leaderboard left
leaderboard right
content topleft content topright

Verizon Chaperone

Jan
20
2006

Verizon is getting ready to launch a new GPS child tracking service called Verizon Chaperone. The new service is anticipated to be available in May, powered by the LG Migo phone. It is anticipated the service will cost $15 per month.

Among the features of this location based service (LBS) are geofencing; the process of setting up a perimeter something is able to travel before an alert is setup. In this case you can setup a geofence around a few city blocks, a city, etc and then parents will automatically receive a text message if the child travels outside that geofence.

Other location based services are in the works for Verizon in the next few months in addition to the previously discussed Verizon VZ Navigator service which provides driving directions over cellphone.

46 Responses


  1. This GPS system could have a larger market for use with Altzheimers affected persons and persons who cannot speak reliably like those with aphasia. Care givers and relatives want to know where the affected person may be located.
    The phone targeted for kids alone is good but it would be better also to enable regular cell phones, not those limited to 4 preprogrammed numbers.
    Due to a stroke I have aphasia and frequently cannot speak. This system would give me more freedom because my family could find me even though I may not be able to tell them wherre i am or where i am going to be.
    My husband wants to see where I am on hiss cell phone display, too, so we can separately travel.

    marlin - March 1st, 2006
  2. Hi Marlin,

    There are other products that might interest you such as the Globalsat TR-101, Navizon Buddy Tracker, and the Laipac Personal Locator.

    There may even be products out there than can perform the functionality you are looking for with your current phone depending on the type of phone and what country you are in.

    GPS Review - March 2nd, 2006
  3. Verizon now offers a number of “normal” phones with the chaperone capability, including some of the hottest phones on the market today – like Motorola’s RAZR.

    bill - June 23rd, 2006
  4. i think that this technology may be goos use for altzheimers or children of yuong age between 8-12or younger. Any older this can be invading a teens privacy and that is not something that anyone wants even as an adult. Parents may believe that it useful to help their son or daughter to protect them and make sure they are okay, but before this was even thought of teens have been able to manage. In most cases parents would most likely be using this device to make sure their child is not doing something they shouldnt be, not to have them come home for dinner or somethinng simple like that because all they would have to do is call. Kids should have their privacy as well as anyone else. You dont see compnays making devices so teens may locate their parent and see what they are doing and bother them.

    mjp123 - November 21st, 2006
    • So to those who think this is an invasion of your teen’s privacy… my thought– you are either a teenager or you have been lucky enough to not have to deal with a troubled teen. I like this for my teens. My one teenager — I doubt I’d ever need it but would be a nice to have if he gets hit on the side of the road and is lying there mortally wounded. However, in the case of my daughter it will be nice to have when she claims she is sleeping over at Julie’s house but in fact is over at her BFs house or out doing god knows what.
      Nice try on the post now return to reality from your fairytale land.

      deb - August 29th, 2009
      • Frankly, Deb, I do not agree with your concept. Face it, you and your daughters relationship could have been prevented through younger ages. Kids lie and I can see this making me and my daughters relationship worse. Its in human to track someone in my belief. I want her to be comfortable enough to tell me she’s going to her boyfriend’s and we could maybe reach an agreement of a later curfew rather than spending the night. Lighten up.

        Ashley - April 8th, 2010
        • I agree, Ashley. I am of legal age, no longer living under my parent’s control. I never got in trouble as a teenager, I never drank, did drugs or got into any trouble. My parents used this software religiously when it first came out and were constantly questioning my every move (despite knowing that I am a good kid). It destroyed what was a wonderful relationship before the tracking started. Now the software causes outrageous fights and has made my parents crazy! I live in a different state and they still use the trackers to keep tabs on what I am doing.
          So Deb, please don’t get too far into this tracking stuff. Try to strengthen your relationship with your daughter instead of just tracking her. It ruined my relationship with my parents, and I would hate for that to happen to you as well.

          Sky - April 12th, 2010
          • Ashley and Sky, first off it is of no ones concern how anyone decides to raise their kids as long as it does not include violence or some sort of abuse. If you look at your own relationships with your families you should be the last people giving advice on if people should track their kids or not, though I do agree with one thing you both said (and will paraphrase) “Strengthen the bond with your children.” My parents used this device and it never started arguments, you want to know why? Because I had nothing to hide. If my parents questioned where I was or why I was out of a certain area or not where I was supposed to be, I had enough respect not to lie to them. Most of the time they didn’t even have to question me because I would call and tell them where I was going before I even went to where I was going. I also respected myself enough not to be with my boyfriend on our own if it was not in public, but that is a different story and to each their own. The only people who would have an issue with this product are those who have something to hide. I personally owe my life to one of these tracking devices due to an accident that I was in and could not contact my parents immediately. When they tried to get a hold of me and I didn’t answer, they were able to track me to the hospital that I was in and got there just minutes before they would have received the call on their cellphone from the hospital. Even if I didn’t have the phone with me I am sure the hospital would have eventually called them as they did, but I can’t help to wonder what would have happened if I’d had my accident in an area where there was no one to report it or call 911. What if I didn’t have this phone with the ability for my parents to track me? Would they blame themselves because they could have done something to actually know that I was ok and only because they wanted to “respect” my privacy, now, did not have a daughter? I love this device and when the time comes that I get married and have kids, I would love them to have this too. Even teens can go missing and I won’t end up being one of them and when I have my own they won’t be either.

            Jaimie - June 4th, 2010
          • My point to you further being that I, too, was always where I said I was. I have particularly controlling parents, but I was always where I said I was going to be and I never party, drink, do drugs. But I am getting tracked in my college setting, which in my opinion is going overboard. So Jaimie, I too have nothing to hide, but get annoyed at my parents constantly asking me “why were you at Target today?”
            I do see the value in the tracking software saving your life, so I am glad that your parents use the software for a good purpose. Mine don’t, that being the point. The software is incredibly controversial and works well when used in a good way.
            Mine don’t use it because they fear an emergency, they are just intent on controlling every aspect of my adult life, and that was my point.
            So don’t label me as being a person with something to hide, because I said in the first response that I do not have anything to hide.
            Thank you.

            Sky - June 4th, 2010
          • hi Sky, why don’t you get your own phone subscription then your parents can’t track you anymore.

            karin - June 8th, 2010
          • My wife and I use this technology, not so much to “track” our child, but to verify that our resources (our money being spent on their car, phone, whatever)aren’t being used to contribute toward something we feel may not be good for them. Now I wouldn’t get this from the very start to “track” them when there is no reason to mistrust your child, that could itself be damaging to your relationship. We had a good relationship with our child until high school and she started to have a cris of identity (I feel mostly centered around weight, as girls may sometimes gain a little before they grow upward, and therefore caused her to have some low self-esteem as the result of comments that would be made from other kids from time to time. This left her vulnerable to bonding with others who had problems of their own, who started making positive comments once she started to grow upward and filling out and becoming a pretty young lady, and their problems became her problems as she got wrapped up in some of these relationships.)

            No, for us, this was an after the fact consequence where trust was broken as the result of some friendships she had made. You see, a person is going to do what they want to do. Ultimately, there isn’t much you can do to stop them if they’ve got their mind made up. All you can really do is let natural consequences be their teacher, which is a much tougher school to attend. So for us it is to make sure that our resources aren’t being used in a way that may contribute to her regret in the long run. If she’s got her mind made up to do something we feel will hurt her, then she’ll to it, just not on my nickel. She’ll have to pay for that herself. We love her, but there are times where we feel we have to say “no, the car will stay here tonight”. And we know that she has used the car to meet with people we feel contribute and encourage her defiance at times. So the consequence was the ability to make sure she is where she says she is or the ability to verify. As Ronald Reagan used to say “Trust, but verify”. So, we trust her with many many things and relationships, but some we do not, so we now use this as a means to verify.

            One day she’ll move out, have a job, and be able to do everything herself. At that time, it’s her own money she’s spending toward her own life. We’ll still love and support her, we just won’t put any of our money toward what we believe may contribute to that which we feel may hurt her long term.

            Leonard - January 5th, 2011
  5. I am interested in finding a product, probably GPS or cell phone (or both) based that will allow me to track my young children (and pets) near and far. What products do you like for these kinds of uses??

    Thank you.

    Art Marshall - December 7th, 2006
  6. I’m currently researching these tracking services for my teenage daughter. Her best friend from high school moved about two and a half hours away, via the interstate, so she visits her from time to time. I’m glad the girls can still visit. Recently, my daughter had car trouble, and called me, very upset, and wasn’t exactly sure where she was on the interstate. She told me where she THOUGHT she was — turned out she was 20 miles south of that area. You think I want a teenage girl walking down the interstate, looking for a mile marker so she can relay her exact location?!

    Everything turned out OK, but I’m now VERY interested in being able to pinpoint her location. I want to let her “try her wings,” but I would feel much more at ease if I could get to her quickly if something ever came up. I mentioned it to her and believe me, she was ALL FOR IT the idea.

    Richard Argo - December 18th, 2006
  7. Richard, have you thought about getting her a GPS navigation system instead of just a tracking device? There are numerous advantages. In the example you cited a tracking device wouldn’t have done any good if she couldn’t reach someone who had access to the account information to then find her location.

    Thus the advantage of a GPS navigation system is that she could find out on her own where she was from the GPS. If she needed to reach someone in an emergency and couldn’t track down you, she could easily call the police for help and give them her location as indicated on the GPS.

    Tim - December 18th, 2006
  8. Good idea about the GPS nav system. I have to admit that the thought of someone ELSE being able to track her is very spooky. The advantage of using her phone has more to do with her personality: that phone is practically GLUED to her; she never goes anywhere without it. So even if she were off with friends (which happened once, when her friend’s car had a flat tire & they called me), I could still find them. There’s also the convenience factor: one less gizmo to keep up with.

    But I do know she wants a GPS navigator. She was telling me that she can get some kind of map service now on her phone — that would be the best of both worlds, if it will also return her location.

    Anyone know of a cell phone that has GPS mapping, similar to a tom-tom?

    Richard Argo - December 19th, 2006
  9. There are quite a few phones which offer navigation. The phones available to you would depend on where you live and your phone provider. Stop by a local store of your provider and they can let you know which phones and services are available.

    Tim - December 19th, 2006
  10. sounds like a great service. I hope it works out.

    Wandas11 - January 8th, 2008
  11. I just added this feature to my two teen-age daughters’ phones. I definately don’t think it’s an invasion of privacy since they have been playing games with their whereabouts lately and privacy is earned until you’re an adult on your own. I love the concept, but have had problems with not being able to use it while they are on the phone or if the phone is turned off (I get the messege on the phone or computer when I try to locate them). I’ll give it a little more time and then decide if it happens more than not.

    Lisa Siegel - April 19th, 2008
  12. obody wants to invade their kids Privacy, But peace of mind knowing that you can get to your kids at any given time during a catastrophe or just a simple emergency is well worth it. look up the ACCU TRACKING system and it works like wonders

    Christopher - August 12th, 2008
  13. As always when technology races ahead, the issue of technological benefits vs personal rights and freedoms must be addressed. In the wrong hands, these gadgets can become tools of tyranny and dictatorship. Used wisely, they can save lives and bring peace of mind. Do we have the maturity and self-discipline to strike the right balance?

    Alice - October 6th, 2008
  14. Unless they are legally emancipated, minors do not have any legal right to privacy be it phone usage, medical records, bedrooms, etc,… Couple that with the fact that said teens are using telephones on their parents’ service, the parents have EVERY right and OBLIGATION to monitor their child’s wireless telephone usage.

    Leroy - February 22nd, 2009
    • Totally agree, can’t wait for this service!!!!

      deb - August 29th, 2009
  15. DONT INVADE YOUR KID’S PRIVACY!!! IT’S TOTALLY RUDE AND INNAPROPRIATE!! THEY CAN HANDLE THEMSELVES!!! SHUT DOWN THIS WEBSITE!!

    maddy - April 28th, 2009
  16. I have tried the Chaperone program through Verizon. It is worthless. The “child phone” has the ability to cancel the location request and the phone constantly pops up messages about Chaperone doing this or that. For the person who is tracking their loved one for safety it will not work due to the fact that anyone can turn off the tracking feature on the phone. As for the untrusty child, they can cancel, turn off and/or uninstall the application after they discover it by one of the many pop up messages that are produced by Chaperone. Verizon claims that privacy laws prohibit them from removing the messages, however, if their phone is on your plan, you are allowed to track it without permission as it is YOUR plan.

    Tyson - May 7th, 2009
    • Hi Tyson,
      You may not want to answer me but i am kind of desperate for answers. recently my dad just put this on my phone because he has “lost all trust in me.” i wont get into what i did but it really has made me change my lifestyle. however being a teenager plans chnge all the time and i dont tell my parents where i am at all the time because it is pointless and my mother will think im up to no good even if im doing nothing wrong. anyways i was wondering if you could tell me more about how i can cancel the tracking feature on my phone? Thank you.

      Dani - July 2nd, 2009
      • Heyy agreed my dad just installed it and I’m pissed off!?!?
        I’m pretty sure I disconnected it but will they find out?

        Mary - November 25th, 2009
        • Probably. :)

          Tim - November 27th, 2009
        • I am sure they will find out. They have the ability to call it up on their phones as well.

          Tyson - November 27th, 2009
  17. You cannot \cancel\ it permanently, you have to catch when the phone is updating the location (ie: when the parent phone requests a location or when the program itself sends the update for entering or leaving a \watched\ area.

    Tyson - July 2nd, 2009
  18. Tyson,
    does the tracking device system still work if the phone is turned off?

    Julia - July 7th, 2009
    • No, it will not track if the phone is off. This is a fuzzy subject actually. It is rumored that “emergency services” can have your phone booted or enable the GPS beacon if needed (even if the phone is off). But again, this is a rumor and not so much a fact. I find it hard to believe, but hey, it could be possible. Keeping that in mind, you could theoretically send a signal to the phone to “enable” the GPS functionality. This however is not part of the Chaperone suite.

      Tyson - July 7th, 2009
  19. I have been using the chaperone as a car tracker for 3 years. It works very nicely!

    Phil - August 6th, 2009
  20. I love this idea— for me best idea ever. I will be lojacking my teens and I will not be ashamed to tell everyone about it. My child is MY responsibility and I take that responsibility very seriously. GREAT IDEA!!!

    deb - August 29th, 2009
  21. I have recently switched to Vzn and saw this feature. I also think it’s a great idea! Safety of whereabouts is critical in these days of child molesters that seem to be gowing in numbers.
    I have to agree with some of the parents here. If I am paying the bill for all lines, I will track every last one without them knowing! I have told my folks several times that I was a couple blocks away or I’m on the bus now when I was still at the metro not even walking towards the bus stop. We were all young once and do believe….your children will do it as well.Remember your mom saying that to you? lol Trying this feature next week. be blessed all!

    sassy - September 4th, 2009
  22. I’m not a parenting expert… only a GPS expert. :) So I’ll speak my opinion and then I probably won’t respond to any more comments outside of my expertise. I’m a left-brained person and with most anything in life I try to look at the data and make rational decisions based on probability rather than emotions. So I looked up the stats. I found this data from stats.org via http://freerangekids.wordpress.com/ :

    But when the numbers are about 50 kids [abducted] in a country of 300,000,000, it’s also a very random, rare event. It is far more rare, for instance, than dying from a fall off the bed or other furniture. So should we, for safety’s sake, all start sleeping on the floor?

    I’m not saying tracking kids is a bad thing– just that when taking the emotion out and looking at stats the world isn’t as scary of a place than TV news would lead us to believe. I’ll return to talking about GPS now. :)

    Tim - September 4th, 2009
    • true. The world is not place, it’s some of the people. The reality is that it happens and as a parent, I worry sometimes. This feature is good for many reasons.

      sassy - September 4th, 2009
  23. I have had Verizon Chaperone now called Family Locator since march of 2009 and it gives ( false locations),alerts are not accurate sometimes, and have been given the run around about solving the problems. You cannot rely on it and wish I had saved my money. I have it for my 12 year old sons phone and he is fine with it. At first in march it worked ok then they started playing with it and totaly made it locate your kid 5 miles from the actutal location. Don’t jump on your kids because they are not where they should or should not because it just might be a wrong reading on their location.

    Dennis - September 20th, 2009
    • I’ve also seen location errors of up to 7 miles. This is common. I also once got a reading that was 150 miles away, which was clearly an error. But when it’s a few miles in error, it causes problems and makes it unreliable.

      Richard - November 27th, 2009
  24. Will my teen find out if I add the chaperone on his phone? (will he get a message from verizon that saying that im ‘watching’ him?)

    Karen - November 8th, 2009
    • He will definitely know. When you turn the phone on a splash screen for Chaperone comes up. In addition, when you ask it to “find” the child phone, it pops up on the child phone as being queried for location. They also have the ability to cancel out the location requests that you send. They cannot cancel the “zones” that you put in. I am not positive, but I also think the child phone can completely turn off the Chaperone service on their phone (not positive though). Overall, Verizon wanted to put something into place, but lost it all when they made it to where the one being watched was fully aware they where being watched. That alone makes the Chaperone useless.

      Tyson - November 27th, 2009
      • thanks Tyson, good to know!

        Karen - December 10th, 2009
  25. Verizon Family Locator is one of the worst pieces of software I have EVER encountered.

    For one thing, every time you change your service, plan IT DELETES ALL OF YOUR DATA! Additionally, the software is incredibly unreliable and frustrating to use.

    Additionally there is no way to back your data (your zones, the times you want a location report, etc.)

    I am leaving Verizon Wireless this software is so bad.

    Pete Jones - March 14th, 2010
  26. I was just wondering if anyone else has had trouble with the locator sending false notifications. Yesterday I got a n alert that my child phone left a perameter that I had set up but my child swears he did not even leave the house. In the past he has been honest with me about this so it just makes me wonder if it could send a false notification.

    Tina - July 5th, 2010
    • I have this software on my husband’s phone. He is out of town and I set the software up so that it would alert me when my husband arrived and departed from his hotel room(Don’t ask) I have been alerted several times that he has departed from his room but when I call the direct line for his hotel room, he answers. This happened 4 times in one day and is continuing to happen! I would not rely on this software 100%. In fact, due to it’s unreliability, I will probably cancel the service.

      Lisa - November 1st, 2010
  27. my mother put this app on my phone and i was wondering if it would still work if i shut the phone off or take out the battery? could they still see where i was in the past if the phone was off during that time.

    im 17 years old parent need to chill out.

    Rachel - July 19th, 2010
  28. I would like to know if the locater feature works if family members cell phone is turned off and forwarded to a cell phone number not on your plan?
    Also does it show the speed at which the family member is driving and record for later review of the path the family member drove to a particular location?

    Terry - August 1st, 2010



content bottomleft content bottomright