes with maps of the USA and Canada. As long as you are in those countries, no other downloads are required. Map updates are available for about $100 although they sometimes go on sale for $79.

    Tim - December 3rd, 2008
  55. <<>> To be sure, you are saying the cheaper XL330S is a modern replacement for the ONE XL-S? Or is there a model that’s just XL-S that’s different from the ONE XL-S? Thanks again

    Dave - December 4th, 2008
  56. Yes, the XL 330s replaces the XL-S. The ONE XL-S and the XL-S are the same thing.

    Tim - December 4th, 2008
  57. Tim, I would like to compare the TT XL-S and Garmin 650. Do you already have one?

    Vicky - December 5th, 2008
  58. We are looking to buy a 1st.time GPS. We were ready to buy the TomTom 125 but now feel we need the text-to-speech function. We also like the 4.3″ larger screenthat the TomTom XL 330S offers. However, the price is more than we want to spend. We can live with a smaller screen. So, it is between Garmin nuvi 350; the TomTom XL 330S and the TomTom XL-S which I’ve learned about on your web site. Which of the 3 would you recommend or is there another model we should consider? Thanks, John and Julie.

    John Pomeroy - December 29th, 2008
    • If you were ready to buy the 125 and don’t mind the smaller screen, but want text-to-speech, then consider the TomTom 130s which I reviewed.

      Tim - December 29th, 2008
      • Thank you for such a quick reply. In researching the 130S, I read reviews about poor speaker quality. Would this apply to the XL-S also. If the price I can get either the 130S or XL-S is about the same, which would you recommend? The XL 330S is only a few dollars more.

        John - December 29th, 2008
        • The 130s and XL series has just about the loudest and best speaker in the industry. A few in early production runs had defective speakers, which unfortunately landed in the hands of many reviewers. But when properly working they are just about the best GPS speakers out there.

          Tim - December 29th, 2008
  59. Tim, Again thanks. That clears up the “speaker” issue. I guess I am looking for some guidance—Get the XL-S or the 130S. What would you do?

    John - December 29th, 2008
    • Your decision will likely come down to the redesigned, handy mount that the 130s has versus the widescreen of the XL-S. Personally I really like the redesigned mount, although not all agree with me on that. The widescreen doesn’t show more of the map– it just makes what is there bigger. However having bigger keys for address entry on the widescreen is nice.

      Tim - December 29th, 2008
  60. I have TomTom One XL. I need to update the map to the latest version. How can i do that?

    sahil6543 - January 26th, 2009
    • You can purchase a map update from within the TomTom HOME program. (tomtom.com/home)

      Tim - January 27th, 2009
  61. As a quite satisfied user of the XLS for more than a year (with helpful advice from this site), I volunteered to help a neighbor install her new 33oS, expecting little problem. It was relatively easy to get the unit operating by itself, but major problems occured when trying to install TT Home on her PC and then to get it interacting with the 330S. After incorrect advice from one Home support technicion, a second finally determined that the version of Home installed from the site had been found not to work if the PC had WindowsXP with SP3 and said they must download an early version of Home; after disconnecting without advice on how to find the download, a new support tech led me through the location and installation. The 330 and Home then interconnected, downloaded updates, did a backup, but Failed to allow operation of the 330S from the PC screen. A call to support at home revealed that TT had not yet been able to create the software that would allow this mode of operation. They were also unable to project a fix date- “just keep checking” Very disappointing performance by TT! Especially by not disseminating an alert or advice of problem before I wasted a couple of days.

    Stan - January 27th, 2009
  62. I will appreciate if somebody could please write about their experience with TOM TOM one XL -S refurb unit.As some reviews suggest that maps are outdated and TTS is horrible.

    puneet - February 14th, 2009
    • TomTom offers a 30 day map guarantee with new GPS devices so if your new TomTom came with an older map than what is available now (they update every quarter) you can get the newer map for free.

      Tim - February 14th, 2009
      • thanks a lot
        does this work with Refurb unit and what about TTS?

        puneet - February 14th, 2009
        • If the refurb was purchased from TomTom, no. When purchased from many other places people have been able to get it, but there isn’t a guarantee. I’ve found TTS to be just about as good as any other brand. They will mispronounce many names, but you can figure out what is being said.

          Tim - February 14th, 2009
  63. Dear Tim
    Thanks again
    I am confused b/w new Navigon 2100 [deleted] and refurb tom tom one xl-S [deleted]. As the feature about which I am concerned is text to speech.What do you suggest? shall I buy refurb tom tom one Xl S or new Navigon 2100.as the price for both these models is same

    puneet - February 15th, 2009
  64. Hi,

    I just purchased a New/Refurbish TomTom One XL -S from [deleted] and I’m trying to figure out if it comes with a free map upgrade. I read on some forums that it does as long as you upgrade within the 3o days allowed. I’ve also read that it doesn’tcome with an upgrade because it’s refurbished. I contacted TomTom CS and they said that most refurbished units doesn’t come with a map upgrade, however, if there is a card or something to that effect inside the box that states that you get a free map upgrade then you can get it.

    So I guess my question is if anyone purchased a refurbished TomTom were you able to get a free map upgrade?

    Note: I also read somewhere that if you purchased the refurbished unit from the TomTom site then you could not get a free map upgrade, however, if you purchased from another retailer you can.

    Pirarre - February 24th, 2009
    • You pretty much have the same info we do. For sealed devices they qualify if a newer map becomes available within 30 days. For refurbs from TomTom you don’t get that. For refurbs from other stores, “it depends” however most reports I’m getting are from people saying they did get the update if one was available.

      Tim - February 24th, 2009
  65. Hi Tim and all: Thanks so much for all of the information you provide on this site. It made my choice of a first gps much easier. I chose a refurbished Tomtom One XL-S, and am so far very happy with it. And yes, getting the newest map update free was simply a matter of calling Tomtom support, and sending them copies of my proof of purchase, and a copy of the map guarantee cerfiticate that was in the box with the refurbished Tomtom.

    For Puneet above, I had listened to both Tomtom and the Navigon TTS voice, they sounded identical to me. Same pronunciations or mis-pronunciations in each case.

    Thanks again for all of the good information on here.

    Robert - February 25th, 2009
  66. Well I received my TomTom One XL-S and I like it. I know in my previous post (#264) I was inquiring about the free map upgrade, so I decided to post a little bit more information. First, I contacted TT Customer Support and they told me that I would be eligible for the free map upgrade if my package came with pamplet with a free map upgrade passcode on it. At first glance I didn’t find the pamplet. However, as I was removing the packaging off the instruction manuals, I saw the pamplet with the passcode. The TT Customer Service Rep had me fax him the passcode pamplet as well as my sells receipt and he told me that they would email the directions regarding the map upgrade.

    However, I was wondering if anyone know what the current U.S. map version is? The one on mine is 8.010? The reason I ask is because if I already have the current map, it’s no reason for me to worry about getting a free map upgrade.

    Thanks

    Thanks

    Pirarre - February 26th, 2009
    • 8.15 is the most current map for the XL-S.

      Tim - February 26th, 2009
  67. Thanks for the quick reply. Well since 8.15 is the current map, I guess I will call them and check the status of my upgrade.

    Do TomTom have a 1-800 fax number?

    Pirarre - February 26th, 2009
  68. Well I am just posting a update. I am glad to say that my refurbish TomTom One XL-S did come with the latest map gurantee pamphlet that had the free map download code on it. I faxed my sales receipt/invoice along with the pamphlet (English side)that had the free map download code on it to TomTom Customer Service. I waited about 2 hours called TomTom Customer Service back and that was it. He checked my faxes, got back on the phone and told me that the latest map would be on my Home when I log in to it. The latest map that I received is version 8.25

    Pirarre - February 27th, 2009
    • 8.25 was just released yesterday, so you had good timing. :)

      Tim - February 28th, 2009
      • That is good timing. However, when I attempted to install the new map I got the “No Maps Found ” Message. And now the only Map on my device is that of Guam. The new 8.25 map is on my computer but It will not install on my device. During the installation process, it goes really fast and says it’s installed. But when I check my device, the only map on there is Guam. I been up all night reading other forums and tring everything and nothing has worked.

        Pirarre - February 28th, 2009
        • Did the full map get downloaded to your computer? What is the size of the map as reported from within HOME?

          Tim - February 28th, 2009
          • I just got off the phone with TomTom Customer Support. I didn’t have all the files downloaded to my computer. She had me delete like 3 file folders. And then go back to HOME and re-download the map. It appears to be working fine now and is currently downloading.

            Pirarre - February 28th, 2009
  69. I have a TomTom one XL and was wondering if this model had the “off road” feature.

    Thank You.

    G

    Gerald - February 28th, 2009
    • No, the TomTom devices are designed for street navigation only.

      Tim - February 28th, 2009
  70. I purchased a refurbished TomTom One XL-S and want to use the memory card slot.
    What SD card is the best to use, 2GB or 4GB and how do you set it up using a macintosh computer?

    Thank You,
    Brian

    Brian - March 20th, 2009
  71. Tim, here’s what I’m looking for in a GPS and I do prefer Garmin since I’ve had one in the past, however, would consider other brands that are less expensive. I need a GPS that has text to speech, prefer lane change option, but not a deal breaker. The most important feature I use mapquest for driving directions. I’m not a fan of interstate so I avoid those roads. I’d like to be able to have my mapquest route downloaded to the gps. In addition to that, once I have traveled the route…I’d like to save the way I went. I do not need blue tooth, traffic info, pictures or video or music. You already told me Garmin 750 has this feature…but, my question now is…are there other brands that have it at a cheaper cost? Just need a few to compare.

    Susan - April 18th, 2009
  72. How do you cancel a trip

    Charles - April 20th, 2009
  73. I was looking at maybe using one on a motorcycle (and of course, taking proper waterproofing precautions) and wondered if the bluetooth feature on this will project the voice prompts through a bluetooth headset.

    Bryan - June 25th, 2009
    • It will not, Bryan. It is for DUN (data services) only.

      Tim - June 25th, 2009
      • OK, thanks!

        Bryan - June 25th, 2009
  74. Hi,

    I am looking to purchase this, but folks around here are scaring me off with crazy map-updates-fees stories. On the TomTom’s website, it advertises “quarterly updates” for 39.80/year (9.95/update). It sounds too good to be true and there’s always some hidden fees or small prints I usually don’t catch. Can someone give me an estimate on how much the updates will be and each year after?

    Thank you very much,
    Lily

    Lily - July 9th, 2009
    • Lily, yes, the map subscription does break down pretty cheap if you subscribe to quarterly updates. You can read more about it on our GPS Map Update Costs page. Each map coverage area and technology type will be a little different, but if you purchase the subscription they are typically $10-$12. Sometimes you may need to purchase a single map to “catch up” to the subscription.

      Tim - July 9th, 2009
  75. Hi,
    I am looking for a gps and found xl-s on a site for 70$(Refurb). It has all stuff i need. No multimedia, good company, and design. I feel all has some glitches and i am ok with this item.
    My only concern is, Can i go for refurb item in gps? would i get map in updated or may be it can have the older/original version. So is there any possibility of getting Map updates?
    I am looking at Refurb only because its cheap and doubly tested also, one year back GPS are min 300$ and now it is cheaper and advanced. May be i can buy a advanced one after 1 yr from now!! :)

    please advise.
    -Selva-

    selva - July 19th, 2009
  76. I’ve had a Tom Tom GO 910 for 2-1/2 or 3 years and a couple weeks ago downloaded a new map of North America. I can understand how there can be a lot of mispronunciations on less familiar names, but “Los Angeles”?!! I’ve lived in LA area for 40+ years and have heard about 3 people (maybe less) say “Loce On-hell-es” — so this really bugs me! Why is it using Hispanic ethnic pronunciation? Any way to fix this? It’s on “English US” language and “English US” voice (male, computer). BTW, I just found your site and appreciate the info and comments I’ve read.

    Carol - August 13th, 2009
  77. i don’t know if anyone else has had the same problems i have had but my ONE XL-S has some issues that are very irritating. it comes on by itself with no one in the car (and yes, i DO turn it off when i leave the car). The amount of time for it to find a signal is 30 seconds which is great but has taken up to 12 minutes which is unacceptable. (there is nothing overhead to obstruct the signal). the maps have never updated, the unit tells me the road i live on is an unimproved road which has been a paved road for over 20 years. when i touch the screen to increase the volume all i get is another screen. the volume slider will not come up unless the units voice is speaking. it worked properly right after i purchased it. also it may or may NOT come on when i push the power button. it may sound picky but when i spend that much money on an item, i expect it to operate in a consistant manner. this will be the last tom tom i’ll ever purchase.

    Richard - October 19th, 2009
    • The spontaneous booting issue has been rectified (as far as I know) in recent application updates. Which application version are you running? If you are driving while the device doesn’t have a signal it will take longer to get a signal. Have you run any of the GPS QuickFix updates to get the latest ephemeris data? The maps don’t update by themselves, the only data the GPS gets from the satellites is the current time, from which it derives its location. So if you haven’t updated the maps, the maps on your device won’t change.

      Tim - October 19th, 2009
  78. Hello, I just upgraded from a 130s and got xl340s. I’ve noticed that unlike the 130s, which displays next turn street name at the top of the screen and the street you’re on at the bottom and it also shows you the full address (at the bottom of the screen) when you arrive at your final destination, the xl340s doesn’t!!! :( Am I missing something here? is there an option to actually display these on the screen? Thanks!

    Paul - April 3rd, 2010
  79. I am a field inspector for an appraisal company and do as many as 100 stops per day. We use a program for tracking field inspections that is loaded to my cell phone.I need a gps with up to 100 vias that can be loaded from my computer program, just as I load my cell phone.

    Any suggestions on a reliable model as I am really overwhelmed with all the choices?

    Thanks in advance for any advice you may have.

    Andrea Thompson - August 6th, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright