leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

TomTom ONE XL

Mar
1
2007

Likely to be the least expensive TomTom model with a widescreen display, the ONE XL still has many features that are only available on more “top of the line” models from other companies. For example this TomTom supports multi-destination routing so you can create one single route with multiple stops in the trip. The XL series is also compatible with optional traffic services which feed live traffic updates to the GPS.

One of the few drawbacks to this model is that the processor speed isn’t quite as good as other models. Routing and rerouting if you miss a turn are still fast, but some address searches, POI searches, and menu functions seem a little more sluggish than other models. This shouldn’t delay you more than a few seconds however and the TomTom ONE XL offers one of the best values for GPS devices featuring a widescreen display.

165 Responses


  1. Hello, just a quick comment on the Traffic text section: actually, the TomTom One XL comes with a traffic receiver in Switzerland and Germany (see TomTom’s internet site in the appropriate country section).
    On another aspect, I think it’s a pity that Tom didn’t add the Hands-free calling function in the One XL.
    Regards,
    Marco

    marco - April 25th, 2007
  2. I just got a TomTom One XL–it’s great. One issue though, it does not yet communicate with the TomTom Home on the computer. Tech support informed me that the company is working on this issue, which should be resolved in about a month. The device works perfectly, but until the device-computer connection is resolved, one can’t create itineraries, etc., on the desk-top to upload to the device.
    It took me less than 5 minutes from the box to the dashboard and the device was ready to navigate. The wide screen is easy to see and is sleek-looking. A no frills unit, pure GPS, and easy to use, which is what I want. {I also own an older Garmin, and a built-in GPS in one of my cars}.

    Sam - May 29th, 2007
  3. question everyone…in relation to all TomTom’s, why do they not display the phone numbers of the POI. All the other brands seem to have this. For me this is a deal breaker but if it is an option I could change I would like to know. Please advise

    Mark - July 7th, 2007
  4. You can display the phone number of a POI by clicking on the POI from the ‘View Map’ view. Not all POIs have phone numbers attached, but most do.

    Tim - July 8th, 2007
  5. Aside from batt life and screen size which gps in your opinion is better, the Tom Tom One XL or the Garmin NUVI 350?

    Dan Browitt - July 13th, 2007
  6. for about the same price as a Tom Tom One XL or Garmin NUVI 350, what would you say is the best GPS in it’s class and price range

    Dan - July 13th, 2007
  7. Dan, it is difficult for me to answer “which GPS is best” type questions. The features I need are likely different than the features you need. So the best device for me might not be the best for you.

    Tim - July 13th, 2007
  8. I just decided to order my own TomTom One XL after playing around with a friend’s non-XL. Can I use my own SD card to load Western European maps purchased on CD/DVD, or as a TomTom download, or am I forced to backup and reinstall my USA maps to use the European maps? If I use my own SD, will it be obvious what to do in TomTom Home or do I need to use some other means to transfer Euro maps to the SD? Thanks!

    James - July 17th, 2007
  9. Yes, you can use your own SD card with purchased downloadable maps. You will copy the maps to the SD card and then activate them using your device code and/or activation codes.

    Tim - July 18th, 2007
  10. I live in Canada, Ontario and I used the Tom Tom one XL for few days. I have found that it does not give me the shortest route. I tried it for already know destinations and more than once ran in than problem. I have read that Garmin 350 uses differnt mapping system and is more accurate for the U.S and Canada where as the Tom Tom is better in Europe. Please advice me if anyone has used both the GPS
    Thanks

    Zafar - July 26th, 2007
  11. Zafar, by default the device doesn’t try to give you the shortest route unless you specifically change the preferences. Regarding maps, I can’t vouch for Canada, but you can read this map test we conducted looking at the mapping vendors Garmin and TomTom use. TeleAtlas Versus NAVTEQ.

    Tim - July 26th, 2007
  12. Dan’s question on the recommendation between the Garmin 350 and the TomTom OneXL is the same here. It is clear that features to one are not the same as anothers use but do you have some sort of comparable side by side, whether on your site or outside. Also, if you were looking for US mostly travel and protability nor battery were not a concern as it would be used in a car, which would you choose with your knowledge. Thank you much. CAR

    Cesare Ramos - September 10th, 2007
  13. Cesare – You can compare them here

    Tim - September 11th, 2007
  14. I like my Tom Tom XL much better than my last former GPS (Magellan, stolen) – the voice is much less annoying & the advanced turn prompts are really great, as is the itinerary planning feature HOWEVER, a VERY MAJOR drawback is that the Tom Tom is probably the only GPS in the universe that does not offer POI phone numbers! Practically speaking when traveling & searching for accommodations it is imperative to call ahead for rates & availability – is there any download solution? It is incredible to me that apparantly there not one GPS that integrates the practical features found others into one model? This would be easily accomplished if any of the manufacturers simply hired a practical human being traveler/GPS user for about 10 minutes of consulting- it is ridiculous to me that after 5 years of steller sales & revenues, that not one of the 3 major manufacturers have quite gotten it together yet. My review, for all practical purposes is that out of the 3 GPS’s that I have owned the Tom Tom is best, however, for any practical traveler the lack of phone numbers is a major flaw. Is there any solution? Is there maybe a Garmin POI download that I can install in my Tom Tom? If it is a memory issue, I would be happy to pare-down my POI choices to simply accommodations and restaurants. Thank you. (by the way, this site is very helpful – thank you)

    Bart - October 13th, 2007
  15. Bart, the ONE XL does offer phone numbers for POIs. If you are in browse map mode and click on a POI on the screen you will see the name of the POI and the phone number. Not very intuitive or convenient, but they are there.

    Also, if you use TomTom HOME you can update your device to NavCore version 7 which will show the POI phone numbers in a more intuitive location.

    Tim - October 13th, 2007
  16. I see that there is a XL-S version out which, I understand, has the text-to-voice. Comments?

    Jerry Kirkpatrick - October 15th, 2007
  17. Jerry, we’ll discuss it on the TomTom XL-S page. Not many differences from the XL except TTS.

    Tim - October 15th, 2007
  18. Does the One-XL have the same chipset and processor as the one?

    Tyler - October 24th, 2007
  19. Tyler – As far as I know, yes.

    Tim - October 24th, 2007
  20. Hi. I have just bought a TomTom One Xl Regional. Its been great too! I was playing around with it, and I noticed i could upload sattelite imagery off the CD to my device. So I uploaded the Australia, USA, and Europe ones, but I cannot figure out how to view them! Anyone out there have any ideas?
    Thanks

    Will - November 10th, 2007
  21. You need to be in ‘Browse Map’ mode and zoom fairly far out. It is only very high, high altitude imagery.

    Tim - November 10th, 2007
  22. All I can get when zoomed right out is the South Eastern corner of Australia. I’ve double checked that I installed all the maps.

    Will - November 10th, 2007
  23. I’m not sure, you might want to check with Support on that one.

    Tim - November 10th, 2007
  24. Hi I am currently looking for a new GPS, all I relly want is to get from A to B, sometimes through Waypoints. Another thing I would love to have is something that would track my trip when I’m just driving around looking at scenery and taking side roads. Any recommendations?

    Vlast - November 26th, 2007
  25. Hi, I just bought a TomTom ONE XL. I’ve installed the latest version of TT HOME (downloaded from TT website) on my laptop with “Windows Vista Home Basic”. But, when I connected my GPS to the laptop, it was asking for the TT driver. I then pointed it to C:\windows\system32 and configured it as a USB Mass Storage Device. However, my TT Home is still not able to detect my GPS. Anyone faced this issue with Vista?

    Appreciate your help.

    Ela - November 28th, 2007
  26. Can the TomTom ONE XL be upgraded to have mapshare?

    Thanks.

    Susan - December 18th, 2007
  27. Susan – Yes.

    Tim - December 18th, 2007
  28. I recently bought a Tom-Tom OneXL for a trip to Dallas. Living in Alaska, I’m not used to finding my way around a big city. We had nothing but praise for this device. One time the device took us into an area that contained construction and forced us off the Tom-Tom route. Not to be shaken, within seconds the Tom-Tom was re-routing us to the destination using alternate streets. I liked the ability to select shortest or fastest route and also the option to evade toll-roads. I won’t leave Alaska again without my One-XL. Even my wife who is gadget phobic was happy with my purchase.

    Thom - December 19th, 2007
  29. hi there i purchased a tomtom one xl works great i work on the road all day and its great only one downfall tomtom is behind in updates they tell me not sure when there goin to do the next update can anyone one help me on this thanks

    MARIO - December 23rd, 2007
  30. I just recived the one.XL as a Christmas gift. I live in a new development that has been around for 3 years and I cant Find my own house on the GPS. It also gets confused sometime and tells me to make U-Turns when I know I dont need to. All in all I think its a good product just need to update the Maps bad. Come on TomTom Update already!

    Steve - December 26th, 2007
  31. I just received a Tom Tom XL and was wondering if there is a down load i can get to make this into a text to speech version. I cant believe that the big shots at Tom Tom don’t read the reviews and find out what is wrong with there product. I received this as a gift and would never have bought this model because of the TTS issue.

    Robert - December 26th, 2007
  32. Robert – Many people prefer devices without text to speech because the voices are easier to understand. That is why TomTom offers two versions of the XL that are identical with the exception of text to speech.

    Tim - December 27th, 2007
  33. I just got the oneXL and was wondering how to get the bluetooth working.They don’t give enough info in the manual.Anyone know how?

    bev - December 27th, 2007
  34. I have an iPhone and can’t get the Bluetooth working. Any help would be nice.

    steve - December 28th, 2007
  35. I read on another site that the ipod does not work with the XL. I just ordered a refurb off ebay for short money. I look forward to getting it. From what I under stand the bluetooth on your phone must be turned on and you must select a new connection. From there you will see it displayed on the tom tom under the bluetooth section. Make sure the bluetooth is enabled. I saw a video on youtube as to how it works. James

    James - December 29th, 2007
  36. Bev, is your phone compatible with PLUS for data services?

    Steve – The XL doesn’t offer hands free calling and the iPhone doesn’t work with the PLUS data services.

    Tim - December 30th, 2007
  37. I just recieved a TOM TOM ONE XL for Christmas. I was wondering is there a way to view the address of a POI before navigating to the POI?

    William - December 31st, 2007
  38. I could not download TomTom Home because I have Outlook Express and it said when I tried to connect my TomTom One XL that it did not recognizd it! Is there a way to get around this, I don’t what to do. I would like to be able to use the features on the disc. It doesn’t seem like I should have to go to someone else’s computer….help, please
    Thanks.

    Bobbie Dow - January 4th, 2008
  39. William – it will show you the road it is on and the closest intersection. You could also use Browse map to find the closest street number but it isn’t terribly convenient.

    Bobbie – Having Outlook Express wouldn’t prevent you from downloading TomTom HOME. They are not related.

    Tim - January 4th, 2008
  40. Is there a way to stop or put the One XL in standby and watch the map without a destination? I have a hand GPS and this is my first vehicle GPS. I like it!

    Dan - January 6th, 2008
  41. Dan – Yes. If there isn’t a destination set, don’t enter one and it will still follow you around. If there is a destination, clear it, and then if you need to go back to it, you can find it in the ‘Recent Destinations’ list.

    Tim - January 6th, 2008
  42. Thanks, but if I may ask, how do I clear the
    destination? Also, are there additional instructions I can download other than the PDF manuals? For example, information on the SD disk, other than what is on the internet. Thanks, Dan

    Dan - January 7th, 2008
  43. You can clear the route by going to Menu -> next -> Next -> Clear Route. The “full” menu options need to be set.

    Tim - January 10th, 2008
  44. hi all iwas wondering if anyone can help me i have a tomtom xl one great unit love it only problem i have cant find any updates for 2008 updates for maps can someone help me thx mario

    mario - January 11th, 2008
  45. Mario, you can use the TomTom HOME program to check for updates. You probably have the most recent map available for your device.

    Tim - January 11th, 2008
  46. I got a TOMTOM XL for Christmas and start playing with, I’m living in Montreal and found out that some major Hospitals are not on the POI, tried to add it to existing POI categories but I have only 3 categories available for addition, Fire figting stations, playing ground and ferry, I tried to add a category Hospital, I got two of them now Hospital/Clinic the original one and Hospital the one I created, I added one of the hospital to the new gategory and had a new icon beside the POI just for the hospital I created.
    Couldn’t also delete it, any hint were I can read more into details other than the manual
    Thanks for any help

    ED - January 14th, 2008
  47. I figured it out on how to modify and add the hospital as a new POI.
    Please disregard previous posting

    ED - January 14th, 2008
  48. i have a tomtom xl one and a garmin nuvi 360 both good gps my question is why doesnt tomtom update maps or sell dvds for maps garmin has updates for 2008 and tomtom has still not come out with it i contacted tomtom and those peole have no idea when its goin to happen i think if your selling your product they should do updates only updates in 7 months are the same alltime meanwhile garmin has updates at least once a month and are useful updates if i had to buy another gps it will not be tomtom after spending that kind of mony the consumers should have there updates so if you can let us no when updates are ready for us people that spend all that money would be nice ths

    mario - January 17th, 2008
  49. Mario, I think you’ve got some of that backwards. TomTom does offer map updates. They have pretty much moved to quarterly map releases that you can purchase and download at any time from the HOME program.

    Garmin so far has only released map updates on an annual basis. They do not offer map updates on a monthly basis. The map they call “City Navigator 2008″ is actually based on the map they got from their mapping supplier in the second half of 2006.

    TomTom’s latest map is based on the July 2007 release from their mapping supplier.

    So the newest map from TomTom is roughly 9 months newer than the newest map available from Garmin, based on release times from their mapping supplier.

    Tim - January 17th, 2008
  50. hi tim thanks for ur help found update for my xl one from tomtom home i need if u can give tomtom custmer support number cant seem to find under tom tom apperantly new version is out but my unit does have enough space to install can u heip ths mario

    mario - January 18th, 2008
  51. 866-486-6866

    Tim - January 18th, 2008
  52. hello tim just found out through tomtom teck support that the 2008 map update is avaliable at the end of the month alson do u no a good site for point of interst cant really find any good one ths mario

    mario - January 21st, 2008
  53. I bought the Tom Tom One XL Regional for myself as a late Christmas present. I found it works very well over the last few weeks as I drove a few thosand kilometres around New Zealand. The one annoying thing was the plastic suction mount that came as standard kept coming unstuck and fell off the windscreen about every ten minutes. And when it did stay stuck, then the device drooped to the point where it was impossible to read the screen. Has anyone else had this problem? Tom Tom in the UK sat the mount works well and is “generally difficult to remove”.

    John B - January 22nd, 2008
  54. John, you might have tried these things already, but you might want to check out our suction cup mount tips.

    Tim - January 22nd, 2008
  55. hi there i have a tomtom xl one in the voice setting is there one that tells you when u arrive at your destention that its on the right or left of the street can anyone please let me no which voice it is cant seem to find it or may i have to download another voice ths mario

    mario - January 23rd, 2008
  56. Mario – The ONE XL doesn’t verbally announce the destination side regardless of settings, it only displays the arrow at the end indicating the side when known.

    Tim - January 23rd, 2008
  57. Tim, I have a palm tungsten T5 with bluetouth, i tried to pair it with TT1 XL and it asks me for a passcode, do we know where i can find it, I used (0000), (00000), (1234), (12345) with no luck
    Thanks

    ED - January 24th, 2008
  58. Ed – I don’t see that the T5 is listed as being compatible. The passcode is typically 0000.

    Tim - January 25th, 2008
  59. Hello Tim,
    Thanks for the answere,Attached is the site where I found the info.

    ED - January 25th, 2008
  60. ED, that site isn’t talking about what you are trying to accomplish. They are trying to run TomTom GPS software on their Palm.

    Tim - January 26th, 2008
  61. hello to all tomtom gps owners i been talking to tomtom now for at least a month and im not goin anywhere with them i have a tomtom xl one the map is out of date they say a new version is out 7.15 ive been checkin out new steets im my area and its not there meanwhile my garmin has them also i checked out other gps in the market and they also have them i would never recomend a tomtom to anyone they are so out to date and staff is not helpful at all ive paid good money for it and doesnt come close to my garmin please dont not support them at all im really diaappointed with them and there product if anyone wants to buy there new version i strongly think twice about it its the same map for almost 2 years now and they say they dont no when next version is out so i decided to put my tomtom away and use my garmin nuvi 360 its great hope u all understand that i think they are out just to sell and make there monye cause they cant help and dont care thanks mario.

    mario - February 27th, 2008
  62. Hello,

    I bought a Tomtom One XL and I’m looking to subscribe to Tomtom Plus Traffic in Home, but the option is not available. The website says its compatibile, but I can’t find where to go. Any help would be appreciated.

    Side note: Phone does pair successfully with my XL and I am able to download POI’s, color theme’s, etc…

    Brannon - March 7th, 2008
  63. From the HOME main menu -> Add Maps, Traffic, Voices -> Traffic -> View: All. While it says “this service is not available for the US or Canada” people have found that it does work. Not everyone is comfortable with that.

    Tim - March 7th, 2008
  64. Hi, my brother in law bought a tomtom xl in Denver. after logging on to the web site I cant seem to find a way of downloading a map of australia. Is this a problem with the XL bought in america? please advise. regards

    Alan - April 2nd, 2008
  65. Alan – You can purchase the Australia map through the TomTom HOME application and it will download directly to the XL.

    Tim - April 2nd, 2008
  66. tim, thanks for the quick reply. I have logged onto the tomtom web site and cannot get any other map other US related ones. not sure what I am doing wrong. the tomtom xl was recognised by the website and only allows me to down us sites (sorry for repeating myself). any other ideas greatfully accepted. regards

    Alan - April 2nd, 2008
  67. You don’t get the maps from the TomTom website. You get them from the TomTom HOME application.

    Tim - April 2nd, 2008
  68. mate, have already tried that as well and still cannot see any other maps other than the US!!!!
    regards

    Alan - April 2nd, 2008
  69. Make sure you have ‘All’ selected in the View option list instead of ‘Recommended items’, otherwise I’d give TT support a call.

    Tim - April 2nd, 2008
  70. Tim, took off the “recommended” maps (which were only of the US) and up came a bunch of other maps including Australia. regards and thanks

    Alan - April 2nd, 2008
  71. Tim with The One XL, when I navigate to a favorite address, on arrival it says arrived, however if we do not have exactly the civic number we do not know which building is our destination, is their a way to get the exact address when we reach our destination

    ED - April 7th, 2008
  72. Is there a fm transmitter available for the One XL-S, I have full volume up and with a topless Jeep Wrangler its barely audible.

    Joseph G. Abbatello - April 21st, 2008
  73. There is no FM transmitter in the XL/S.

    Tim - April 21st, 2008
  74. Never acquire a Tomtom equipmemte unless you like to be treated as an idiot by the customer suport. I have acquired a Tomtom ONE XL and found out that Tomtom is a specialist in treating the customers as idiots. So, if you don`t feel like an idiot and don`t like to be treated as one, don`t buy Tomtom.

    ricardo - June 15th, 2008
  75. Sorry if this was asked above.

    What is the difference between the TomTom One XL and the TomTom One XL-S?

    Michael - June 15th, 2008
  76. The XL-S adds Text To Speech

    Tim - June 15th, 2008
  77. Has this issue been resolved yet?:

    I just got a TomTom One XL–it’s great. One issue though, it does not yet communicate with the TomTom Home on the computer. Tech support informed me that the company is working on this issue, which should be resolved in about a month. The device works perfectly, but until the device-computer connection is resolved, one can’t create itineraries, etc., on the desk-top to upload to the device.
    It took me less than 5 minutes from the box to the dashboard and the device was ready to navigate. The wide screen is easy to see and is sleek-looking. A no frills unit, pure GPS, and easy to use, which is what I want. {I also own an older Garmin, and a built-in GPS in one of my cars}.

    Sam – May 29th, 2007

    Heinrich Meyer - July 5th, 2008
  78. Heinrich – It is working fine for me and my XL.

    Tim - July 5th, 2008
  79. My LG laptop with Windows XP does not recognise my One XL TomTom

    Heinrich Meyer - July 5th, 2008
  80. I wish TomTom would add a Linux version of their Home software so I could use my Ubuntu machines, and not my virus ridden laptop.

    Andrew - July 10th, 2008
  81. SAM can you please respond as to whether your device-computer connection has been resolved as per your comment no. 2.

    Heinrich Meyer - July 17th, 2008
  82. I’ve recently purchased the TomTom XL after my Garmin Street Pilot 2610 broke. I had the Garmin hooked up to a remote antenna purchased through Garmin (GA25MCX). I noticed that the TomTom XL has a port on the back of the unit which appears to be similar to the remote antenna port on the Garmin. Would my old Garmin remote antenna be compatible with the TomTom XL ? If so, would there be an advantage to hook it up to the TomTom XL ?

    Eli - August 14th, 2008
  83. Eli, It will probably work although unless you are having reception problems you probably won’t need it.

    Tim - August 14th, 2008
  84. Bought a ONE XL a couple of weeks back (in the UK). My son (5) set it up in the car on the way home. It is excellent. Picked up the traffic radio (RDS-TMC) thing off fleabay for £23 and it really was plug-and-play.

    Only problems.
    1) Home software on CD was rubbish and needed updating to new version (easy wth broadband)
    2) Cable didn’t seem to work to connect device to PC (using a different cable from a camera fixed it) (disappointing)
    3) MapShare doesn’t seem to recognise my maps, or update them with changes (still not solved)
    4) TomTom help pages are rubbish for real problems.

    Generally I am very pleased with it

    Matt - August 28th, 2008
  85. I received a Tom Tom One XL as a gift. I find more frustration using it then I want. When traveling state to state, I use various roads and not direction routes or main highways. Is there a way to download my directions I have created in Microsfot “Word” to the Tom Tom and use the text or speech part of Tom Tom?

    Martha - September 25th, 2008
  86. No, there are not any GPS devices that do that.

    Tim - September 25th, 2008
  87. Not in word, but there is a Routes facility that is implemented. For examples you can get this from TomTom Home and download routes from them.

    You should be able to create routes somehow.

    Personally if you find it frustrating then don’t bother with it. Life is too short. You are obviously happy using maps and going the more scenic route so sell the TomTom on e-bay and be done with it.

    matt - September 26th, 2008
  88. Thanks to Tim and Matt for the help, I will try the Routes facility and see how it works for me. Yes I still like maps the best.

    Martha - September 26th, 2008
  89. After reading the above comments, I’m still wondering about adding Text-To-Speech. I don’t see paying double the price for this single feature addition, especially when multiple competitors offer TTS in the same price range. This was asked, but never actually answered: Is there a download that will allow TTS to be added to the basic One XL? The POI issues are a concern, but the real issue for me is the heads-up ability with TTS.

    Farrell - September 27th, 2008
  90. The good news is that the XL-S model doesn’t cost double that of the XL. So to add text to speech the price difference is about $50-$70 depending where you purchase it from. You cannot add TTS to the ONE XL.

    Tim - September 27th, 2008
  91. Well, I did a little looking and found the the ONE XL-S at a NY Photo/Video online store for exactly the same price as the ONE XL. I ordered it, so we’ll see if it gets here and is what it is supposed to be. I would give the price and site, but I understand that is frowned upon.

    So, in total, it added about $20 to the price of the unit over the cheapes price listed on this site. I did have to pay shipping. As I say, we’ll know by Friday.

    Farrell - September 28th, 2008
  92. Be careful when those deals sound almost too good to be true. There are a number of NYC based photo/video websites out there that are running what I would call scams. They advertise prices that are typically $20 – $100 cheaper than everyone else. After you place an order you get a phone call where they ask if you want things like a charger (that should come with the device) or an SD card (that you don’t need) and say those “required” accessories are like $100. If you say you don’t need the accessories then suddenly the device is “out of stock” and they cancel your order.

    See these two threads of examples of this happening… and I get emails almost daily from customers who have been victims of this type of scam.

    Ripoff website………..Beware
    Good Place to BUY a GPS From ?

    Tim - September 28th, 2008
  93. I have bought TomTom XL ONE my Promotion Code:FU7M9EERVY I`ve deleted my factory maps and now i have to pay to get maps.When I turn on the divace there is a big sign on the screen no maps please help me ?My mistake but it`s still not fair couse I can`t use it no more

    Georgi - October 1st, 2008
  94. Georgi – You will need to contact TomTom to get a new map.

    Tim - October 1st, 2008
  95. Well, it was 86th Street, and it is a scam, but I did go on ebay and get a factory refurb with full factory one year warranty for exactly the same price as the scam website (if I include shipping, as the ebay one shipped free). In a factory sealed box, that I couldn’t have told you was a refurb. It came out to be the same price as the new ONE XL at Radio Shack, so about $30 more than Radio Shack’s refurb ONE XL for the ONE XL-S with Text-to-Speech. This worked out for me. Thanks for your help guys.

    Farrell - October 1st, 2008
  96. Is there any cheaper way than $59.95 to download current maps into the Tomtom One XL? I missed the 30 day-free-download deadline because the store didn’t tell me I had that option!

    Cheryl - October 4th, 2008
  97. No, TomTom is the only place that sells their maps.

    Tim - October 4th, 2008
  98. Be aware that TomTom does not really stand behind their product. I really liked mine – but after using it for some time it stopped accepting a charge (light blinks quickly when cable plugged in – then goes out). I contacted them (via customer support channels) and was told “if you can prove it is less than 1 year old we will try to fix it, othewise there are no repair services offered”

    I find this disappointing and was hoping to have them at least look at it and give me an estimate for repair.

    Sadly a former TomTom user. I am now going to look at a Garmin unit (unless I can repair it myself)

    Glenn - October 10th, 2008
  99. That is the same policy from most all of the GPS manufacturers as far as I know. I’ve seen some cases where customers are offered a repair option, but typically the cost of repair will come close to or exceed the cost of a replacement device.

    Tim - October 10th, 2008
  100. I understand that it MIGHT cost more – but would prefer for them to at least look at it and give me the option.

    I really liked the One XL – but I have a very old (6 years old) Garmin hand held and when I had a minor repair problem (antenna attachment) they were very helpful and even shipped me the required part for free. I realize that may be an exception, but it’s nice to have some support if something goes bad.

    For me the frustrating part is neither I nor TomTom could say my unit was within the 1 year window. I registered it, but they lost some data (according to them) and needed the sales receipt. Neither I nor Cabela’s (purchased location) could find a receipt.

    For those who have a One XL – suggestion: Make sure your unit does not drop from the windshield mount. That is when I started having problems.

    Glenn - October 10th, 2008



content bottomleft content bottomright